Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MP Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MP Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MP610

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PIXMA MP610

Average Customer Rating:
4.12 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (50 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
6
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
5
38 out of 50(76%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MP610
Review 1 for PIXMA MP610
Nickname: joed
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

big mistake

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 5, 2010
I bought a new canon A720 camera and decided to get a Canon printer to compliment the new camera. Big Mistake.. The camera is fine but the printer has become a huge disapointment to me.
The ink is used at a very fast rate even in simple letter printing. The colors are way off in photo printing and there doesn't seem to be an actual adjuxtment to give true color to the photos. The printer takes relatively long time to queue up and the overall quality of the printer is cheap.
If I ever have the money to get another printer I will return to the other printer company.
12 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA MP610
Nickname: JuJu
Location: New Hampshire
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Photo print isues

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:June 21, 2010
Pros: Easy Setup, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: photos seem out of focus, colors too bright not enough contrast
I've had this printer for nearly 2 years. It operates well - no mechanical issues, good b&w, easy to load paper and ink, but the photo reproduction is poor. Am running comparisons of color photos with a my friend's new (competing brand) and the differences is startling. My prints have blurry areas (focus?) and the color and contrasts are not easily adjusted. I never have produced a good clear set of prints.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA MP610
Nickname: Marney
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Very Happy with this product

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 20, 2010
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Low Ink Consumption, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
This is my second printer from Cannon. It is quiet and fast. Does everything I need in a printer. I would reccomend it to anyone, I have had this one for 3 years and have never had any trouble with it.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA MP610
Nickname: EDW
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Buy with hesitation

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 3, 2010
Pros: Easy Setup, easy to use
Cons: High Ink Consumption, unreliable, doesn't work when ink is out
I like the quality and ease of use, but two things that have been frustrating are: we've had problems with ink cartridges, they run out too quickly and have bought some that have been faulty. Also, when the ink is out you can't do things like scanning that require no ink. Seems ridiculous to me. I'd buy another Canon if these were improved upon.
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA MP610
Nickname: Anonymous

Great Printer, but has some issues

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 14, 2010
These printer has served us well overall. Yet it seems to suffer from a major gaff. The scanner will not work if the ink jet cartridges need to be replaced. Can't see an easy work around this. But it seems to me that disabling other features of the scanner that don't require the printer given a lack of ink is a bit restrictive. We now have to wait for more ink before we can scan and send important documents.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA MP610
Nickname: kathi
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

A printer like this should be networkable

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 14, 2009
Pros: reliable, fast print speed, easy to use, customer support
Cons: Large Footprint, Heavy/Bulky, cannot be networked
A printer in this price/quality level should be networkable
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MP610
Nickname: esmass
Location: central mass
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Good Value for the Price

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 5, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, durable, easy to use, fast print speed, Low Ink Consumption, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors
Menu makes it quick and easy to move through different tasks. Clear scans and crisp printing/copying. Would be convenient to have a printer menu option for multi-page scans going to one PDF file (I use Adobe Standard, so I can compile scans into one PDF file on the computer, but would be convenient to scan them into one from the scanner).
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MP610
Nickname: okiegem
Location: Muskogee, Oklahoma
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent Value

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 7, 2009
Pros: Lightweight/Portable, durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors, best buy
Cons: Large Footprint, Slow Print Speed, High Ink Consumption, control menu can be confusing
CONS ARE BETTER EXPLAINED BELOW. CONSIDERING THE VALUE OF THIS DEVICE, THEY ARE EASY TO LIVE WITH. This multifunction device has yet to fail me after 10 months of use. It has all the functions I've ever needed, save a fax funtion. It has very good definition on documents, and reproduces very well. The photos I have printed from it are beautifully rendered. The software it came with is very satisfactory. Shortcomings are: it is on the larger side and needs space, digital menu can be confusing, I would like to see faster printing (but I'm told I'm impatient!), and ink is always expensive, altho' no worse than other printers I've owned. I would definitely buy it again.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MP610
Nickname: ddl
Location: Minneapolis
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great printer/scanner

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 31, 2009
Pros: Easy Setup, fast print speed, Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: Large Footprint
After using other printers in the past, this is my fourth Canon in a row. Canon's printers are the first ink-jets in my experience that can sit for a week between print jobs and be ready to go each time (my non-Canon ink-jets would dry up and clog every time they sat for more than a day between uses). I love the 5-ink layout and the cartridges couldn't be easier to change. Best of all the colors match my screen. I could never get skin tones right before my Canons. Well done!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MP610
Nickname: mtn tech
Location: Park City, UT
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Outstanding Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 26, 2009
Pros: Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed, Low Ink Consumption, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: Large Footprint, Heavy/Bulky
We purchased this printer over a year ago. Over the course of that yera we have even moved. This printer just keeps on working. It was easy to set up and is easy to use. To keep the cost of cartridge replacements down just pay attention to whether you need praft quality or not. It has outstanding overall quality for each of the many features. One of our best purchases. It is a little larger, however the print speed and quality more than make up for that. We just put it on a side table and it does it's thing.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MP610
Nickname: Morning Star
Location: Michigan
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great purchase

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 4, 2009
Pros: Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed, Low Ink Consumption, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors
Great fast printing. Easy to set up and use. Love the two input trays and the double sided printing feature. It's a little larger than my other printer, but the features are worth it.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MP610
Nickname: Anonymous
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Instructions for enlargement

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 21, 2009
Cons: online assistance in making enlargements is missin
Instruction for making enlargements is not indexed; and I have not found it available online.
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MP610
Nickname: BurnedInBoston
Location: Boston, MA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

high maintenance, poor performance

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 20, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, fast print speed
Cons: High Ink Consumption, unreliable, Dull Tones & Colors
This is the most annoying and unreliable printer I have ever owned. I purchased it along with my iMac through Apple after being talked into purchase the MP610 instead of a more expensive printer. The only feature that works consistently is the scanner. I frequently receive ink tank errors. The ink tanks are expensive and twice now I've had to replace a new ink tank in less than a few weeks - and I don't use my printer more than a few of times a week.
The scanner works fine. Difficult to get to ink tanks.
14 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MP610
Nickname: Janet
Location: New Rochelle, NY
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Better than expected....

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 20, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, easy to use, Sharp Tones & Colors
THis was very inexpensive and I was very pleased. Very nice appearance, color prints really nice. Very impressed/
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA MP610
Nickname: Bob
Location: Atlanta, GA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great printer for the price

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 18, 2009
Pros: Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed, Low Ink Consumption, reliable
Cons: Large Footprint, Heavy/Bulky
I bought the Pixma MP610 as a replacement for another brand that refused to work properly with Windows Vista. I was not disappointed. The Pixma MP610 has met all my expectations with one exception. Photo prints have a slightly reddish tint, otherwise no problems.
Robert
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MP610
Nickname: Junebug

better than expected

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 17, 2009
Pros: Lightweight/Portable, Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed
I received the Pixma MP610 for Christmas. It wasn't the printer I had asked for, but was happy to get it. After using it for a couple months, I'm impressed with how quick and easy it is to use. You don't give up any quality with the speed of printing either. Great product for home use. Someone is always wanting me to scan and print something or download pics to print!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MP610
Nickname: Meliemel
Location: Holyoke, MA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

My software cd got lost!!!!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 17, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed, Low Ink Consumption, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: Heavy/Bulky
I didnt know you could download the software from the website to your compur\ter. I just bought a new laptop and i had no idea where the software cd went. So i friend suggested downloading from the manufacturing site. Which i did and it was so simple. THank you!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MP610
Nickname: Rocky
Location: St. Clair Shores, Michigan
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Best Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 16, 2009
Pros: Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: Heavy/Bulky
This is the 2nd 610 model that I purchased. Photos print out beautifully, and the editing program, especially the sharpening program works very well. I've been able to salvage and greatly improve poorer quality older photos by scanning them and then using the "sharpen" program. I had brought some old slides to a camera store and had them made into prints, which were disappointingly blurry. I scanned the prints with my 610 model, used the "sharpen" program, and printed some beautiful photos. I brought the photos back to the camera store to show them how much better my photos looked by using my Canon printer than their prints looked, and they were greatly impressed. The printer is easy to use, produces very nice quality photos, and changing the ink cartridges is a snap.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MP610
Nickname: BW
Location: Hershey,PA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

good machine for a good price.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 16, 2009
Pros: durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed, Low Ink Consumption, reliable
Cons: Heavy/Bulky
Does a very good job at all it's suppose to do.
I am very happy with it. But there is one thing i am
not as pleased with, it's the color rendering i get
when i copy photo's. The color looks good in the preview
but when it's printed out the colors are off .
Review 20 for PIXMA MP610
Nickname: Heapi
Location: Lincoln, NE
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Best in Class

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2009
Pros: Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: Large Footprint, Heavy/Bulky, pricey replacement ink
For the price, there is not a better all-in-one inkjet printer. Easy setup, fast, great quality . Liked it so much, we bought another for our son in college.
1 2 3 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site