Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / PowerShot A Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PowerShot A Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot A650 IS

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot A650 IS

Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
18 out of 20(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot A650 IS
Review 1 for PowerShot A650 IS
Nickname: Rita
Location: Michigan
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

best compact camera ever

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 14, 2010
Pros: vari-angle display
I have this camera for over two years now, I have taken over 40,000 (!) great picures with it and I think that this Canon camera is the best compact camera ever!!!! Although it is not the smallest camera, it still fits in all my purses. I especially love the vari-angle display, it is brilliant and I need it a lot!
Since Canon does not produce anything comparable to this camera anymore (WHY???) I hope that it will continue to do its job. I cannot understand why it is not available anymore. I cannot imagine using another camera, and I really hope I won't have to.
I love my A650!!!! I should have bought two of them!!!!
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot A650 IS
Nickname: Agent LG-1
Location: Vermont
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

A leap ahead -- and a few suggestions for the next

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 25, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality
I've used this camera for about 2 years now and taken thousands of pictures. I'm in love with the 12 Mpixel quality, the general usability, the ability to take pictures almost in the dark, etc.: a great tool. While other people are fumbling with ultra-complex SLRs (which also have their place in the Universe, of course) I'm snapping away with my A650IS held up in one hand. Just had a picture published in a newspaper yesterday taken with this camera on the fly.
Suggestions to Canon, my dream-tweaks to this already superb product:
1) God, I would love it if the zoom went down to 28 mm without losing macro ability.
2) Even kept in a Canon case, the screen seems delicate. I noticed surface degradation after a year and now store it all the time with the screen flipped in for protection. But that's a pain -- having to flip the screen every time I want to take a picture.
3) I love and use the options for B&W and sepia. Why not give an option, in the aspect-ratios menu, for SQUARE pictures? Surely that would just be a small software change?
4) In the self-timer option with multiple shots, allow the user to set the delay between shots instead of having them go bang-bang-bang as fast as the camera can go. Let them set it up into the minutes range. Many creative possilibilities.
5) For some reason, on Auto ISO the ISO apparently never goes up to 400 no matter how dark it gets. I am always setting ISO 400 manually for indoor shooting. (800 too of course but the graininess of the image takes a huge jump from 400 to 800.)
6) Keep this baby on the market. When mine dies, I want another one -- or its next-gen sibling.
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot A650 IS
Nickname: dk
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera IF it continued to work!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 21, 2009
Pros: Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality
Cons: Heavy/Bulky, Flimsy Construction, parts break on it
I bought the camera in November of 2007, and as soon as it had passed by the warranty date I began having problems. The switch to go from picture mode to viewing the pictures stopped working, then button to take the photos started only working intermittently. I love the features of this camera, but functionally it is slowly but surely become useless as various parts of it break and it is out of warranty.
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot A650 IS
Nickname: Gimlee
Location: Bremeton wa
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Best Ever

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 12, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
I have been a photographer since I was 17, now I am 59. I have had MANY different cameras and always come back to Canon. I have a large digital Rebel which I used a lot however I use my powershot 650 far more than any camera I have ever used. It takes wonderful movies as well. I love it and recommend it to everyone. It does almost everything anyone wants. Aside from interchangeable lens. If you would perfect that I sure would not complain!
18 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot A650 IS
Nickname: cycle16v
Location: Dallas, Texas
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

What more could you ask for?

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 8, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable, versitile, camera software, price, non-proprietary batteries, non-proprietary memory
This camera replaced my old A80. This camera includes all the same capabilities as the A80 but with more features, enhancements, and a larger screen. I really enjoy having a relatively small compact camera with the capabilities to set up for a complex shot.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot A650 IS
Nickname: picture happy
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

awesome camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 31, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable
I bought this camera last summer as a packaged deal with 2 lens and absolutely love it. I hardly ever even use my telephoto lens because the macro setting is so great. User friendly and takes outstanding pictures.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot A650 IS
Nickname: Lou
Location: D.C.
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

What a great camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 23, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
Cons: slow frame advance
Have had the 650IS for more than a year and it's the best digital I've used. Great features, surprisingly long battery life and seems to be pretty well built. Zoom works very well and pictures are excellent. Only complaint, which seems fairlly typical to most digitals is the advance speed from one shot to the next. IS feature seems to work very well. Never though I'd use the tilting view finder & boy was I wrong, what a handy feature,
This has been one of those rare purchases where I've come away about 98% satisfied.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot A650 IS
Nickname: Suzyq
Location: Maine
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 20, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, good battery life, durable
I use my Canon PowerShot A650 IS all the time. I have
no complaints what so ever. It takes great pictures. I
baught it because of the zoom lense. The Video is great also, no slow pauses like some cameras have, during play back.
I love it. I HIGHLY would reccommend this camera to any
one who wants a good camera!!!! The price is really
good for this product. Battery life is really good also!!
I have no Cons about the camera..
Review 9 for PowerShot A650 IS
Nickname: Shooter
Location: San Diego, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

A near perfect camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 1, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable, uses common aa batteries
Cons: could be just a little faster at reset to take ano
This is the best camera for the price, and probably should cost even more. Its not so small your fingers cover the lens, yet its small enough to take anywhere with you. The battery life is excellent and so is the memory capacity. The settings are great for the simplest of beginners, and intricate enough for the seasoned semi-Pro. At 12 megapixels you can make a poster, or size the shot down to send excellent quality through e-mail. I am truely pleased with this camera as it meets more than my expectations.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot A650 IS
Nickname: rudpet
Location: Houston, TX
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Great Product

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 1, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, good battery life, durable, great versatility short of an slr
Cons: Heavy/Bulky
I purchased this camera after Consumer Reports gave it a superb review and listed it first in it's category of digital cameras. Too bad they have discontinued the model, particularly as it's price made it a "value" choice as compared to the G9 or G10. This camera is a great choice short of an SLR. Yes, a bit heavy but the features and performance can't be beat.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot A650 IS
Nickname: empty nest
Location: Massachusetts
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

high end digital

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, good battery life
Cons: Complicated controls/menu, Poor Low-Light Performance, Heavy/Bulky
While this camera has several high end features, I dislike the size and weight of this camera. I like the video recording capability, but find that the camera tends to shut down unexpectedly after several minutes of run time. I would expect it to do more given that I am using an 8 gigabyte card.
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot A650 IS
Nickname: HairBall56
Location: Ft Worth, TX
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

very good camera for the price

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, good battery life, durable
Cons: Heavy/Bulky
I have 3 grandchildren and 2 more on the way and wouldn't trade this camera (unless I got an SLR :-) ) for anything! I keep it on the highest resolution it will go and the pictures are stunningly amazing and sharp. Best Canon I've owned yet!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot A650 IS
Nickname: Casual User
Location: Houston, TX
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Purchaced 4 08 Vacation

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 24, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, excellent image quality, good battery life
I purchased this camera Oct 07 B4 taking a trip to Tokyo, Guam, and Hawaii. It was small enough to carry yet still provided some manual control options. I was impressed with the easy to use menu. Switching flash on/off, and changing photo MP was simple and quick. I kept batteries with me but changed them much less than I expected, for the 1600+ photos I took. (no flash)
I love this camera, and find myself taking more pictures now that I have a camera that makes me look like a professional photographer.
The only negative is now, I'm never in the quick photos, I'm the one behind the camera :-(
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot A650 IS
Nickname: Late
Location: Iowa
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Better late than never

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 20, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable, the a650is will be hard to top.
Cons: market slot too short lived, by the time you realize how good it is its gone.
After purchasing this camera shortly after its introduction I thought; I should buy another for "in case".
The megapixel (12.1) is wonderful for detail.
The 6-power optical zoom is just right for more than 90% of my picture taking.
The battery life from the digital battaries is plenty acceptable (approx. 200-shots per set).
I found another new A650 IS - I bought it for "just in case".
I own several Canon cameras (various models), also, bought a Canon for my wife, my three children: done a sales pitch to a co-worker (he bought a A720 IS - loves it).
Canon customer service is better than ANY company I have delt with; Canon cameras in my opinion are tops.
I recommend Canon to anyone.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerShot A650 IS
Nickname: Jac167
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 19, 2008
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, durable
Cons: Heavy/Bulky
Great Camera - Quality, ease of use, large LCD,
versatile. Cannon should not have discontinued the camera. Hard camera to find.
7 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PowerShot A650 IS
Nickname: kharpert
Location: Gurnee IL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Best compact camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 16, 2008
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
Cons: none
I have used SLR cameras for over 25 years for general photography and intra-oral photography. This Canon camera has matched and many times exceeded my expectations. The pictures look beautiful on my web site. l do not understand why Canon has discontinued this product. The flip screen is invaluable for overhead photos. Now the Canon line jumps from 10 Mp to 14.7MP and only 2 cameras with the vari-angle screen. I think Canon should once again clone the G10 as they did the G9 in the form of an A-series camera.
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PowerShot A650 IS
Nickname: Rhob
Location: Glendale CA USA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

BEST POWERSHOT EVER

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 9, 2008
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, good battery life, durable
Cons: Heavy/Bulky
I have used this camera and I think it is the best point and shoot advanced model that Canon has ever made.
I don't know why the stopped producing it.
For night shots: excellent. As long as you remain steady you can get nice clear shots on Nightshot menu.
For regular AUTO shots it is clear beyond imagination.
I don't use the high iso speeds too often but when I do there is not alot of noise. The clarity of the pictures is beyond description. I will keep this camera as long as it works.
ONe thing I will add is that canon has not put the swivel lcd monitor on its newer model. This is something that I miss. The a650 has this and it is indeed a good idea. YOu have less chance of scratching the screen or marring it.
I bought this camera as a back up to my dslr.
The dslr is too bulky to carry around for everyday stuff. I like to have a camera handy at all times so this comes in as the best runner up to my dslr.
Cheers
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PowerShot A650 IS
Nickname: Guayo
Location: Raleigh, NC
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Awsome Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 1, 2008
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, good battery life, durable
Cons: Heavy/Bulky
I am in love with the quality of the pictures. It has tons of options for you to get creative and try something new while taking pictures.
The only negative is the size of the camera itself, but other then that i would recommend this camera to everyone.
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PowerShot A650 IS
Nickname: BMAustin39
Location: Texas
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great all around Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 26, 2008
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, good battery life, durable
I have bought several compact Canon cameras but I think this takes the best quality pictures for the size/price
I like the 4-AA batteries and while traveling you can always get AA batteries anywhere. Great battery life.
I can take over 400 pictures on one charge.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PowerShot A650 IS
Nickname: San Jose photo nut
Location: San Jose, Ca
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

First digital camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 29, 2008
Pros: easily replaces a film camera
Cons: sorry to see it no longer is available
I really like the accessories that one can buy to enhance the features of this camera.
12 of 19 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site