Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / EOS Cameras Reviews / Lenses Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Lenses or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for EF 800mm f/5.6L IS USM

EF 800mm f/5.6L IS USM

The longest telephoto lens in Canon's lineup Optical Image Stabilization equivalent to 4-stops of correction 2-fluorite lens elements, 1-UD element, and 1-Super-UD-glass element Magnesium-alloy construction, lightweight, and weather-resistant
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EF 800mm f/5.6L IS USM
Review 1 for EF 800mm f/5.6L IS USM
Nickname: 5d3-shooter
Location: Maine
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Best Gift ever!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 28, 2014
I got this lens as a gift from my mother. It is the best gift ever. It is very heavy and you need a tripod to use with it. I tried using a mono-pod, but had better results/luck on a tripod. I am not sure Arnold Schwarzenegger could hand-hold this one for long, even in his youth!
There is a learning curve and some adjusting to get used to it, but it is a great lens for wildlife. I was lucky and got this as a gift, but if you have the $$$, it is a great lens.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EF 800mm f/5.6L IS USM
Nickname: Andy
Location: La Crescenta, CA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best telephoto lens I own

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 15, 2014
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Cons: wish it had a larger aperture
Resolution has always been my highest priority and this lens certainly is the best.
The auto-focus features are superb.
After using the 600mm f/4 L lens for years trading it in for the 800 was the best trade I've ever made. It is lighter, a longer focal length and the stabilizing features are excellent.
Would recommend a gimbal tripod head, with one the system
can be manipulated with ease.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EF 800mm f/5.6L IS USM
Nickname: Billy320
Location: Mahopac NY
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Wow whatta lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 4, 2013
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
I am a very armature photographer and the shot's I got with this lens makes me look like a pro.
2 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EF 800mm f/5.6L IS USM
Nickname: Ketchup
Location: NEW YORK, NY
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

GREAT PURCHASE

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 21, 2013
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images, awesome, great, a
ITS GREAT...I LOVE IT... ITS GREAT FOR SPORTS OR TRAVELING
1 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EF 800mm f/5.6L IS USM
Nickname: Highlander
Location: Wyarno Wy
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

great lenses

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 20, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
I have been taking wild life photos for 30 years with canon lenses and the new 800 is a great improvment over the old FD 800 , if the picture is a thousand word it speeks for it self
5 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EF 800mm f/5.6L IS USM
Nickname: john
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Fantastic Lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 19, 2010
Pros: fantastic tact sharp image, built like a tank, great image at 2560mm
Cons: price, balance
I finally got my 800mm after waiting for one to be built for me. 3 months wait, but it was worth it. I bought this lens to photograph eagles this upcoming winter, but have shot pics of the moon with a 2x and a 7d (2560mm), man what unbelievable pictures. With this set up, you can just barely get the whole moon in the shot. Craters and seas jump right out at you. I would strongly suggest a gimball head set up. I am using an Induro set up, and love it. My Monfrotto ball head would support it ok, but when you losen it up to move it, you better have a good grip on the lens. I am so impressed with the quickness of the autofocus on this lense with out the 2x. It is as fast as any of my other L series lenses, and I own quite a few, and faster than my older ones. All in all, if you are looking for a fantastic super telephoto with unbelievable quality and speed, this is the lens. You may have to trade your first born for it, but it might be worth it.
91 of 101 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EF 800mm f/5.6L IS USM
Nickname: Scooter
Location: Tucson, Az
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Outstanding peice of equipment

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 29, 2010
I have used the 800 to shoot the worlds fastest motorcycles on the Bonneville Salt Flats. In five days I shoot over 7500 images. I hand hold the 800mm to shoot at 1/500 to 1/640 late in the day and use a mono-pod to rest it in between shots.
Images of motorcycles going between 200 and 350 mph are crisp and the auot-focus is perfect for this type of work. I really enjoy working with this lens and would highly recomend this setup for anyone doing similar work.
21 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EF 800mm f/5.6L IS USM
Nickname: fly
Used this product for: Less than 1 month

unbelieveable!!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 18, 2010
Pros: Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Cons: a bit heavy
The images of the moon with this, is unreal!! I can't believe what I was watching. The photos were so close, it looks as if I were standing right in front of it. Every concealable detail was exposed, AWSOME!!!!
17 of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EF 800mm f/5.6L IS USM
Nickname: garf
Location: Boston,MA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Can't say enough.........

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 4, 2010
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Hmmmm, where to start. My job as a photojournalist and my hobby as an aviation photographer depend on good equipment. No ifs, ands or buts about it. The image stabilized Canon 800mm F5.6 is a photographers dream. It is relatively lightweight for the focal length and the smoothest and fastest focus lens I own. The lens brings even the farthest subjects into a realistic possibility. The workmanship and machinery are top notch.
32 of 33 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EF 800mm f/5.6L IS USM
Nickname: Gman
Location: Upstate New York
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Absolutely the BEST!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 31, 2009
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
This lens is a dream come true. I shoot wildlife, often at a distance, and this lens is amazing. The lens is sharp as a tack and, when mounted on a gimbal head, very easy to handle. Auto Focus is super fast and quiet. Used a 2X converter and had great results.
My first extensive use of the lens was in Yellowstone and Grand Teton this past November. We hit all kinds of weather and the lens never disappointed. All in all I got some of the best photographs of my life. This lens puts you right there.
60 of 62 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EF 800mm f/5.6L IS USM
Nickname: Tom3horse
Location: Upstate New York
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Great lens!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 10, 2008
Pros: Super-sharp images, Superior build quality
I purchased this lens soon after it became available in the USA. I have been a Canon user for many years. My primary use is animal photos, usually from a rather large distance., and this lens is the best I have ever used. It's not for everyone, it's big and heavy and costly, but the performancy is fantastic! I highly recomend this lens if you need a lens of this length. Only suggestion to improve it would be changes to the tripod mount. The 1/4 " hole is way too far back, making the lens nose heavy, otherwise it's the best!
513 of 537 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site