Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MX Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MX Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX7600

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PIXMA MX7600

Average Customer Rating:
2.733 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
5
3 stars
5
2 stars
9
1 star
15
13 out of 45(29%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MX7600
Review 1 for PIXMA MX7600
Nickname: jreader
Location: Silicon Valley California
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

ok...but clear ink doesn't add much

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 6, 2013
Pros: High Quality Output, easy to use
Cons: clumsy paper select
Printer is ok. It prints nicely and does not shake the house when it is printing. The black ink tank began to leak and unfortunately Canon no longer services the unit. The clear ink really didn't add much clarity and is not useful when printing on photo paper. It is a bit on the large size, but expected for full duplex units. It is annoying that the menu options don't let you directly select between tray and the rear paper feed. It is done for you by paper type.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA MX7600
Nickname: Gray Rock
Location: Texas
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Excellent Print Quality

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 1, 2012
Pros: excellent color images, clear coating prevents smear, has been completely reliable for us
We have had our MX7600 for over 3 years. The reason to get this printer is for the wide color gamut that an inkjet can offer together with high quality images. The LCD display is a nice touch. For a good quick color or B&W copy, it works fine. The output looks much better than that of a typical cheap printer with medium quality images that smear. The ink cartridges do empty fairly rapidly, but the problem is that the ink tanks do not hold much. Since the cartridges are inexpensive, the cost of ink is not particularly high.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA MX7600
Nickname: jjjj
Location: gLENDALE, az
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Worst gift ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 24, 2012
Pros: there is none
Cons: ink hog
Was given this printer as a gift and I feel the gifter wasted her money. This was a very expensive printer and up keep (inks) are even worse. I am on my second one, first broke and warranty issued a new one. I use it only for the fax and that is hardly available because it is ALWAYS out of ink and will not work if one of the colors is out. I had to buy another printer for everyday use. I am currently shopping for a new all in one to replace this. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY, IT IS NOT WORTH IT!!!!!!!!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA MX7600
Nickname: John
Location: Texas
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Very slow, high ink consumption

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 17, 2012
Cons: very high ink consumption, ink only available online, very slow first print out, noisy
This printer takes a very long time for the first print, and is very unpredictable. Sometimes the first print comes out in only 30 seconds. Other times it takes many minutes. Ink consumption is MUCH higher than any other printer we own. This printer often will put itself into some type of cleaning cycle, and then permanently pause until you walk over to the printer and tell it that yes, you want it to continue. This is after you send a print job to the printer. I have never had a printer before that occasionally makes you walk over to the printer to confirm that yes, I really do want it to print (again, unpredictable, sometimes it just works, other times it decides to stop and ask if you want to continue). Overall, I am very dissatisfied with this printer.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA MX7600
Nickname: J Alan
Location: Houston, TX
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur

Very slow and disappointing

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 19, 2012
Pros: very sharp text, feeds odd sized paper without jamming
Cons: extremely high ink consumption, slow, ink only available online
The first print takes so long that you can get up and have coffee before it comes out. After it prints even one page, it goes into an endless cleaning cycle. I'm not sure where the ink goes, but I use at least 4 times as much ink in this printer as we do in our others, and we print more with our other printers. The final quality is very good, but be ready to pay the price (and wait forever). This is not a good choice for someone who prints a lot of text and other general purpose documents, and there are many better options for a dedicated photo printer. The one thing that impresses me about this printer is that you can feed odd sized paper (e.g. 4x6 index cards) 50+ at a time, and it never jams.
Review 6 for PIXMA MX7600
Nickname: JAG
Location: Albany, NY
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

so-so all-in-one

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 18, 2012
Have owned MX7600 for 2+ yrs, would not purchase again. Ink Pig and only semi-user friendly. Canon can (and should) do better.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MX7600
Nickname: wish
Location: Washington, DC
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

PRICEY IN PURCHASE & MAINTENANCE

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 16, 2011
Doing constant checks that, I believe, waste expensive ink and electricity. Slow. Needs to be repaired after low-moderate use.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MX7600
Nickname: Manny
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Shop Around

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 14, 2011
Pros: Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: Difficult to use, Large Footprint, Heavy/Bulky, Difficult Setup, unreliable, High Ink Consumption
I have had this printer for over a year at my home office. It eats up ink faster than average. Ink is difficult to get as you have to order it online as office supply stores do not carry refill cartridges. Online shops often have refills on backorder. Do not use generic cartridges as these fail. You have a lot of tweaking to do to get it to fly with your system. I've been having fax issues lately with long distance but not locally so don't know if this is a printer or line problem. I would have liked a wireless version but these are not available. I would look at a laser printer before I consider another ink jet. I like the 2-sided printing capability but it seems cumbersome for the unit. Great unit for a home office with low demands. Not recommended for a larger home office or network. Price is too high for this unit, get a color laser for the extra few dollars.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MX7600
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Chicago
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Would never repurchase

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 9, 2011
Pros: reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: Difficult to use, High Ink Consumption, wont print without all colors cartridges.
There are two major drawbacks to this product. First, you cannot print, even in black and white, if any of the color cartridges are out. This can be very frustrating particularly if you are in the middle of an important project and just need to print one more page; particularly when you couple the fact that the ink is not available anyplace but online. Office Max and Staples do not carry in the store. Second, the product is great for professionals and it is very customizable, but if you are just a simple user it takes way to many steps to just make simple changes. There are numerous options and steps to get to do anything. I would never recommend to anyone but a professional who can keep extra ink on hand and needs the customization. Other than that it makes great prints.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MX7600
Nickname: Bebe
Location: Charleston SC
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Printing Documents
Product replacement: No

Disappointed

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 10, 2011
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, easy to use
Cons: Slow Print Speed, Large Footprint, Heavy/Bulky
After extensive research, I purchased the MX7600. The print quality and photo quality is very good. The problem I have is the amount of noise it makes and the gyrations it goes through before and after printing. Our other office printer will print the same thing in about the 1/4 of the time. Had this beast for 2 years and I hate it. If you put the printer in a closet and you don't care how long it takes to print..go for it, but if it's in the same room with you, ugh!!!!!
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MX7600
Nickname: DWarch
Location: Seattle, WA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Serious design flaw

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 24, 2011
Pros: Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: does not perform intended function
The printer will not allow you to print using plain paper settings from the rear loader. If you want to print on card stock, you cannot use the rear loader because it prints too light (intended for photo printing, according to tech support). If you print cardstock from the cassette the stock is too stiff and gets mangled in the printer. Evidently this has to do with the clear-ink cartridge. The clear-ink that is used to make the colors intense on plain paper is not used for rear loading printing. I think this is a serious design flaw. I will not buy another Canon printer until they fix this. How am I, as the consumer to know this when I am selecting a printer to purchase?
13 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA MX7600
Nickname: zoomar
Location: Chicago
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Small/Home Office
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

It does everything I ask, but..

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 9, 2011
Pros: Easy Setup, durable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use, keyboard & control panel
Cons: Large Footprint, Heavy/Bulky, unreliable, High Ink Consumption, envelope printing
The MX 7600 does all I expected, but some "quirks" make it miss the mark for "outstanding". First, I have only been able to find ink cartridges at one big box computer store and not at office supply places. Second, it has had repeated service issues, i.e. a black stripe down back of documents, more than I would expect. My wife uses it for church related purposes and we put 500+ sheets through a month, so I may expect too much. Fax & copy are 1st class, but scanning could use better software. Not sure color photo print quality is as good as my old IP4000r now relegated to backup/overflow service. And why no wireless? It is big and heavy, especially depth.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MX7600
Nickname: Nightrun
Location: Colo Spgs, CO
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Scanning
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Great for everything but printing

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 21, 2011
Pros: Compact Design
Cons: Slow Print Speed, Difficult Setup, Dull Tones & Colors, High Ink Consumption
As silly as it sounds I actually bought this printer for everything but printing. I have been very happy with the scanning and faxing capabilities. My primary is a color laser printer, which I would highly recommend, so that I don't have to replace ink as often. As others have noted the ink replacements aren't sold in stores because it requires a microchip in the cartrige. What little I have used it to print, it seems you can never "clean" it good enough and using 1/3 of your ink cartrige to get a decent printout is ridiculous. It's too bad they don't make multifunction devices with laser printing!
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MX7600
Nickname: PU

Disappointed

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 16, 2011
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, Difficult Setup, High Ink Consumption, unreliable
Very user unfriendly and broke down after the third refill of cartridges.
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA MX7600
Nickname: ws
Location: Houston, TX
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Worst Purchase Ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 14, 2011
Less than two years old. Broken. Need more than $300 to repair.
7 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MX7600
Nickname: Peggy
Location: Indiana
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Had to be replaced 4 times in 2 years(!)

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 7, 2010
This Pixma MX7600 All-in-One is the best thing when it works as I'm a PR consultant & like to show camera ready color proofs to clients. But the printer totally quit working four times in two years(!) Canon was great about replacing it. But I'm self-employed and this is my only printer. So it puts me out of work while waiting for the replaced reworked computer to arrive. Then there's the headache of going through all that, having the lug the thing to UPS each time. & only being able to buy the expensive ink cartridges from Canon online. Then having to wait for them to arrive.
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MX7600
Nickname: Pete
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Hi Tech Toy

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 31, 2010
Pros: exceptional printer
Cons: ink supply, requires attention to detail not shown by most
The printer works beautifully, it is simply a shame there is such a limited or in real terms nonexistent support for the printer, most importantly the "ink support" or lack. Once you get over that part, all is well!
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MX7600
Nickname: Bob
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Very Pleased

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 22, 2010
I was a little hesitant to to buy such an expensive machine but I did so because I needed something in the office that could do both high-density color and press-quality letter. This machine did both so I bit the bullet and bought it. I knew the photo quality would be great -- and it was -- but I was astounded by the letter quality. Better than advertised, IMO. The inks are expensive but I knew that going in; I use the laser printer for the bulk of my printing anyway.
It took a while to get used to the fax settings. My old fax had a completely different setting tree. Once it was set right, it worked fine. Scanning images was a little different also; i could start the scan directly from the machine.
I recommend it for the right users.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MX7600
Nickname: Owner
Location: Mountain View,CA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur

Very disappointing

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 11, 2010
This printer has been a royal pain in my office. It is too finicky to have in a busy office and the ink cartridges are only available online for added inconvenience. I am very disappointed with this expensive printer.
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA MX7600
Nickname: DC
Location: North Carolina
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Lots of features... If you can make them work.

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 20, 2010
Pros: lots of features
Cons: Difficult to use, Slow Print Speed, Large Footprint, Heavy/Bulky, Dull Tones & Colors, unreliable
Everything about this printer seems to be more hassle than it is worth. I print lots of photo quality images for flyers, brochures, CD inserts, and more, very rarely using plain paper. Many reviews have complained that plain paper cannot be used in the back tray. I am flipping the card to complain that ONLY plain paper can be used in the main tray, making it impossible for me to load up a lot of glossy paper, start printing and walk away to do other things.
Next, there seems to be no such thing as a "vibrant" color from this printer. All colors come out dark and drab... not even coming close to matching the colors on the screen.
Repeated complaint from other users... the printer is completely useless if even one cartridge becomes empty. Not just printing... All functions are locked until that cartridge is replaced.
All settings and adjustments for the printer are tedious and confusing to navigate, and usually takes several test runs to finally get the page to print correctly. I tried a firmware update, and it would never complete. Because of this, I am not sure if any of the issues have been addressed.
The other features... faxing, scanning, copying, duplexing, etc are all just as tedious to operate. Very confusing, and I am an office professional with experience with many printers, copiers, etc.
The unit takes a long time to start printing the first page of a job. Don't ever sit down and think "I'm just gonna print something real quick." It just doesn't happen. At the start and end of each new job, the unit does an annoying and LONG series of clicks and clacks and clunks that is more irritating than a 72 hour Biz Markie marathon.
The unit has paper jams all the time... again requiring me to "baby-sit" print jobs when I should be free to multitask other things and let the printer do its thing.
As everyone else says... the ink is IMPOSSIBLE to find in a store. Granted, Canon website has been one of the cheapest place to find the overpriced cartridges that have very low yield, but have no other option than online ordering is a real pain when one cartridge runs out and all work stops for days because you can't get the ink.
I guess the only good thing I can say about this printer is that it looks good sitting on the desk.
This has been my first and last Canon printer experience.
28 of 30 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site