Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / EOS Cameras Reviews / Lenses Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Lenses or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM

EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM

High performance, water-resistant, and ultra wide-angle L-series lens Improved edge-to-edge image quality performance Circular aperture Includes internal focusing, a ring type USM, and improved AF speed
Average Customer Rating:
4.759 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
27 out of 29(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM
Review 1 for EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM
Nickname: Crosswind
Location: Orange Beach, Alabama and Gatlinburg, Tennessee
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Professional Performer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 31, 2014
I have used this lens for almost four years. With the understanding that objects at the edges will have wide angle distortion. This lens is a "professional performer." It produces images that sell and please the most discriminate... excellent color, contrast, sharpness... Canon engineers have created a lens that can exaggerate or render true the images you are capturing. I highly recommend this lens for the novice or skilled professional. Well worth the money spent. A precision image capturing instrument.
17 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM
Nickname: The watchman
Location: Framingham Ma
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

It's Worth The Money

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 12, 2014
I love to take a lot of pictures lighthouse and a lot of landscape shots. I also have the EFS 15mm to 85mm lens as well, and even though I love that lens. The ef 16 to 35mm extra wide angle l series lens is a superior lens for landscaping and also if a person wants to take indoor low light pictures for a function it worth it. I am going Israel this year and I am going to be taking that lens with me. It's my one of my favorite Lenses that I have and I use the most. I recommend this lens to anyone. Plus you can't beat canon products, and also because I have two cameras an EOS 60D and an EOS 6D, and I love both cameras and all my other lenses from Canon
Also Canon tech support department is great also. When I was looking into purchasing this lens, the tech person had said if your going to spend this kind of money, then he wanted to make sure I knew what I was buying. I am very pleased this lens and also pleased with them.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM
Nickname: QAZ111111
Location: Southern Calif.
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Why did I wait so long? Who knew?!?

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 13, 2013
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
I have several L lenses. They are so heavy and I am paranoid about knocking them out of alignment. I read how much people loved this lens for landscape and interior shots. I bought two used and they were dogs. So I popped for a new one. I am so happy with it. I have taken it to Spain, France and England. This lens is fabulous for vacationing. You can shoot huge vistas and the inside of small spaces. The image quality is terrific and the photos are worth every bit of the trouble to bring it. In retrospect; If I had to have only one lens for my 5DmarkIII it would be this lens. Yes it is quite expensive but buying it new is the only way to go (and yes I have spent tons of money with CPS on cleanings, and recalibrations on lenses and cameras.) If you want to know what to buy... you will never be disappointed having this 'go to' lens.
54 of 54 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM
Nickname: Benthic
Location: Honolulu
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Superb Lens at a Premium Price

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 13, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Cons: premium price
This is a large, heavy, high quality lens. Focus is fast. Build quality is in line with other Canon L-series lenses. This lens is sharp from corner to corne, and has excellent contrast. If you're shooting with a high quality full frame sensor, the lens is so sharp in the center that you can crop 50 to 90% and still retain reasonable sharpness for small objects. Last week, I shot a one-inch long harlequin shrimp with the lens at 35mm in a fisheye dome port, and was able to crop the image to the shrimp with enough detail to where it was suitable for posting on the web. It's expensive, but if image quality is paramount, is worth it!
32 of 33 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM
Nickname: Utopia
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Performance Does Not Compare to Primes

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 15, 2012
Pros: well constructed, decent 'all around' lens
Cons: not nearly as sharp as the 14mm 2.8 l or 24 1.4l
This is a well built, good quality lens, but the image sharpness does not compare to the primes. For wide angle work I tend to use the 8-15 L fisheye, the 14 mm 2.8 L, and the 24 1.4L. I thought that this lens might eliminate having to carry both the 14 and the 24. I was wrong. If you are an amateur, you will most likely be thrilled with this lens. It produces acceptable images, and gives you a decent range in one lens. If you are a pro and sharpness is critical to you, stick with the lenses mentioned above and forget the wide angle zooms. For situations like weddings where you often do not have the time to change lenses on the fly, this lens is a good choice. (although I still find that the 14 and 24 work just fine. If the 14 is too wide, it is so sharp you can simply crop it in later.
67 of 76 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM
Nickname: Motivation!
Location: Ridgeland, MS
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Completes the Golden Three!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 7, 2012
Pros: super sharp images!, fast!, colors are great!
Cons: didn't purchase sooner!, should have purchased sooner!
No distortion with this lens like I have read about on some of the other reviews. Must be OE on there part. Lens works great on 50D (1.6 x Crop Camera). I plan to go FF one day with maybe a 5D (Mark II or III).
This lens completes my needs for wide angle, and lens needs that you would expect from a lens with the Red Ring around the end of the Barrel. I previously purchased the 24-70mm 2.8, 70-200mm 2.8 IS, 50mm 1.4, 24-105mm 4, and now the 16-35mm 2.8 (in that order). This lens lives up to the L!
Never shot with the 10-22mm or 17-40mm so I can't compare this lens to those... so read there reviews. If you are reading this review; I'd say that you are considering the purchase. If you can stomach the price; "Purchase this Lens"!
It was stated earlier in a review; but You Get what You Pay for! Invest in the Glass!
20 of 25 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM
Nickname: Revup67
Location: n/a
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Excellent Lens Except One feature

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 31, 2012
Pros: lightweight, sharp, fast
Cons: filter size
This is truly a fast and fantastic lens. I've reviewed the MTF charts beforehand and as compared to its predecessor (Mki) the edge detail is greatly improved. it's lightweight, comfortable to hold and works well in low light. My one and only and biggest gripe is the 82mm filter size that is needed. 82mm is not only the most expensive but also very difficult to find as of 1/31/12. As an example try and find the B&W #110 neutral density 10 stop filter..forget it and if you can find it the price is over $200 as with the polarizers being about $100 and the list goes on. This would be my only caution to you on this lens before buying. Not s smart move on Canon's part.
38 of 41 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM
Nickname: Bentley
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Just get It!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 25, 2012
Just got back from vacation in Vegas and I have to say this lens is phenomenal. My wife is also in awe at how colorful and accurate the pictures are. Went to the Grand Canyon and also Red Rock Canyon and this lens performed splendidly. I had the 17-40 L before and sold it. It was a tad too slow even though the range was more usable. I can't say enough about this lens. It is a bit on the expensive side but with pictures like I have gotten so far it was money well spent. My wife loves using the 24-105 L which is also an awesome lens also but I like the wider range and speed of this lens better. Everywhere we went we got the look of camera envy from everyone. Would definitely purchase again.
11 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM
Nickname: ET
Location: New York, Ny
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

It is not bad, but it is not good too.

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:June 12, 2011
Pros: Superior build quality
Cons: Semi-sharp images
Overall this lens is not bad. I believe Canon should make IS to this lens. So the quality of the photos would be better.
Some 20-35mm photos are out of focus or not too sharp. So this lens is still need to make some improvement.
One more thing about this lens. It is over price. The photos quality, and performance are not good enough. Plus NO IS.
45 of 108 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM
Nickname: feeblefool
Location: Illinois
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent for what it is

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 6, 2011
Pros: Superior build quality
Ultra-wide lenses like this are very difficult to do, and the MkII version scores. I just upgraded from the MkI version which served me without fault since 2004. The MkII does it all better however the lens gets 4/5 Feature and Performance stars for the following: The lens hood, while excellent, needs to be made of the new matte plastic as the 70-200 IS MkII lens and should include a hood lock button.
22 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM
Nickname: Mick
Location: Rochester, NY
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Love this lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 21, 2011
Pros: versatile
Cons: expensive, edge-to-edge image quality
I have been a dedicated Canon owner since 1978 and still have my F-1 and arsenal of lens. Moving into the Digital era with an EOS-1D III, EOS-1DS and a new arsenal of L series lenses including the 16-35 F/2.8L II, I am more than happy with the performance, quality and images it has to offer. Partnering in support with alternative energy, corporate and industrial imagery I find this lens to be versatile and equal in most cases to my prime lenses.
12 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM
Nickname: BB
Location: Princeton NJ
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

In Love!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 21, 2011
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
I've found a new love, & it's this lens. Everything I thought it would be. I'm so happy I finally just purchased it and stopped thinking about buying!
12 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM
Nickname: ppro
Location: North Eastern USA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Hard to Beat!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 14, 2011
Pros: useful zoom range, rock solid construction, great image quality
One of the reasons I purchased a full-frame DSLR was to benefit from super-wide-angle lenses. For most of my career I have owned prime lenses that includes 17mm, 20mm, and 24mm focal-lengths. I also own 28mm and 35mm lenses as well,
Looking at how I was going to approach digital imaging, I decided that zoom lenses have made some incredible advances in image quality and mechanical quality. I reasoned it would be worthwhile to try a wide-angle zoom that would give me the range of all those primes. This would enable me to reduce the number of lenses carried.
Now it's still valid to point out that most primes are going to give better image quality and certain ones are going to be faster. But if you're like me and spend a lot of time outdoors, you might be willing to make slight image compromises in favor of having the focal length and getting the image instead of a bad back...
I don't feel I have compromised on image quality with this lens. It's fast enough for everything I've thrown at it, and like all the "L" glass I own, it's rock-solid. I have no regrets with my purchase of this lens. It's everything I expected and more! I can use the circular polarizer with both this lens and the TS-E 24mm f/3.5L II.
Not cheap but well worth the price of admission!
51 of 51 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM
Nickname: Silkline
Location: Phoenix. AZ
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Like it so far!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 29, 2010
It's opened up a whole new world of imagery. Highly recommend it.
6 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM
Nickname: Tim
Location: Honolulu, HI
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Versatile Performer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 17, 2010
Pros: colors
Cons: pricey
Superb landscape lens and fast enough for low-light conditions when hiking in the rain forest. Rugged build with a speedy and silent auto-focus. Very useful range for a variety of landscape shots. The color is amazing and a circular polarizer makes it even better. Using the lens at 16mm requires some tenacity to avoid vignetting: try a slight reposition of the intended shot, f/8 helps, although I have managed some 16mm shots without vignetting at f/2.8 if I took the time to position the camera with care. I often shoot all day without taking this lens off my 5D MII. Highly recommended for advanced photographers.
33 of 34 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM
Nickname: Bear
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Best Canon Wide Lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 10, 2010
Pros: sharpness, very wide, quality
This lens is spectacular. Even though I use it on a 50D, it is still very wide. I have used it for sports, portraits, concerts, and other subjects. It is very much worth the money, and is very sharp. I highly recommend this lens over most other wide angle lenses.
25 of 25 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM
Nickname: Mr. Picky
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

I have other favorites

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:June 1, 2010
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality
Cons: distortion, price
If your used to the image quality of a prime lens, this isn't the lens for you. All of the pros combined can't overcome the one con, distortion. I spent a lot of money on this lens; however, I think I'm going to trade it in on the faster 24mm prime.
35 of 66 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM
Nickname: Tripod
Location: Tarpon Springs Florida
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Outstanding Lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 26, 2009
Pros: Super-sharp images
Used this lens for one year now (primarily on my 5D Mark II) and it is absolutely amazing. Ultra sharp images and minimal barrel distortion at the edges. I don't think there is a better wide angle lens in the world. Expensive, but well worth it for the professional or amatuer wanting the best possible image quality to complement both the full frame or APSC camera.
60 of 63 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM
Nickname: Pellix guy
Location: Tampa, FL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Super perspective for both film & digital

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 6, 2009
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Having had the 17-35/2.8L, I was able to trade up to the 16-35 for a small $ investment. It seems that this lens is better suited to the wide angle needs of both the film photographer AND the digital photographer. While it is NOT inexpensive to purcase outright, anyone who IS serious sbout their photo results AND needs a quality wide-angle lens should look no further than this lens!!!!!
22 of 25 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM
Nickname: bob/s
Location: Ohio
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

top ultra-wide

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 19, 2009
Pros: Super-sharp images, Superior build quality, Fast auto-focus, uses screw on filters, build quality, well corrected
This is the best ultra-wide for canon full frames one can buy, you here others tell of lenses that require adaptors and cost 2 to 3 times as much and only work manually, This is a sharper lens with better color and contrast than the 17-40mm that I got rid of to buy this lens! I have used this lens with a regular screw on filter and no filter at all and it did not interfere with the image at 16mm wide open, no need for slim filters, this lens is very very well corected for a lens of this ultra-wide zoom range!!
56 of 56 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site