Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / PowerShot A Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PowerShot A Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot A570 IS

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot A570 IS

Average Customer Rating:
3.562 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (48 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
10
3 stars
5
2 stars
7
1 star
7
30 out of 48(62%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot A570 IS
Review 1 for PowerShot A570 IS
Nickname: kswx29
Location: Topeka, KS
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Good for a first timer.

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 23, 2010
Pros: easy to use, manual controls
Cons: battery life
At the time, this camera wasn't to bad for the price. I got mine in 2007 (Dec) and it was just great. 7.1 MP at the time was pretty good and it had some basic manual features which is great for a first timer trying to get used to things. Not the best at taking night pictures but did Ok.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot A570 IS
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Bethlehem, PA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Awful

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 26, 2010
This camera is an absolute mess. I rarely can get a clear picture from this camera. AT LEAST half the pictures taken are blurry no matter what settings are used (or who is using it). The battery life is awful, they have to be replaced every 10 photos taken (IF they even last that long), and rechargeable batteries do not work at all. After only a few uses I got a lens error (didnt drop it or get any dust or sand etc in it), which I am assuming is because the batteries died and the lens jammed. This camera is honestly so frustrating to use, it really is more trouble than its worth.
14 of 25 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot A570 IS
Nickname: Canon Fan
Location: Dhaka, Bangladesh
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent Camera of its time!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 16, 2010
Pros: great image quality, long lasting battery life, easy to use functions, bright and crystal clear lcd, fast performance, great handy features, cool design
Cons: a bit bulk, the dial to change modes is a bit tight to turn
I am absolutely sure that this is the best camera I've used in all my life. The features image quality are really good and the camera itself is really easy to use! This camera gives me a long lasting battery life (if the batteries are good). The Optical Image stabilizer is the best feature in this camera because I travel a lot and this is handy when I capture objects while moving. I would have appreciated more if this camera was small enough to put in my shirt or pant pocket. Anyways, this product is excellent, I like it. Thank you for such an incredible product!
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot A570 IS
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: South Carolina
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Options

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 4, 2010
Pros: not too small but small enough, ease of use, use rechargeable aa battseries
Cons: aa batteries, excessive lens errors, expensive to repair
We purchased this camera 3 years ago and it needed repaired for the lens error. Even though it was really frustrating the camera messed up we still liked it for the easy use and compact enough to handle. It finally messed up again with the lens error and it would have cost about $200 to fix, so we end up buying another from a seller for $60 which is a great deal and we had already purchased 2 other cameras since the first canon messed up and was unhappy with those. Overall, I would buy another if this one ever breaks down.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot A570 IS
Nickname: Weakpix
Location: North Cackalacky
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

TERRIBLE battery life

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 25, 2010
* Absolutely horrendous battery performance (to point that I thought the camera was defective---until I read tons similar user comments.
* Easy to use. Nothing terribly noteworthy about the camera. Was relatively cheap.
* Very laggy shudder.
* Would not buy this camera again.
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot A570 IS
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Texas
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Serious power issues plague this line of camera

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 20, 2010
Pros: excellent quality of photos for a point and shoot, wide range of settings and features
Cons: extremely poor battery performance, requires trial and error to circumvent power issue
Before you purchase any PowerShot A series camera, do a web search on battery life for any A series and you'll find quite a few unhappy consumers and their stories. And there are apparently a wide range of causes to the same issue. My particular A570IS will only work happily with one specific type of rechargeable battery. Good luck!
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot A570 IS
Nickname: sterling heights

great little camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 18, 2010
I've had this camera for 2 years now. I wanted a camera that wasn't so tiny in my hands that I couldn't work the buttons or see the display screen. This camera has everything I wanted and is easy to use. Popping the memory card out and loading the pictures into my computer is extremely easy. Love using it and uploading my pictures to my friends and family through the computer or taking it to the store, popping out the memory card and printing prints to mail! Couldn't be easier. The only problem I've had is that the user guide could be friendlier to non camera lingo buyers. I did find every answer to my questions on your website!!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot A570 IS
Nickname: Bob
Location: Cleveland, OH
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Died in under 3 years

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 15, 2010
Pros: easy to use, high quality photos, optical view finder
Cons: camera failed after 34 months
I really enjoyed using the camera. It gave excellent shots easily, and I found that I could control the settings with the many available shooting modes. I appreciated having an optical view finder when shooting in bright light with the sun at my back,
Sadly the camera died after only 34 months of modest usage.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot A570 IS
Nickname: Grady
Location: Blanchard, OK
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great camera for the price

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 13, 2010
My two year old 570IS, which has been used very heavily, just died and I'm going to replace it with another one. This is a very versatile camera with great features and optics for the size and price. Did a lot of comparison shopping before I bought it and not one could match up.
Highly recommend it!
Review 10 for PowerShot A570 IS
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: buffalo ny
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

poor battery life

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:April 17, 2010
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life
I have had this camera for over 2 years and I am very frustrated with the battery life. I am shopping for a new camera...it must be cheaper than all the batteries I am going through....
the first 2 years were great with this camera--- great quality shots even when my kids weren't stitting still!
I am frustrated that I have to buy a new camera already.
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot A570 IS
Nickname: qski
Location: Ohio
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Great Camera for Family

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 10, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, easy to use
I've had this camera more than a year and love it. It has all the features we need to take great family pictures, download them easily to an online service or facebook and it's small enough to fit in my purse. Husband likes the shape of it because it makes it easy to hold onto.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot A570 IS
Nickname: Motex
Location: linden, NJ
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Still impressed

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 30, 2010
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, great sd movies
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Short battery life
First one I bought was a lemon [flash did not work]. The second has been nothing, but satisfying. Still images are crisp and when I want to improve or be creative I have Photoshop. Surprisingly the movie function [ 640x480] was very good. The sound was decent. It has an optical viewfinder which is rare in todays point & shoot cameras. All in all a strikingly great value for the money. I would buy it again all things being equal! Battery problem was fixed using AA rechargeables and carrying extras.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot A570 IS
Nickname: dee dee
Location: newyork
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

i love this camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 28, 2010
Pros: excellent image quality, easy to use
i love this camera i take pics at night in the day at my house at at all times it works i use the energizer ultimate lithium and they last for months .i recomend dont use regular batteries the dont last at all .i have had this camera for 3 years old .and it works fabulous .i love it and recommend it
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot A570 IS
Nickname: Bill
Location: California
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

GREAT Little Camera!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 25, 2010
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, ae and tv modes, viewfinder
I call this camera my "sketchbook," as I carry it in a case around my neck pretty much everywhere I go (without my "big" Canon 50D DSLR). What sold me on this camera, and what I can't seem to find on Canon's newer PowerShot models, is that it has a viewfinder AND (in addition to those "easy" scene modes like Portraits or Fireworks), this camera offers Shutter and Aperture Priority, allowing me to control depth-of-field. Why don't the newer models have this feature???
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerShot A570 IS
Nickname: kswx29
Location: Topeka, Kansas
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Good for first time

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 16, 2010
Pros: Nice features/settings, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life
A pretty good first-time camera. The battery life is short but the image quality is pretty good and it has a fair amount of manual controls. The viewfinder is not digital and should not be used for taking pictures. Also the switch to switch between viewing pictures and taking them starts to wear after time.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PowerShot A570 IS
Nickname: Gfritzy
Location: san antonio, TX
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Terrible Battery life

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 3, 2010
Pros: easy to use
Cons: Short battery life
I have had this camera for 3 years. The battery life is horrible. It is my first digital camera. I would not buy another one. It is easy to use and easy to download on the computer but because the battery life is so poor I would not recommend this camera.
8 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PowerShot A570 IS
Nickname: Tonya

It was good while it lasted

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 18, 2010
Pros: easy to use
Cons: Short battery life, Heavy/Bulky
I've had this camera for about 2 years, and it has worked fantastic. It was simple and easy to use and took good pictures. I especially loved all the features it offered. One con was that it was bulky. Sometimes I found it hard to travel with due to size. Another con was after 2 years, the battery life was just terrible. I would put brand new batteries in and after 5 or 6 shots, it died!! After that, so many batteries were wasted, i stopped using it. But all in all, I liked the camera, just not the battery life. I would recommend this camera to people only if they need it for a short term use.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PowerShot A570 IS
Nickname: Denverite
Location: Denver, CO
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 4, 2010
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Heavy/Bulky
I have had this camera for over 3 years. I've been very happy with the quality of the pictures. The special settings, for night or fireworks or snow for example, have worked very well. It has good adjustments if I want to customize a video or photo.
I always use lithium batteries and they last a very long time. I just gave it to my daughter and replaced it with a slimmer camera that fits better in a pocket. That was my only con-- bulky compared to some other models. I also like that it has a view finder as well as a screen.
Review 19 for PowerShot A570 IS
Nickname: nola

Battery problems

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 13, 2009
Pros: Nice features/settings, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Short battery life
I've owned an A570 for two years now. I won't buy another.
Out of the box it took good pics and had lots of features but low-light shots were poor at best, only 1 out of 4 came out without blurs.
It is extremely sensitive to batteries. The factory batteries worked okay (see low light comments) and I went through a succession of other camera batteries with little to no luck.
Synergy 2800mAh Ni-MH rechargables work for a few shots then-not. Very disappointing but they were the best of the rechargables I tried.
Lithium batteries (non-rechargable) work okay and will last awhile.
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PowerShot A570 IS
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: New York
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Not what i thought

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 13, 2009
Pros: easy to use
Cons: Poor image quality, Short battery life
This is an easy camera to use, however the battery life is horrible! I read many reviews and found many other have had this problem. I have owned my A570 for about 2 years and been very careful with it and now it is starting to show a white blurred screen when i take pictures. It pops up a lot and messes up the quality of the picture. I have googled this problem and found no suggestions. I would not recommend this model.
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site