Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Copiers & Fax Reviews / Multifunction Copiers Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Multifunction Copiers or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for imageCLASS MF6590

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

imageCLASS MF6590

Average Customer Rating:
3.875 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
6 out of 8(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for imageCLASS MF6590
Review 1 for imageCLASS MF6590
Nickname: lynnsfave
Location: Sun City West
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Best printer/copier

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 23, 2014
Cons: a step thats needed isn't explained in user manual
This has been so faithful for as long as I've had it. Only problem is figuring out the scanning feature. Can't find the MF Toolbox, and there's nothing in the manual that shows where it is. Can't scan without using a setting in the toolbox. Otherwise, it's one of the best purchases I've made.
Review 2 for imageCLASS MF6590
Nickname: Frank
Location: Fort Myers, FL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

excellent machine

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 15, 2010
i have own this printer for more than two years without a problem. Very fast too.
Had it conected to a computer, now as a network printer; again very good.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for imageCLASS MF6590
Nickname: Howardskid
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Unintuitive, unintelligible, and now broken

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 7, 2010
Pros: Small Footprint, High Quality Output, fast print speed
Cons: Difficult to use, Difficult Setup, unreliable
I have to admit, I didn't like this machine from the beginning. The documentation is almost hopeless, and the interface certainly is. Whoever designed the interface has little comprehension of what is "intuitive". You will find yourself running to the manual constantly, but to little avail because, apparently, it was written and organized by someone who reluctantly took up English at the age of 50. And if you use it intensely over a short period of time, it will begin making complaint noises. When I lately tried to change the toner/drum unit, it was stuck, so now I am taking it to a repair shop. Other than that, it hasn't been bad
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for imageCLASS MF6590
Nickname: Pete
Location: Greenfield, WI
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Good Little All-in-one

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 26, 2009
Pros: fast print speed, durable, reliable, Easy Setup, easy to use
Well worth the money. This little MultiFunction printer/fax/scanner is a work horse. Other than the rare paper jams, we have no problems with it. Well worth the money.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for imageCLASS MF6590
Nickname: Steven
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

A Solid Addition to the Office

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 28, 2009
Pros: High Quality Output, fast print speed, durable, reliable, Easy Setup
Pros: virtually jam proof. Good print quality, even on toner saving setting. 500 sheet paper tray cuts down on re-loading. A fine machine, although I'll dwell on some "cons."
Cons: Per copy cost is a bit over 3-cents per page, which is somewhat high (as Canon products always are). If anyone can figure out how to use the by-pass tray and how to restore the machine to the main tray after by-pass use, please let me know. (I use a second printer dedicated to envelopes.) A bit noisy. Got an annoying red flasher warning that toner was low FOR 800 COPIES BEFORE THE TONER RAN OUT. Some features don't work when the red flasher is on (like getting fax confirmation sheets). Fax broadcasting from the machine is cumbersome, requiring "registration" of each recipient---an annoyance when broadcast recipients change each time. But fax broadcasts are very simple when the document is scanned and then printed from the machine's fax printer driver. If there's a copy counter feature somewhere in the guts of the many menus (for counting pages on big projects and gauging how many copies you get per toner cartridge), I haven't found it. No off-set collating, so you have to find the first page of each copy set.
I like it overall and I'm glad I bought it.
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for imageCLASS MF6590
Nickname: business12
Location: New Jersey
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 7, 2009
Pros: High Quality Output, fast print speed, durable, reliable, Easy Setup, easy to use, Small Footprint
We owned the old model of this copier until it broke and we had to upgrade. They have a replacement model for this copier that's coming out, so we got a great deal on this one. It's got all the features we need, plus a very modern look. It's even got a web interface to help program it. All in all, very satisfied.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for imageCLASS MF6590
Nickname: HenriettaH

Durable machine.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 31, 2009
Pros: High Quality Output, durable, reliable, Easy Setup
Cons: does not scan to network
This is a great machine that you can setup and not have to worry about. I have purchased about 10 of these machines over the past year and have not had a single issue yet.
The only thing that would make this a nicer unit is if it could scan to the network instead of the local pc via usb.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for imageCLASS MF6590
Nickname: techguy

Network printer without network Scan

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 4, 2009
Pros: durable, Easy Setup
Cons: Difficult to use, Large Footprint, does not support network scanning
If all you need is a duplex network printer and a fax machine you can go with this machine.
I cannot believe at this price, it does not have network scanning capability which is a must for a workplace.
Also, the scanner cannot handle thick papers such as one used for certificates etc.
Construction quality looks good. For me, it was a big disappoint due to lack of network scanning.
62 of 64 people found this review helpful.
Response from Canon:By Canon U.S.A., Inc. Internet MarketingAugust 6, 2009
A wireless/wired print server option is available at estore.usa.canon.com that supports Silex print, PC Fax (sending only) and scan functions for the MF6590.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site