Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Camcorders Reviews / High Definition Camcorders Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop High Definition Camcorders or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products

Customer Reviews for VIXIA HG10

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

VIXIA HG10

Average Customer Rating:
3.929 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
11 out of 14(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for VIXIA HG10
Review 1 for VIXIA HG10
Nickname: Ed

Impossible to get video

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 26, 2010
.mts impossible to get off the camera. I spent all this money on this camera and they do not provide acceptable software to retrieve it from the camera. Very dissapointed.
10 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for VIXIA HG10
Nickname: smitch
Location: Fort Wayne, In
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 15, 2010
The HG10 takes great video. I bought the camcorder to record in car video of some of the racing I do. The little promotion video on Canons website said that it handles vibration well. It says the video stabilzation is great too. One trip around the block with the camcorder mounted in the car told me other wise. Just simple driving down the road causes the camcorder to go into a protection mode and shut off. I spent a lot of money for this camcorder to not work as advertised.
Out of the car it takes very good video.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for VIXIA HG10
Nickname: Mapleleaf-Mick
Location: Saskatchewan Canada
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Great Camera for Beginners

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 14, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Easy Computer Connectivity, Great sound/audio, Accurate, Vivid Colors, excellent image quality, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, Easy TV Connectivity, easy to use
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Limited Software Compatibility, no good external light source available
I have used my HG10 for over a year. Overall, it has satisfied my needs. Very easy to hook up to a HD TV and gives very good picture and sound quality. I find it fairly easy to download files to my computer. I use Video Studio Pro X3 for editing and have had no problems to date. I have produced HD discs as well as Blu Ray discs. Very impressive picture quality. I would recommend the purchase of the Canon DM 50 external directional microphone. It virtually eliminates any wind noise and has settings to shoot straight out eliminating sounds coming from the sides. My main pet peeve is the poor quality external light offered by Canon. This camera does no work well in low light conditions. But hey, that is fine I just wish I could buy an external light that would provide adequate lighting for dusk shots. All in all a very good product. I can't offer an opinion on wether the hard drive or memory disc is better. I know I haven't had any problems to date with the hard drive but I do tend to "baby" my electronics. Good luck, I hope this review helps you in your decesion making process.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for VIXIA HG10
Nickname: hdtrial

too bad about format

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Compact Design, durable, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use
Cons: Difficult Computer Connectivity, Limited Software Compatibility
i am happy with everything about this camera while filming. easy zoom, easy handling, good low light.
but to actually get to the files is IMPOSSIBLE!! i do have the disks and was able to download to my main computer. but right now i only have a netbook, so using a CD is impossible (no drive). canon does not supply the utilities on the download support page, so i can't access any of the film i shot. what's up with that?
why did there have to be a proprietary format (mts) anyway? this is the big drag with HD as far as i can understand, and really puts a damper on working with this camera. too bad.
12 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for VIXIA HG10
Nickname: arkopolo
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:July 31, 2009
This is a nice camera for starters, the only problem is that the .mts files need to be converted and it takes a lot of time and cpu power.
6 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for VIXIA HG10
Nickname: xman
Location: Quad Cities, IL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Great Video Camera - Limited Software

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 22, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Great sound/audio, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, durable, easy to use
Cons: Limited Software Compatibility, Poor Low-Light Performance
As far as performance and features and quality is concerned, this is top notch {except for low light issues}. Everything positive the previous reviewers said is true and I support that. The software for editing and viewing and burning these types of video files is limited. They're starting to come out with some now. But I've had this for almost 1.6 years now, and had to wait this long to edit the clips and burn to bluray!
17 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for VIXIA HG10
Nickname: Primo
Location: New York
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

camera takes a beating

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 15, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, durable, tough little camera
Have my camera about seven months and while setting it up for my next trip (deleting old scenes) i placed it on my desk. I turned around for a second and then heard a heart breaking sound. My camera hitting the living room wooden floor. After shouting a few choice words about "how could I be so careless!" I checked it out. It was fine except for a broken battery latch. Everything else was functional. I dont even know if the drop sensor device deployed. This was from a height of approx. four to five feet. So far so good. Time will tell!
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for VIXIA HG10
Nickname: shooter
Location: little rock ar
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

what a camara

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 3, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Great sound/audio, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use
Cons: Limited Software Compatibility, Poor Low-Light Performance
i have owned an hg10 for well over a year i filmed my family and outdoor events and a remodel of our house i learn more about the camara every thime i get it out it is just great and it also takes great pictures it is hard for me to belive that it is only three megapix because of the quality
it is as other reviews have said low light and this camara to not get along but from what i have read that is not unsual for camaras in this class ... price range
the mic that is built in works very well i was recording a outdoor concert last summer i had the camara on my tripod well over my head and i was standing under the camara and during one of the songs i sang along and it picked up my voice with out any problem
also does not pick pick up any air noise
well worth the money
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for VIXIA HG10
Nickname: vic
Location: East Bay, California
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Software Not So Good

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 17, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy Computer Connectivity, good battery life, Great sound/audio, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, durable, easy to use, Good Low-Light Performance
Cons: Limited Software Compatibility
The camera is excellent but the software is very poor which is difficult to use and poorly designed. The camera is fabulous. Great handling and high picture quality.
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for VIXIA HG10
Nickname: Old Tom
Location: Riverview, FL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

A Quality Product

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 17, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, durable, Good Software Compatibility
Used for personal travel videos for 20+ years. Had the HG 10 for 13 months. Video is excellent. Color is exceptional. Best camcorder we have owned. Enjoy the convenience of a hard disc. Accidently dropped unit and luckily was undamaged.
Record switch could be improved. Many pictures of my FEET! No trouble using a "Mac" for editing.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for VIXIA HG10
Nickname: Kilt Man
Location: Lake Norman, North Carolina
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Canon's first HDD cam-corder

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use, Good Software Compatibility, silvery finish doesn't get hot-to-the-touch!
Cons: Limited Software Compatibility
This was - I believe - Canon's first shot at an HDD cam-corder. Despite not being a latest issue, you need to realize that this is still one TERRIFIC unit! Both video and still images are simply so life-like, crystal-clear and vivid. And with the 24p video mode, you really *can* simulate Hollywood-style cinema. Newer always replaces older but let's not forget those that blazed the path! I bought this to replace a Canon mini-DVD recorder and the differences and advancements are SO shocking it's impossible to describe them all!. The newer VIXIA models are tempting but this HG10 still performs flawlessly!!! I still can't believe *I* can shoot video this beautifully!
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for VIXIA HG10
Nickname: Cherioer
Location: Austin, TX
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Does everything I bought it to do.

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 14, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, durable, easy to use
Cons: Limited Software Compatibility, Poor Low-Light Performance
Take great video and picture. I bought this to be a duel purpose device and it has not let me down once in the 13 months I've had it.
Original and extra purchased with the camera still work like the day they were purchased. The battery lasts a long time as long as you minimize use of the lcd, as with any device.
Cam took a 4 foot dive to the tile floor once and the only damage incurred was a lost pixel on the lcd.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for VIXIA HG10
Nickname: Comrade Tovya
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Best HD Camcorder I Have Ever Owned

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 27, 2008
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, durable, easy to use, Good Software Compatibility, great price
Cons: Short battery life, Poor sound/audio
I bought the comparable Sony model first, and I was VERY disappointed. I therefore took it back to Best Buy and exchanged it for the Canon HG10... the video is amazing. Not quite as good as the small tape versions, but by far the best 1080i HD recorder to HDD.
My dad ended up buying the HG21, and he loves that as well (the upgrade to this model)
In closing, Canon is the best camcorder maker to date, and I look forward to upgrading it down the road.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for VIXIA HG10
Nickname: dave
Location: canada
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

avchd

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 11, 2008
Pros: excellent image quality, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance
it's a good camera, but in retrospect I think I may have chosen a dv tape one instead because of 2 reasons,
1. through usb it takes 6 hrs+ to transfer to the computer (3ghz amd box w/ 3gb ram 7600 gt video card, usb2.0) thought that varies w/ software
2. The bigger reason - software that lets you work with it,
a. adobe premiere 4.0 doesn't support it, (last I checked about oct 2008),
b. pinnicle software supports it but requires a quad core computer! btw, I ignored that warning & thought I could work with it anyways, it simply wasn't usable, it would play 1 sec of video, about 7 sec of audio then hang
c. I finally tried the new corel version, it does a good enough job that you can play and edit video on the above system, but it could use more features, 30day trial available anyways which is nice to see if it would work. Pinnicle wouldn't refund once bought so... the trial is nice :).
The picture is very nice, expecially in daylight, inside it's good also under normal light, try not to zoom too much, you'll see some image deteriation then, but I expect on par or less then the others out there, also the instant focus works very well comparitively.
Thanks & having tried a panasonic as an alternative, this is head and shoulders above it, I would only consider a canon as an alternative to this :).
David
PS. If a canon rep reads this please lean on some of the editing software producers to provide better support for this format :-)
25 of 26 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site