Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Copiers & Fax Reviews / Multifunction Copiers Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Multifunction Copiers or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for imageCLASS MF6540

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

imageCLASS MF6540

Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
5 out of 8(62%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for imageCLASS MF6540
Review 1 for imageCLASS MF6540
Nickname: Mozart
Location: Columbus Ohio
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Works for me!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 2, 2010
Pros: Easy Setup, Small Footprint, fast print speed, easy to use
I have been using this machine for about a year. Never had a jam. Excellent start up and print time. If I had a complaint, it would be that I can't scan over the network but I have a scanner stand alone that I hardly ever use.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for imageCLASS MF6540
Nickname: RRrunner
Location: Philadelpiha, PA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Fast printer for small business

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 24, 2010
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, High Quality Output, fast print speed
Cons: Difficult Setup, control panel
This printer copier is perfect for my small business. Space is tight and this one machine does it all. It makes b x w photocopies and has a feeder. The printer is very fast and produces labels and clear documents. Control panel is fairly logical (this could be improved) -- can enlarge/shrink, multi side copy and change density. The Mac set-up is tricky, but not had any problems since getting it. This replaced a 21 year old Canon copier that finally started to break down. I do not use the scanning feature as another Canon is dedicated to that.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for imageCLASS MF6540
Nickname: Odie
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

similar - imageCLASS MF6530

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 11, 2009
Pros: High Quality Output, fast print speed, durable, reliable, Easy Setup
Cons: display not backlit, expensive
I have owned the similar MF6530 (same as MF6540 except no ethernet port) for 10 months and its operation has been as close to flawless as could be expected. My wife is a teacher and has made thousands and thousands of copies with this machine with no problems except perhaps only 1 jam during this period. We haven't had any issues with the document feeder as some reviewers have reported. A large percentage of our copies are double-sided using the document feeder and it has performed perfectly. The display is a little hard to read since it is not backlit and the menu can be a little difficult to figure out without the instruction manual, but we don't make menu changes often so it hasn't been much of an issue. This copier has been a real workhorse for us and has been extremely reliable so far. Print quality is excellent.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for imageCLASS MF6540
Nickname: Tumanator
Location: San Diego, CA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Document Feeder Kills It!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 13, 2009
Pros: High Quality Output, fast print speed, durable, Easy Setup
Cons: document feeder malfunction
The features and price of this printer make it an excellent choice for light to medium use, but it has one major glitch.
It is virtually impossible to make the document feeder work. It is extremely sensitive to jamming, and once it jams it is extremely difficult to clear the error code.
Using the manual, it is easy to clear the jam. But after you follow all the procedures, the error code routinely refuses to clear. Cycling the power (even unplugging) doesn't clear the error code.
EVERYTHING else, however, works perfectly and makes me very happy! The print and scan quality, ease of use, and ability to be networked are great.
The only problem I have though is the fact I BOUGHT IT FOR IT'S DOCUMENT FED SCANNING ABILITY!
I've read other reviews, and I see the document feeder on this model has been an issue for others as well.
Because of this, I doubt I'll buy a Canon sheet-fed laser printer again.
26 of 28 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for imageCLASS MF6540
Nickname: Tom
Location: Detroit
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Good Deal

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2009
Pros: Easy Setup, easy to use
With current rebate this is a great buy. Print copes about .03 a copy not bad. Scanning would of been nice if it was through network but setting up PC with USB connection will work again for the price with rebate cannot beat. No problem setting up will use as workgroup printer with one printer as Scan Manager you can default saved scan docs to a shared folder.
17 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for imageCLASS MF6540
Nickname: DKT
Location: NY
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Good value

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 22, 2009
Pros: High Quality Output, fast print speed, reliable, easy to use
Cons: Difficult Setup
Some of the error messages are bewildering to correct, and setup could be easier. On the positive side, I have used this machine in an office setting for about two years without a significant problem. The ability to copy and print legal sized paper is wonderful.
13 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for imageCLASS MF6540
Nickname: MW
Location: California
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Very Limited Networking Capabilities

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 22, 2009
Pros: High Quality Output, fast print speed
Cons: very limited networking
This printer provides good output and is very fast off the line. Unfortunately, none of the copy and scanning capabilities are available via the integral ethernet connection. In fact, the only thing that the ethernet allows is printing. Enabling these features across the ethernet port would make this printer a 5 across the board. However, as is, I can't recommend the printer at all - we returned ours for a refund based on these issues.
14 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Response from Canon:By Canon U.S.A., Inc. Internet MarketingAugust 6, 2009
A wireless/wired print server option is available at estore.usa.canon.com that supports Silex print and scan functions for the MF6540.
Review 8 for imageCLASS MF6540
Nickname: Drake
Location: Burbank, CA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

worst copier ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 5, 2008
Pros: fast print speed, Small Footprint
Cons: Low Quality Output, Flimsy Construction, unreliable, Difficult Setup, Difficult to use, document feeder
This item is awful. I like Canon products but I don’t recommend this one. The Duplex Automatic Document Feeder (DADF) is so sensitive that it won’t take a single sheet of paper. The copies cut off at the top and bottom of the page with no way to expand the margins, the ScanSoft® OmniPage® SE (OCR) software is inscrutable, and it insists that there is not enough ink in the cartridge when there is a brand new one in the machine! The worst is trying to load legal sized paper into the tray and the machine will not accept that this size is what is necessary to do the job.
81 of 93 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site