Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / Software Applications Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Software Applications or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Canon RAW Codec Software

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

Canon RAW Codec Software

Average Customer Rating:
1.864 out of 5
1.9
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
30
11 out of 44(25%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Canon RAW Codec Software
Review 1 for Canon RAW Codec Software
Nickname: Lee
Location: Arizona
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Lacking EXIF

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 25, 2013
Pros: easy to use
Cons: no exif
Works fine with my ASUS S3 laptop running Windows 8 64bit but strips the EXIF data.
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Canon RAW Codec Software
Nickname: AnnoyedCanonUser
Location: Long Island
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Still no 64Bit Codec

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 27, 2013
It's totally ridiculous!! Now I have another new canon, a 70D and still no support for Codex on Windows 7 with 64Bit
25 of 26 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Canon RAW Codec Software
Nickname: tanto3433
Location: Carlsbad, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

NOT COMPATIBLE WITH OS

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 6, 2013
Cons: don't work
The current RAW CODEC I have works with Adobe PSPE10 but is not functional with my 64bit CS5 or with Windows Media. After reading some of the reviews, it does not look like a solution is imminent. Or am I missing something that is obvious. So far somebody where it counts is not getting the message. This is not only frustrating, but counter productive to the whole reason for the website in the first place. Ciao.
16 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Canon RAW Codec Software
Nickname: SBeck

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 30, 2012
Canon releases a codec for the 5D Mark III in 32bit version of Windows 7 only, that's just insane.
34 of 35 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Canon RAW Codec Software
Nickname: TRIPOD
Location: PORTAGE, INDIANA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

T1i RAW vs. WINDOWS 64 BIT

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 19, 2012
Pros: great camera
Cons: can't use codec raw
I love my T1i but can't use RAW w/my 64 bit computer. Is there SOME reason CANON R&D cannot come up with a solution to the problem of not being able to use CODEC RAW with Windows 64 Bit O/S?? The 64 bit O/S is about QUALITY and it has ALWAYS been my belief that CANON was, is and ALWAYS will be.ABOUT quality!!!!
18 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Canon RAW Codec Software
Nickname: Fred
Location: Butler, NJ
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Not compatible with 64-bit operating system

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 2, 2012
Cons: incompatible with 64 bit operating system
I got this product with my Canon 30D. I would like to use it to process my RAW files but it is not compatible with the most widely used 64 bit computer operating system.
17 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Canon RAW Codec Software
Nickname: bluebomber
Location: Tampa, FL
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Vast lack of support

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 25, 2012
The raw codec software doesn't support GNU/Linux (including Ubuntu and Fedora), and it doesn't seem yet to support 64 bit computers.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Canon RAW Codec Software
Nickname: Brandon

No RAW support for 64-bit computers!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 13, 2012
Cons: no 64-bit support
Please get with the times and create software that supports 64-bit computers. I cannot process/export RAW images (Canon EOS Rebel XTi). Wasted all these shots and cannot use them.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Canon RAW Codec Software
Nickname: Neil
Location: Abany, NY
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years

Not available in 64 bit

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 22, 2012
Canon needs to come up to the 21st century. I just purchased the Canon EOS Rebel T3i, a great camera. It saves RAW as .CR2 files. It would REALLY be nice to convert these files ino jpg or other format, but THERE IS NO 64-BIT SOFTWARE PRODUCT! Every computer I have is Windows 7 64 bit. When will Canon come out with a 64 bit version???
16 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Canon RAW Codec Software
Nickname: Anonymous

Give us a 64-bit version

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 25, 2012
As I said, "Give us a 64-bit version!" All new computers are 64-bit.
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Canon RAW Codec Software
Nickname: valwill
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Need 64 bit version

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 11, 2012
The new PC's are 64 bit - can't use the old 32 bit version - they are useless. Please make this available!
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Canon RAW Codec Software
Nickname: CanMan
Location: Madison, WI
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Where is the x64 bit version?

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 25, 2011
Rated 1 star since I cannot use this product and Canon doesn't yet make the 64 bit version, which is strange to me since it's seems like most new machines these days contain a 64 bit operating system. As a Canon enthusiast for 15 years, I cannot understand why Canon will not develop this support. I have used this product on my 32 bit machines for a long time.
19 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Canon RAW Codec Software
Nickname: mike_k
Location: Rochester, NY
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Does not work on Window 7 64-bit

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 30, 2011
Pros: none
Cons: does not work on 64-bit windows 7
I installed this on a Windows Vista 32-bit laptop and it worked fine. I then installed on my Windows 7 Professional 64-bit desktop machine. I am unable to view any RAW files, which is supposed to be the point of installing the codec.
I'm especially annoyed because I just built this 64-bit system specifically for photo editing. Lightroom screams, but I have no way to view RAW files outside of LR.
Canon - Please upgrade this for 64-bit operation!
65 of 66 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Canon RAW Codec Software
Nickname: craig m
Location: chicago, il
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years

does not install on win7 x64

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 16, 2011
this does not work on the 64bit version of windows 7. highly disappointing.
18 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Canon RAW Codec Software
Nickname: D
Location: Colorado
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years

64 bit support essential but missing

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 12, 2011
Pros: works in 32 bits just fine
Cons: not compatible with windows 7 64 bit
I have used the 32 bit version, but Canon is now seriously behind the times by not offering a 64 bit system compatile with Windows 7. Anyone who is serious about photo editing wants the additional memory offered by 64 bit systems. Offering a Windows 7 64 bit version should be a no-brainer.
16 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Canon RAW Codec Software
Nickname: nonac

Won't install

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 4, 2010
Cons: won't install
Doesn't install on Windows 7 x86 - installer fails at a screen resolution check. Bad form given that this codec doesn't have any UI that would need to support a minimium screen resolution.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Canon RAW Codec Software
Nickname: argh

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 23, 2010
doesn't work. complete waste of time. nothing shows up in the browser and can't convert the photos.
5 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Canon RAW Codec Software
Nickname: Proshooter63
Location: Houston, TX
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Works just fine on XP SP3

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 20, 2010
Pros: easy to use, easy to install
Cons: need to use windows live photo gallery with xp
I have a Canon EOS 5D mark II and wanted to review the CR2 RAW files before importing them to my computer so I could pre-classify them. On Windows XP SP2 or SP3 you need the Windows Live Photo Gallery to actually use this codec - that's the most cumbsersome part of the process but the codec itself works fine, all the CR2 files rendered viewable images. I've no intention of using the Windows Live Photo Gallery for anything more than viewing images on my cards and while it's not as simple as viewing in Windows Explorer, at least I can see a rendering of the images!
23 of 29 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Canon RAW Codec Software
Nickname: webphotousa

DOES not work!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 3, 2010
This codec does not work on my .crw files! I downloaded it, and installed it and can not view my .crw files at all!
I have no idea why they have this product that doesnt work ?
18 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Canon RAW Codec Software
Nickname: Cudgel
Location: Dystopia
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

DOES NOT WORK

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 19, 2010
Cons: doesn't work
Can't open CR2 files after downloading. Product is useless. It does not work.
22 of 25 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site