Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / PowerShot SD/ELPH Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PowerShot SD/ELPH Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot SD950 IS

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot SD950 IS

Average Customer Rating:
3.571 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
4
11 out of 21(52%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot SD950 IS
Review 1 for PowerShot SD950 IS
Nickname: Beauty
Location: Arizona
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 21, 2010
Received this as a gift, so far this is a great camera, perform well. We love it.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot SD950 IS
Nickname: Bob
Location: Franklin, NC
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

All Pro's No Con's

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 18, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
I have had the SD950IS for about 18 months and love it. I use mine indoors and outside. I see no problems with the battery cover. It is the only small camera that I found with a metal body (Titanium) and I have dropped mine with no damage. I use mine in the Auto mode most of the time and find the ease of use and quality are good. Most of the complaints seem to be a lack of knowledge by the user. This is my third Canon and won't be my last. Failure to understand the Users Manual seems like a Users problem. Since I keep my camera with me most of the time I bought a spare battery. The battery life is so good the spare doesn't get used much.
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot SD950 IS
Nickname: Loretta
Location: Sarasota, Fl
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur

LCD SCREEN - SD950 IS

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 5, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, durable
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance
I too thought the screen went blank, until I realized that it is actually a setting on the camera where you can turn the screen off! So those of you who think your LCD stopped working. CHECK AGAIN!! It is the little "disp" button on the back. It has three settings
1. just screen view
2.Screen view with functions showing
3. Blacked out or "turned off"
I had a blacked out screen for two weeks until I realized by accidentally hitting the button that I had hit the button earlier.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot SD950 IS
Nickname: CHRIS
Location: Englewood, FL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur

PWERSHOT SD950 IS

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 5, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, durable, battery life is not bad, excellent macro pics
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, a little slow on the shot
Received this camera and found that it takes excellent photos - especially Macro pics. The video quality from this camera is also excellent. I was quite disappointed however when it suddenly stopped working (while on vacation no less). However, as soon as I got home, I found out how to send it in and what I needed to do. Did as they asked and the camera was fixed and returned within less than a week (this includes my shipping time)! Once they fixed it they overnighted it to me. I did not have to pay one cent for any of it. Since then, I have not had any issues and that was 8 months ago. The stabilizer on this camera is remarkable. I can spin around in circles and hit the button and there is a clear still shot of wherever I happened to be at the time. Most cameras there would be a huge blurr. Macro I get blurr sometimes but it is usually due to my hands shaking. Nice size - not too small / not too big. Screen is easy to see.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot SD950 IS
Nickname: sjlcnm
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

disappointed

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 2, 2009
Pros: Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
Cons: cannot use flash in "d" mode, slow and difficult to focus at times esp in zoom
This camera does have some great features, (you need to practice a little with the controls to become familiar...but it's not too hard), and would be perfect for me, but its downfalls are...
1. too slow to respond, causes many lost photo opps.
2. hard and slow to focus at times, and especially when zoomed in on something..
3. when in "M" mode, you can manually work the flash, (great), but it is colse up and nigh on impossible to be able to get a good group shot...unless the person taking the picture stands 20 paces away.....when in "D" mode, you can get those great widw angle group shots, but the flash is always off in this mode. Hence forget getting any nightime group shots or wide angle indoor shots with this camera.
I am now ready to resell this camera (and I will disclose its short comings) because the flash issue is really driving me mad, to say the least.
Would love another Canon, but so scared to drop another $300 or $400 and end up with the upgraded model that has the same issues!.
4 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot SD950 IS
Nickname: bermudanarcosis
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Good for outdoor shots only

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 19, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life
Cons: Missing features/settings, Poor Low-Light Performance
When taking pictures with the flash indoors, you receive a reflection from any dust in the air resulting in poor quality. Outdoor shots are good. It could use manual controls on aperature and shutter speed.
Review 7 for PowerShot SD950 IS
Nickname: Josh
Location: Plymouth, MA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

low quality

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 18, 2009
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, low quality
Broke down after 6 months of use. The LCD stopped working, the lenses are making a weird sound
0 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot SD950 IS
Nickname: royar
Location: orange county, ca
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Product replacement: Yes

too ;complicated for a beginner

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:August 25, 2009
Pros: Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
Cons: Difficult to use, Complicated controls/menu
This takes great pictures but the controls and features are poorly explained in the instruction manual and much too complicated to figure out with trial and error approach. Great probably for an experienced person, but no good for the beginner.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot SD950 IS
Nickname: Sara
Location: Laguna Hills, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

LCD stopped working

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 10, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality
Cons: lcd stops working
I've owned this camera for 2.5 years. It took great pics and I was very pleased with it. I even bought an underwater case and took great underwater shots too. Until one day, while taking pictures, the LCD suddenly went out. It's just stopped working. No warning, nothing - the screen just went black. The camera works - it still takes pictures, but since there's no LCD screen, I can't use the features, can't review pictures, etc. Buyers BEWARE!!
5 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot SD950 IS
Nickname: Unsatisfied Customer
Location: Columbia, SC
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Short life span!!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 13, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life
Cons: Dim LCD, Flimsy Construction, obviously technical issues
This was actually a great camera. I took great pictures with it, and I was amazed how sometimes was close in quality to the other camera I have, a Canon EOS 40D. It was great until suddenly became defective. No falls, no other damages, just stopped working suddenly. Instead of seeing what you are supposed to photograph on LCD, I am able to see vertical violet stripes that are varying with the quantity of light. I guess crowding a 12 megapixel sensor in a small camera has it price. The screen is working fine, I can still see the pictures on the card, but instead of normal pictures all I've got is a completely black image. Years ago it was a problem common for Canon printers users: their printers stopped working after reaching a limit number of printed papers, no matter they were still in perfect shape. This may be a similar issue, isn't it, Canon guys? A good advice for everyone buying this model: look how many customers have the same issue (the camera suddenly stopped functioning) on different review sites...
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot SD950 IS
Nickname: David
Location: Anderson, SC
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Disappointed

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 2, 2009
Pros: Lightweight/Portable, good battery life
Cons: Complicated controls/menu, Missing features/settings, Poor Low-Light Performance, Flimsy Construction
I previously purchased a Canon Elph 900. It was a marvelous camera. Well made and wonderful features. Unfortunately it was lost or stolen so I tried to buy another 900 but had no luck. After reveiwing the features and reports I decided to go with the 950 and have been very disappointed. Doesnt have the features that the 900 had and the battery door is flimsy and I am sure will be broken off soon as it sticks out so far when opened.
3 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot SD950 IS
Nickname: Anonymous

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 28, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life
We love our Canon Elph SD950. It takes great photos, is small enough to carry with us discreetly everywhere and we are very pleased with the software interface and customer support. Keep it up Canon.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot SD950 IS
Nickname: CCOUQ
Location: NJ
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

mine broke after 4 months...

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2009
Pros: easy to use, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life
Cons: Flimsy Construction
but canon fixed it no problem but now it makes a loud noise when turning it on... disappointed because it is my 3rd canon and never had a proble before. but the pictures are good... to bad the screen is small.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot SD950 IS
Nickname: JR
Location: Everett, WA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Awesome

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2009
Pros: Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
Although this is my first digital camera, I found it to be highly reliable and takes some beautiful pictures. I use this primarily as a dive camera and purchased the underwater case from Canon to use while diving. The auto feature for underwater scenes works beautifully. I have not had a single issue with this camera. The menu items are difficult in the beginning but after a few dives I was totally used to them and take great shots with out any real affect in my dive profile.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerShot SD950 IS
Nickname: TSBUCKETSWAPPER
Location: Washington, DC
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

From SD100 to SD950IS

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable, great underwater
The SD 100 was my first (actually the film versions of the ELPH was my first) in this long line of sophisticated digital "point and shoots."
I have taken the various incarnations scuba diving as my underwater housed camera. I have never been disappointed. The SD950IS offers flexibility and shooting options well beyond its size. It might be small but it shoots big. The IS feature is a plus in the underwater environment. The 12.1 megapixel allows for added flexibility when using processing software. I am pleased and will always be a huge "ELPHAN!"
Review 16 for PowerShot SD950 IS
Nickname: Tanq
Location: USA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Camera broken after only 1 year

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 19, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Flimsy Construction
The camera was working well for 1 year, and now just a month after the warranty expired it fails to turn on. I bought new batteries and a new charger, but nothing works.
26 of 28 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PowerShot SD950 IS
Nickname: jim
Location: Chicago
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Lense is NOT wide angle

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 6, 2008
Cons: not wide angle lense
The SD950-IS lense is NOT a wde angle lense like the SD800-IS. Wide angle is ideal for photos of family & friend and landscape pics of our ski vacations, etc. (essentially everything I do with a camers). Very disappointing. I went back to the SD800-IS and the new SD950-IS sits on the side of my desk for months doing nothing...
26 of 49 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PowerShot SD950 IS
Nickname: Jay
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Too much Red eye

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 2, 2008
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
Cons: all eyes are red eyes
The camera build quality and performance is excellent. It would have been nice to have a wider lens. Nature/low light performance is very impressive. Major drawback is the amount of red eye in indoor family pictures. Even with red eye reduction on it does not go away and the post processing capability of red-eye correction does nothing for the problem eyes. Have to bring the pictures up in photo shop to fix them.
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PowerShot SD950 IS
Nickname: CD
Location: Houston, TX
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Nice features packed into a very small frame

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 14, 2008
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, portable, good battery life, durable
Cons: Dim LCD, unreliable video trimming
The SD950 has a very elegant look with it's titanium body. It stands out in the crowd-it's an eye catcher. It's perfect for everyone from the intermediat beginner looking for a more advanced point and shoot, to the profesional photographer looking for a powerful camera that fits in a pocket. The kids and pets feature is extremely handy for fast-moving objects. The self-timer function has become invaluable for me. There are a host of special sceen modes if you want/need to simplify things, or you can turn it to manual control and control most settings manualy. The one thing it lacks in manual control is the ability to change the apature size and the focal length-these are done automaticaly. Other than that, most settings can be controled manualy. It also has trouble focusing in some scenarios, and often won't recognize all the faces in the picture. However, I am extremely happy with the image quality and clarity.
15 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PowerShot SD950 IS
Nickname: Gdaddy

Great Canera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 9, 2008
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, portable, good battery life, durable
Takes wonderful pictures of my new granson!!! Theyb are extremely clear and detailed!!
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site