Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / PowerShot S Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PowerShot S Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot S5 IS

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot S5 IS

Average Customer Rating:
4.472 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(108 Reviews) 107
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (108 reviews)
5 stars
74
4 stars
21
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
3
95 out of 108(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot S5 IS
Review 1 for PowerShot S5 IS
Nickname: bluelew
Location: Houston, Texas
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Awesome and Totally Satisfied

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 27, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, good battery life, durable, lens cap, flexibility
Set the camera to aquarium scene mode. Best low light pictures ever. Love the lens cap. Pops off the instant I turn the camera on and it's tied to the strap so I do not have to fiddle with it. I took over 800 pictures during summer vacation before I changed the batteries. Double AA are genius. Use high quality rechargeable batteries and carry regular spares. The custom modes are awesome. Video is wonderful. And can you believe it I am happy with this product. A friend recommended it to me and I listened. I never thought I would spend what I did, but I am glad I did. Make sure you keep the cap on future models. Thank you.
83 of 85 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot S5 IS
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Birmingham, AL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Satisfied Canon User

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 3, 2012
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I have purchased Canon products for the last 20+ years and have found no need to look at any other products. I have recommended Canon to others for years and feel confident in doing so.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot S5 IS
Nickname: MikeyK
Location: Florida
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best Camera I've Owned

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 28, 2010
Love this camera, the opt- zoom is great and the picture quality is very good, the adjustable angle LED has me hooked, and I like the "AA" battery usage instead of a "battery Pack"..and I ordered and received today the Canon
SX1IS and looking foward to the higher Zoom and being
able to shoot with "RAW" setting.
I would and have advised others to invest in the S5IS
camera.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot S5 IS
Nickname: BlueRose0960
Location: California
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Durable & Suffice in 2010

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 5, 2010
Pros: add a pro
Cons: add a con
I have power adaptor CA-PS700 but need PS700 N. They both share the same p/n - 7875A002AA. The PS700 N has a longer cord on the camera connector and the cord is red and black. Does anyone know where I can get 20 of these PS700 N ?
0 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot S5 IS
Nickname: Roro
Location: CT
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Overall: great

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 2, 2010
I LOVE MY CAMERA! The only thing that I don't like is that the flash takes a few seconds longer than I'd like to charge between photos taken inside. Other than that, I LOVE IT!
Review 6 for PowerShot S5 IS
Nickname: BB
Location: Virginia
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great starter camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 29, 2010
Pros: great zoom, easy to start out with, swivel lcd is a plus, good flash
Cons: slow between flashes, Short battery life, lens cap pops off too easily
This is a great camera for someone starting out in photography but can't afford a DSLR. Except for the interchangible lens, it comes with a lot of features to make it easy to step up into a DSLR when you're ready.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot S5 IS
Nickname: Randa
Location: Swanton, OH
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User

Never Again

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 26, 2010
Pros: great zoom
Cons: very slow recharge between flashes, horrible battery life, Poor Low-Light Performance, flimsy lens cover
I bought my camera in 2007. I was the greatest thing ever, I loved it and so did my friends. It lasted me about 3 years before it started acting up. Now 3 years is a good amount of time, but for what I paid for it, is should have lasted me through college and beyond, not just a third of high school. The feature I loved most was the swivel lcd screen, because it made taking pictures of my friends and I easy. But around christmas last year, when it would power on, the screen went gray. But when I swiveled it out to the side, it worked perfectly. About 2 months after that, I couldn't even swivel it out anymore because the screen showed gray and nothing more. There's only a certin spot that you have to hold the lcd screen for it to work, which makes taking photos a pain. Now I hate the camera and don't use it. It sits on a shelf collecting dust because no photography place fixes cameras anymore. I'm highly disappointed and will be calling the company soon to see what they'd like to do about it.
Additional comments: It has a great zoom, I am impressed by that. The battery life is horrible! Photo quality great in the daytime, not so much at night.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot S5 IS
Nickname: kazzerz
Location: Mexico City
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

I'd buy it again and again

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 15, 2010
it's been my best purchase ever :) its my best friend and it works wonderfully!! great value!
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot S5 IS
Nickname: bluefire4000

Awesome, except...

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 15, 2010
Pros: pretty much everthing beside the one con.
Cons: video transfer problems.
So I'm not super into photography so this camera does stuff I'll probably never use and most likely things I don't even know it can do. If you plan on doing any major picture taking or ANY video you're going to need to buy a bigger SD card because the 32mb one that comes with it is a joke. I have a 4gig one that works just fine for my needs. Design is good and I love having that movable LCD screen. Now here's the "except' from my title. If you are trying to transfer a large video file (~5min/500mb+) you're in for a headache. The camera refuses to transfer these large files, you'll end up with a 0kb file on your computer, and if you have it set to delete your files after transfer, a permanently lost video. You can view the video on the camera and opening the camera drive in "My Computer" will show a .avi file there but good luck playing it or transferring it. Tried using the built in software for XP and the software that came with the camera to no success. I tried updating the software, no luck. I tried other cords, other USB ports, restarting computer, all no luck. What I ended up having to do was editing the video into two smaller clips on the camera and then recombining them on my computer. A real pain. I suggest keeping your videos short, buying an external card reader, or getting familiar with the camera's editing tools.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot S5 IS
Nickname: foo
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Best Point and Shoot

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 14, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: lag time with flash
I've had this camera for a little over a year and I love it. My brothers tried to talk me into a DSLR, and while I would love to have one of those babies in the future, this S5 IS serves all my purposes. I don't want just great photos. I want video and audio too. That is why I chose this camera. I have recorded entire rock concerts on this thing and the video as well as audio is excellent. Of course, you can't use the LCD screen for video or it will eat the batteries right up. The only thing that is lacking in performance is lag time between flash shots. But then, I use the flash as little as possible, and also, I don't have a need (right now) for quick recovery. If you want the best of the point and shoots, that does everything except wash your dishes for you, this is the camera. Although, I think it's been replaced since then with the PowerShot SX20 IS, which just has more tasty functions.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot S5 IS
Nickname: jessie
Location: New York
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Best Camera thus far

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 13, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Absolutely love all features,very easy to use.Allaround great camera.
Review 12 for PowerShot S5 IS
Nickname: teXXas
Location: Alaska
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Awesome!!!!!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 31, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
A must have camera for the amateur or photo enthusiast! One of the best features is the ability to quickly shoot video without moving the camera from the shooting position!
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot S5 IS
Nickname: feyaia
Location: Abilene Texas
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Good but getting Long In Tooth for the Price.

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 12, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, durable, Bright LCD, easy to use, professional looking., steady-shot and face detect.
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, 8 mega-pixels, very slow recharge between flashes.
I have had this camera for over three years now. It was a great Camera then and not a bad one now. It's rugged and has a lot of features even for today. The steady shot and the super micro are great for getting professional pictures of plants and other very small objects. but I am a professional photographer on a budget and I need to upgrade to at least a 12 or higher Mega-Pic camera but still don't have the money for it. In wedding photography, some of the best shots come from cropping but that reduces the quality. I was surprised to see that the price of this camera was still high due to the fact that Cannon now has much cheaper ones in the rectangular cases that have more features and more mega-pixels. Still, if you can find this Camera at the pawn shop or on a really good sale, I would get it.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot S5 IS
Nickname: mandrews
Location: Atlanta, GA.
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Quality, Ease, and Precision

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 27, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Complicated controls/menu
I love this camera. I am an avid photographer, and I shoot everything from weddings to portraits, to nature, to sports, - this camera does it all excellently.! The controls may be a little daunting for the beginner, but after some use it gets familiar fast. Custom settings for the advanced person, and auto settings for the novice. I am that rare breed of film person who gave up the big rigs and equipment (seemed like a safari to just go to the zoo, or to the park and shoot) to get smaller and leaner with a digital format. This camera has all of the features of Canon's high end digitals, yet maintaining a simplicity even a point and shooter can appreciate. The feature set is good enough for a pro to make use of without being too bulky or with a myriad of attachments. Fast shutter speeds, night shooting, action, and wide angles can be reached without having to give up much in any shooting mode, regardless of range. Performance, features, ease of use, who could ask for anything more.! Canon got it really right with this one.!
Review 15 for PowerShot S5 IS
Nickname: Love this
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User

Love it

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 22, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, excellent image quality, easy to use
Cons: Heavy/Bulky
Bought this camera a few yrs ago for my son and I used it for the first time on my trip to Las Vegas. The pictures I captured were the best I have ever taken. I do wish it was not quite so bulky but I guess it needs to be to have all the features this camera has. I was in Las Vegas for 6 days and took hundreds of pictures and didn't have to replace the batteries until the end of the very last day.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PowerShot S5 IS
Nickname: fran
Location: nj
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

best camera ever

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 19, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
best of the best i do love this camera a lot just the lens come out to easily other was is ok.
Review 17 for PowerShot S5 IS
Nickname: Deva03
Location: Alanson, Michigan
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Great quality

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 19, 2010
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I had pictures printed at Walgreens, they refused to give me my prints. When I asked "why" they thought I had them proffesionally done and wanted something in writting about release of copyrites. I told them " I have a GREAT camera, it's a Canon and as you can tell it takes wonderful pictures". I have had my PowerShot S5IS for about 2yrs and I am still learning about what it does. My first Canon camera I bought at a yard sale is a AE-1. And it also takes good pictures. I Love My Canon.
P.S. I did get my prints
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PowerShot S5 IS
Nickname: Little Mrs Reeves
Location: Arkansas
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Okay for a Beginner, but.....

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 18, 2010
Pros: durable, Simple controls/menu
Cons: Short battery life, Heavy/Bulky
I bought this camera during the autumn of 2007 while I was pregnant with my son. I wanted a camera to capture every moment of my sons life....to a point it did. I have over 10,000 pictures of my son using this camera, but I could have had a lot more. That being said Overall it is a good camera, but I missed A LOT of great shots because of the bad delay the camera has. It seems like I have to wait a whole 30 seconds for the camera to take a picture. I am in the market for a new camera now that my son is one years old. I don't want to miss anymore special moments because of a delay.
For a beginner photographer, I think this is a good camera. I am starting a photography business with my friend and need a better performing camera for sure.
Looking back I feel stupid for spending so much money on this camera and it only lasting me a year and a half.
This camera also takes 4 AA batteries and it sucks the life out of them. I am constantly having to buy new batteries.
4 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PowerShot S5 IS
Nickname: Jake
Location: New Jersey
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

OK for the money

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 16, 2010
Pros: Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Poor image quality, Poor Low-Light Performance
I have had this camera about 2 years and have taken more than 2000 pictures. The camera's low light performance is terrible as it's noise level is extremely high. The pictures taken above ISO 200 cannot be used above 4x6 enlargement due to excessive noise. Other than the noise problem the camera is acceptable. Battery life seems average for a camera with an EVF for viewing. I solved the lens cap problem by using a lens extender with a 58 mm cap.
Review 20 for PowerShot S5 IS
Nickname: RRPilot
Location: Georgia
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Better than what I needed.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 17, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, durable, Bright LCD, easy to use
Cons: Heavy/Bulky
I bought this camera with specitic purpose in mind and it has since proven to be better at what I wanted it for than I had expected it to be. The only real negative that I have to say about this camera is that the picture taken in the sports(action) setting of the camera, while taken at a decent speed, do tend to come out alittle grainny when show at full size.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site