Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / PowerShot SD/ELPH Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PowerShot SD/ELPH Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot SD870 IS Silver

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot SD870 IS Silver

Average Customer Rating:
4.471 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
27 out of 34(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot SD870 IS Silver
Review 1 for PowerShot SD870 IS Silver
Nickname: CanonLoyalist
Location: Boston, MA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

lens error again

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 25, 2010
I have been using Canon equipment since 1970. This is the fourth powershot we have owned and the third one to have a fatal lens problem. I think I may be done buying powershots.
The features ar great, but I can no longer give powershots a good rating when I have to keep replacing them because of poor lens mechanism design.
7 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot SD870 IS Silver
Nickname: NEVERKNOW
Location: Indianaplois
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Best Camera yet

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 16, 2010
Pros: battery life, good videos
Cons: none
We own 2 of these cameras and love them. Each camera has taken well over 5000 photos and 100's of hours of video. That's over 10,000 pics between them. Both are still using the OEM batteries. I have a 8GB card in one of them and the battery life is so good I can take a 1.5 hr vid, fill the memory card and still have battery to spare. All settings are always set to the highest quality.
The video quality is so good that we no longer use a cam corder to make home movies. I went our a few years ago and bought every camcoder on the market and didn't find any that did better for home movies than my SD870.
Now after 3 years we thought we'd look for something better and are finding that there's not much out there.
OH BTW we even have the Canon dive case for this. Took it to Aruba and got some great pics of the reefs.
We read how some complain about bad low light issues, this is only true when taking pics in a large area, say a church, when the lights are low and your subject is out of flash range. The camera has a focus assist led light so taking pics in the dark come out in focus when used with the flash.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot SD870 IS Silver
Nickname: CARealtor
Location: Temecula, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Best Compact Camera I've Ever Owned

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 7, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance
I had been searching for a compact camera to use in my real estate business that had the set of features that were necessary for my job. I first heard about this camera on Leo Leporte's radio talk show. I purchased the camera a few years ago and I just love it. The camera is not great in low light situations and the date stamp is only available in the postcard mode. The wide angle feature is wonderful.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot SD870 IS Silver
Nickname: Realtor
Location: Houston, TX
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Best Realtor camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 14, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, wider angle lens
I have used this camera in my Real Estate business for 2 years now and it is the best one on the market. It is durable with my rough treatment. I have been in property management and foreclosures for 20 years and always used Canon cameras because of their ease to use and their extreme durablity in my car in the heat, but this is the best yet because of the wider angle than most digital cameras. You can get an entire room in one shot. It is great for the mls and my property owners to see more in one picture. Thank you Canon for developing a camera for realtors.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot SD870 IS Silver
Nickname: ken
Location: mass.
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Best camera I've ever had.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 28, 2009
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance
I bought this camera soon after it came out, 3 years ago maybe. It is an 8 megapixel, but I almost always have it on the 3M or 5M setting. My last camera had 5M and when this canon is only using 3 its pictures come out a thousand times better. I love how much control I have on it in manual mode. I have photoshop but I don't even need it to make my pictures great. Considering that I don't want to by a huge camera, this is the best out there. Sadly my lcd screen now has two dark circles on it but it still takes normal pictures. My lens has been open while I dropped it, but never jammed.
Taking pictures in a dark room and outside at dusk/dawn is horrible. but I can deal.
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot SD870 IS Silver
Nickname: ScottyS
Location: Carrollton, TX
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

One of the best cameras ever

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 8, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, lens error
I've had this camera for 1 1/2 years, and the lens motor finally broke, but that was my fault. (It turned on inside the case after I dropped it pretty hard, and the lens got jammed)
I've taken over 15, 000 pictures with this camera, and it's amazing how many pictures and abuse this little camer could take.
Now I have to worry about fixing this one, or getting a new one.
The new Canon cameras just don't seem as nice as this one. (Do we really need a touch screen or 12 megapixels?) If Canon stuck a Digic 4 into this, and maybe changed the firmware a bit, I'd have no problem buying this all over again. The new Canons are sort of good, but this camera was fast, and had a superfine setting for images, which gave it very sharp quality pictures.
All and all, this camera will be forever known as one of my favorites.
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot SD870 IS Silver
Nickname: love it
Location: Canada
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

So sad!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 26, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, good battery life
I received this camera as a graduation gift a little over a year ago (June 2008) and i have to say i absolutely LOVE it!!! It has features no other camera has (i.e. colour accent- where everything is black and white except the colour u choose to keep).. UNFORTUNITLY something happened to the lens and now i have to purchase a whole new camera :( I got the Canon 960IS today and i can honestly say i like the 870IS better.. the screen is way bigger which makes the pics look so much nicer. I wish they made the lens a little better becuase i have read multiple reviews on line today with people having the same problem.
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot SD870 IS Silver
Nickname: QueenOfMean
Location: Pennsylvania
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

I'm very pleased

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 17, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
Cons: Complicated controls/menu, Poor Low-Light Performance
My boyfriend bought this camera for me for my birthday. I LOVE it. I take it with me everywhere. The picture quality is excellent, and the videos are always great. I'm not a professional photographer by any means, but every time friends see the pictures I take they think they're wonderful. The extra features took a while to grow familiar with, but as long as you read the manual it's not at all tough to learn.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot SD870 IS Silver
Nickname: The MBA of Real Estate
Location: Fairfax, VA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Best Camera for Real Estate Agent

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 20, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable, great videos
Cons: 8.0 mega pixels is too much for an amateur
Since pictures are so important for selling homes via today's media, I needed a camera that shows off the homes features. Did you ever see a picture of a corner of a room? Well, with my SD 870 IS, I can get shot of the WHOLE room. I can take great pictures without knowing a thing about photography. This camera is responsible for all my listings selling in record time. So whatever 4.6 - 17.3mm means from a technical standpoint, it means closed sales to me. It's so easy to use - but if a ever take the time to learn more about the camera's extensive features, it can do so much more.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot SD870 IS Silver
Nickname: Goldie
Location: Campbell, cA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Love this camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 10, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life
Cons: Complicated controls/menu, Poor Low-Light Performance
I bought this camera a year ago after doing a bunch of research. The reason I bought this model is the quality of the color image. I had read it had poor quality in low light so knew what to expect there. I use it for backpacking and love that I can place it in my belt pocket for easy access. But this weekend I had it in my pocket and when the power button accidently was pushed the lens tried to open and it jammed, I now need to buy another. The controls are very complex and I've only figured out how to use a few, but that seems to be true of all higher-end digitals.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot SD870 IS Silver
Nickname: aggravated
Location: Gainesville
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

OK, But Frequently Malfunctions

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 12, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life
Cons: Complicated controls/menu, Flimsy Construction, lens malfunctions
I have had this camera for a little over a year (which means it's no longer under warranty) and I am so disappointed that I have been unable to use my camera due to a lens malfunction. If you google lens malfunctions on Canons and on these types of lensed cameras, it is very common and there are a multitude of blogs on it. My camera can no longer extend the lens by itself and does not zoom, so I will have to buy another one (probably not the same one though). For the money I paid for it, the duration of use was NOT WORTH IT. It was nice while it lasted, but not recommended.
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot SD870 IS Silver
Nickname: picture perfect
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

hard to get nice shots

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:June 8, 2009
I love to take nice pictures. But with this camera, I find it hard because:
1) when I use the flash, too many light coming in to the picture, and the background becomes black. When I don't use the flash, I get blurred pictures.
2) Kids & pets feature doesn't really work. I get blurred pictures although I'm in Kids and Pets mode.
9 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot SD870 IS Silver
Nickname: Photography novice
Location: Indiana
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Awesome

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 6, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life
Cons: Complicated controls/menu
I will just say I am a novice picture taker, but I LOVE getting shots of nature. Photography has been a hobby of mine for years and I continually get tons of compliments on my pictures. Part of that is that I have a great eye for a unique shot and part being the quality of this camera. I like simplicity and this cam has it. I probably don't know half of what this thing can do, but I make use of what I know. I just learned from reading these reviews that it has panoramic capabilities. Now I just need to figure out how do do that. I simply don't have a need to carry a video camera with me because this camera has superb video quality. Unless you want to record long videos, this thing will do.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot SD870 IS Silver
Nickname: AJB
Location: Louisville, KY
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Excellent Choice

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 10, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable, amazed at how simple to use
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, very disappointed with low light performance
Amazed at the simplicity of the camera. And amazed at the quality of the results. CLICK and it made me look like I knew what I was doing. They say that even the pros carry a Point-N-Shoot. Well if this is true, then they better be carrying this one. The ONLY negative was its performance under low light conditions. I was very disappointed.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerShot SD870 IS Silver
Nickname: shambles
Location: Vicksburg, MS
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Awesome Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 5, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable, easy to follow manual
Cons: haven't found one yet
Replaced sd600, which we loved the ease of use, with the sd870si. Found a bigger screen, easier controls and awesome pictures. Thanks Canon for making such a wonderful camera.
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PowerShot SD870 IS Silver
Nickname: Randi
Location: mid-west
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Powershot 870 is great!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 24, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
This is my first digital camera as I hated to give up my SLR with multiple lenses. But - what a nice surprise! The 870 is a great first step into digital. Pictures have been great. Only concern is low light situations do not photograph as well as I had hoped. All else is fine. Love the many features, all are easy to use.
The wide-angel lense makes it so much easier to get everything and everyone you want into the picture, much better in this regard than other digitals I looked at.
Really love my 870!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PowerShot SD870 IS Silver
Nickname: Cb
Location: stx
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Almost There

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 19, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life
Cons: Missing features/settings
I really like the wide lens range, and, the pictures are good. However, the software lacks features my 5 year old Canon digital camera had - a fill flash setting, flash calibration, and aperture or shutter priorities. So, flash photos are often washed out, or, dark (if the flash is turned off), and it's hard to simply set the camera for shutter speeds or apertures.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PowerShot SD870 IS Silver
Nickname: Vickie
Location: Southern Michigan and Southern Texas
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

PS SD870 IS

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
Cons: the view finder is hard to see in bright light
This is my own very first camera. My husband did a lot of research before he bought this model for me. The reviews reflect exactly how well this camera has been for me. I take it with me all the time in my small purse, in a jewelry pouch so it doesn't get scratch and we also put protective film on the viewing screen .
Once my husband set it up for me, this camera is easy and quick to use, it takes great pictures especially with the Image Stablizer (steady hand)Function enabled, and the Face Recognition Function is wonderful.
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PowerShot SD870 IS Silver
Nickname: lightninrod
Location: olympia wa
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

nice camera if you let it do all the work

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
Cons: Complicated controls/menu, Missing features/settings, Poor Low-Light Performance, not enough manual controls
As other reviewers have said about this one it is a nice camera. I will concentrate on the negatives here since enough good things have already been said. Do not try to take sunrises with this one you will lose all the colors. It really needs more manual controls and in low light it is extremely noisy or you will get all kinds of blur. Need to be able to match aperture to shutter setting manually, would help to reduce noise in low light situations and also when taking sunrises or sunsets. I bought this one when it first came on the market trusting canon. Won't do that again, will wait for other reviews first.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PowerShot SD870 IS Silver
Nickname: rick
Location: Chicago, IL
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great camera, BUT...

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
Cons: Missing features/settings, Poor Low-Light Performance
This is a great camera but I really miss not having aperture and shutter preferred modes (Av, Tv) like the S60 that I'm replacing it with.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site