Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / PowerShot G Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PowerShot G Series or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products

Customer Reviews for PowerShot G9

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot G9

Average Customer Rating:
4.511 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (47 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
1
41 out of 47(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot G9
Review 1 for PowerShot G9
Nickname: Able Seaman
Location: San Francisco, Ca.
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Canon F-1 replacement

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 27, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
I bought this camera to use when traveling/vacation to replace my 30 + year old Canon F-1 and all the lens that I usually bring with me. I was very happy with the image quality results and features of the G 9.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot G9
Nickname: jogger
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Used this product for: more than 1 year

Should have purchased 2 of the G9!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 28, 2010
I wish I had purchased 2 of the Canon G9s. It is a fantastic camera. I have recommended this camera to my friends - and a few have purchased. The support information on site is very very helpful. I learned something about the camera today with my question. Thank you for your support.
Review 3 for PowerShot G9
Nickname: Milessy
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

G9 - The Best

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 13, 2010
I just love my G9! I have it for 2 years now and i must say that this camera is one of the best 'amateur' cameras that i have ever used. I now have ordered wide and tele converter and i can't wait to receive them to start making even more serious photographs. I would recommend G9 to everyone who love to take good quality pictures and camera with many possibilities and great functions.
Hopefully one day i will have some of the serious Canon cameras but until than i will use this perfect peace of camera my G9 :)
Review 4 for PowerShot G9
Nickname: vern
Location: Tacoma Wa
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Amazing Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 23, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, macro feature is stupendous!, image stabilization is great if you have kids!
One of the best purchases for me ever! I have had mine for over 2 years now and I have been able to take some of the most amazing shots! I've recommended this camera to quite a few of my friends. Super for macros and fireworks!!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot G9
Nickname: Duck
Location: Florence, TX
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Love It

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 18, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I have been using this camera for about 2 years. It is easy to use and has alot of features. I use the "sports" setting quite a bit but normally, I would just have it set on "auto". The image quality is excellent. Recently, I took a photography course and now I realize what a fantastic camera this really is. I rarely use auto anymore because it is simple to understand. I have 2 batteries in order to always have one charged. They still last a long time, though. This is also a durable camera. I use it on top of a 60 ft. quadpod and take elevated pictures. It works great and produces nice photos. I look forward to many more pictures I will be taking with this camera.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot G9
Nickname: armour
Location: Donwood near Peterborough ontario
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

far superior to any camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 20, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
recently i moved and my camera was stolen. i cried as it was a big part of me it went everywhere i did it has taken over 1000 photos all of which was never better.
it will be sadly missed. i can not buy another as the place i bought it from only sells G10-----and G11
it was a far superior product to any thing i have owned.
if i could buy another one i would no questions asked.
Review 7 for PowerShot G9
Nickname: G9 PowerUP

Well worth it

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 3, 2010
Pros: Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, long lasting
Cons: chargable battery not always the best thing
This was well worth what i payed. A professional camera, with professional usage...
Many pros including it's long-lasting0life, charger V.S. battery, great brand, MANY more.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot G9
Nickname: GP Photos
Location: Cleveland OH
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great in almost every way

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 16, 2009
The pros are many -- fast, convenient, intuitive, quiet, easy to carry, provides stills and video. On an extended trip, doing mostly outdoor daytime shooting, I took this camera and left the my big new DSLR at home. Only problem was it was hard to adjust polarizer in bright sunlight. otherwise, no compromises.
Cons -- I can't get it to produce correct color using studio lights and colors are disappointing when shooting with just the on camera flash Based on its features, for its size I don't don't think you can beat it.
10 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot G9
Nickname: Weiss
Location: Michigan
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Well Worth It

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 29, 2009
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, light gathering ability
I went through a few less expensive cameras that lacked durability, lost picture quality and had battery issues. Mega pixels aren't everything. I was hesitant to spend the extra money but found it well worth it to move up a notch in quality. Much more durable and better light gathering ability and lot's of manual settings. I shouldn't have to replace it for a long time. It is a nice option when I don't want to lug around my big lense.
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot G9
Nickname: schooder
Location: Oklahoma city OK
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Unreliable

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 7, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable
This camera has stopped working twice once in california under warranty and once in PARIS Fr that time it really irritated me. Nice camera WHEN it works.
13 of 22 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot G9
Nickname: g9 friend

recommended

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 30, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, good battery life, durable
Rugged little camera with lots of features of a SLR like bracketing, and real exposure controls for those that know how to use them. Can also be fully automatic and works nicely for any novice. One great feature is that there is an adapter that you can get for about $20 bucks that facilitates the use of standard filters, like a polarizer. Another nice feature are some built in filters for different light sources like flourescents that tend to make people look a little green. There's also a basic time-lapse mode that is pretty nifty. Image quality is great, have made 8x10 that look amazing. As with most digital cameras, they don't perform well in low light. But you can compensate but using a tripod like the gorilla grip and adjusting for a longer exposure. Only con is the back LCD display tends to be really susceptible to scratches so invest in some screen protectors.
18 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot G9
Nickname: Dave
Location: Pasadena, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

EXCELLENT Buy

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 25, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, durable, the macro focus!
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Short battery life
I think this G9 is the best point and shoot on the market. The picture quality is great, and it is unusually simple to figure out. My favorite setting is the macro focus though. I have NEVER seen such a clear and crisp macro focus when it come standard on a camera. In fact it is clearer than most macro lenses on cameras twice as expensive as this. Some downsides. Unfortunately, the camera does not work very well in low light areas, even if it is not that "low light". The lens (on mine at least) has been known to fish-eye SLIGHTLY. Battery life is not so good, but i think it is just because i take hundreds of pictures every time i use it, so don't go by that :). Overall, I don't think I'll be getting another camera for a long time.
7 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot G9
Nickname: Sir Ted
Location: Boca Raton Florida
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Best Camera Yet!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 23, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
I travel overseas to remote locations doing missionary work. I bought this camera just as it was introduced. The megapixels got my attention as I like to enlarge photos from INDIA and CHINA from my international travels. It is rugged and the hard case can take the knocks on a rough road. The quality is terrific. I just bought a wide angle lens for large crowd photos. I cannot go to any other product as Canon far excels them all.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot G9
Nickname: turtle power

solid unit

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 23, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable, body size
Cons: slow trigger
I shoot professionally at a newspaper. This is my go-to camera on assignments when I don't want to carry a lot of equipment (rock climbing, hiking...) The quality of photo is outstanding; skin tones show nicely; manual mode is a dream. I have shot video with the G9 for multi-media assignments, and while it's not like a pro-grade video camera, it gets the job done and even surprised me with its abilities to capture action.
Cons with the camera are it's lag time between pushing the trigger and the shutter going off. Not great for sports, but that's what SLR's are for anyway.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerShot G9
Nickname: Photochix
Location: Indiana
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Amazing Point and Shoot

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 19, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life
Cons: video not so great
Gives great control over images and quality rocks! I love being able to carry this around with me everywhere I go and knowing that I can still have complete control over my images.
The best part is I can shoot in RAW mode
Video could be better quality is not so great but I am more into using it as a camera not as a video camera.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PowerShot G9
Nickname: l_lentz
Location: Williamston, MI
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Best Camera in G Series since G5

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 25, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable, raw file output
I believe the G9 is the best compact digital point and shoot camera in Canon's G series since the G5. I would prefer the G9 over the G10 as well.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PowerShot G9
Nickname: kena
Location: utah
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Stop turning on

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 21, 2009
Pros: excellent image quality, good battery life
Purchased the G9 in Feb 2008 and it has taken great shots of family gatherings and scenery. At our last family gathering just 15 minutes before a special event was to take place, the G9 would not turn on and there was no back up camera. I was very upset, the store that it was purchased from is out of business. I would suggest that you buy the additional warranty for two to three years. I now have a back up camera while waiting for the G9 to be repaired.....
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PowerShot G9
Nickname: sellers
Location: Coral Springs
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

I am thrilled with my G9

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 12, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
Cons: i wish there were a variable lcd screenable
I came back from Alaska just recently, and before that, a Greek Island cruise. Comparing pictures with my friends--my pictures stood out every time!!
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PowerShot G9
Nickname: SweetMom528
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Love this Camera!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 25, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable
This is the best Powershot ever. I've owned G3 and G5
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PowerShot G9
Nickname: Marlowec
Location: Seattle
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Great find

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 16, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, good battery life
Cons: Short battery life
Looks like a Contax G1 or G2 film camera which I love. The 1st shot I took with this camera was remarkable loved it. The camera is simple to use for a point and shoot this is a great camera to own. The manual settings is what drew me to this camera. The only con is the F-stop range which I think I am going to still invest in an Digi SLR.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site