Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Camcorders Reviews / Flash Memory Camcorders Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Flash Memory Camcorders or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products
5 out of 5
4.727 out of 5
4.625 out of 5
4.25 out of 5

Customer Reviews for FS11

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

FS11

Average Customer Rating:
3.818 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
9 out of 11(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for FS11
Review 1 for FS11
Nickname: zbot
Location: seatle, Wa.
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

READ THIS!!!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 15, 2010
Pros: *read others pros - all good
Cons: do not lose bundled software or the little sticker
I have had my Canon FS-11 for over 2 years now and it still performs flawlessly. BUT, I have moved 3 times in that time and thought I had lost the bundled software that came with the cam, and had to upgrade my computer- i.e. reinstall software. The cam is next to useless if you cannot DL the vids on your computer that you recorded. To make a long story short - DO NOT LOSE/DESTROY THE BUNDLED SOFTWARE CUZ' AS FAR AS I CAN TELL IT CANNOT BE REPLACED !!! (i searched the net for 2 days to find a way to dl the cams vids to no avail. unless you got cash, and I am an IT)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for FS11
Nickname: f

very junky and poor performance

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 19, 2010
i bought this camcorder a year ago and paid almost 500 bucks for it. The screen went completely blank and it doesnt capture any images. Also the still image option is very very poor resolution. The picture looks distorted and rather like a painting than real life. Terrible experience
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for FS11
Nickname: E
Location: michigan
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Splerged on this and it was so worth it!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 10, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Great sound/audio, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, Easy TV Connectivity, easy to use
This camcorder is amazing. The quality is crystle clear in all light settings. It is so light and portable, I can get a chance to use it everywhere. My fav. part about this gem is that there seems to be no metal in it, and it will fit in my sock, so I can get it in anywhere and have home footage to remember things by, and the flip screen makes it possable to get a shot from ANY angle. Also, the zoom is awsome too. So glad I forked out the cash for a camera with good features and quality!
Review 4 for FS11
Nickname: APinDeeCee
Location: Washington DC
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

More info re Microphone

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:June 11, 2009
Pros: Easy Computer Connectivity, easy to use, Good Low-Light Performance, up-close pix very sharp
Cons: documentation re mic
I'm pleased with this camcorder. I only wish there was a technical footnote in the manual as to what kind of connection is made to the external mic socket - is it a three- or four-conductor type plug, does it need to be another stereo mic plugged in or is a mono balanced mic OK?
I need to use this camera with a pro XLR balanced microphone, and unless one buys Canon's XLR-to-3.5 adapter, there is no pertinent information to be found anywhere.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for FS11
Nickname: Boater
Location: Collegeville. Pa
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

FS11 overall assessment

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 3, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Great sound/audio, durable, easy to use, Good Software Compatibility, Good Low-Light Performance
Cons: Uncomfortable to hold, lacks a vision device
Clearly the camera is good. But it is difficult to hold and all aiming has to be done via the LCD screen which means that you cannot steady the camera by holding it with two hands. Not having a through-view reflex viewer is a clear drawback. Aiming the camera is difficult for someone used to older VCR cameras that allow an inline vision system. To get a really steady picture one has to use a 'pistol grip' with the right hand and an overhand grip on the camera body to keep the screen in view, but there should be a near-vision lens for the screen to get a better view of screen details. Holding the camera through the hand-loop is not providing a stable picture. Anyone wanting to make stable quality movies should go for a professional camera or one with TWO vision systems.
It is an excellent camera, would it not be for the difficulty described above. It is my 8th movie camera, all of which have been CANON, all of which were bigger, heavier and thus EASIER to operate. Small is not necessarily better
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for FS11
Nickname: jjfav1208
Location: Upstate NY
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Great for the price and simple to use!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 3, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Great sound/audio, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use, Good Software Compatibility
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, poor image quality when using built in camera
Very compact no need to buy either the discs or mini tapes,love the built in memory. You just record transfer to your computer and copy on to disc. Wonderful idea. During certain times of day ( depending on the light ) the quality lacks luster but During the day when there is plenty of light outside the quality is outstanding. The camera option is really not worth using the quality of those photos is not very good, so if you have another digital camera during family outings bring it, but over all conveniance, value and over all quality this product is well worth the money!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for FS11
Nickname: maxie
Location: Newark, CA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

First time camcorder user

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, good battery life, easy to use
Cons: Uncomfortable to hold, Limited Software Compatibility, not wide-angle
As a first time camcorder user and pro photography I find this awkward to use. I am left-handed and it is very tiring holding the camera in my right hand. I would have like the camcorder to have a wider angle. I often use this to film mid-size to large groups and it becomes difficult to get the entire group in the video. Image quality is okay for what I need it for. Perhaps I should have gotten a larger model. The software is extremely limited.
7 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for FS11
Nickname: imacG5guy
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

A very good HC camcorder for the money

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Great sound/audio, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, durable, easy to use, Good Software Compatibility
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, limited accessories
This is a very good HC camcorder. I bought it after it came out for a vacation and was impressed by the ease of use and its size. The picture quality is good and the zoom is very good for both the movie and still picture modes. The picture quality is very good for outdoor or under very good lighting indoors for both modes. However, in indoors under low light and even with the built-in light, the picture is grainy in both video and still modes (the pictures come out dark). Other than that, it is a very good HC camcorder. The 16GB of memory is more than enough for average use. I have a Mac and I use imovie 09 and it picks up the camera when it is plugged-in. If you have a newer Mac w/OSX 10.5.6, I would recommend imovie 09 for use with this camera. Windows PC users the software that comes with the camera should work. Before I bought this camcorder, I looked at other HC camcorders, but decided to go with this one because of the features for the price was better.
17 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for FS11
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Williamsburg, VA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camcorder

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, durable, easy to use
I have owned many digital camcorders, from different manufacturers as well as canon. This is the best one so far. It produces great video. Its light and compact and very easy to use.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for FS11
Nickname: naka
Location: Washington State
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

easy to use

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 10, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy Computer Connectivity, good battery life, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, durable, easy to use
Cons: editing and adding audio not easy
Beginers can take great video right away.
My biggest issue is being able to edit and add audio after importing onto a computer.
The PDF manual is not as complete as it could be. There isn't any help available in the manual for the editing issue I ran into.
I recomend that you talk while shooting video, it's easier than adding audio later!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for FS11
Nickname: drummer boy
Location: Tempe, Arizona
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Great buy

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 18, 2008
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Great sound/audio, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use, Good Low-Light Performance
Cons: Flimsy Construction
This is a great camara for first timers like myself, it's light wieght, has great picture quality, good lighting, probably one of the most easiest camaras if not the easiest camara to use, long battary life and has really good sound and I would definitly reccomend to any beginner who wants to be a flim maker and make quality flims like myself.
78 of 83 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site