Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / PowerShot SD/ELPH Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PowerShot SD/ELPH Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot SD1100 IS Blue

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot SD1100 IS Blue

Average Customer Rating:
4.631 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(149 Reviews) 147
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (149 reviews)
5 stars
116
4 stars
23
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
4
138 out of 149(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot SD1100 IS Blue
Review 1 for PowerShot SD1100 IS Blue
Nickname: Rose
Location: michigan
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

trouble with downloading pics

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 20, 2010
Love the camera but i have owned it for a year & still can't download pictures to any computer. I have to take it to a store to get the pictures out. very frustrating.
7 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot SD1100 IS Blue
Nickname: sailorgirl
Location: California Desert
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

A Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 4, 2010
I've owned this camera for more that a year and it is the best camera I've ever had. I don't take real technical pictures, but I love being able to make adjustments to the exposures. I especially use the sunset feature. Virtually all my pictures are clear and well defined - amazing for such a small camera.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot SD1100 IS Blue
Nickname: Annie500
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

GREAT CAMERA!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 17, 2010
I got this camera about 2 years ago and it still works great. I so small and compact, yet takes great pictures. watch the video about it and I think it's all true. I would recomend this to anyone if your looking for something small and durable
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot SD1100 IS Blue
Nickname: JT Graphics
Location: Berkeley, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

I love this camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 16, 2010
I lost this camera a year ago and had to replace it with its comparable newer model and I was very unhappy with what came later even though the resolution was higher. The display/mode/shooting switch is so cheesy on the newer model and they removed the indented shape on the body that facilitated holding the camera. Luckily I found my old one and I am still using it. I just discovered more features on vacation. I love the fact that the screen is large yet there is still an optical viewfinder.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot SD1100 IS Blue
Nickname: Levinson

Amazing Camera!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 18, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, being able to delete pictures by date
This camera is fantastic! I got it as a gift from my parents, my first digital camera. I loved the color (blue) and the picture quality is great! It withstood all the times I dropped it and still worked great. It takes great videos and has really cool and helpful features! Unfortunately it did not withstand when I lost it, but I am now looking to buy another one because this camera is just the best and has a very reasonable price.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot SD1100 IS Blue
Nickname: Jon
Location: Princeton, NJ
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Best Camera Ever

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 17, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable
I got this camera as a gift a year and half ago. This is an amazing camera and the pictures turn out amazing even when you blow them up. The battery lasts forever. Another thing I like is how small it is so you can take it anywhere. This camera has a ton of features that I love but I'm good with technology so for some it could be a little confusing but it is easy to get the hang of.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot SD1100 IS Blue
Nickname: Bee
Location: Chicago, Il
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Fantastic Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 2, 2010
Pros: good battery life, excellent image quality, durable, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I've mainly used the digital macro setting on this camera. I get FANTASTIC pictures from it. I also always use it in Manual, if you change the light settings to wherever you are, and make the color setting vivid, you are sure to get true to life pictures that are beautiful. This is my 2nd point and shoot camera from Canon, and I'm currently looking into getting a Digital SLR.
Very easy to use, and great for someone just starting in photography.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot SD1100 IS Blue
Nickname: rickn47
Location: New York, NY
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Great Caamera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 13, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Missing features/settings
This is a great little camera. I have had no problem with battery life. I bought a 2nd. battery just to have a spare. This camera replaced an SD 1000 because the slide switch broke after about 13 months and Canon wouldn't fix it for me.There are a few times when low lighting is a slight problem. One thing I wish for is that the various scene setting were on an outside dial instead of having to scroll through a lot of menus. This would make scene settings changes a lot faster when you are ready to shoot a pic. Other than these few little things, it's a great camera for the price. The movies are great and the software is very easy to use. The pics are consistently good. I am not a pro and this camera is perfect for my use. I did purchase an extended warranty from Wal-mart where I bought the camera and it's covered for 3 years just in case there is a similar problem with the slide switch.
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot SD1100 IS Blue
Nickname: InkedAndStudded
Location: Fredericton, NB
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Best Camera Ever!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 28, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, durable, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
I bought my camera a few years ago, and I have never had any issues with it. It is easy t use, and takes great pictures.
It really is the toughest little thing I've ever boughten. I don't recommend testing to see if this works for you, but I accidentally left mine out on the beach after a night of drinking with friends. I went back the next afternoon, and it was hard-packed into the sand.
I cleaned off the sand, crossed my fingers and hit the power button. To my surprise, it was totally fine.
And still is. It's been out countless trips with me, infinite pictures of the girls have been taken during our shenanigans, and it continues to capture my niece growing up so quickly, right before my eyes.
My little Elph is like a small, compact part of the family.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot SD1100 IS Blue
Nickname: kid
Location: California
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

WOW!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 28, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life
THIS IS AN AMAZING CAMERA!!!!! yes i may be just a kid but i still get amazing pictures with this camera. i won a contest with a picture from this camera....its jus the best camera. it was my 1st camera and i still have it. i got it for christmas last year and it is still in great condition and working so well. even tho i have dropped it several times it still works like it is brand new. i have gotten many great pic,s of the sunset, trees, clouds, etc. i have used it for family trips like to a national park, palm springs(in california), and so many other. The only bad thing is that sometimes the battery can have amazing battery life or not very much at all....
BOTTOM LINE:BEST CAMERA EVER!!!!!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot SD1100 IS Blue
Nickname: RONNIE
Location: SAN DIEGO, CA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

THE BEST OF THE BEST

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 15, 2010
Pros: easy to use
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance
GREAT LITTLE CAMERA. SMALL AND COMPACT.
EASY TO USE.
DROPPED A FEW TIMES STILL WORKING!
I DIDNT HAVE ANY PROBLEMS WITH BATTERY LIFE?
WHEN IT COMES TO CAMERAS CANON IS THE BEST.
I USE TO OWN A OLD CANON SURE SHOT. BEAUTIFUL PICTURES!!
Review 12 for PowerShot SD1100 IS Blue
Nickname: Silverlady
Location: San Jose, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Sturdy and takes great pix too

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 12, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I've had this camera for more than 3 years. There are some scratches on the front from laying it down on scratchy surfaces but otherwise it is in excellent operating condition. It's been to the Eiffel Tower, on camping trips, and at work with me to take pictures for the hardware manuals I write. This is my second Canon. It's so easy to slip into and take out of a pocket for that quick shot.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot SD1100 IS Blue
Nickname: Silverjeli
Location: Dallas, TX
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Best Point and Shoot Camera on the Market

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 12, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: sometimes the camera delays in taking a shot
I originally bought this camera for work use and I instantly fell in love with it. It's quite a little power house in such a small package. When I left that company I was mostly sad about leaving the camera and so my good friends bought it for me that Christmas. It's BY FAR the best camera I've ever owned - takes great pictures, has awesome settings to play with color & lighting, fits nicely in a back pocket, clutch purse, or anywhere!
For the price you won't find a better quality, better working camera that gives you what you want: stunning photos. I have recommended this to several friends and a few have purchased it - all are equally satisfied!
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot SD1100 IS Blue
Nickname: kel
Location: massachusetts
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

awesome! best purchase ever

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 10, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
awesome camera. i always get compliments on the picture quality.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerShot SD1100 IS Blue
Nickname: ILYCANONPOWRSHOTSD1100
Location: Ontario
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

YAYY!!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 28, 2009
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, cute colours, very sleek durable!
I have had 3 canon cameras and they were all durable and nice looking. I also trust the brand very much. My camera has fallen off so many high places onto hardwood floors, been left outside overnight, tossed around by children and still is good as new! ILoveYouCANON! (i reccomend this camera to anyone of all ages, it's great!)
15 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PowerShot SD1100 IS Blue
Nickname: Chicky
Location: Texas
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

PowerShot SD 1100 IS

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 20, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Short battery life
Really great camera, happy to find one with an optical viewfinder vs just the screen. Only downside is it Eats batteries.... the rechargable ones that I bought with it do not stay charged very long.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PowerShot SD1100 IS Blue
Nickname: Al B
Location: Annapolis, MD
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Good Features but problems

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:October 25, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: poor lens assembly durability
This is our second Canon Powershot. The design, size, and features are very good and suit our needs. However, we got the dreaded "Lens error. Restart camera" after a little over a year. Google it and you'll find it's a common problem. We have not abused the camera and keep it in a heavy duty padded case when not in use.
12 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PowerShot SD1100 IS Blue
Nickname: pinkcamera
Location: Chicago
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Best Camera I've Ever Used!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 17, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, durable
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance
I've gone through MANY cameras and this is the best one by far. It takes AMAZING pictures. They are very clear and crisp, but i you want a different look, you can change the setting so it looks blurry. I love all of the features and settings, especially the color editing ones. I have dropped this camera more times than I can count and it still works perfectly. I bring mine with me everywhere and its great for everything. From nature pics, to sports pics, to pics of me and my friends, its the best camera I have ever used!
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PowerShot SD1100 IS Blue
Nickname: tom jowo
Location: glendora, ca
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

good support and warranty

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 13, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality
Cons: difficult to to get focus on small object
I bought canon SD 1100 IS at november 2008 (because I have a very good camera canon SD 600). But suddenly in september 2008 my canon SD 1100 IS was bad!! There are lot of gray spot on the image. I cleaned the lens even with duster, it won't remove.
Then I write down to "supprt & service" at canon's website about my problem, and after some correspondence by email, they suggest to send my camera to Canon Service Center. ouw... I don't want my camera get lost!!... But I don't have any choice, and finally I send my camera to Canon Service Center at Illinois.
after 11 days... surprise!! I received back my camera with no more gray spot. they fixed it for free. Great job guys, thank you.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PowerShot SD1100 IS Blue
Nickname: tk

Awesome camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 28, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
This camera is tha best! It is small and is great for traveling! It takes amazing photos and It is great!!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site