Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Camcorders Reviews / Flash Memory Camcorders Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Flash Memory Camcorders or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products
5 out of 5
4.75 out of 5
4.625 out of 5
4.25 out of 5

Customer Reviews for FS100

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

FS100

Average Customer Rating:
3.97 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 star
1
26 out of 33(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for FS100
Review 1 for FS100
Nickname: dontbuyit
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

dont buy it

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 14, 2010
18 months in (conveniently out of warranty) and it wont charge the battery, i bough AC power adaptors, additional batteries and battery chargers and still wont work.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for FS100
Nickname: unlisted
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Great video camera, with one exception

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 3, 2010
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, durable, Easy TV Connectivity, easy to use
Cons: no add-on lenses available or fit
This is a great camera. The only problem is that there is no compatible wide-angle lens, and you can't use a universal wide-angle lens, either. I use it to shoot my dance classes and private lessons, and I have to Scotch-tape a wide-angle lens to the front of the camera!
Review 3 for FS100
Nickname: Rimacguy
Location: Philadelphia
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Zooms with a mind of it's own?

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 11, 2010
Pros: Easy Computer Connectivity, Compact Design, easy to use, inexpensive
Cons: Uncomfortable to hold, zoom with mind of it's own, poor low light performance, can't use while plugged into outlet
Have owned this product for a little over a year and have recorded maybe 12hrs total video. I went with this camera for price-point and Canon's reliability. First the pros. The compact size is great. stick it anywhere, take it anywhere. Battery life is decent. the picture quality is ok but I knew I wasn't getting HD and that was fine. The cons for me are the awkward way in which you are forced to hold the camera. You're forced into a bent arm-up to the shoulder position to hold and properly access all the buttons with one hand, Second, though I knew I wasn't getting HD, picture quality degrades considerably once the light begins to diminish. Very poor indoor and low light performance. Also, though this may not be an issue for most. I wanted to make a long stationary video and tried to use external power. You cannot use the camera while it is plugged into an outlet. After not using the camcorder for a while I decided to fire it up again. All of a sudden my zoom starts tightening on it's own. it continues to do this and I have yet to find a solution. Other people have mentioned this on line.
I can't say I would recommend this camera with my experience. While Canon has made and continues to make some great products, this is not one of them by my experience.
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for FS100
Nickname: TeeCee
Location: Hungray
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

If You have light...

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 17, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Great sound/audio, durable, easy to use
Cons: Poor image quality, Poor Low-Light Performance
This camera is a great catch - if You can get one used and only want to record in light.
Recording in dark You will get a lot of noise, but hey! Its not expensive when bought used!
The audio is really good.
Its lightweight and its durable since no disks or harddrives inside.
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for FS100
Nickname: jenn
Location: ct
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

great gift

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 12, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, good battery life, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, durable, easy to use
Cons: online seems to be only place to get a charger
I recieved this as a gift and was very pleased with it, it works great. I love the fact that it has a number of accessories that make life more simple when trying to capture memories. The only problem/complaint i have with it is that when i lost the charger for it( that plugs directly from the wall into the camera to eliminate having to take out the batteries to charge it) it was impossible to find a replacement at any store, even the stores that sell the camera itself. You only seem to be able to find it online.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for FS100
Nickname: Nick F.
Location: Boise, Idaho
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent. Beats Every SD Camcorder out there

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 13, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Great sound/audio, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, durable, easy to use, Good Software Compatibility, excellent zoom optics
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, no threads!! :[
Well, the first thing that appeals to me is the 2000x Digital Zoom and the 37x Optical. It's great! The Image quality, I have learned, Is better when uploaded from the bundled software (ImageMixer 3). I have been hearing people say that the image quality is bad. It is bad, only if you make it that way, like proccessing the image codec with Windows Movie Maker, Imovie, etc. I personally thought that the software was below these softwares, but really, this make your image quality the best. I do not own the camera.....(I will this week though) I've used it many times, though. great camera.
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for FS100
Nickname: Twocan
Location: Corpus Christi, Texas
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Sweet Camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 12, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, easy to use
Cons: no filter threads
This camera is sweet.
I've been reading other reviews about bad files and computer problems but have experienced none of this. Granted the software does stink. I recommend getting Pinnacle Studio 12. It will solve all your problems.
The only problem I have is, this camera has no filter threads for a wide lens or uv filters.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for FS100
Nickname: Dave
Location: south eastern Ohio
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

awesome cam corder

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 11, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Great sound/audio, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, durable, easy to use, Good Software Compatibility, Good Low-Light Performance, easy use controls on screen
Cons: did not come with a protective caseconsidering how
I love the vesitlity of this small cam and its ease to use even my 8 yr old can use this camera
Review 9 for FS100
Nickname: sman591
Location: Virginia
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Not a good choice. Period.

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 11, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, good battery life, Great sound/audio, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold
Cons: Poor image quality, Difficult Computer Connectivity, Poor Color Reproduction, Limited Software Compatibility, Poor Low-Light Performance
This camera was my first ACTUAL video camera. I have very quickly learned that a cheap camera = bad. I thought this camera was going to be great and all. WRONG. Video is terrible and grainy, pictures look awful when you make them a good size (even on a 13 inch computer screen). The audio and design is good, but the video/image quality just makes this camera a cheap buy-out. DO NOT buy this camera if you want at least AVERAGE quality. A 2003 miniDV camera my friend has is a TON better than this thing! I have learned to look at the IMAGE quality and REVIEWS BEFORE i buy a camera, not just the "OMG, LOOK HOW MUCH IT CAN ZOOM!!!!" part. Bottom line: bad camera.
14 of 22 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for FS100
Nickname: Tony
Location: Florida
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Ditch the Tapes!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 4, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Great sound/audio, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use, no other media to buy once a memory card.
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance
I wanted to get a Standard Definition camera,but didn’t want to by another Mini DV or even a DVD camera. This camera takes good video and I like that fact is a “real” camcorder it has many if not more features then my Mini DV. I like the built in video light. Since the camera has no/few moving parts the sound is clear, No motor hum!
Low light performance is the only low spot, images tend to get grainer the darker it gets; however, this camera has a video light and can shoot in total darkness. So it's not that bad.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for FS100
Nickname: Video Guy
Location: York, PA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Great Entry Level

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 21, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use
Cons: Poor sound/audio, Limited Software Compatibility
I just started working with this camera a few days ago. I am very satisfied with it. The video in good lighting is crystal clear. Lower light affects the output, but it does for any camera. My only real complaint is that the built in mic picks up the inner workings of the camera in quiet places. Thus you get a quiet "ticking" sound in the background. You can use an external mic to eliminate this, I just hadn't planned on getting one right away. This is the only thing that prevented me from giving it 5 stars.
About the file format and software... I've seen plenty of complaints about this. I spent about an hour messing with it and I have a comletely satisfactory solution. First, transfer the video files to your PC. I use a simple SDHC reader for this and cut and paste. I then rename the file extension to .mpg from .mod. Open ImageMixer and "edit" the file. I don't like ImageMixer, so all I do is open the edit screen and save the file under a different name. Once you do this, Windows media player and movie maker recognize the file as widescreen. You can then edit it for real using Movie Maker (which is much friendlier than ImageMixer). You have to set the aspect ratio in movie maker to 16:9 in the options menu or the file will save as 4:3 with black lines. This works like a charm.
31 of 31 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for FS100
Nickname: canonfan
Location: Columbus, OH
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Good value

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 12, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Great sound/audio, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use
Cons: not 100% windows friendly
I bought this camcorder per mthe advice of a friend. I checked his camera out liked it enough to buy one. It traveled to Hawaii with me. Performed wonderfully, quick start up, feels good in the hand, light weight, and good battery life. The files it saves are not completely user or window friendly. I have found a online and free third party software that copies video from SDHC card and to your hardrive and makes it window friendly. I shot over 16 hours of video in Hawaii, just need a laptop to download video when card is full.
The only problem with this unit just started recently. It appears to auto zoom. It will zoom in to max zoom with out any warning. I have emailed Canon, hopefully a easy fix.
Otherwise perfect camera, average low light use. Good audio record.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for FS100
Nickname: ab
Location: NY
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 2, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, good battery life, Great sound/audio, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, durable, easy to use, Good Low-Light Performance
I love the camera and have found it easy to use. The problem I have is actually DOING SOMETHING with the video I shoot.
The program that comes with the camera writes to minus DVDs and my computer only accepts + DVDs
I bought a DVD burner program but the sound file is incompatable! I am now trying another DVD burner program and it says that I can play the DVDs on my computer - but nothing about in an actual home DVD player!
So I have LOTS of video stored as data files waiting to become DVDs.
The camera is great........but I haven't been able to make a DVD.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for FS100
Nickname: Utnapishtem

Good hardware, bad software.

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 1, 2009
Pros: Compact Design
Cons: Poor image quality, Difficult Computer Connectivity, Difficult to use, Limited Software Compatibility
The way this stores video files is poor. Instead of using mpeg or something, it stores each movie in 2 files: one for the data, one for metadata. The problem is that Windows will not recognize the aspect ratio that is stored in the Metadata file, so it will automatically assume non-widescreen. The result is that widescreen videos will be played back compressed horizontally, distorting all your images.
Good luck finding support for fixing this.
17 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for FS100
Nickname: Captain
Location: NW PA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

A magnificent little jewel

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 24, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Great sound/audio, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, durable, easy to use, Good Software Compatibility, Good Low-Light Performance
This camera is a Christmas gift to my wife and I which has far surpassed our expectaions! It has so many features and is very easy to use. It even has an easy button! It takes great pictures and movies with very little light, and it is just amazing that something so small can work so well!
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for FS100
Nickname: MTA
Location: BROOKLYN, N.Y.
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

FS100- GREAT VALUE

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 16, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Great sound/audio, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, durable, easy to use, Good Software Compatibility
Cons: Difficult TV Connectivity, Poor Low-Light Performance
I BOUGHT THIS CAMCORDER FOR MYSELF BUT NOW I AM A LITTLE SORRY I DIDN'T GO FOR THE FS10 OR FS11. AFTER SAYING THIS, THIS CAMCORDER IS ABOUT THE FIFTH ONE THAT I HAVE HAD OVER THE YEARS AND I MUST SAY THAT THEY ALL HAVE BEEN CANONS. I ORGINALLY STARTED WITH VHS TO 8 MM AND WHAT EVER POPULAR FORMAT WAS OUT AND HAVE NEVER BEEN DISAPOINTED FROM ANY OF THEIR PRODUCTS INCLUDING DIGITAL SINGLE SHOTS. FOR SOME REASON, WHEN IT CAME TO 35MM, I ALWAYS USED ANOTHER PROFESSIONAL BRAND. I RECENTLY HAVE PURCHASED QUITE A FEW ADDITIONAL ACCESSORIES FOR THIS CAMCORDER AND AM STILL HAPPY. ONE THING THAT I PERSONALLY RECOMEND IS THAT YOU READ THE INSTRUCTION MANUAL COMPLETELY.....AFTER THAT, YOU WILL UNDERSTAND WHY IT IS IMPORTANT. TRYING TO JUST PICK IT UP AND USING IT WILL GIVE YOU A BIT OF AN UNFORTUNATE EDUCATION IF WHAT YOU ARE RECORDING IS IMPORTANT.......
5 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for FS100
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Hesston, Ks.
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Just What I Needed

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 16, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Great sound/audio, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, durable, easy to use, Good Software Compatibility, Good Low-Light Performance
This camera is small and compact and yet does a big job. It has wonderful easy to use features with easy down loading. The price I paid for this camera was worth every penny. Years ago to get a movie camera you would pay 5 to 10 times this amount. It was big and bulky and didn't have near the zoom as this great little camera.
Thanks for a super product at a fair price.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for FS100
Nickname: horsefly
Location: Fremont, OH
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

easy lightweight performance

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 16, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Great sound/audio, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use
I purchased this camera to replace our Sony hi8 that failed mysteriously. The camera has performed wonderfully since its purchase with its ease and comfort of use and the versatility of attaching the camcorder to our PC or our DVD to burn for a hard copy.
Review 19 for FS100
Nickname: dannyt123
Location: Arkansas
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Good Value

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, Easy Computer Connectivity, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance
Good value for the money. Quality is good - easy to use.
Would buy again.
Review 20 for FS100
Nickname: Bri
Location: Boston, Ma
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Good, simple camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Computer Connectivity, good battery life, Great sound/audio, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance
I like this camera, its easy to use, works VERY WELL with a Mac, and iMovie, iDVD so good for that...works great for the family video...what more do u need?
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site