Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA iP Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA iP Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA iP3500

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PIXMA iP3500

Average Customer Rating:
3.2 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
4
8 out of 15(53%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA iP3500
Review 1 for PIXMA iP3500
Nickname: marcoangels
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Cheap printer!

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 12, 2010
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Setup, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Dull Tones & Colors, High Ink Consumption, unreliable, Flimsy Construction
This product is priced cheap because it is cheaply made. It functioned well at first. the images were not as good as the ones from my S900, but were not bad. However, if you don't use the printer a lot, the print head clogs and the print head is worth more than the printer, to replace. So, if you are just printing documents, it's fine, but goes through a lot of ink and the photo quality is not that good, even on Canon paper.
16 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA iP3500
Nickname: Ekidokai
Location: Bangor, Maine
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Really nice

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 27, 2009
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Low Ink Consumption, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
I really like the ip3500 printer. It is just the right size. It is quick and the cartridges are not expensive. It has great quality copy.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA iP3500
Nickname: theSuperE
Location: Based now in Albuquerque
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Good machine

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 20, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, Lightweight/Portable, Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors
Purchased this a year ago and I really print a LOT of copies with full color, I produce a quarterly newsletter. Good quality and FAST for its class. I had my brother's print do one copy for me and it was soooooooooo slow, wouldn't mention the brand but it was NOT CANON!! Lightweight and easy to take IF you need to travel with your own printer. AND I fill my own tanks with bulk ink, seal with a bit of wax from hot glue gun, never a leak.
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA iP3500
Nickname: presentationsrule

Awesome!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 26, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, Lightweight/Portable, durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed, Low Ink Consumption, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: Flimsy Construction
I'm not sure where all of the other reviews came from, but they must need a top-notch photo printing machine! I work in a freelance capacity and work in different offices regularly, sometimes many in a single week. This printer travels well, prints ALL of my presentation materials for agencies, clients, and on-camera film shoots brilliantly! I love this printer! And the ink lasts forever. A must purchase for all reasons!
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA iP3500
Nickname: JMBASS
Location: VIRGINIA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

TERRIBLE PRINTER

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 13, 2009
Pros: Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Large Footprint, High Ink Consumption, unreliable, Dull Tones & Colors
WONT FEED PAPER FROM REAR TRAY. INK CARTRIDGES LEAKED AND WERE ONLY HALF FULL AT INSTALLATION. POOR COLOR. NOISY, NOT WORTH THE MONEY. ONLY 2 MONTHS OLD AND I HOPE CANON WILL REPLACE IT
7 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA iP3500
Nickname: Christina
Location: Ardsley, NY
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Good Printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, Lightweight/Portable, durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed
Cons: Large Footprint, Flimsy Construction, High Ink Consumption, smudges
I think the print-outs could be a little cleaner/less smudgy. I am very happy with the speed, however. Also, color print-outs come out pretty good, even on standard copy paper.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA iP3500
Nickname: mre T
Location: houston Texas
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

poor

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 14, 2009
Cons: Difficult Setup, Difficult to use
i brougt this twice both was bad it the one i use for a cake printer it not as good as the ip1500 i had that one forever i love canon printer but that one i have only one year.
7 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA iP3500
Nickname: Rex
Location: Birmingham, AL
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

disappointing performance

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 31, 2008
Pros: durable
Cons: Large Footprint, High Ink Consumption, Dull Tones & Colors, expensive cartriges
Printer never achieves a rich black even when using premium photo papers. Expensive ink. The software needs much more precise image and color control. The front paper tray follows a complex path leading to paper jams. I only use the rear tray.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA iP3500
Nickname: Chapsis
Location: Spring, TX
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

As good as previous Canon printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 26, 2008
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Setup, easy to use, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors, two paper trays, individual ink tanks
The iP3500 printer is a great printer. The colors are true and it was purchased particularly due to having individual ink tanks which saves a lot of money. You only have to replace the color you run out of. I had an S600 which lasted 8 years and I expect that this printer will most likely last just as long. I'm very happy with the photos that it prints and having the option of using two paper trays is a huge plus! Price for value is exceptional with this printer.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA iP3500
Nickname: bgsoucarolina

Terrific Value and Printing

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 25, 2008
Pros: Lightweight/Portable, durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed, Low Ink Consumption, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors
I bought the iP3500 because it was reviewed as a best buy by PC World. It's a super machine with high quality color photo printing. I own or have owned about a dozen printers. This is first choice for photo printing up to letter size sheets. Highly recommended. (Purchased in July 2008. Still going strong.)
14 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA iP3500
Nickname: joe
Location: North Carolina
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast

not so happy

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 18, 2008
Cons: High Ink Consumption, slow to get started, poor photo quality
I am dissapointed with my ip3500. It seems to take forever to start up and print. Once it does get started it prints good text and graphics but I am not happy with its photo printing. The ink cartriges are small and I have already had to replace them. Wishing I had purchased something else.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA iP3500
Nickname: Me
Location: Chicago, IL
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Worst Canon Product

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 10, 2008
Cons: Heavy or bulky, Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, unreliable, error messages
I purchased this printer, nothing but problems. Driver issues. Error messages saying it's jamed when it's not. USB plug on side, Constant problems.
2 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA iP3500
Nickname: Sally

Printer Rocks

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 10, 2008
I use this to print all my professional photography pictures.
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA iP3500
Nickname: Joe

Great printer for the price

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 10, 2008
Easy to install, printed pictures - color was great
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA iP3500
Nickname: lost soul
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

What is Mac os X CUPS?

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 3, 2008
I was going to download the driver for the Pixma IP3500, and had 2 choices. Mac os X and Mac os X CUPS. I took a guess and used the Mac os X one because I had no idea what CUPS was. I looked it up on Wiki and they didn't either.
I hope I did not get the wrong driver and mess up my system. Time will tell. If they use a technical word like this, they should explain it. Until I have a good driver, and can actually use it, I can't really give a rating on this printer. I think I better do a backup before I do this. I am guessing that CUPS is a special Mac OS that runs on their servers, but I really don't know.
6 of 27 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site