Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / Other PowerShot Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Other PowerShot or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot SX100 IS Silver

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot SX100 IS Silver

Average Customer Rating:
4.475 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
36 out of 40(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot SX100 IS Silver
Review 1 for PowerShot SX100 IS Silver
Nickname: blackoakarabians
Location: Arkansas City, Kansas
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great begginers Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 23, 2011
Pros: easy to use, clear photos
Works great....takes good photos...easy to operate.
Photos come out clear.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot SX100 IS Silver
Nickname: Teal
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Soild Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 16, 2010
I've been using this camera since 2008 to take excellent quality pictures and movies. The Canon set up is extremely simple to use, the dial on top makes it feel like an SLR but makes setting up the next shot very easy. The zoom is outstanding, you can focus on things about a mile away and still have great pictures. I wanted a camera that was more full of features and was fairly heavy duty, not a toy. Takes 2 double A's and is ready to go, no rechargeable batteries. Is easy to hold and the flip up flash is really nice. Would highly recommend buying this camera. Recommend buying a case for it.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot SX100 IS Silver
Nickname: KDSRP
Location: NM
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 28, 2010
I bought Canon SX 100 IS almost 3 years ago. Since I bought,it has been working excellently so far. Eventhough the image is 8mp, its 10 optical zooming has helped me a lot to take pictres in considerable distance. The movie zooming has helped me shooting creatively. I shot an air show with this camera. All the pictures and vedio clips are excellent. When the planes were in the sky, I could take pictures zoomed very easily. Manual features and other many facilities are really helpful for shooting. Handy camera. Durable. Excellent quality. I would recomment this camerafor buying.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot SX100 IS Silver
Nickname: Mike876
Location: Farmington,NY
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Great pictures and quality all around.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 23, 2010
Pros: add a pro
I have use the Canon SX100 for many years now. The rough places this camera has been should have killed it years ago, but it still holds great quality pictures. Battery life is long. I am probably going to purchase another SX120 camera soon just to have two great camera's.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot SX100 IS Silver
Nickname: ScoobaSteve
Location: Streetsboro, Ohio (North-East Ohio)
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

An Excellent Place to Start

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 28, 2010
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, good battery life (nimh)
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, lcd difficult to view in bright sunlight, lack of eyepiece viewfinder, short batter life (alkaline)
I've used this camera for over 2 years and I have been more than pleased with the performance. I photograph a wide variety of subject matter everything from sunsets to macro still life and this camera has produced results that professional photographers thought came from a DSLR.
The user interface is so simple to use (this camera was the sole reason I ventured beyond full auto) that I didn't even have to read the manual to make changes to shutter speed, aperture, and ISO setting.
It does fall short in low light conditions and the 10X optical zoom is sufficient for Junior's little league football game (I don't recommend using the digital zoom on any camera), but for wildlife photography it is sorely inadequate. Battery life with standard alkaline AA batteries is completely unacceptable, but switching to rechargeable NiMH batteries not only reduces the number of batteries you have to buy but also increases the number of photos you can take with a pair of batteries.
Overall I would recommend this camera to anyone getting started in photography. I'm about to step up to a DSLR and my SX100 IS is going to be passed on to my son who has a basic interest in photography... I'm hoping the ease of use and great image quality fans that basic interest into a raging fire.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot SX100 IS Silver
Nickname: lsa
Location: texas
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

nice camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 21, 2010
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, good size for my purse
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Short battery life, can't see when in the sun
i bought this camera about a year ago and for the most part i love it the only real downside i find is that when shooting in bright spots like say at the beach i can't see the screen so i have no idea if i am getting the photo or not over all i like this camera i just wish it had a way to block the glare or i guess a view finder?
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot SX100 IS Silver
Nickname: Goofy
Location: Ewing, NJ
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 11, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
As I have many bird feeders in the yard, I wasn't always able to get good pictures. My wife gave me this camera for Christmas 2008 and the pictures I have taken are in the thousands. I am still learning some of the features, but the shots I have are fantastic. Using a tripod has given me better looks at a variety of birds, especially the Hummingbirds. I also use 3 sets of rechargeable batteries which affords me plenty of power. Without question, this is one of the best gifts I have ever received.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot SX100 IS Silver
Nickname: bbshop_gal
Location: Maryland
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great little camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 18, 2009
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: unstable manual focus dial
I am an art student, and I bought a my Powershot about 1-1/2 years ago for a digital photography class. I wanted something that could do more than a point and shoot but still be affordable. This is a definitely a great camera. I have used in a variety situations from macro shots of flowers and bumblebees to landscapes and photos of on-stage performances. I am a very pleased with its quality. It works well in automatic mode, but I usually use it in the program or manual mode with manual focus. I love having the freedom to adjust the ISO, f-stop, white balance, and focus. The only drawback is the focus ring on the back of the camera. When I am focusing, it tends to jump to another menu and I lose the shot. However, this still the perfect camera to grab and take along when you want to capture the moment. It is small, lightweight, easy to use, and in general, a great camera. The video is good too and has a decent level of light sensitivity. Just make sure you have a good size memory card and then you can capture long videos. However, it does go through batteries quickly. Make sure you always have some backup AAs with you. On a final note, I do admit that I have moved on to the Canon EOS Rebel, but I still carry my Powershot with me for backup.
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot SX100 IS Silver
Nickname: Pleased as Punch!
Location: Newport, RI
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

LOOOOVE it!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 2, 2009
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
My inlaws got this camera for me for my 24th birthday and it's simply amazing. The pictures are beautiful, I've already taken over 25,000 pictures and it's been a year and a half since the camera was given to me. I find myself taking pictures of my daughters crayons because the picture comes out looking so well.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot SX100 IS Silver
Nickname: Bummed
Location: san diego, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 24, 2009
Pros: good battery life, durable
Cons: Poor image quality, Poor Low-Light Performance
This camera is so slow to shot. Auto focus only works when flash is on, but the picture color is better when the flash is off.
7 of 22 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot SX100 IS Silver
Nickname: CAMERAi

Best camera I've had

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 26, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, good battery life
Cons: Heavy/Bulky
First of all...for those people who say that the camera is bad in low light...use the shutter speed options and get a tripod!! This camera is great! I use the manual functions 90% of the time, and hardly ever use the flash.
It has tungsten and flourescent settings, an f-stop setting for bracketing pictures. You should know what bracketing means if you buy a camera like this. The con I had is that its Heavy/Bulky, not a big deal to me.
If you get rechargeable lithium batteries you are set with battery life.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot SX100 IS Silver
Nickname: KellyB
Location: Louisville, KY
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Best Point & Shoot I've Used

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:September 15, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings
Cons: Heavy/Bulky, Short battery life
I purchased this camera about two years ago and am quite satisfied. I am still learning about all the functions of this camera and how to properly use it.
The macro setting on this p&s is great. I set to to "SCN", select "Foliage" and put it on macro and it produces such amazing macro photos.
38 of 41 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot SX100 IS Silver
Nickname: kbr1517

wow!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 3, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
love it, love it, love it. it's the first digital cam i 've owned and the features are advanced enough to do almost anything you want, yet user friendly enough to understand. great price, great camera, incredible shots ( action, closeup, panorama,...you name it!) love it!!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot SX100 IS Silver
Nickname: txcam
Location: Tx
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

okay but... lots of noise in low light

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 10, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance
Not a bad overall camera for a point and shoot. If you just need it to take outdoor pics or pics of people indoors, close up, it does fine. Where is does start to become an average camera is the place where most digital cameras have problems. Shooting in low light conditions results in a lot of noise in the pics, no matter what iso setting. You'll need good photo editing software to save those shots.
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerShot SX100 IS Silver
Nickname: adoug
Location: SF Bay Area, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

I love this camera!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 4, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable, great zoom range
When shopping for a new camera, pixel count and zoom capability were my priorities. This was the best I found at a reasonable price (though I was NOT at all happy with the retailer I purchased from!)
This is my third digital camera in 12 years, following an early consumer 1.2MP Nikon and a 5MP Olympus (both great cameras for their time), and this is the best yet.
It took some time to really master the manual controls in low-light/macro shooting environment, but after a couple of evenings of experimenting I was getting consistently fine images. I also get great battery life using good rechargeables. I keep newly charged set in camera, as well as two backup sets with me when I'm shooting, and using a tripod in lo-light certainly helps.
The 'Auto' setting accommodates well for general shooting. I do wish it had an optical viewfinder, and I've yet to find a mid-market digital that can use a shutter-release cable, which I would love next time around.
I got what I hoped for and couldn't be happier with the images I'm getting. But I wouldn't recommend it for the occasional snapshot photographer. It's manual functions would be a little overwhelming for anyone looking for a simple point-and-shoot camera.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PowerShot SX100 IS Silver
Nickname: Luck-me
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast

Great Camera for the price

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 21, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality
Cons: Short battery life
I was looking for a good Image quality camera since I was mostly dependent on my brother's cam. After lot of research on the internet I decided to buy this camera after looking at some of the pics uploaded by owners. I am still amazed with the quality. I have no experience when it comes to photography, but the photos I've clicked so far have been well received ( I have a food-blog, and photos are the key!) My friend and I had purchased two different cameras on the same day, and till-date she keeps asking for my camera to click any close-up shots! My only complaint is the battery - I somehow wish the battery was lasting longer, although I was aware of the issue when I made a purchase. Great worth for the money spent!
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PowerShot SX100 IS Silver
Nickname: JanE
Location: California
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

I like this camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 15, 2009
Pros: Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance
I bought this camera over a year ago, mainly to take on a cruise to Alaska. The camera took a little getting used to, as the controls are more complicated than the camera I had before it. The outside pictures are great, especially in good light. I was a little disappointed in the pictures taken indoors at the shows, but maybe I was expecting too much. I did love the 10X zoom, and I was able to get close-ups of the entertainers. That I liked. But low-light pictures are grainy. As I said, though, I may be expecting miracles.
I really like the fact that it uses AA batteries, so I am not stuck with some odd size that costs a fortune. I use high quality rechargeable batteries, and always keep a spare charged set in my purse. That has worked great!
I like the way the camera fits in my hand, and it is small enough to carry in my purse all the time, though I do have a fair sized purse. It is a little heavy, but not bad.
The reason I am not giving it the highest marks is that, although it is good and I would recommend it, the pictures aren't as good as an SLR. But I have taken some mighty nice pictures with it!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PowerShot SX100 IS Silver
Nickname: Camera Crazy
Location: Michigan
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Love the pics I've taken

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 1, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, good battery life
Cons: does not have optical viewfinder, lcd shiny & hard to see in sunshine, do not like date print options
I bought this camera June 3rd. I have been snapping pics every since! With the "easy" and "auto" settings I have had great results inside & out. I have mostly left on auto, including for action shots, and had great results. I have to read the manual to learn all the other settings. It is more complicated then a standard point & shoot, but I expected it would be. The macro mode has given me some incredible pictures! I do not like the date print feature and the LCD screen has a glare on it in the sunshine which makes it difficult to see. The picture quality is amazing and I love the zoom - the main reason I purchased the camera. If you keep batteries fully charged (I use rechargeable), they will last an adequate amount of time. They lasted about 1 1/2 days when I was on a weekend trip. I took my charger with me, and did not have any issues. I did not have to turn on the flash with my former camera, so I have been getting used to flipping it up, but the camera shows a message when the flash is needed.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PowerShot SX100 IS Silver
Nickname: mystbnards
Location: North Carolina
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

BEST Point and Shoot EVER!!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 20, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, good battery life, durable, incredible zoom quality, option to use flip flash, heavy enough for great stability
I was in dire need of a new digital camera but couldn't afford an SLR. The Canon SX100is is absolutely THE best bargain and bang for the buck. Outstanding shots every time! Easy to use! Incredible zoom! Plus, the camera has weight to it for great stability. Overall, this is one of the best camera purchases I've ever made. GREAT camera, GREAT pictures!
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PowerShot SX100 IS Silver
Nickname: cladan
Location: East Windsor, NJ
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Worst Purchase Ever!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 2, 2009
Cons: Difficult to use, Complicated controls/menu, Poor image quality, Heavy/Bulky, Short battery life, lens stopped opening for no reason at all
We purchased this camera about 18 months ago. Last week, the lens stopped opening and closing and the camera does not work at all now. We did not drop it or do anything out of the oridnary to it. In fact, we barely used the camera. Now, in order to repair it, Canon is telling us that we have to pay almost half of what we paid for it. Even before this problem occurred, the camera had complicated controls and the picture quality was poor (unless you asked a camera knowledgable friend who could change it to the proper settings for you constantly. . . ) The battery life was also very short. Overall, this was not a very good purchase and I wish we could get our money back!
22 of 36 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site