Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Camcorders Reviews / Flash Memory Camcorders Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Flash Memory Camcorders or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products
5 out of 5
4.75 out of 5
4.625 out of 5
4.25 out of 5

Customer Reviews for VIXIA HF10

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

VIXIA HF10

Average Customer Rating:
4.588 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
14 out of 17(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for VIXIA HF10
Review 1 for VIXIA HF10
Nickname: dubmoney
Location: Westerly, RI
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

First HD Camera...its Awesome!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 25, 2010
Pros: Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, durable, Good Software Compatibility, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use, poor wind block
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Short battery life, Poor sound/audio
First I would like to say I love this camera. Because I was buying my first HD camera I did a lot of research, read reviews and testimonials. I'm glad I went with this camera. First, the image quality for a consumer camera is amazing. I've only seen this HD quality out of much higher priced cameras! Also, the built in 16 GB flash memory is a much added bonus. I know I have a reliable backup to my SDHC card in case it goes over. However, the built in mic on this camera lacks an adequate wind blockage. Seeing as the most I'll be filming is on a ski mountain, I would have liked a better sound output from this camera. Wind really takes its toll. That and the 90 minute included battery is a major drawback. I need to buy a longer one which is a pain. All in all, awesome camera!
23 of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for VIXIA HF10
Nickname: Jim W
Location: Texas
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 14, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life, Limited Software Compatibility
This camcorder has lived up to most of my expectations. It's easy to use, even in manual mode, and takes great video.
I have had no problems downloading the video to my computers. All I used was the Video Solutions disc that came with the camera and I can access both video and stills, though not at the same time. I was also able to access the camera without driver software in Windows 7 but I recommend the Video Solutions software to make transfer smoother. Downloads are easy either tranferring directly from the camera's memory or using the Pixela software for transfer of video and Zoom Browser for stills.
That being said, the Pixela software that comes with the camera is garbage for editing. I use other software for editing once the video has been transferred to the pc. I can then burn a video in any format from BluRay to VCD with no problems.
The only other issue I have with the camera is it seems to shift red colors to pinkish when using it as a still camera indoors. I haven't noticed it in movie mode. The Zoom Browser software can be used to correct this.
If you use it to shoot a night time football game, don't use the Sports mode as the video gets a bit jerky, just as outlined in the manual.
As stated in the Cons section, the stock battery life is on the low side, You'll run out of battery before you'll run out of storage room in an empty camera so plan accordingly or be prepared to purchase an extra battery.
Overall, the Pros outnumber the Cons which are minor. I think this is a fine camcorder with great output and ease of use.
16 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for VIXIA HF10
Nickname: joy
Location: los angeles
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 21, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life, Poor Low-Light Performance
great camcorder ,excellent design and great quality better than other brands ,i love it!!!
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for VIXIA HF10
Nickname: Oisin

CANON VIXIA HFS100

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 20, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, durable
Cons: Limited Software Compatibility
Software with the camera is a nightmare. Please please please Canon make this so when you connect the USB to the camera it can transfer in the files. The software makes me wish I'd never bought it.
29 of 37 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for VIXIA HF10
Nickname: myself
Location: Arizona
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

DVD Playback

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:June 20, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, Easy Computer Connectivity
Cons: Limited Software Compatibility
There may be something that I don't understand about this camera. The images downloaded with ImageMixer can only be played with ImageMixer. You can burn a
DVD but cannot play it in any DVD player. It can only be read by ImageMixer, which also means that it won't play on any other computer unless ImageMixer is also loaded on that computer. Windows Media Player or QuickTime won't play a DVD created by ImageMixer. If I am missing something here, please let me know.
17 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for VIXIA HF10
Nickname: miltoros
Location: Virginia
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

burning to dvd

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 30, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, durable
Cons: Difficult TV Connectivity, Difficult Computer Connectivity, Short battery life
Great camera and i was very excited by it until it came to sharing with friends/burning to a dvd. The software is very poor , not intuitive, the whole process of getting it to the web or on a disc is too hard. Where is the simple and easy to use experience i had come to know with Canon. I now have a full camera and don't know how to get it to a Disc or what software to use.
20 of 27 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for VIXIA HF10
Nickname: video pro
Location: denver
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

best camera I've ever used

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 22, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Great sound/audio, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, durable, easy to use, Good Low-Light Performance, excellent 1080i, hd tnsfr to hd tv beautiful
Cons: Short battery life, Limited Software Compatibility, no mac software disc
Pchsd June 2008 the day before I had to shoot my niece's wedding. Read manual the morning of, played with it a little & shot 8 hrs on 8G card & most of 16g hard drive. All HD film quality video & some pix. The pix came out like expensive megapixel camera. Video was beautiful & film like with settings HD & film. This camera never disappoints and is extremely easy to use. Main problem is in Mac compatibility. No Mac software available-this comes with a PC disc. Good thing Apple programs work with everything. Originally it took a Mac Genius & myself about 4 hours to figure everything out. Now it's a simple task to import into iMovie & image browser or iPhoto. Overall I would buy this again & recommend this to everyone who'll listen.
28 of 29 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for VIXIA HF10
Nickname: Jeff
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Not Easy for Mac

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 6, 2009
Pros: excellent image quality
Cons: Difficult Computer Connectivity
Nice product and ok price, but very difficult to learn how to connect to iMac. Nothing in manual and not straight forard process. After searching for some time on Canon FAQ site, I learned that must connect to power, then connect to computer, then open iMovie. The SD card would not open on my card reader on the Mac. I could only import through camera. I wish this was simple process like my still camera import process with iMac where conection auto launches iPhoto.
36 of 39 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for VIXIA HF10
Nickname: EJVJR
Location: Newburgh NY
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Finally crisp clear video

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 8, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Great sound/audio, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, durable, easy to use, Good Software Compatibility, Good Low-Light Performance, nice small battery
Cons: Short battery life
purchased this camera approx. 9 months ago. Turned it on and was taking video with very little instruction. It's very light and very easy to carry and store. The HD picture is truely awesome. I play it on my 50 plasma and it's like watching a commercial DVD. Many features and over 4 hours with a 16 gig card installed is more video I would use at one time. I would definitly purchase the camera again. Just buy another battery, probably should come with 2.
16 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for VIXIA HF10
Nickname: Pilot850
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Great Purchase

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 25, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Great sound/audio, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use, great value
Cons: Short battery life
I bought this camera a few months ago for casual filming to replace an aging 8mm sony camera from 1997 and it works great. It has a good zoom, a good mic, and its nice and small. Although this cannot provide the features and performance of a larger professional camera, I highly recommend this to anybody that is not a serious videographer. The only downside are that the battery life isn't too good, but otherwise, this is a great camera.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for VIXIA HF10
Nickname: Elmo
Location: Kentucky
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

good camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Great sound/audio, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, durable, easy to use, Good Low-Light Performance
Cons: Difficult Computer Connectivity, Limited Software Compatibility
I am pleased with the video quality and performance of the hf10. I have windows vista and it recognizes the sdch card sometimes but most of the time it doesn't. I have another computer with windows xp and it works well with it.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for VIXIA HF10
Nickname: Mrpicc
Location: Rochester NY
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Flash memory, perfected !

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Great sound/audio, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, durable, easy to use, Good Low-Light Performance
Cons: 1 hr. batt life average
I still own Hi8, mini DV, and HDD, this is the best format by far. The quality of video outside, in low light and still photos are fantastic. For still shots, the 3.3 mp is fine for a 6x9 print. It's very easy to load the stills to my Apple laptop, and you can't beat the start up speed of 1 sec, while in standby mode. I can't wait to use this at Disney in April. If you do more then 55 min. of recording, p/u the extended battery. In conclusion, DO NOT HESITATE TO PURCHASE THE HF-10, you won't be sorry.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for VIXIA HF10
Nickname: froky
Location: Hawaii/Washington
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Great everyday camera for fam!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, Easy TV Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, durable, easy to use
Cons: Limited Software Compatibility
I bought this right after xmas and have used it quite a few times since then. Worked perfectly during my kid's first b-day party. Picture quality is excellent. Small enough to keep in my cargo pocket all day. Not the easiest to edit. I found if I burnt the dvd and then used that disc to provide the film to edit, the editing worked just as well as a miniDV. Completely satisfied with my purchase.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for VIXIA HF10
Nickname: stanc1
Location: Pasadena, CA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Good with one recent problem

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Great sound/audio, easy to use, Good Low-Light Performance
Cons: Difficult Computer Connectivity, Limited Software Compatibility
Our VIXIA HF10 is marvelous. We bought it last Spring to take on an Alaskan cruise, where it made 79 great videos for us. Then suddenly a month ago it stopped transferring movies to the computer. The movies appear and play normally in the computer software's review window, but will not transfer to the computer. Same computer, same software as before. Yet stills transfer just fine. We are in hopes it can be repaired.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for VIXIA HF10
Nickname: AVCHDer
Location: Londonderry, Nh
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

The time is Now for HD

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 2, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Great sound/audio, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, durable, easy to use, Good Low-Light Performance
Cons: software is limited
Because of this camera the time for HD is now. I am encouraging all my friends to move to this camera. The HD features are the path to the present and future of Videography. The small format makes this the only camera I carry on some trips. The SDHC capability coupled with the low cost of memory and disk storage makes it easy to shoot lots of HD video. Third party software's capability to produce AVCHD videos on DVD blanks makes the move to HD a bit easier than expected, but there are still some complexities. The results are well worth overcoming the obstacles. The software that comes with the camera is quite limited. I use it only for sucking the HD files into my computer and occasionally for viewing the raw files.
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for VIXIA HF10
Nickname: chris
Location: pennsylvania
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

awesome camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use, Good Low-Light Performance
Cons: batt life ok
i recently purchased this camera about a month ago and so far my time with it is amazing! the image quality is fantastic. the size is incredibly small, about the size of a can of soda. the amount of features and settings are perfect for beginners and professionals. also there is no more tapes or dvd discs needed and everything is recorded on a internal flash based drive. add your own card for added memory. the recording time is great even on highest quality. canon quality is one of a kind. definitely worth the money.
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for VIXIA HF10
Nickname: Core_Zone
Location: New Delhi, India
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Compact little HD cam

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 20, 2008
Pros: Compact Design, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Great sound/audio, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use, fantastic zoom contol, can control mic level while shooting
Cons: slow switching between video and still mode
Perfect to hold in hand, much sleeker then Sony SR12 (the closest competitor), fantastic colors, excellent zoom control (fixed and variable speed), nice little built in video light and one can also control the mic input level while recording in noisy environment. It might not be the best in color reproduction (i think Sony SR 12 is better there) but nothing comes close to the sleekness and features list of this cam with probably the second best in picture quality if not the first.
Still pics are not really good specially in low light, and switching between video and still mode is very slow which is irritating at times, i hope this gets fixed with firmware updates.
67 of 68 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site