Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / PowerShot SD/ELPH Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PowerShot SD/ELPH Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot SD850 IS

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot SD850 IS

Average Customer Rating:
4.727 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
33 out of 33(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot SD850 IS
Review 1 for PowerShot SD850 IS
Nickname: SheilaFLX
Location: Cape Coral, Fl
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Enjoy the ease of use

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 21, 2012
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: bigger print in manual
Easy to use, point and shoot! The camera does the rest. Would like to see the print in the manual a little larger
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot SD850 IS
Nickname: Hdsz064
Location: Houston
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

One of the best !!!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 30, 2010
Pros: lens closes, large display, ease os use, quick change of memory and battery, erogonomic controls
Cons: bulky (a little thick)
I have had this camera for a couple of years now. This is probably the best little camera I have ever owned.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot SD850 IS
Nickname: Shanny
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

I love this camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 5, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
This is a great little camera! It's in my purse wherever I go so I have it all the time for special moments. Have not had one problem with it. I would highly recommend it.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot SD850 IS
Nickname: michael
Location: limassol,cyprus
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

best camera in my life.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 27, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, not expensive
I was in California visiting my childrens with different camera.My son asked me ,why i dont buy another camera.So he said to me buy this specifique model and you wont recrete. canon 850 is powershot.So i lisent to my son and beleive me we all very happy.We didnt miss any shot.And my son after i baught the camera said to me.Dont forget when you return home tell your friends that this camera is got image stailizer.Anyway am happy.Many thanks
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot SD850 IS
Nickname: Maci
Location: Lufkin, Tx
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

absolutely THE best camera!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 18, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
I purchased this camera last year and absolutely love it! I am a teenager, so I am super hard on cameras. At first, I used a padded case to keep it in but soon did away with that and just started throwing it in my purse. It got scratched, dropped on concrete, dropped in water, muddy, dropped in dirt, left in over 100 degree weather, left outside overnight, and still keeps going! It's super easy to use and has AMAZING features, my favorite being the way it pulls out one color and makes everything else black and white. I'm in yearbook, and we use the pictures from my camera all the time because of that. I am just amazed by everything it does and so is everyone i show it to! Sometimes, if you drop it or it gets a peice of dirt in it, the lense has trouble and you have to push it back in and turn it off and then back on, but thats pretty understandable. After this year and everything I'v put it through, all the screws are missing that keep it together and it just falls apart and my flash is melted. In my search for a new camera, i just can't find anything quite like it, so it's highly possible that I'll just replace it! Great camera for any age, gender, or technology level!!
25 of 27 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot SD850 IS
Nickname: Tom
Location: New York,NY
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

BEST CAMERA EVER

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 22, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
I have used theis camera at the beach, skiing, biking, lightning,recording videos, and many other things I recommend this camera to everyone out their looking to buy a camera.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot SD850 IS
Nickname: fighter pilot
Location: Austin, Texas
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Exceptional

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 18, 2009
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life
Produces great pictures. Make sure you read the directions to get full operation of the camera. It has a lot going for it. I have 4 other cameras and equipment some as much as $2500. I use the 850 most of all and get constant compliments on my prints.
19 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot SD850 IS
Nickname: Wes

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 16, 2009
Great camera that takes great pictures! Easy to use customer services and help tools online.
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot SD850 IS
Nickname: sd850
Location: USA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Amazing buy

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 26, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
Definitely one of the best point and shoot cameras.
19 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot SD850 IS
Nickname: klearfokus
Location: Jerome, Idhao
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great Little Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 25, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life
I just love this camera. I have had it for a year now and always keep it in my purse. Great performance and easy to use. The battery life is good. And always a good picture. OK almost always. The few times it hasn't performed was due to operator error or such horrible shooting conditions I was just hopeing. The only thing now that I want is the exact same camera with 12-14mp, 5-7x optical zoom and keep the viewfinder. Noticed the Canon Powershot SD970 is out but they dropped the viewfinder. I guess I will have to wait until they put it back. I have several other cameras, 2 other digital, 2 other 35mm. This is my quick shoot camera.
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot SD850 IS
Nickname: Tom
Location: Marin Co. California
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

No Disappointment Here!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 17, 2009
Pros: easy to use, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life
Amazing pictures and so terrific value for the price!
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot SD850 IS
Nickname: rdghead
Location: philadlphia pa.
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 7, 2009
Pros: easy to use, excellent image quality, good battery life, durable
Cons: Complicated controls/menu
excellent product controls & menu are difficult to understand
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot SD850 IS
Nickname: alaska visitor
Location: Elko, NV
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Nice camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 17, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
Cons: Complicated controls/menu
I bought this camera for a trip to Alaska; it did not disappoint. I recieved very crisp, bright pictures the entire time: even on rainy days. The battery holds a charge for quite a while and recharges quickly with a standard outlet. I would recommend it as a great mid-range item for anyone.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot SD850 IS
Nickname: Briz

Great quality, reasonable price

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
I recently purchased this camera to replace my 7 year old digital, which is 2.0 mp and still takes pretty good photos. But, I needed a much higher quality image, better lo-light sensitivity & flash range, and good quality audio-video at a reasonable price. That is exactly what I got with the SD850. And, although I prefer using the optical viewfinder, the LCD is bright, true, and easily adjustable for any lighting conditions you may encounter. I'm not a professional photographer, but any photos I take of family, friends, or events at my work are very important to me. And, given that I also own a Canon Pixma printer, I look forward to shooting, and printing many great photos with this camera.
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerShot SD850 IS
Nickname: Shilo
Location: Oshkosh, WI
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
A great value for the money.
Very easy to use and loaded with features that you can do a lot with.
Review 16 for PowerShot SD850 IS
Nickname: fighter pilot
Location: Texas is home but travel extensively
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Good Value

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
Cons: Complicated controls/menu, Poor Low-Light Performance
I have been particularly satisfied with the camera. As an owner of two other Canon cameras this one meets expectations. As a long time film camera user I find digital cameras improving constantly and looks like Canon is in the forefront. I believe the menu is overly complicated and could be simplified. This is common problem in digital equipment I believe.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PowerShot SD850 IS
Nickname: Thrilled Wife
Location: Colorado Springs, Colorado
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Easy to use

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
This is the first digital camera that I have bought that my wife can use and feel comfortable taking pictures with. I own 4 other digital cameras and she almost never used them because she could not understand how they function. This camera she can use and set the setting herself as it is so easy to work threw the programs. She is very happy with the quality of the pictures.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PowerShot SD850 IS
Nickname: Photobug
Location: Key West
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent Camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2009
Pros: excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life
An excellent camera overall. Excellent resolution. Takes high quality pictures. My biggest complaint is the excessive shutter lag, which makes it difficult to capture fast changing events. I woud prefer that the camera use
non-rechargeable batteries.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PowerShot SD850 IS
Nickname: kimoswahine
Location: anaheim, ca
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

good camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
Cons: shutter speed could be faster
this camera is easy to use, pictures are very nice. I use it for my grandaughter, I have had it since 2007. The videos are crisp and clear, not shaky or blurry. A must have for your purse.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PowerShot SD850 IS
Nickname: Guido1000
Location: Woburn, MA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Good solid, compact point and shoot.

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance
Great for carrying around in pocket. Great picture quality.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site