Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / Other PowerShot Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Other PowerShot or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot TX1

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot TX1

Average Customer Rating:
4.273 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 11(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot TX1
Review 1 for PowerShot TX1
Nickname: Dave949
Location: Orange County, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Everyday HD video/still camera for pros and non

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 11, 2010
Pros: 720p hd video, stereo mic pickups
Cons: lack of ergronomic shape, battery life but get a spare like all other cams
Best thing about this camera, HD video (720P, its all they had when it came out). I have had it for 3 years and beat it up a lot. Button names do rub off, but thats from use. I have well over 100,000 flight miles, hundreds of trips to the river, desert, ...anywhere I go, this camera has come, packed away in my backpack or usually my pocket.
Only draw back is battery is small and you only get 45 min of constant 720P video off it. Not a big deal, cheap spare batteries are easily popped...(I have to do the same thing for my T2i DLSR). If Canon redesigns this puppy with 1080P in the future, I hope they make it a little more ergonomic for the hand, either way I will upgrade.
Stills are great too! Its sold as a camera with video, its really a video cam with stills. The stereo mic pickups are the biggest darkhorse item about this camera. The mono pickups of all the other Canon camera's sound like a tin can compared this unit and its very noticeable when watching the HD video and makes it stands out.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot TX1
Nickname: Alaska Pedi-Eye
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Desperate for TX2

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 8, 2010
Pros: good battery life, excellent image quality, durable, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, superb red reflex
I have purchased eight of these and given two to remote Asian missionaries. It is the pediatric ophthalmologist's dream- Red Reflex detects amblyopia in toddlers! Superb high-def video that works well with Mac. Very portable; sustained mountain climbing, moose hunting, canoe trips, aquaskipping, remote Burma missionary eye trips.
After thousands of images, I now get dark blur in part of sky so I'm desperate for a TX2. I would pay $1200 for the next version as long as it can still take "red eye" as an option.
Review 3 for PowerShot TX1
Nickname: Lui
Location: Boston, MA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

All-In-One!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 17, 2010
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Short battery life, Complicated controls/menu
Bought the TX1 2 years ago before going to my vacations in California, Hawaii, Nevada, and Arizona. All I have to say is WOW! A camera takes photos and records videos is something amazing. You can also take a photo WHILE YOUR RECORDING! I've taken some great panoramic photos and stiched them up using Canon's software that comes included. The controls and handling take a little effort to get use to. You may have to explain someone new taking a picture of you where the "Shoot" button is most of the time. But people were very impressed with this small camera and its capabilities..as am I.
Unfortunately I wish I had a weatherproof case for this since I have used this mostly for recreational outdoor shots and field surveillances at work. But the all stainless steel case makes up for that. You will notice after a while the stencils and button icons will rub off after many field uses. But it's nothing to worry about. Hope Canon will make an updated version of this in the near future.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot TX1
Nickname: anonymous
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent daily use camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 28, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use, excellent video capabilities, stunning macros, ergonomic form factor, rotating lcd
Cons: Complicated controls/menu
I have lived with this camera for the last three years. The combination of small size, high image quality, high video quality, and high power optical zoom is unparalleled even today, three years after my purchase. I would buy this camera again.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot TX1
Nickname: Anonymous
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Great compact camera and video

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 25, 2010
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Heavy/Bulky, the prints on the camera surface gets erased, video performs poorly in low light
I love the features compacted into such a tiny size.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot TX1
Nickname: AncientGeek
Location: Richmond, VT
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

it's all about size

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 8, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life
I carry mine in my backpack with my notebook PC and other geek tools. I love the "elf" size cameras due to their extreme portability. The TX-1 is a great combination of video/still camera with 10x optical zoon and small size. I also like a camera with a swivel design so I can use at elevations and angles where I would not be able to see a normal rear LCD display. I love it.
Unfortunately, I took some photos of a sunset that damaged the image sensor this year. So I need to repair or replace it.
Now that it is discontinued, I've looked around quite extensively and I can't find anything like it. I'm preparing to shell out for a new one if I can find one.
Canon, Please come out with a TX-2 or something like it!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot TX1
Nickname: Moisesgt
Location: New York, NY
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 16, 2009
Pros: Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, multipurpose
Cons: Short battery life
I never leave home without it ! ! ! Really cool, people always comment on how small it is. I bought it for pictures, now all I do is shoot video, great resolution and color detail. Battery life could improve significantly if it did not have the retractable automatic lens. I have had mine for almost 3 years.
I cannot wait for the next model. I would recomend, same size, more optical zoom, manualy retractable lens or fixed lens, external microphone and earphone capabilty, same resolution keeping the HD for movies, operation while connected to an outlet and same price ! ! !
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot TX1
Nickname: dodo
Location: S. Carolina
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

good for me

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 25, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, good battery life, durable
I bought it by mistake but wound up with one of the best cameras I have ever had. I point ,I zoom and I shoot. I dont do any fancy stuff. Takes good video and good pictures. Haven't had any problems yet. I AM NOT a camera/picture guy. Just wanted to take some pictues of friends and family.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot TX1
Nickname: Richard D.
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Great camera, but very fragile

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 20, 2009
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, great zoom
Cons: Complicated controls/menu, Flimsy Construction, breaks easily
It shoots very nice pictures for its size. The zoom is excellent. There is a little saturation in reds from time to time, but the camera does an overall great job. The biggest downfall however is that it has already broken on me twice...
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot TX1
Nickname: robert
Location: yorkville il.
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

canon TX-1

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 4, 2009
Pros: Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
Cons: Complicated controls/menu, Poor Low-Light Performance
Once you get use to the dynamics,footprint,control of this camera, you will love it. It has some focus and low light issuse, but once you use focus lock and give it a balanced strong light source, it produces amazing video considering how smalll the device is.
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot TX1
Nickname: Ben
Location: Galloway, OH
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Decent video quality, but horible focus issues.

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2009
Pros: excellent image quality
Cons: Missing features/settings, Flimsy Construction, poor focus
I picked this camera up to film concerts, but the lens has serious focus issues. I sent it in for repair soon after purchase, and it broke again last week. Now its out of warranty. Another issue is the built in microphone. Its quality is not good at all, and there is no external port for another type.
11 of 18 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site