Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MP Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MP Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MP970

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PIXMA MP970

Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
13 out of 15(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MP970
Review 1 for PIXMA MP970
Nickname: Big_D
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Generally satisfied...

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 17, 2011
Pros: good quality photo printing, double-sided printing, print speed, network printing
Cons: door will not stay closed
I use this printer primarily as a home network printer for my family. As a day-to-day printer I have been very satisfied with the output quality and print speed. It scans pictures at a reasonable speed and the quality of the images stored is OK. The one annoyance is that the door on the printer will no longer stay closed - this is after having this printer for over a year (and, out of warranty). It would have been nice to have a built-in fax, but I get by with the Windows XP fax program. I have not used the film strip scanning capability, as yet.
6 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA MP970
Nickname: Crazie Kat
Location: Wisconsin
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

All the bells and whistles!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 1, 2010
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Low Ink Consumption, fast print speed
Cons: Difficult to use, Dull Tones & Colors
Great machine, but a bit complicated,Great support !
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA MP970
Nickname: Skip
Location: Buffalo,NY
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Outstanding printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 5, 2010
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: Large Footprint, High Ink Consumption
Purchased this printer for its excellent color rendition. With the software provided the prints pop off the screen onto the photo paper. I use a monitor calibration tool, then the provided software from Canon, and the pictures come out great. Not a professional photo lab result but pretty good. After 40 years of film cameras, this combination of digital slr and Canon printer is pretty spectacular.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA MP970
Nickname: unhappy girl
Location: Boca Raton, Fl
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Nothing works

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 17, 2010
Pros: when it works its fine.
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, Large Footprint, unreliable, High Ink Consumption, most of the time something is wrong with this prin
I have had two of these printers. Nothing works. Paper doesn't feed into the printer, The ink leaks, The wireless connection doesn't work. The first printer broke 10 days before the expiration of the warranty. it was replaced with one that had only a 30 day warranty. It couldn't get the color correct and broke 4 months after I received it.
6 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA MP970
Nickname: FIJIMAN
Location: LAS VEGAS/HENDERSON NEVADA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

CANON'S AWESOME 7-INK MASTER

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 21, 2009
Pros: durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors
FAST FAST FAST MACHINE
HIGH RESOLUTION 9600 X 2400 INK PRINTS
ONE PICOLITER INK DROPLETS
VERY NATURE COLOR AND TONE PICYURES.
14 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA MP970
Nickname: Anonymous
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 21, 2009
Pros: durable, easy to use, Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: Heavy/Bulky, unreliable, if it runs out of ink all other functions cease, can only scan 1 strip 35mm film...
as a photo student i love this printer, it's easy to use and once you learn how to bipass all the preset scanning settings the scanning is okay.
two big cons, it seems absurd to me that a scanner/printer aimed at photographers has such pathetic film scanning capabilities. you can scan one strip of 35mm negatives at a time, and no other sizes at all. if i had known this beforehand i would not have spent the money on it.
another horrendous feature is that if you run out of just one color of ink, the entire machine refuses to do anything, even tasks that don't require ink, such as scanning. which is absurd, because now it is entirely useless to me until i can afford to buy more ink, and meanwhile i need to be scanning things for school, but cannot.
that said, as a printer it is amazing, just don't buy it with the expectation that it be your only scanner, you will need a backup.
25 of 28 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MP970
Nickname: jjsbcs
Location: Stanfield, OR
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Best printer ever

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed, Low Ink Consumption, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors
I have owned several other brands.
This is the best printer I have ever owned!
7 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MP970
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Corinth, TX
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

You will not regret it

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2009
Pros: Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors
We searched and asked around and everybody recommended the pixma and talked so good about the quality of prints - copies or pictures. So we decided on this printer. I'm not a tech nut, so I use items a little bit at a time and slowly move further. At first I didn't know its potentials, just used it for copying and a little later I started printing pictures.
Many years ago I kept all my pictures on slides. The question was, how can I store them on my computer. So I started to look for a machine, that can scan slides. One day I looked through my instruction book and discovered, that my pixma printer can do that. I was so happy. I thought, this was the coolest thing. I tested it immediately. The instructions are step by step and easy to follow. And I had my first slides permanently on file.
The only downside, which is more an inconvenience is getting ink cartridges in stores. But you can always order them from Canon direkt. I just make sure, I always have one of every color on hand.
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MP970
Nickname: biggin
Location: Rockport, TX
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent Product

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2009
Pros: durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed, Low Ink Consumption, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: Large Footprint, Heavy/Bulky
Purchased for my wife's business and my slide copying project. Works like a charm. I assumed it included a fax. Would not use it much if it did.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MP970
Nickname: ET
Location: Connecticut
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

First Cannon Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2009
Pros: durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed, Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: Heavy/Bulky
This is my first Cannon Printer I've always had an HP but so far this one is great, nice looking photo's when printed, was not hard at all to set up and instructions were relatively easy to understand. I've only had it for a little over a month but so far it meets my expectations.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MP970
Nickname: Lotus 2914
Location: Providence, Rhode Island
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

All right for basic use.

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2009
Pros: durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed, Low Ink Consumption, reliable
Cons: Large Footprint, Heavy/Bulky
I discovered that this printer will not print properly on heavy card stock due to the formulation of the ink. I have not used it for photo printing because ICC profiles are not available for a consumer level printer like this. This limits my use to more basic things like routine printing as well as business cards and similar things. There are features I haven't used yet but so far I haven't run into any major problems.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MP970
Nickname: Joe
Location: Windham, NH
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Best All-In-One owned To Date

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 31, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Setup, easy to use
I use it mostly for printing and occassional scanning.
I also print DVD/CD covers using the tray. This feature is not available on the US model. I did some research and converted US model to European by resetting the printer.
I've always liked open source etc. where customers modify and reprogram the way the they want and Canon products, at least this printer, falls into that category.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MP970
Nickname: CIOCCI
Location: NEW JERSEY
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

GREAT PRODUCT

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 1, 2008
Pros: Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed, Low Ink Consumption, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors
I ALWAYS HAD HP PRINTERS, BUT THIS CANON IS THE BEST I HAVE PURCHASED SO FAR. I PRINT ALOT OF PICTURES AND THEY ARE SO CLEAR PEOPLE CAN'T BELIEVE I PRINTER THEN FROM A HOME PRINTER. REGULAR PRINTING IS GREAT. WOULD RECOMEND THIS PRINTER.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MP970
Nickname: Ms. Blue
Location: Greensboro, NC
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Great Printer For Personal, Business and Fun!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 28, 2008
Pros: prints scans and copies are of great quality, automatic door opener, included software utilities and drivers work great, sleek design, multiple cartridges
Cons: cost, does not print 11"x17"
I purchased this printer a few months ago in 2008 for my PowerMac G5 and have loved every minute of it. I am not only impressed by the quality of general prints (black and color), but the awesome color copy quality of this model as well. I've used high quality heat transfer paper in it and it has never jammed. Having the manual feed option in the back that follows a straight paper path helps greatly for transfer printing! I like the software included for the Mac OS that scans and that provides a multitude of other options to customize print jobs (like a heat transfer print option that auto-reverses the image).
In addition, it prints fast, with the copy and scanning not far behind in speediness.
A really small but cool feature of this printer is that the door will open automatically after sending a print job if previously closed. Thus, you do not have to worry about the print being paused because the door was closed, nor have to run to it to open it before the jobs exits.
I have not yet tested the 35mm slide option, the bluetooth option nor the card slots but have no doubts about their functionality. The option to change the paper feed path with a hard (button) setting is much appreciated, though cannot be overridden via software. I truly admire the multiple color cartridges vs. using 2 color cartridges as in other inkjet printers.
The only con for me was the cost and that fact that I missed $100 off with a rebate. Nevertheless, I plan to have this printer for many years, plan to buy the extended warranty (which can be acquired within the 1st year of purchase) and I found a great $8.00 large printer cover for it on eBay to protect it from dust.
This printer does everything well and nothing is slack in my opinion, as some other multifunction printers are!
104 of 104 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for PIXMA MP970
Based on 1 ratings-only review
OverallAverage Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site