Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Camcorders Reviews / Flash Memory Camcorders Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Flash Memory Camcorders or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products
5 out of 5
4.727 out of 5
4.625 out of 5
4.25 out of 5

Customer Reviews for FS10

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

FS10

Average Customer Rating:
3.8 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
9 out of 15(60%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for FS10
Review 1 for FS10
Nickname: Video Man
Location: Nashville
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Reliable. Great product for price

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 17, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Computer Connectivity, good battery life, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold
Cons: Limited Software Compatibility, Poor Low-Light Performance
First DV camera in years. Excellent performance. Many extra features. Have to read the manual to use special features. Manual easy to find features. Many extras included to make more professional, i.e. headphone and mike jacks. Many manual settings to enhance video quality..
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for FS10
Nickname: jsadka1
Location: Southern Il
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Unable to copy to DVD

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 22, 2009
Pros: Compact Design
Cons: Limited Software Compatibility
Cannot get the videos copied to DVD. Poor instructions. Guess I can only copy to my Pc and hope it never crashes!
2 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for FS10
Nickname: Big White Dragon
Location: Houston, Texas
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Software nightmare

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 13, 2009
Pros: Compact Design
Cons: Difficult TV Connectivity, Difficult Computer Connectivity
I have one of the first Canon digital camcorders and it has worked very well. I bought the FS 10 because I do a lot of hunting in remote locations and weight can be a problem. My initial attraction was the light weight. and compactability of the FS10. Everything was fine until I tried to transfer the video from the camera to a DVD through my new fully loaded computer. If you could provide me with a step by step procedure in simple layman's terms, that would allow me to put my videos on to DVDs, I would be completely happy with the product. As things stand now, it is useless for me.
16 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for FS10
Nickname: Technof
Location: Ladera Ranch, California
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Very good standard camcorder

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 8, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, good battery life, easy to use
Cons: image stabilizer, poor editing software
I got this Canon FS10 a month ago on clearance with all the accessories like portable case, remote,shoulder strap and a 4 GB sdhc card included and last week I got an 8Gb SDHC Pny Optima for $20 on special sale which give me another 1 hour and 50 minutes, the battery fully charged indicates 180 minutes of use so far I got 2 and a half hours so I’m very happy about that .
This is an excellent camcorder just keep in mind is a standard def no an HD.
The reason why I said this is because some complaint about indoor videos, yes you get video noise or grainy picture but if you look at it on an old TV the picture looks awesome but when you watched on a 40 inch HD LCD of course you will see some video noise and yes it can be very bad sometimes if you don’t have enough lighting again a minor issue for me just turn up all the lights when you shoot inside and you’ll be fine.
My basic use is for family events so this is a great camcorder for me I love the size and comfort holding the camera, settings are easy if you bother to read the instructions a little just don’t walk and taped at the same time because the image stabilizer is a joke it shakes a lot so move slowly when shooting, I even tried another known brand for a week and got the same problem.
Other thing is don’t sacrifice the video quality and use the camcorder on the highest settings which is 9mbps, you get about 50 minutes on a 4GB SDHC card and you can get a 8GB for about $25 or even a 16GB for a little more. The camera has a video light but it doesn’t help much on dark situations and also takes 1MP pictures which is like your phone so I rather use my digital camera for that.
I taped my daughters Jog-A-Ton last week at their school on a day with no much sunshine and it looked very good and also I did several shoots on the park and other places and they all look good.
One important issue is if you hook the camcorder to the TV to see the video it will not look good, colors are saturated and you will not like it that is because the way the images are compress on the SD card once you burn the DVD everything will look great.
The camcorder works fine on my laptop but it takes a lot of juice out of it because I don’t have a faster processor I have Vista Premium with 1.7 GHz processor and 2 gigabytes of memory and while the memory was fine I couldn’t do much else like surfing the web because the computer gets very slow but that is normal due to a slow processor, on my pc with XP runs whit no problems also I preferred my laptop so I can edit and burn the DVD with Windows Movie Maker because on my XP I run into some problems with Movie Maker like other people I think is because the type of files.
If you want to change the files you can go to YouTube and you will find a lot of people explaining how to change them to AVI files and maybe it will work better with Movie Maker on XP I just preferred to use my laptop.
Again this is a great camcorder unless you want to spend a lot of money on an HD camcorder plus a Blu Ray Burner also you’ll need a computer with at least 2.0 + processor and I find it ridiculous to pay $22 for a single Blu Ray blank DVD when now I can get 50 blank DVD’s for about $15 I just rather wait a couple of years and then switch to HD camcorder.
In order to work with Windows Movie Maker I think is better to use the camcorder software Pixela to download the files and then save them to a new project and then you can use Movie Maker or other software with no problems just import the project by the name to Movie Maker and you are done.
The software is poor and yes it does not download the instructions with the software but you can get it with a few clicks.
I’m sorry if my review is a little long but I know this could help some people. In regards to the instructions everyone complaints just pop the Pixela CD on your computer and you get a new window just click on “Open folders to view files” and double click on “Manual” then double click on the “English” folder then double click on “Image Mixer 3SE” and Adobe will open the instructions now you will save some time just by getting a copy of the instructions to your desktop.
Once the document is open click on File all the way to the left and scroll down and click on “Save a copy” and just download the file to your desktop.
Well that’s all guys I hope I was able to help with my review.
62 of 64 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for FS10
Nickname: taz
Location: va beach,VA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

good standard def.camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 4, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, Easy TV Connectivity, good battery life, easy to use
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance
Bought it to upgrade my digital 8 camcorder. The camcorder has a nice compact design ,it's well build, very easy to operate,the battery life is very good. Sound/ audio is not great but it's acceptable.Connection to the tv and pc is very simple.I have 2 pc's,one with windows vista and the other one with windows xp and I had no problems with software compatibility.The camera has an external mic input but no headphone input or accesory hot shoe.In low light,the picture is very grainy even when using the camera light.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for FS10
Nickname: Mumma
Location: Ohio
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Lousy software

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 10, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy Computer Connectivity, easy to use
Cons: Limited Software Compatibility
The instructions on the software are either incomplete or just not understood. Is there another recommendation for something easier to work with? I am trying to make dvds from the computer, but can't figure out how to do it.
The camcorder is great, clear pictures,easy to use, but the software diminishes the ease.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for FS10
Nickname: Videoqueen
Location: Washington State
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Won't work with Windows

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 1, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold
Cons: Difficult Computer Connectivity, Difficult to use, won't work with windows
I bought the camera to make movies for my website. The inability to work with Windows Movie Maker makes it impossible to keep. The size is great, the quality of the picture is great, but the editing software is inadequate for my needs.
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for FS10
Nickname: pix taker
Location: Piedmont, NC
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Great Standard Definition Camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Computer Connectivity, good battery life, Great sound/audio, easy to use
Cons: Limited Software Compatibility
I am glad I purchased the camera. One of the reasons I purchased it was for the mic imput. Canon puts the mic input on most of their consumer cameras. Other brands do not unless you get their pro models. I use the camera to video our church services and with the mic input I can hook up to the sound system. With DVD or mini dv the disk and tapes last only 30 minutes per side and with the fs10 you get almost 2 hours with the internal 8 gig of memory. I purchased an 8 gig sd card and I can video for almost 4 hours. I have used it for 2.5 hours and still had battery life left. I don't like the software to edit movies but that may be my fault because I don't understand how it works. I don't like having to plug in the electric power supply when downloading to the computer, although I could take out the memory card and put it into the card reader. It is tiny and hard for me to hold still, especially when zooming. Overall though I like it and hope it will last a long time.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for FS10
Nickname: phoenix33
Location: Geneva, NY
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Great video camera, but ........

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Great sound/audio, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, durable, easy to use, Good Low-Light Performance
Cons: Limited Software Compatibility
I got the cannon fs10 for christmas, and i'm only now writing a review. I wanted to put the camera through it's paces before I did. It has turn out to be a great camera with exceptional performance and easy to use features. But the supporting software for this camera is not as user friendly as I would like it to be. The software makes the video segments into a edited movie that you can save on your computer or make a DVD with. I had trouble with finding instructions for the software, you would think that it would be on the cd disk that came with the camera. On the positive side canon has been very supportive in trying to resolved any problems with the software. I got a new batch of video to process with this software, I'll let you know how I make out. Phoenix33
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for FS10
Nickname: scubalu
Location: MO
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

easy to use

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Great sound/audio, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use
Cons: Limited Software Compatibility, poor software
Nice camcorder, easy to use, but the software is way less than I had hoped for. The software is not easy to use and is a pain to figure out.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for FS10
Nickname: steve
Location: florida
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

excellent camera, until you edit

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 17, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Great sound/audio
Cons: Limited Software Compatibility
The video quality this camera captures is really good. when you connect it to the tv, its not grainy, or blurry. you always want to get a good amount of light in your view, but it handles low light better than most other flash based cameras. battery life is great, response time is great. the only problem i ran into was video editing. the supplied software is pointless. editing is frustrating, it records files in its own .MOD format, which is unrecognised by windows media and windows movie maker. widescreen would be nice to work with, but i find myself disabling that feature just so editing would be less stressful. but the camera is tiny and light, and i'm in a debate if i'm going to keep this or not. They need to recommend an editing software for us to use thats more user friendly. on the other hand, i've heard mac users don't really run into many problems. there is also no provision for lens attachments, unless you want to homebrew your own aftermarket lens adapters
17 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for FS10
Nickname: Melissa
Location: Skippack, PA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Highly Recommend!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, Easy TV Connectivity, Easy Computer Connectivity, good battery life, Great sound/audio, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use, Good Software Compatibility, Good Low-Light Performance
Impressive features & extremely high quality for a very reasonable price! I bring it with me everywhere I go! The standard battery lasts a very long time, very impressive sound quality! VERY easy to use!
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for FS10
Nickname: Frank
Location: CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

software problem

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 29, 2008
Pros: Compact Design
Cons: Difficult to use
Provided software in box
does not provide for DVD
copies that can be played on
a standard DVD player .
I used the recommended
Vista software OS and still
had problems with this .
The resident camcorder
download to my computer will not work with other DVD
software . Feeling very frustrated .
17 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for FS10
Nickname: Rock's mom
Location: Houston, Tx
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

It's small, but does a big job!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 21, 2008
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Great sound/audio, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, durable, easy to use, Good Software Compatibility, Good Low-Light Performance
I really enjoy Canon products. They are very easy to operate. It really does captures everything!
38 of 45 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for FS10
Nickname: Tapan Amin

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 13, 2008
I liked it very much. It has good optical zoom and good magapixel. I like it's design
19 of 39 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site