Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Camcorders Reviews / miniDV Camcorders Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop miniDV Camcorders or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for VIXIA HV30

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

VIXIA HV30

Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 out of 16(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for VIXIA HV30
Review 1 for VIXIA HV30
Nickname: BUDDY
Location: Burbank, Ca.
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Great Toy

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 2, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Easy Computer Connectivity, Great sound/audio, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, easy to use
Cons: Limited Software Compatibility
The HV30 is what I wanted for a long time and I am happy to have it.. The picture using the Canon HD tape is the best. I am having problems transfering the video to Nero 9 Reload but I will work on solving that. It seams like I will have to buy a new video capture card for my PC. I am sure it is well worth the time and money to spend upgrading my system to accept the HD performance. This camcorder is not for a first time user. It's a toy for those who enjoy video taping at the best quaility.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for VIXIA HV30
Nickname: wineparkfilms
Location: Laredo, Texas
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

A really excellent camcorder.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 30, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, easy to use
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance
I've used this camera for a very long time before I switched the XH-A1 and I gotta say it's one of the most miraculous video cameras to use. It really fits in for any type of video project you're seeking to produce. It is definitely worth the price and it is very adjusted for customization. The hv30 is nice.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for VIXIA HV30
Nickname: Wadman
Location: Vermont
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

This is one Terrific Camcorder

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 15, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, Great sound/audio, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold
This camcorder makes great images in a very small, easy to use package. It has an aux mic input which is missing from so many small Hi-Def camcorders. The manual focus system uses a roller wheel on the camcorder body instead of that ridiculous touch screen system offered by another brand.
By the way, the av out jack can be turned into a headphone jack at the menu and so this camcorder is a great production back up.
23 of 25 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for VIXIA HV30
Nickname: BH
Location: FL Panhandle
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Great HD Cam for the $$$

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 4, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, durable, easy to use
I just returned from a trip to Norway where we took an 11 day cruise of the beautiful coastal fiords. It was the latter part of March and the first of days of April...cold but beautiful. The HV30 performed as advertised and when I returned home, the video was as bright, colorful and beautiful as we had seen with our own eyes. It even picked up items and scenes that we had missed. It was steady as I zoomed in on objects. All in all it is a great camera at a good price.
BH in the FL Panhandle
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for VIXIA HV30
Nickname: Impulsive2diva
Location: Asheville, NC
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

More to Come

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 8, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Great sound/audio, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, durable, easy to use, Good Low-Light Performance, more to come
Cons: Difficult Computer Connectivity, more to come
I researched camcorders for 6 months. This model consistently topped all lists from users to reviewers. I purchased my Canon HV 30 in Feb. and love it. I have used basic functions so far and am more than pleased. The colors are rich, the zoom function is amazing and gives me incredible editing options when images are downloaded to my laptop, the camera/off/play switch is conveniently placed and functions smoothly compared to other camcorders-this is important when going after spontaneous shots. The camcorder is light and designed to feel secure in my hands. I am confident the other functions will perform well and will comment when I have used them. This is the best purchase I've made in a long time.
21 of 22 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for VIXIA HV30
Nickname: Nick
Location: NH
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Very Flexible Cam

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Great sound/audio, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, durable, easy to use, Good Software Compatibility
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance
I have been very pleased with the ease of use, color, and audio capabilities. I use the manual controls a lot. It works well with a wireless lavalier mic.
9 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for VIXIA HV30
Nickname: Ed
Location: Mundelein, IL
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Best Quality & Simple to Use

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use
This camcorder is both simple to use and provides an incredablly crisp HD image. The best that I have ever seen.
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for VIXIA HV30
Nickname: Documentaryman
Location: Sacramento, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Performs well but some limitations

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2009
Pros: excellent image quality, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Great sound/audio, easy to use, manual audio adjustment, full manual exposure control, stills are good, uses standard dv tapes
Cons: built-in mic picks up motor noise, low light video noisy, menus are tedious
Like many consumer camcorders, the HV30 is too small. The LCD is small but standard for this class. The CMOS imager performs well in bright to moderate light but gets noisy in marginal lighting conditions. The manual controls are all there but with the exception of a very few body buttons such as BLC, they are accessed through menus which is time consuming.
Bottom line is this camcorder outperforms anything in its class. It's just that the class is kind of limited.
13 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for VIXIA HV30
Nickname: croyboy202
Location: PA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

First HD camcorder

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 14, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Great sound/audio, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, durable, easy to use, light is very bright!
Cons: Limited Software Compatibility, little loose
Very nice camera with lots of different modes and options! I got it for christmas and I love it. Very nice look and finish to it.Very cool camcorder with different hd modes. Just the tape holder is a little loose but you can tighten it so it is fine. I think this camera will last for along time. Great camera! COOOL!!!
5 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for VIXIA HV30
Nickname: Evets
Location: PA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

GREAT CAM!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 6, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, durable, easy to use, Good Software Compatibility, Good Low-Light Performance
Cons: Short battery life, Poor sound/audio, hot shoe cover in the way when useing mic
I just returned from South America. And I used the HV30 all the way through. Desert, rain, cold and hot. The HV30 did all it was advertised to do. I think for the price and what you get it is a great value.
great for budding Doc makers anad narrative films alike.
11 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for VIXIA HV30
Nickname: Slash
Location: Colorado
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Vixia HV30

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 25, 2008
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Great sound/audio, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use, Good Low-Light Performance
Cons: Short battery life
this camera is amazing.
the colors are very true to life and vibrant. I got the high def tape and I will get the mini sdhc memory card for the stills. The whole family is impressed. you also can use headphones for record and playback. I love this cam.
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for VIXIA HV30
Nickname: Jbean32
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Great camcorder

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 17, 2008
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Great sound/audio, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use, Good Low-Light Performance
Cons: Difficult Computer Connectivity, Limited Software Compatibility
I love the features on this camera - the ability to record in a film-like mode is really great and the video is crystal clear on my 52 inch plasma high-def television! The only complaint that I have is that there is really no information on how to transfer the video from the camcorder to my computer, and I've spent hours upon hours and quite a bit of money researching and buying cables and software that doesn't do the job. I eventually had to hire a computer tech to help me out, and even he had a hard time getting it all right.
18 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for VIXIA HV30
Nickname: Dave
Location: colorado
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent consumer camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 14, 2008
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Great sound/audio, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use
Cons: Flimsy Construction
I am very pleased with the HV30.
I am a hobbyist, and I use this mostly for family video. This is replacing a SD camera, and I am thrilled with the quality and features.
The only real problem is the somewhat flimsy design of the tape door/handle. Also the accesory shoe cover is a pain.
I strongly recommend purchasing the wide angle lens (WD-H43) and a good external mic.
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for VIXIA HV30
Nickname: dandl
Location: Minnesota
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Outstanding Feature Set

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 12, 2008
Pros: excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, easy to use, Good Software Compatibility, great hdmi output, live hdmi to hdtv, outputs hdmi to hdtv & hdv capture at same time
Cons: Poor sound/audio, no linc connector
Outputs HDMI to HDTV & captures HDV to computer thru Firewire at the same time. This can be done in record mode
with or without recording to tape at same time. The only thing missing on this camcorder is a LINC connector for remote control.
14 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for VIXIA HV30
Nickname: Frederic
Location: Seattle, USA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Love it!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 28, 2008
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use
I use the HV30 for family stuff. Did not know anything about HD, the HV30 is easy to use, the image quality is awesome.
I have been using a JVC Sd for years and this HV30 is so great I never use the JVC ever again. I am using Final Cut Express4.0 with a Mac for editing, works great...
Really love it.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for VIXIA HV30
Nickname: VidProd
Location: New Jersey
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Great camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 17, 2008
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Great sound/audio, durable, easy to use, external mic capable, headphone capable, manual controls
Cons: tv cable too short, no sd card option
This camera is amazing for a camcorder. If you get the right lighting the pictures can look as good as a $25,000 pro camera. That's no exaggeration.
There are many manual controls. If you take the time to learn them, you will have a lot flexibility. My camera also came with a detailed video tutorial.
I just wish that Canon would make this camera with an internal hard drive and an SD card option. That might make the pictures less vivid, but for those who edit it would be easier to store and transfer video.
BTW, I only use the camera in DV mode so I can't comment about the HD pictures.
35 of 38 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site