Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / PowerShot A Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PowerShot A Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot A580

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot A580

Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
6 out of 8(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot A580
Review 1 for PowerShot A580
Nickname: mary
Location: saint louis mo
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 21, 2011
Pros: takes good pictures
Cons: battery life sucks, viewfinder not accurate
I am not at all happy with this camera. I previously had the Canon A70 and loved it. I upgraded to this a couple years ago because the A70 was only 3 megapixels, and it used four AA batteries . this one appeared to be an upgrade from the A70, but using only 2 AA batteries, and a bigger LCD screen.
However , the view thru the viewfinder is NOT what is in the picture., so the viewfinder is virtually useless. I like having a viewfinder,that's one reason I choose Canon, or at least used to choose Canon. When I bought the camera I bought a totally new set of Powerex rechargeables and new charger, but from day one, this camera constantly needs new batteries . Sometimes after only 10 pictures on a newly charged pair of batteries. If I wipe the battery contacts, SOMETIMES it suddenly no longer needs the batteries changed. Its not my batteries , it is the camera.
I would NOT buy this type of Canon camera again, and in fact may not consider Canon for my next camera.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot A580
Nickname: Willie
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Did not last long

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 18, 2010
Cons: add a con
I have only have had this camera for a few months and the screen went bad. I was taken a picture, and it looks like the screen explodid. No i can not see the screen, I must use the eye window to look at what I am taking a pic of. I dod not like that. The screen was one of the reason It was given to me as a gift. Very disapointed that it explodid. Want to know why?
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot A580
Nickname: Tavalite
Location: Lakeland, FL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Great camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 5, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, easy grip
If you are a beginner, set it to "auto" & go. If you like to play with fancy settings, you can do that too. This replaced an older model A560 which I also liked. I especially like the grip. I don't like the card -deck thin ones - nothing to hold on to. This is why originally bought this model. I would recommend it to anyone-beginner or semi-pro.
23 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot A580
Nickname: TL
Location: Citrus Heights, Ca.
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Best Camera I've ever had great buy

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 25, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
I love this camera.I took it on vacation and it did'nt matter what picture I took it had a setting for it. I used it at nite. inside, cloudy weather and all my picture came out great.
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot A580
Nickname: pick76
Location: Seattle, WA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Good value

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 23, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu
Cons: manual
i thought it was a great buy, i used it for photography and it worked out beautifully. i personally would recommend it to anyone who wants just a casual digital camera. if u are looking for something fancy then this probably isnt the camera for you.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot A580
Nickname: momof2
Location: El Dorado County, CA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Not so great

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 27, 2009
Cons: takes to long to take a picture
I am pretty disappointed picture taking speed of the camera. It takes quite a few seconds to actually capture a picture and even longer for it to allow you to take another picture. The picture quality it good but if I can't get the shots that I want what good does that do. I even purchased the more expensive lithium batteries thinking that would help and it hasn't.
26 of 36 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot A580
Nickname: badkitty
Location: Butte, MT
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Born in the wrong generation

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 8, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, close-up capability
Cons: instruction manual
I've never been a big fan of digital anything, but recieved this camera for Christmas. I'm currently taking a photography course and the only downside of this camera is its manual - my teacher keeps asking me questions about the technical side of my new toy that I can't answer by just looking it up in a book. Make sure to get a basic understanding of cameras in general before purchasing anything!!
12 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot A580
Nickname: forever21
Location: New York, NY
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

The PowerShot A580 is great

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 29, 2008
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
This is one of the best I had it works so good.
I love this one
30 of 33 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site