Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Refurbished Products Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Refurbished Products or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for exp EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS II

exp EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS II

Compact, light standard zoom lens with Optical Image Stabilizer technology 11 elements in 9 groups, aspherical lens elements Circular aperture renders soft backgrounds Expands picture possibilities when slow shutter speeds are needed
Average Customer Rating:
3.769 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
16
3 stars
11
2 stars
2
1 star
1
34 out of 39(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for exp EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS II
Review 1 for exp EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS II
Nickname: dran_reb
Location: Wisconsin
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Good for landscapes, buildings

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 19, 2014
Pros: lightweight, takes good photos at night, wide angle
Good all-around general purpose lens, versatile enough for many situations. Relatively light weight. Good for a walk in the woods because it can capture a decent wide-angle landscape shot, yet still take a great close-up photo of an object along the trail, such as a flower. Limited zoom means it cannot get a close-up of distant wildlife, so if that's your target, you will need to consider a different lens. This lens works great for fitting buildings into the frame when standing close. I have taken some beautiful night shots of cityscapes with this lens using a tripod and long exposure.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for exp EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS II
Nickname: asjs
Location: Florida
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Okay lens

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 16, 2014
Cons: Slow auto-focus, Semi-sharp images, Poor build quality, focus easily obstructed
This lens came with the camera I bought. I found it to be easy to work with when adjusting the basic settings such as auto/manual focus and turning the stabilizer on and off. I found that when shooting, a lot of pictures did not come out as expected due to the slow lens. I'd suggest this lense for beginner portraits, but nothing moving. The focus is easily broken, and it is extremely slow on auto focus.
9 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for exp EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS II
Nickname: merlexie
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Great Kit Lens + for Learning DSLR

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 9, 2013
Pros: Super-sharp images
Cons: Slow auto-focus
This is the kit lens that came with my Rebel T3i. Overall, I think it serves its purpose well. The T3i is an entry-level DSLR, and this lens pairs well with it as a learning lens while newbies to DSLR figure out what exactly they're doing. The lens + camera combo is a huge step up from my Canon Powershot ELPH 300; the image quality is excellent, and it's much more versatile.
So, the pros about this lens: it gives you enough zoom to experiment with both wide-angle/landscape shots as well as portraits and other close-ups. People get into DSLR for different reasons, so it's reasonable that Canon would pick a kit lens with versatility rather than confining people to a one-trick wonder. The IS does wonders, especially in low light.
Now, the cons--and not all of them are really cons. The build quality does, admittedly, seem to be on the cheap side. But come on, it's a kit lens, and its retail price-point is at the very low end of the range for all Canon lens. So this shouldn't come as any surprise, and isn't worth causing a fuss over. More critical, however, is the autofocus: it's very finicky, and frequently has to hunt (which is slow and time consuming), especially in low light or low contrast situations. Honestly, I've found it easier just to focus manually; but I think that's more a reflection of me being too impatient to learn how to tell my T3i where I want it to focus (it's rather tedious to change zones) than anything else. I'm also not generally looking to capture the big action shot, so a fast autofocus is less critical to me.
All in all, I've taken some amazing photos with this lens and am very pleased with it. Is it the greatest lens? No. Will I be upgrading it soon? Absolutely. But that's probably part of the idea behind most kit lens: give you something that's good--even very good--at many things but not the greatest at anything so that consumers are tempted into purchasing upgrades.
Recommended as a kit lens (on the assumption you don't own any other lenses of higher quality), but not as a separate purchase (since Canon makes better quality lenses that are more tailored to your individual needs at prices comparable to this or that aren't all that much more).
44 of 47 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for exp EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS II
Nickname: BT
Location: VA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Nice Walk Around Lens

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Super-sharp images
I got this w/ the T3i. I actually have no complaints about this lens at all. It delivers sharp images almost throughout. It is very versatile, and can shoot Macro shots, okay portraits, and ok zoom shots.
I personally do alot of outdoor photography, and this does pretty good, but doesnt zoom enough for Birds, deer, etc without getting pretty close. But for Macro shots, I have been enjoying this lens alot and was suprised that it could do so well!
I have already bought the 50mm 1.8 prime lens, which is perfect for portraits, and shows better colors and Bokeh in images. But my next purchase will be a better quality telephoto zoom lens to get a little more distance on my shots for further away subjects. Overall a Nice Walk-around/all-purpose lens. No complaints and love the IS!
17 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for exp EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS II
Nickname: D.T.
Location: Twentynine Palms, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 9, 2012
Pros: easy to use
Cons: Slow auto-focus, Semi-sharp images, Poor build quality
Great kit lens. Slow auto-focus misses in anything less than perfect lighting. The images are good quality, but not as sharp as I'd like, even under pretty decent lighting.
BUT, it's easy to use and to learn with. For the price, the images are great. It can be used in most situations, and I will probably keep it on hand because of that.
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for exp EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS II
Nickname: cl
Location: california
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Lense noise with auto focus

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 25, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Super-sharp images
Cons: noise while taping
nice lense, however don't like the noise on auto focus when video taping. Very loud. The kit should of came with the better lense with less noise. Other then that great lense
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for exp EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS II
Nickname: CindyH
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Love My Lens!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 5, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
After years of loving my Canon SLR 35mm camera and the quality of my pics, but increasingly finding it difficult to buy the film and processing I wanted, I took the plunge into DSLR. I love my camera and lens. They aren't heavy to cart around, and I can switch lens in a flash. Have only had it one one trip, but can't wait for the fall colors to explore even more!!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for exp EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS II
Nickname: Betsy
Location: New York
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 13, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Cons: not good at a distance
I love the camera, so far. I do wish I could take far awy pictures better. I wish is came with a strong zoom lens. they are very expensive. I was able to clear some distance pictures with the program that came with it. The pictures so far are beautiful but the camers is made for close-ups.
3 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for exp EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS II
Nickname: Love
Location: Davis, Ca
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent Purchase

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 11, 2012
Pros: Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
This is the second time I have Purchased this lens. I first bought it as a kit lens wit Canon 300D a few years ago. I have many fond memories of taking many fine photos encompassing portraits, landscapes, animals and birds. Right now with several L series lenses and some others I did not need this lens but it is very handy for walks with my dog. Excellent purchase for a very small price. photos come out very sharp.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for exp EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS II
Nickname: Gil
Location: Western part of Texas, hot& dusty! LOL
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

exp EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS II

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 9, 2012
Cons: Slow auto-focus, Semi-sharp images, Poor build quality, read - non canon reviews
I gave the kit lens 1 star simply because I had little use for this lens. This is the kit lens: EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS II. This would be better: Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II Camera Lens + this hood: Zeikos ZE-LH52 52mm Soft Rubber Lens Hood (Black). Yes, BOTH are cheap lenses but it is more useful than the kit lens, for me. I shoot more kids, family, portraits, etc. & the bokeh is great, This is just my 2 cents. I had more use from the nifty fifty & T2i in 2 weeks than 2 months with the kit lens. Please give us a choice Canon.
Gil
2 of 27 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for exp EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS II
Nickname: FIJIMAN
Location: LAS VEGAS/HENDERSON NEVADA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

2ND TIME AROUND MUCH BETTER.

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 30, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Super-sharp images, sharp at 18mm, very lightweight, image stabilization
Cons: drop off @ 55mm
VERY VERY LIGHTWEIGHT LENS FOR KIT BAG.
GREAT IMAGE STABILIZATION SYSTEM.
VERY VERY GOOD IMAGE QUALITY.
FAST AUTO FOCUS WITH GOOD LIGHTING.
BUILD QUALITY SEMI-DECENT.
INEXPENSIVE EF-S WIDE ANGLE LENS FOR SHOOTING.
DESIGNED ONLY FOR USE ON ALL EOS DIGITAL REBELS, 20D, 30D, 40D, 50D, 60D AND 7D DIGITAL EOS CAMERAS.
THIS LENS IS VERY SHARP AT 18mm, BUT DROPS OFF QUITE A BIT AT 55mm.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for exp EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS II
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

It's an ok lens

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 10, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Super-sharp images
I mainly use this lens for wide angle shots. I like the stabilizer, wish all my lenses had it. I am waiting to see how it does for landscape shots during the fall foliage changes.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for exp EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS II
Nickname: Jomaque
Location: Southern California
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Sharp Pics, Low Price

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 28, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Super-sharp images
Cons: Poor build quality, hunting
I had bought this lens for my SLR body, and overall it is a very good lens. The outcome of the photos are very sharp and I enjoy shooting with it. However, I do want to point out that ,under certain conditions, that the autofocus will not work or will go "hunting". But I do recommend this lens as a starter who has just transitioned from P&S cameras to DSLRs
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for exp EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS II
Nickname: era1953
Location: Houston Tx
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great buy

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 8, 2012
First off, I get a little annoyed at reviews that don't tell you what system the product was used on. With some of the previous reviews I feel that the users that were complaining about the performance really don't know how to handle a DSLR or what to expect. Auto focus systems need a "contrasting image" to focus on so if you try to focus on an area that is blank it will have a hard time focusing and "hunt" for an image. The 18-55mm was a kit lens with a Canon T3i that I purchased as a second camera.
The lens preforms beautifully giving crisp, sharp photos. Auto focus is fast and precise. I.S. is flawless. All together a great buy for a standard zoom
35 of 36 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for exp EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS II
Nickname: Bizziebill
Location: Dunnigan, Ca
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 21, 2012
Pros: great lens, af works great, easy to handle
Cons: can't think of any
I used this lens & the 70-300 when I went to China. Took some good pictures. I am still new with this product, but I have to say I truly like both of them. The 18-55 was great for most my indoor shots, where as the 300 came in handy for the long shots I was taking.
For even better shots when not using my tripod, I would turn the AF off, much better for the indoor shots of friends.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for exp EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS II
Nickname: Canon lover
Location: San diego
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Good at first

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 23, 2012
Pros: nice image, wide angle, zoom lens, image stabilized
Cons: focusing easy to break, cheap built quality
Men when I got my first camera the kit lens was nice.but after a year It broke the AutoFocus stop working .so now I'm using my other lens,the image quality was great but the built quality not so much
10 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for exp EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS II
Nickname: Ron
Location: Atlanta,Georgia
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Disappointed

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 6, 2012
Pros: can't think of one
Cons: poor quality, quality of photos
Very disappointed with the quality of photos that comes with the use of this lens,should have just purchased the body of the canon t-3i and purchased the 17-55 lens.
4 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for exp EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS II
Nickname: wondersueak
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Great, At First

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 13, 2011
Pros: value, quiet
Cons: durability, Slow auto-focus, non-sharp images
I got this lens with my Canon Rebel XS for Christmas last year, and at first it was great, the images were very crisp and the auto-focus worked like a charm. Over time, the auto-focus started to get slower and the images weren't very crisp anymore, and even though I had never taken the lens off the camera body since I got it, somehow a bunch of hairs and dust accumulated on the sensor in my camera so I had to use a can of compressed air to clean it. The auto-focus barely works now and is slow and inaccurate, though it is a good value for its price and the fact it came with my camera, I just wouldn't get it again.
10 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for exp EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS II
Nickname: AWESOME LENS!!!
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

BEST STARTER LENS EVER!!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 8, 2011
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images, awesome lens!!! no questions asked!!!
Cons: sets aperture to f/5.6 when focal length is 55mm
This lens is an AWESOME starter lens! It has a pretty fast autofocus, the build quality is great, the stabilizer is awesome, but the best part is... EXTREMELY AWESOME IMAGE QUALITY!!! This lens has EXTREMELY high quality glass, (even though it's not an L) and I love the fact that it has a circular aperture! The only not-a-big-deal problem is that when you set the focal length to 55mm, it sets the aperture to f/5.6, which is not bad at all. P.S. Canon, you did an awesome job on this lens!!!
16 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for exp EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS II
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Naples Florida
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Lense

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 13, 2011
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Super-sharp images
I bought the EOS Rebel and it came with this lense.
1 of 20 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site