Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MX Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MX Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX310

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PIXMA MX310

Average Customer Rating:
3.594 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(101 Reviews) 100
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (101 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
25
3 stars
14
2 stars
7
1 star
17
61 out of 101(60%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX310
Review 1 for PIXMA MX310
Nickname: joest
Location: NJ
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great value

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 23, 2010
Pros: good value
Cons: none
The quality of the pictures is great. I have copied pictures that are around one hundred years old and the printer did a great job on even the faintest pictures. I also use this printer for regular documents.
8 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA MX310
Nickname: LR
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

An Epic Fail

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 21, 2010
We bought this printer at a great price. Set up took a while but was relatively simple.
At first, everything went well. The printer did what it was told. And this lasted a very short time.
Yes, the features are great and all-- but they don't work. They NEVER work. My MX310 doesn't print, scan, or make copies unless ALL ink cartridges are full. Which is never, given how short lived those ink cartridges are. And to replace them? Your wallet will empty out of cash the same way the cartridges run out of ink.
Not only that, this printer takes forever to print. Our other Canon printer, 10 years old, prints faster and higher quality than this MX310.
Canon's a great company with excellent customer support, but there are some products that are just so bad it's not worth it.
36 of 42 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA MX310
Nickname: Admin specialist
Location: Arlington, Texas
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Average Printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 20, 2010
Pros: scanner, decent printing
Cons: bulky, ink hog
This printer was provided to me by my employer. It has seen several homes and much transport and I have never had a problem. It prints well and seems to use Ink rather quickly, but that a non issue as any printer of this type is designed to use a lot of ink if your printing photos. The scan function is seamless and is what I use more than anything. Good quality printing of documents, but not so much on the photos. It's big and bulky, but it works when I need it to. I wouldn't have spent my own money on a printer made by a company known for its cameras, but free it's a good printer.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA MX310
Nickname: hunnybee
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Worst headache Ive ever had

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 22, 2010
Cons: cant print bw without colour ink
Its huge, noisy, and forces you to spend loads of money. It wont even allow you to print black and white without a colour cartridge. Not to mention it just doesnt work. Ive never been tempted to throw something out of the window so much in my life
18 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA MX310
Nickname: ibuyonlycanons
Location: Midwest
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 18, 2010
I've owned my Canon MX310 now for just over a year. I bought it new for just under $89, & I love it.
It was easy to setup from out of the box.
Ink isn't ask expensive as most other brands sold.
Most importantly... It works when I need it to work.
It may b a poor mans Multifunction, but its a darn good quality multifunction printer! I work on PC's, & if I chose to could work on Printers because I'm trained to do so.. & I know a quality, working mans price MFP when I see one. I recommend these canons to my family & customers because I've always used them, & I know they're solid MFP's.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA MX310
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: California
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur

Biggest waste of money in my life

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 11, 2010
This printer is constantly jamming, envelopes will virtually not print AT ALL, and the ink costs a black land farm. It is basically a piece of trash and I will NEVER buy another Canon product because of my negative experience with it.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MX310
Nickname: Bob
Location: Close to Hahira
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Dependable Workhorse

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 3, 2010
This is an excellent machine for my needs. It prints great in black and color. It seems to eat ink...(which gets pricey), so I'm looking at laser printers.
But, in the meantime, this machine has really held up well, and Canon's tech support is unrivaled.
Review 8 for PIXMA MX310
Nickname: Tootie
Location: Hyattsville, Md.
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Great Buy for Your Money

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 15, 2010
Pros: excellant quality
100% in value, well made worth more than the money that was spent on the product. A gift I will treasure for a long time. I want to spend less on ink, but besides that it provides great output and it has lasted
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MX310
Nickname: JBear
Location: Bolingbrook
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Worst Printer I've Owned

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 10, 2010
Pros: initially inexpensive
Cons: uses ink very quickly, print quality is poor
I've owned this printer for more than a year. After just a few months, the printer started printing with lines through the middle of the text. I tried doing the maintenance/troubleshooting procedures in the user guide, but the steps didn't fix the problem. Because the printer wasn't too expensive, I just kept using it. Plus, graphics turned out well, and I liked how the scanner worked.
Recently, there was a paper jam, and since then, the machine won't feed any paper. I've tried cleaning the paper feed roller (according the steps in the user guide), but the machine just can't catch the paper.
The warranty is expired, so I'm just going to toss the printer and never buy a Canon printer again.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MX310
Nickname: TheNW_Guy
Location: Seattle
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Still going and still good

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 9, 2010
Pros: construction, ease of function, price
Cons: manual alignment, rear paper tray
Teh Pixma MX310 is a great printer. I came across this printer by accident, as another printer died only a few months after owning it (you could tell the quality was less than "standard").
While I didn't understand why this printer didn't have it's own ability to calibrate itself (many printers would for that era), I came to love the quality and the simplicity, and that's saying a lot for a MF printer. I am so impressed, that I am looking forward to getting a new wireless printer of the same series type. The only thing that I hope to see changed is the price on the ink; one of the highest priced liquids around (something like $10,000 per gallon?). However, don't drop on the quality of the ink.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MX310
Nickname: DT
Location: Baltimore, MD
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Real Value for the Money

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 17, 2010
This really has served my needs especially the document scanner.
Review 12 for PIXMA MX310
Nickname: Limoguy
Location: Davison, MI
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Nice Office Machine

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 11, 2010
Pros: price & quality
Cons: ink use
This is a really nice office/home machine the only cons is that the ink goes fast and the refills are expensive.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MX310
Nickname: Nevaeh7er
Location: South Carolina
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Excellent value/performance/design for the cost!!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 5, 2010
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, Low Ink Consumption, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: Large Footprint
One of the best printers I have ever purchased. Sturdy design. Excellent value/performance/design for the cost!!!
Review 14 for PIXMA MX310
Nickname: Peter
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Product replacement: No

Scanner from stack ADF intermittent start

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 15, 2010
It's okay as an inkjet printer. Hey I got it for almost nothing with my Mac. But the function of scanning a stack of documents, which I find very useful and makes it worth it right there, has a strange thing that I have to give it the command about 20 times before it decides to do it. Haven't figured out yet what the trick is.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA MX310
Nickname: joe

paper transfer

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 6, 2010
Pros: Easy Setup, durable, easy to use
Cons: Heavy/Bulky
This unit printed good quality copies untill a paper "jam" rendered the unit useless.Just another through away product! Guess I'll have to pop for another one less then two years after purchase.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MX310
Nickname: hacksaw
Location: Detroit
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

WHAT A LET DOWN

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 2, 2010
Pros: Easy Setup, easy to use
Cons: unreliable
When I purchased this product I thought I was getting an unbelievable bargain. Boy was I wrong. I used it very little as a printer, it took almost 1 year to use up the original cartridges. I replaced them and that was the end of a great relationship. It won't work at all and needs service according to the support site @ canon. Of course the warranty has expired.
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MX310
Nickname: Honolulululu
Location: Bend Oregon
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Ink Guzzler

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 11, 2010
Overall a very good printer with all the requisite features.
HOWEVER, ink usage, ink replacement costs make it very expensive and inconvenient. Because of this, I cannot recommend this printer
7 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MX310
Nickname: walt
Location: Michigan
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

constant breakdowns

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 21, 2010
Pros: for the garbage can
Cons: Difficult to use, Large Footprint, Dull Tones & Colors, unreliable, High Ink Consumption, you name it.terrible!!
Uses too much ink, constant resets,constant reprograms to get it going
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MX310
Nickname: Bob
Location: SD
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Conon: Please Think About Customer

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 20, 2010
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, Sharp Tones & Colors, easy to use
Cons: High Ink Consumption, ink tanks empty cannot use non-ink functions, high ink costs
MX310 works very well. I purchased this unit after using my PIXMA iP5000 for 5 years which has individual ink tanks. I wanted the scanner and fax options the MX310 has. However, expensive ink cartridges and not able to use scanner, or fax if ink cartridges are empty. These issues were a large disappointment. Please fix the ink cost and ability to use non-ink functions in future models. I've had 1 super experience and 1 fair to poor. Everyone gets a second chance to get it right. I've been a faithful Canon customer since I bought my first 35MM camera in 1970, that I still own and use. Please consider customers needs first.
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA MX310
Nickname: TRAINMAN
Location: Lorena, TX
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Disappointed

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 4, 2010
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, easy to use
Cons: High Ink Consumption
Price of ink excessive. Better to by new printer then replace both in cartridges. Looking for better value and ditch this.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site