Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / PowerShot A Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PowerShot A Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot A470 Gray

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot A470 Gray

Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
40 out of 45(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot A470 Gray
Review 1 for PowerShot A470 Gray
Nickname: DougP
Location: Albany, NY
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Fine camera for anyone

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 7, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, great super macro
I have had this camera for over a year now. It gives me great shots of most things. My passion is flowers and the super macro feature allows me to get the stamens and pistils and get some extraordinary photos. I have shot over one thousand pictures with this.and it is still working like a champ. Some of the photos are being broadcast over Time Warner's channel for local photographers. I have two photo shows on that channel now. All the shots were taken using this camera. I can't think of any better recommendation that. A friend of mine uses a Canon DSLR and I think my shots come out better than his. This even does very nice night photos. I got several beautiful flower shots at midnight and later using just the flash that's built in. If you want a great camera this is for you.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot A470 Gray
Nickname: B2009
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

LOVE LOVE LOVE

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 4, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, cute
We bought this camera when we were expecting our daughter and we love it... Our daughter just turned 1 and it still works perfectlly and I am always taking pictures of my daughter! I would recommend this camera to everyone! The picture is nice and clear and doesn't take a long time to snap the shot! Works great and wasn't that expensive!
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot A470 Gray
Nickname: Bob
Location: Scranton PA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Eh ok

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 8, 2010
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Missing features/settings, Poor Low-Light Performance, Short battery life, ir filter i the way
Good,except for wierd power adaptor voltage,cant use as webcam,would prefer to not have an IR filter,eats batteries.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot A470 Gray
Nickname: Tex
Location: Central Texas
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Best bang for the buck

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 25, 2009
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, tough as nails., good looking camera., everone that has used it loves it in my household.
This camera was bought to replace a camera that could not make the cut. I wanted a camera that was a bit larger for my hands as most cameras are to dainty for me. The ease of use and quality of pictures are outstanding. I read a lot of reviews that point to poor battery life,but most digital cameras i run into that use AA batteries have the same problem. I can not complain with anything i have seen with this camera. Would definitely only ever purchase a Canon Camera. My next purchase will be a D10 in the very near future. Thanks for a great product.
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot A470 Gray
Nickname: wildcat
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Dangerous delete button

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 10, 2009
Pros: Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Complicated controls/menu, Missing features/settings, Poor Low-Light Performance, dangerous delete button, zoom dont work in video mode, focus dont work in video mode, at low lightscreen is brighter than actual pictur
There are 4 main issues about this product.
1. what you see is not what you get. at low light condition, the image on screen is brighter than what you will capture.
2 & 3. on video mode, the autofocus and zoom do not work.
4. The delete button should be a seperate control.
from zoom in at review, the lag of change when you press the un-zoom button inevertedly cause you to make an extra press, which is from the normal view, the delete button.
ive lost quite a number of images this way that i dont use the zoom control anymore.
the last one is the most annoying. i wish canon engineers would change their control configuration.
24 of 33 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot A470 Gray
Nickname: tess
Location: Athens, Ga
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Surprised at the value

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 8, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
I am very surprised at the Canon powershot A470. I never had luck with cameras until I purchased it.
With ease, I can view what I've taken, send pics to my computer, print pics and even take short videos. No more waiting to have them developed. Thank you Canon people!
13 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot A470 Gray
Nickname: kd7fqd
Location: Saratoga Springs, Ut
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User

First Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 28, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, durable
Cons: Short battery life
This is my first digital camera and I must say I'm impressed
it was easy to understand right out of the box, strange orange color, but, I like it.
Overall a great starter camera
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot A470 Gray
Nickname: Issy
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

The best camera EVER!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 17, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Bright LCD, good battery life, durable
Cons: Heavy/Bulky
I got the Camera about six months a go and I love it. I loves using it so much. It has good battery life and VARY easy to use. I really love the fact that you hear sound when you play a video on it when you record one. I like that it is kind of bulky so you don't loose it.
8 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot A470 Gray
Nickname: hi

Excellent Gift!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 8, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Short battery life
I got this camera for my 13th birthday. It is my first digital camera, and it's much better than average. I'd tell most kids my age to get this A470.
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot A470 Gray
Nickname: Adrian
Location: Missouri
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Powershot A470 Great for beginners

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 3, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, quick to shoot many settings.
Cons: Missing features/settings, Poor Low-Light Performance, needs more zoom
I purchased my A470 a little over a month ago and have found it to be an excellent digital camera for a beginner.
It's easy to use, takes clear and very good pictures.
However, I do wish it had a little more zoom.
I do know that I would suggest it for those who don't know that much about photography.
It leaves me wanting to upgrade to an SLR for more features. It is a good digital camera and I would purchase it again. Great for point and shoot.
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot A470 Gray
Nickname: Tad
Location: Smithsburg, MD
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Giant step backwards

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 23, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Missing features/settings, bad computer interface, difficult download process
The camera is easy to use and does an excellent job. I have a number of Powershot cameras which are used to document service work performed by my crews. This unit was purchased to replace an A70 unit that was giving download problems. I stay with Canon so that all units have similar interfaces. The download process is horrible for this camera. The software makes it very difficult to download to specific files and will always create a subfile that is not desired. The other cameras easily allow designation of download file information. This camera will never go out on another service call.
9 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot A470 Gray
Nickname: Ratpackr
Location: Gulf Coast,Texas
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Powershot A470

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 6, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable, big enough to hang on to., small enough to fit in shirt pocket.
I've owned this camera for @ 4 mos.,now.
To say the least, I am thoroughly impressed with every aspect of the camera.
Though not as Sleek & Slim as some Models,the so called 'Bulky' design is a plus for those of us blessed w/ Short-Phat-Phingers.
I would recommend this camera to any Beginner or Hobbist.
For the Price & Features + Extras,You Can't go Wrong..
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot A470 Gray
Nickname: paul
Location: kansas
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

great product

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 21, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable, styling
i got a powershot a470 and i love it its sleek style and its features
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot A470 Gray
Nickname: wab
Location: Washington
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 12, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, durable
Cons: no view finder
Purchased this camera less then a week ago. This is my second d-camera. This Canon Powershot is by far the best camera. Set on auto mode adjust pixels and away you go. Easy to operate, excellent image production as well.
8 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerShot A470 Gray
Nickname: PETE
Location: Alabama
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Good purchase

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 6, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, durable
Very easy to use,good picture quality and it will also make good movies. Best of all it is a very userfriendly camera.
13 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PowerShot A470 Gray
Nickname: Auntie Nina
Location: Alpena, Michigan
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

I Enjoy it tremendously

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 4, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, durable
Cons: Short battery life
I bought this camera as a birthday present for myself. I was surpised how easy it was to use for some one who has never owened a digital camera. I am having a absolute ball with it, taking pictures of friends and family. It is the best camera I have ever owned!
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PowerShot A470 Gray
Nickname: Bucky
Location: S Central IL
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Good Bang/Buck ratio

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 4, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: slippery body
An excellent little camera, with several main settings that will satisfy the point-and shoot clicker and the more serious photographer in the family. This little gem can be set to be as automatic or hands-on creative as your needs and moods dictate. Don't use alkaline batteries unless you need to get rid of them; you won't get through a busy day of shooting without a change or two.However, lithium photo batts perform quite well. Flash recovery can be a bit slow. I put eGrips on mine , because the sleek, attractive exterior is also slippery as soap. Overall, a great little camera for under a fortune.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PowerShot A470 Gray
Nickname: jingles
Location: Texas
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 4, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, durable
This camera is an excellent fit with SELPHY CP 760.
Review 19 for PowerShot A470 Gray
Nickname: bill
Location: MD
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

The best camera ever

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 4, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable
This camera is so good for the price i am very happy with it i would tell anybody to buy this one it is a good price all so
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PowerShot A470 Gray
Nickname: Kenny
Location: St. Louis
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 30, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance
Always owned a Canon SLR that performed excellantly.
This camera is good if not better than my old SLR camera and much easier to operate and still end up with quality photos
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site