Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MX Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MX Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX850

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PIXMA MX850

Average Customer Rating:
4.449 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(89 Reviews) 87
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (89 reviews)
5 stars
67
4 stars
10
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
7
76 out of 89(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX850
Review 1 for PIXMA MX850
Nickname: MBW

Junk

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 14, 2012
The scanner broke and the unit no longer worked after that, so I thew it away.
2 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA MX850
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: MCLEAN, VA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

WORST EVER

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 12, 2010
THIS MX850 MACHINE IS THE WORST PRINTER ETC. I HAVE EVER PURCHASED. IT SAYS IT IS OUT OF INK 60% OF THE TIME WHEN TURNED ON ..... AND ITS NOT!! YOU HAVE TO TAKE THE INK ITEM OUT AND RE-INSTALL IT AND THEN WAIT FOREVER TO ACCEPT THE FACT THAT THE INK CARTRIDGE WAS ALWAYS FULL !!!! JUST A BIG PIECE OF JUNK.
WE HAVE MANY OTHER CANON PRODUCTS THAT WORK EXCELLENTLY. THIS ONE IS NO GOOD.
7 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA MX850
Nickname: Mike

Great Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 29, 2010
Best printer Ive owned so far. Still wish it could use less black ink, with cheaper cartigages.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA MX850
Nickname: B

poor reliablity

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 27, 2010
i bought printer to use in my home office. after only 2 years of very limited serivice - the LCD screen went out and of course not under warranty. would think parts should last longer than that.
would never buy another canon product.
4 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA MX850
Nickname: Cathy

worse printer ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 21, 2010
I read high remarks on this printer. It is slow to print has to think for ever to print one page/ Would never buy Canon again.
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA MX850
Nickname: Nolo
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Good printer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 6, 2010
Pros: add a pro
Cons: add a con
Good color on photo prints on all sizes supported. Once setup easy to use. My kids have no problems scanning/printing from their computers. I'm using the network setup. Ethernet to the printer and wireless to computers works OK. I'm able to use the SD slot to read from any computer on the network. We have been using it reliably for over a year using both PC and MAC now without problems. Easy to replace ink cartridges. Decent quality scans.
Network driver is constantly scanning the network for the printer even when it is configured with a static IP address. When I take my laptop to work or other networks I can see it still looking for the printer. No way I could find to turn that scan off. Uses ink rapidly and it is not cheap to buy. Scanning a doc as bi-tonal TIFF gives a large file. Accessing SD slot over the network, while easy, is much slower than expected. 44MB driver for the network setup, yikes! No clear instructions on installation options when not choosing the easy install. USB connection required to update firmware, why not use the network?
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MX850
Nickname: Sharee100
Location: Santa Ana, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Does what it is supposed to do

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 1, 2010
Pros: all in one machine, easy ink access, can be bluetooth
Cons: bulky, ink hog, not high resolution, bluetooth not built in
The manual is not user friendly. I had to go to other online sources to figure out how the phone line gets attached. The manual was wrong. I only get 300 dpi resolution, not 9600. I contacted support and was told they are not referring to the same thing. I would like a slightly higher resolution for portrait photos. It does use a lot of ink. And the multipage tray will not process more than 40 pages at a time. Scanning time is a little slow. Now on to the good. It is easy to fax and can print fax reports. It is easy to swap out ink cartridges. I like the advanced warning for low ink, but it doesn't need to be when the cartridge is half full. I like that the paper tray comes down automatically if I forget. I like that it uses 5 ink cartridges so I get extra crisp copy with the pigment black.
Review 8 for PIXMA MX850
Nickname: GrannyC
Location: Michigan
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 2, 2010
I have had this all in one for over a year and like it more all the time. It prints great pictures! I do like the double sided print also. I would always buy a Canon printer. They are the best, hand down.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MX850
Nickname: scout
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Horribly frustrating

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 7, 2010
Cons: Difficult to use, Large Footprint, Heavy/Bulky, unreliable, High Ink Consumption, Flimsy Construction
If ANY ink color runs out, printer will not scan, fax, NOTHING. Always says it is out of paper when it isn't. This is actually the most frustrating and worst product I have ever owned.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MX850
Nickname: pacube
Location: Philadelphia
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Terrible Printer

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 27, 2010
Cons: Difficult to use, unreliable, High Ink Consumption
I bought this printer to have a fax machine as well. But when the ink runs out, it won't send faxes. It just keeps giving a message that there is no ink (of any color; in my case, because there is no red ink). It is unbelievably frustrating.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MX850
Nickname: DSMORSE
Location: New york
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur

Repair issue

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:April 27, 2010
Pros: easy to use, many usable features
Cons: expensive to repair
While I have been very satisfied with the performance and features of the MX850 during the roughly 1 & 1/2 years I have had it, I have a repair issue that required me to buy another machine. I began to get black lines of smudged ink on the back of all of the copies and printed pages. Research on the web indicated that this was a result of a blocked drainage tube under the print head. The cost of the repair exceeded the cost of a new All-in-One.
I think Canon should include this problem under an extension of the warranty since it appears to be a fairly common occurrence. Design problems like this seem rare in the many Canon products I have purchased so this probably won't change my buying preferences. But it does leave a poor impression.
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MX850
Nickname: Steve
Location: Philadelphia (Bucks Co.), PA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Solid

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 14, 2010
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, easy to use
Cons: scan a bit slow
As with all my other Canon products (printer, digital camera) I've found this to be a solidly built machine that does everything they say it will.
It has never let me down except after an electrical storm when the power supply got cooked, among other things in my home. The local warranty repair shop in Philadelphia had it back to me in 3 days.
Scan speed is a little slow, but I don't use it in an office setting, so this is not much of an issue.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MX850
Nickname: PMM
Location: New Canaan, CT
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Solid purchase

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 15, 2010
Pros: Easy Setup, durable, easy to use
Cons: High Ink Consumption
Works as advertised with reliability and no need for a PhD to set-up and install. Very pleased with this printer but it does use a lot of ink and takes up space. No problems to date (2 years use in the bank) and I would but it again.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MX850
Nickname: designer2921
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

awesome printer...except for the price of ink

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 28, 2010
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, durable, network enabled
Cons: High Ink Consumption, cost of ink
I have been through numerous printers over the years and this is absolutely the best printer for the price I have had in many years. The quality, functionality (network enabled) and reliability has been excellent. Let's put it this way, I haven't had a printer I have liked this much since the early 90's, and that worked perfectly even when I sold it 10 years later.
The only draw back is this high cost of the printer ink. Though it is standard for much of the industry to over charge for ink, the MX850 seems to be a bit higher than standard for how long a cartridge lasts (increasing the cost/page).
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA MX850
Nickname: OnTheEdge
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert

Very Impressed

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 15, 2010
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, fast print speed, easy to use, network connection, good drivers, duplex scanning, duplex printing
Cons: no linux drivers
I bought this printer about a year ago to replace an ailing multi-function printer. I needed copy, fax, scan and I wanted direct network connectivity.
I am VERY pleased. The drivers work well. I can print, scan or fax from any PC on the network.
I love that it tells me when the ink is LOW, not just gone, so I have time to pick up a new cartridge the next time I am out and have it ready for when it is out.
The driver gives excellent feedback.
All functions work superbly.
Oh, and the duplex feeder and printer are wonderful for scanning both sides of a stack of documents, and the duplex printing saves a lot of paper!
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MX850
Nickname: Pids

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 11, 2010
I've never been one to write a review, but I was so disappointed with this machine that I felt compelled to. First of all, the fax function never worked despite troubleshooting. Secondly, I find it to be very loud and bulky.
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MX850
Nickname: cece
Location: New Jersey
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Could be the best...

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 8, 2010
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Sharp Tones & Colors, easy to use, intuitive design
Cons: Large Footprint, Heavy/Bulky, High Ink Consumption, problems with scanner functions
This multifunction printer, scanner, fax machine could be the best I've ever used. I has all the necessary features intuitively designed and solidly built (even better than the newer model that replaced it). However, you'll spend a fortune on ink (the large black cartridge goes particularly fast) and some of the features have frustrating issues.
The scanner doesn't always open when you select scan and if I've used the scanner once and try to use it again later I have to completely unplug the machine and reboot it to make it scan again. It also occasionally misfunctions by selecting the wrong email program to attach a scanned document to (in spite of preferences being set otherwise).
If I could figure out how to debug these few things I'd be a very happy camper!
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MX850
Nickname: Howie
Location: Yuba City.Ca
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Best all-in one I owned

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 5, 2010
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, durable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
There is much to be said about the 850. It has performed without one problem.It would take me a while to explain all the features that I like about it. I will bring up one that I use when ever I need to try something new, that is Solutions which is one of the problem solvers, other than that I know I made the right choice.
Review 19 for PIXMA MX850
Nickname: HOUSE BOY
Location: New Mexico
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

GREAT MULTI FUNCTION MACHINE

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 29, 2009
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Low Ink Consumption, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, easy to use
Cons: Slow Print Speed, Large Footprint
I have owned two of the PIXMA class multifunction machines. They both lived up to thier advertising and worked perfectly until I purchased non-canon ink.. The first machine broke down because of the non canon ink. the past two years I have used canon ink in my newest PIXMA 850 and have had "0" defects thank you...
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA MX850
Nickname: ybbob
Location: Dallas Texas
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Really good Value

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 15, 2009
Pros: Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors
I have owned several printers including HPs, Epson and several canons. Canon makes the most relliable printers I have ever used.
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site