Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / imagePROGRAF Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop imagePROGRAF Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for imagePROGRAF iPF5100

imagePROGRAF iPF5100

17-inch Large Format Printer - Desktop Model 12-Color LUCIA ink set Built-in Calibration Print Plug-in for Photoshop/DPP Roll and Cut sheet printing
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 8(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for imagePROGRAF iPF5100
Review 1 for imagePROGRAF iPF5100
Nickname: Les
Location: Houston, Texas
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Great printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 27, 2012
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, Good Media Handling, durable, High Productivity, Small Footprint, High Quality Output, Low Running Cost, easy to use
I like it. It prints well, and the ncolors are good.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for imagePROGRAF iPF5100
Nickname: jimjsp
Location: Monmouth Junction, NJ
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

You won't be dissappointed

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 15, 2010
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, Good Media Handling, High Quality Output, easy to use, ink is the best yet
B & W prints the best I've seen so far.
This printer is a breeze to install, easy to use and gives prints that amaze. For me it has been an incentive to take even better photographs. I use mostly the Premium Matte paper and the textures are better than I thought was possible. I held out for quite a while to buy until the prices dropped and the pigment inks got better. I waited before I wrote this review and my opinion is the same, usually I find some dissapointments, but so far I'm really glad I bought this one.
27 of 27 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for imagePROGRAF iPF5100
Nickname: HLower
Location: Rochester, MN
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Flexability of in house printing and control

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 12, 2009
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, Good Media Handling, durable, High Productivity, High Quality Output, Low Running Cost, easy to use, customer service - free
Cons: need a good hardcopy manual
I have been using this printer for all our studio's work so thousands of 8 1/2x10 prints have gone through it. When I looked at all the information I could on printers, to replace another brand I had, the only thing I was a little concerned about was the footprint and working with and learning this new printer. It is build like a tank. I have had no problems that knowledge didn't cure,
I must say I have used Canon's Technical Support 800 number many times. This alone has been extremely helpful and resolved any issue I was having with their expert help. It would be helpful to have a hard copy manual, too. I could print it out or look at it on line but this printer demands a nice manual. My time is my most valuable asset.
This iPf5100 prints wonderfully on anything I have printed from RC papers, fine are papers & canvas, sheets or rolls. The prints created from it for International Prfessional Competitions have done very well, too. This printer and it's versatiliy has allowed me to change my product line in such a way that I never know what I will do next to keep my customers happy.
Someone once told me it you want a print what is different from pushing a button to send the print order to the lab or to send it to the Canon printer. It saves me time on the initial order and on redos of an order that occur because we are very picky about our work quaility.
Seldom do I rate something unless I feel very strongly about it. My whole operation is color balanced to have a working flow that I can see the result prior to printing. I have a Canon that spits out perfect prints.
33 of 34 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for imagePROGRAF iPF5100
Nickname: DJ-Kwixar
Location: Florida
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

DO NOT UPGRADE TO 1.38 FIRMWARE

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 7, 2009
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Good Media Handling, High Productivity, Small Footprint, High Quality Output, Low Running Cost, easy to use
Cons: print head issues with ver 1.38
If printheads start to clog with ver 1.35 you can bypass and continue printing with NO streaking or other issues.
With ver 1.38 as soon as it even thinks it has a clog, you cannot even run a head test.
16 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for imagePROGRAF iPF5100
Nickname: Vision Dream
Location: Chicago
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Good Value

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 13, 2009
Pros: High Quality Output, High Productivity, Low Running Cost, Good Media Handling, durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, reliable
Cons: Large Footprint
I have used the iPF5100 and the iPF6100 for over a year now. These two printers consistently out put some of my best works. The color saturation is unbelievable and the black and white prints are the best I have seen with any printer. I have total control of full tonal quality of my black and whites. The only con about the iPF5100 is that the foot print is much larger than it's competition's. You will need a good size table or purchase Canons metal cabinet. What I like most about these two printers are the fact that they do not require any maintenance; except for a few free software updates once a while. Oh, yes, I do have to dust them off from time to time. I highly recommend this imagePrograf printers for anyone who wants to print big.
18 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for imagePROGRAF iPF5100
Nickname: Deb
Location: North Carolina
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Outstanding print quality

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 26, 2009
Pros: High Quality Output, durable, reliable
Cons: Difficult Setup, Difficult to use
As a pro photographer I'm pleased with print quality
4 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for imagePROGRAF iPF5100
Nickname: Rod
Location: Golden, CO
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent product

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 21, 2009
Pros: High Quality Output, Low Running Cost, Good Media Handling, Small Footprint, durable, Easy Setup, reliable
I researched long and hard before I bought this printer. I have to say it paid off! I am extremely happy with my Canon iPF 5100. Colors and print quality is better than what I was getting from the lab. This is partly because I have better control over the paper I use. In addition, prints are relatively inexpensive so if I want a re-print with changes it's fast and easy. The printer is BIG and it requires some space, but what would you expect with a large format printer? We are looking to buy one or two more as well as the iPF 6100.
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for imagePROGRAF iPF5100
Nickname: Thor38
Location: Jefferson City MO
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Photographer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2009
Pros: High Quality Output, High Productivity, Low Running Cost, Good Media Handling, Small Footprint, durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, reliable, fast turn around to my customers
I have found this printer a wonderful item to have for fast turn around to my customers. The prints are sharp and clear as if produced by my lab. The ability to provide my customers with a product quickly is spreading by word of mouth.
81 of 91 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site