Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / imageCLASS Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop imageCLASS Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for imageCLASS MF4270

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

imageCLASS MF4270

Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
7 out of 10(70%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for imageCLASS MF4270
Review 1 for imageCLASS MF4270
Nickname: Jose
Location: Florida
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great product

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 23, 2010
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Small Footprint, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
Great Purchase, everything i needed in a small package. Toner Replacement is not as expensive as other brands.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for imageCLASS MF4270
Nickname: JoeD
Location: Florida
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Reliable, great value

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 26, 2010
Pros: reliable, High Quality Output, fast print speed, easy to use
Cons: Flimsy Construction
I have used my Canon 4270 for about 2 years with no problems. I work from home and printing volume is 500-1000 pages a month depending on my projects. Printer is connected to a single computer. Printing quality is excellent, the duplex printing feature is very useful as well as the enlarge/reduce copy functions. I often print on custom, full color, forms and flyers of varying sizes and have not had any problems printing on these type documents. The case could be more sturdy but this is not the type of printer that you move around much so not a major concern. Overall a great, reliable printer for the price.
Review 3 for imageCLASS MF4270
Nickname: chasm
Location: Olympia, WA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Great product - but needs a fast network

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 8, 2009
Pros: High Quality Output, fast print speed, reliable, Easy Setup, Small Footprint
Cons: Flimsy Construction, minimum wireless speed is g
This is a great All-In-One Printer/Fax/Scanner for USB users. Duplex doesn't jam like some others I have used. Does not do Duplex-to-Duplex copies, but that's expected for the price!
I have had no trouble with wired network connections, but the printer seems to hang up pretty reliably if you have a wireless-B link involved (my old laptop, for example had this issue). Wireless-G seems to work fine. I suspect it involves a timeout in the printer firmware. I wish Canon would put the effort into fixing it (and supporting the Linux CUPS driver team, too!).
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for imageCLASS MF4270
Nickname: boggman
Location: Cincinnati
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Not sure why the mediocre reviews!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2009
Pros: High Quality Output, fast print speed, durable, reliable, easy to use
I have had several printers over the years and so far this one is easily the best.
It is on a household network with 3 computers connected via LAN, 1 connected by wireless, and 1 connected by USB (in order to use the scanner function.) All use Windows XP or 2000 so I can't speak for other O/S compatibility.
It has been online over a year now (maybe 2, not sure) and prints every time with great, high quality results. I love the automatic duplex feature which saves on paper.
I would not hesitate to purchase it again.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for imageCLASS MF4270
Nickname: BadPrinter
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Unreliable for Network Use

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 23, 2008
Pros: fast print speed
Cons: unreliable
I bought this for network use at home. It prints fast and has some nice features. Once it goes into sleep mode, all bets are off. It does not work as a networked printer. This is my first and LAST Canon printer product.
5 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for imageCLASS MF4270
Nickname: DL
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Everything works with Mac, Linux, Windows

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 4, 2008
Pros: fast print speed, Small Footprint
Cons: Flimsy Construction
My house has Mac, Linux and Windows machines and all three work fine with printing, scanning and FAX. The Mac and Windows print/FAX drivers from Canon USA work fine for me, except that sometimes my wireless network needs a bit of a kick to see it. I have no problems over the wired network, so it's probably a problem with my router instead. I had to go to the linuxprinting database for the Linux printer/FAX drivers and SANE project for Mac and Linux scanner drivers, but once I did everything worked great.
The printer uses a simple paper tray instead of a drawer, so sometimes the output is a little out of square relative to the paper. Other than that, it's fast and has good quality output. The FAX operates as it should, although it would be nicer if switching between auto-answer and manual answer were easier. It is currently buried in the UI and takes a fair bit of descending into the menus to switch. Lastly, the scanner does a pretty good job given its specs. The ADF speed is impressively fast when scanning black and white documents. Makes quick work of digitizing important financial records for putting on a flash disk in the safe deposit box. The more advanced settings in the Windows driver are laid out differently than what I'm used to, but once I figured it out everything worked quite well.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for imageCLASS MF4270
Nickname: Ryan
Location: Knoxville, TN
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 2, 2008
Pros: High Quality Output, fast print speed, durable, reliable, Easy Setup, easy to use, Small Footprint
Cons: no wireless
You can print but not can scan with this over the network. so it's almost a waste of time if your in need of a scanner to work over the network. however it's really good and quick if you you can just hook it up with usb.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Response from Canon:By Canon U.S.A., Inc. Internet MarketingAugust 6, 2009
A wireless/wired print server option is available at estore.usa.canon.com that supports Silex print, PC Fax (sending only) and scan functions for the MF4270.
Review 8 for imageCLASS MF4270
Nickname: jb
Location: MA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Good MFC but won't wake from sleep

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 25, 2008
Pros: High Quality Output, fast print speed
Cons: unreliable
Nicely built. Fast printing and scanning. Good quality output. Built-in print server would be nice if it worked all of the time. To save energy, the 4270 has a sleep mode. The problem is that sometimes you have to cycle power to get it to wake up. Firmware v057 is supposed to fix this, but does not as far as I can tell. Without this problem, my rating would be good/excellent.
Review 9 for imageCLASS MF4270
Nickname: JPhan
Location: Vancouver, WA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Mac OS does work!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 11, 2008
Pros: High Quality Output, fast print speed, durable, reliable, easy to use
I just wanted to say that this printer does work on Mac OS X. I have my printer installed downstairs with my Vista machine over USB and just installed on my iMac upstairs over the network and was able to print fine. I'm not sure what problems people may have had but I had no problem.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for imageCLASS MF4270
Nickname: AG
Location: Norman, OK
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Works with Mac + PC

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 5, 2008
I have installed this printer using the new driver Canon has on this website dated 09/18/2008 and it functions as a network printer with my iMac, MacBooks and Windows PCs. I setup a static IP for the printer and have had no problems printing or copying for over a month.
Note that the scanning function does not work with Mac on this model, but printing definitely does.There is a Mac driver for fax, but I have not used it. I only fax manually.
Printer quality is excellent and copy function adds convenience.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site