Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Camcorders Reviews / miniDV Camcorders Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop miniDV Camcorders or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for ZR950

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

ZR950

Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ZR950
Review 1 for ZR950
Nickname: Ryan
Location: Ft. Worth, Tx
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great WS Video Quality

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 24, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, durable, Good Software Compatibility, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use
This is one of the better compact mini DV cameras I have used. The video quality (using 16:9 ws mode) is amazing, the included battery is a ok starting battery - but as with most cameras you'll want to buy another larger one, I only use the optical zoom which is great for all applications. The sound quality is good for this size of camcorder, I recommend using the wind screen feature in the menu to cut out some of the unnessicary noise. The only down side is if you are planning on using this for photos with a SD card, the quality is ok but lets be realistic this is a video camcorder not a camera (buy a canon camera if you want great pics). You'll need a firewire cable if your planning on editing your videos on the pc, the included usb cable is only for photo transfer.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for ZR950
Nickname: Phil
Location: Peoria, Il
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Simple Camara

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 5, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Great sound/audio, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, durable, easy to use, Good Software Compatibility
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance
This is a very easy to use camara. The auto focus doesn't really do to good when zoomed in alot, but it is not a proffessional camara, and I'm not a proffessional.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for ZR950
Nickname: Tazmaniandevil
Location: Seattle, Washington
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Great Camera for Price!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 16, 2009
Pros: excellent image quality, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Good Low-Light Performance, ois
Cons: Short battery life, Poor sound/audio
This Camera's Picture is exceptional for it's price, unbeatable. You'll need to buy another battery (Just like any camera you buy) You can hear the tape pretty loud ,since the mic is right next to the tape deck. Audio is good though if you have somebody talking or something going on, then you can't hear the tape. The Zoom is AMAZING!!! And the OIS is exceptional too. For what you get for the price it is an amazing buy! I had to save up my money to purchase this camera 7 months ago and I have yet to regret that buy!!! Buy this camera NOW!
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for ZR950
Nickname: bjkkcxyhh
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Good, but not Great

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 1, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, Easy TV Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Great sound/audio, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, durable, easy to use, Good Software Compatibility
Cons: Poor image quality, Short battery life, Poor Low-Light Performance
I like it one of the better camera's I have used. The only thing I disprove of is the fact that i have to buy another setup to edit video's. Or buy the cable. Why couldn't the camera just come with the cable?
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for ZR950
Nickname: Kristi
Location: ND
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Small but powerful

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 17, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use, great zooming capibilities
Cons: poor picture quality on sd card
Very pleased with my purchase of this camcorder. It is small and compact and easy to tote around. Had alittle problem understand at first how to review the tape to view on camcorder, but after playing around with it was able to do. Haven't tried many things listed under pros and cons yet so can not comment on them, but over all I am very pleased with my purchase. The only complaint I would have is I do not really care for the picture quality of the pictures on the SD card. I don't use it for pictures so is no big deal to me.
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for ZR950
Nickname: Jake
Location: Dubuque Ia.
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Excellent Results

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Great sound/audio, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, durable, easy to use, Good Software Compatibility, Good Low-Light Performance
I purchased the ZR 950 right at Christmas time and I had never used a camcorder before so it was a new experience for me. I was used to taking stills with my Canon Powershot so it was a new ball game. Read the instructions and started filming my family at Christmas time. I was really amazed at how simple it was to use and get the results I wanted. Burned the results on a DVD and shipped them to my family and they were very happy.. Jake ..VERY GOOD BUY
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for ZR950
Nickname: PacificNWRailfan
Location: Bellingham, WA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

This is a great camera!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 10, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy Computer Connectivity, good battery life, Great sound/audio, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, durable, easy to use, Good Software Compatibility
Cons: Poor Color Reproduction, Poor Low-Light Performance
For the price, this is a great camera. Everything about it is good, except some of the colors aren't as vivid as they are in real life, and the camera has trouble if you are trying to take video of both the sky and the water, for example.
The sky, even it it is light blue, will be kinda white-washed until you tilt the camera a lilttle higher, and then the sensor will adjust.
Night shots have lots of camera noise, but that is to be expected. Most camcorders have this same problem, except really expensive professional camera worth thousnands of dollars. This camera isn't terrible at night, either.
Other than that, this is a fantastic camera. I am a railroad enthusiast and love this camera. It is EXTREMELY durable, I'm shocked at how durable it is. I can take it out in freezing temperatures, and I've gotten it rained on (wet). and it still works, and I've had it fall 15 feet off my tripod onto cement lots of times and still work. Canon products are always very durable. This is a great product, and I highly recommend it.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for ZR950
Nickname: Ty
Location: Nebraska
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Great Value

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2008
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, durable, easy to use
Cons: Difficult Computer Connectivity
I have had this product for almost a year now as I purchased it at the beginning of 2008. I have not found anything wrong with this camcorder except for the still camera which leaves something to be desired in terms of picture quality. It would also be nice if you could record video onto the SD card instead of just the miniDV. I also was dissapointed when the USB cable included did not work to connect it to my computer, but when I called Canon they told me I needed a firewire cable which left me wondering why they even included the USB cable in the first place. After purchasing I experienced a slight remorse when I saw all the new hard drive/flash drive camcorders in a similar price range but I was told that the miniDV has better image quality and when you transfer the videos over they will all be digital anyway. All in all, I was so pleased with my Canon camcorder I decided to purchase one of their digital cameras (A590 IS) to supplement it. Highly recommend.
17 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for ZR950
Nickname: Kait
Location: FLORIDA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

awesome camcorder

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 26, 2008
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Great sound/audio, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, durable, easy to use
My parents purchased this camera for my fiance and i for christmas and we love it! its so easy to use and its compact, not a huge bulky thing. the only thing i dont like is that it doesnt have a light, for recording in the dark. although, i just got it yesterday, and havent spent every second playing with it, so its possible it does and i overlooked it. but so far, the camera is amazing!
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for ZR950
Nickname: Banana Mush
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Great in Almost Every Way

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 25, 2008
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Great sound/audio, durable
Cons: Difficult to use
I just recieved a Canon ZR950 for Christmas. I played around with it a bit. It has a sleek, modern design, wonderful screen and view lense, and touch-sensitive keys. The downsides to this camcorder is that you can only start/stop it with a remote not attached to the camcorder and the buttons/menu can become slightly confusing. I reccomend this product though.
4 of 7 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site