Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Camcorders Reviews / Flash Memory Camcorders Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Flash Memory Camcorders or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products
5 out of 5
4.727 out of 5
4.625 out of 5
4.25 out of 5

Customer Reviews for VIXIA HF100

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

VIXIA HF100

Average Customer Rating:
4.188 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
13 out of 16(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for VIXIA HF100
Review 1 for VIXIA HF100
Nickname: videsh
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Awesome vdieo but lacks high speed card support

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 5, 2010
Have it for more than a year and the picture quality for video at the highest cinema standard is great. No issues with recording speed at all. Price to performance was the best. Works only with class 4 or class 6 SD card for full HD. With class becoming the stand 6-12 months from now you will not find a SD card that works with this camera. If not for that I would have given a 5 star. I have recommended this cameara to friends but not anymore until the class 10 works again. Photo quality is average but this is mainly for video.
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for VIXIA HF100
Nickname: meltedid
Location: Kansas City Mo
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Complicated

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 28, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold
Cons: Difficult Computer Connectivity, Difficult to use, Limited Software Compatibility
This is an excellent camera. The pictures are great. The video is stunning, especially on a high def TV. The small size and light weight makes it easy to take anywhere.
My only gripe is how difficult it is to use, there is a stiff learning curve. I've had it since Oct (8 months) and have yet to figure out the interface with the computer; particularly for high def video.
If you are technically minded and patient, this is a fantastic camera.
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for VIXIA HF100
Nickname: Langarry
Location: Atlanta Ga
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Still The Best

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 5, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Great sound/audio, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, durable, easy to use, Good Low-Light Performance
Cons: Difficult Computer Connectivity, Limited Software Compatibility, custom image setting is practically useless
My only Complaint is the Custom Image Setting is practically useless. It was one of the main features I bought the camcorder for. Brightness is so subtle Exposure puts it to shame just 1 step + or - . Contrast does not have enough effect to be able to expose both the Colored Lights and the Faces on the Riders at the Carnival properly unless you are shooting in the daytime. Canon needs to add 10 steps to each direction to all parameters in that effect in the next firmware upgrade. Other than that it's the best camera I owned.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for VIXIA HF100
Nickname: kennyn
Location: chicago, il
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

regarding iMovie

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 26, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use
Cons: Limited Software Compatibility, Poor Low-Light Performance
I had trouble transferring the files into iMovie too, until I saw the suggestion on this site. Plug the camera in first via USB and THEN open iMovie.
This worked for me. Hopefully for you too.
14 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for VIXIA HF100
Nickname: MacGuru
Location: Florida
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent Choice

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 23, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, easy to use, Good Software Compatibility
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance
This camera is a replacement for our older GL2 and a upgrade to HD shoots. It has surpassed our expectations in every regard- it is simply an awesome backup camera, as well as excellent for shooting in tight quarters. It imports to FinalCut with ease. We like it so much we have been using it as our primary camera in a number of situations.
10 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for VIXIA HF100
Nickname: Stan-the-man
Location: Dallas, TX
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Great camcorder!!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 16, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Great sound/audio, durable, easy to use
Cons: Limited Software Compatibility
This is my fifth camcorder. I got this product because I really wanted to see a better picture on my wide screen TV. I was absolutely impressed by both video and audio quality. I agree that the software could be better but I am using a third party editor which works just fine creating either high or standard definition videos. Otherwise, I strongly recommend this cacorder. I am definitely sticking with this one for a while... Way to go, Canon!!!
10 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for VIXIA HF100
Nickname: Filming Pilot
Location: California
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great Value!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 16, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, easy to use, Good Low-Light Performance
Cons: no viewfinder
I purchased this camcorder after returning a camcorder made by another manufacturer. Wow, what a difference. The picture is stunning, particularly for a relatively inexpensive camcorder. It is extremely easy to use for beginners, but power users can explore some of the more advanced features. Low-light (indoor) performance is very good, not perfect, but so much better than previous camcorders that I have owned. The variable speed zoom works well and the camera is VERY small, but also very comfortable in the hand. Battery life is acceptable (a little less than an hour) but it takes a little long to recharge the battery (a little over two hours). I wish the camcorder came with the optional stand-alone charger (CG-800). I will probably wind up purchasing that along with a spare battery at some point in the near future.
The only thing I wish this camcorder had was a viewfinder (but that would probably add too much bulk). Also, the HDMI out on the camera is "mini" so I had to buy an inexpensive (less than $10) adapter.
Overall, I can HIGHLY recommend this camera. I did a lot of research before my purchase and I have NOT been disappointed with my Canon.
21 of 25 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for VIXIA HF100
Nickname: nadssr
Location: il
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Great sound/audio, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance
Excellent Camera. Excellent quality pic. Easy to use. I've seen a lot of reviews that complain about the software. Key is, you have to by a second party editing program to get the most out of your video. Studio 12 will read the format and is also an excellent product. Hard to believe you could get such a high quality camera for such a low price. The only thing missing is night shot or at least better low light performance.
7 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for VIXIA HF100
Nickname: Exasperated
Location: NYC
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Why this software?

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 7, 2009
Cons: Difficult Computer Connectivity, bad software
I haven't been able to use the camcorder yet because I've been on the phone most of the time with Pixela trying to make the soaftware work.
Why didn't Canon use an open format instead of one tied to a specific company?
23 of 44 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for VIXIA HF100
Nickname: robbie2041
Location: Doylestown, PA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Terrific HD camcorder!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 22, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use, canon brand =-)
Having sd cameras in the past that used tape I jumped right into HDV with solid state technology.. I could not be more happier with my purchase.. The recording does look just as good as in real life, in some instances better... If you have kids, granparents, do travel... give yourself the best to capure those precious moments that will last forever, preserve the smiles, laughter, and soething that counts.. Only beef I have with this camera.. Format is still hard to play/edit on average computers, due to the compression/dcompression, but if you are looking to play back your movies straight from the camera into the TV, no editing, this is it!!
7 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for VIXIA HF100
Nickname: ribbit
Location: New York, NY
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

best ourchase ever

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 12, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Great sound/audio, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, durable, easy to use, Good Software Compatibility, Good Low-Light Performance
i had no idea I could get such a great camera for so little money, when I got my tax refund, I figured I would go pick up a camcorder, nothing special, and according to the price this isn't. was I wrong, its quality is amazing, it's battery life is more then long enough, It's just flat out amazing.
11 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for VIXIA HF100
Nickname: bisiac
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Good HD Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2009
Pros: excellent image quality, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Great sound/audio, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold
Cons: Short battery life, Poor Low-Light Performance
A good camera for Full HD shots, easy to use and for a real good value a this time of the year.
I bought also an additional battery pack to be safe.
Recommended, better value than the HF10, you can buy the SDHC memory for a cheaper price.
9 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for VIXIA HF100
Nickname: Matt
Location: Philadelphia
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

No Mac software

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 1, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, durable
Cons: Difficult TV Connectivity, Difficult Computer Connectivity, Short battery life, Poor sound/audio, Difficult to use, Limited Software Compatibility, Poor Low-Light Performance
This camera comes with no Mac video software and does not work with IMovie. Not for Mac users.
27 of 75 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for VIXIA HF100
Nickname: Madds

Lovely!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 22, 2008
If you want a cheap camrea that works like magic, get this one!! It helped me record all my YouTube videos!! In perfect quality!!
6 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for VIXIA HF100
Nickname: software guy
Location: Denver, Co
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Great camcorder, needs good software

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 27, 2008
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use
Cons: Difficult Computer Connectivity, Short battery life, Poor sound/audio, Limited Software Compatibility, Poor Low-Light Performance
Canon is great in picture quality. They need to improve on providing a good software, even if it is through a third party company. Work with other software providers to include the missing thing in their software so that customers could use the product.
24 of 30 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for VIXIA HF100
Nickname: JR
Location: Louisville, KY
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Almost perfect!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 24, 2008
Pros: small lightweight
Cons: packaged software requires powerful pc for hd
This camcorder is easy to use, small, and takes beautiful videos as well as photos! I would recommend this camcorder to anyone interested in great video/still quality without the size and capturing after the fact, with video tape. It takes a bit of techie know-how to get the video in a usable, backed-up, format that can then go to DVD if you don't have Blu-Ray. That will improve with time, I am sure.
55 of 64 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site