Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / EOS Cameras Reviews / Lenses Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Lenses or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 III USM

EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 III USM

Compact and lightweight 4x telephoto zoom lens ideal for shooting sports, portraits and wildlife Micro USM makes AF fast and quiet Smooth operating zoom mechanism Front part of the zoom ring sports a silver ring for a luxury touch
Average Customer Rating:
4.111 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
15 out of 18(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 III USM
Review 1 for EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 III USM
Nickname: yam8310
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Good budget lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2013
So far I have used the lens in a less than great conditions. It is tough to use AF in low light conditions but manual works fine for that. I intend to use it in low light mounted on a stable platform for long exposure imaging. Haven't had the chance yet.
Without a distance scale on these budget lenses, an infinity mark or detente would be a real plus. But that would be my only wish. The lens works great.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 III USM
Nickname: Prowler Bill
Location: Texarkana, Texas
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great lens for action shots

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 20, 2012
Pros: Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Cons: Slow auto-focus
I use the Canon 75-300 f/4-5.6 II USM lens for capturing live action shots of wildlife and sports. This lens works flawlessly when using it in conjunction with the Canon 7D.
And, most of these shots are free hand. There is no time to carry and set up tripods when you are int he wilderness and on the run.
Thanks
Prowler Bill
22 of 22 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 III USM
Nickname: Anonymous
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 16, 2012
This lens has honestly performed very well. I was looking into purchasing the IS lens but didnt have the money. The III has taken exceptional photographs that i have been overly pleased with! I defenitly recommend this lens
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 III USM
Nickname: David
Location: Miami, FL
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great lens, great price.

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 20, 2011
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality
Cons: Semi-sharp images
This is a great lens. It's obviously not an amazing $2000+ lens, but it gets the job done. I've been shooting for a year now, and these lens do give me great results. I get close ups of animals, portrait shots, and close ups of birds from a distance, and the photos come out great. Everyone who's complaining here about the lens are obviously those who want the best photos in the world and think that cheap lens are suppose to do that. Nah man, they're cheap,obviously not the best, but they really do give great results and I would recommend to anyone who's looking for a cheap, telephoto lens.
64 of 65 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 III USM
Nickname: Scotto
Location: NJ
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best Value Telephoto

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2011
Pros: Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Cons: Slow auto-focus
I have used this produce for a month and a half and have concluded it is my favorite lens. It can take good portrait/scenery shots as well as distance shots. I love taking pictures of birds, and I can use its telephoto capability to get nice up close shots. Its price does not reflect its quality, as it is surprisingly cheap for a great quality. This lens is a great beginner telephoto lens, and I look to expand on telephoto capabilities.
17 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 III USM
Nickname: CindyN
Location: GA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Nice lens

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2010
Pros: Superior build quality
Cons: image stabilizer
I am quite new to the DSLR photography. However it did not take me long to see that the stock lens that came with the camera did not do what I needed. I had a budget and this lens fell right into what I needed and also into the price range. I debated on this one with the USM or the one without. I am very happy to say that I did not go wrong in selecting this one. I am already loving the auto focus more than I can say. And the zoom difference from the lens that came with the camera and this one, well lets just say if any other newbies to the DSLR camera catagory are thinking about a new lens, you won't go wrong with this one. It does feel a little heavy out of the box, but once mounted on your camera, you really don't even notice.
19 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 III USM
Nickname: mickey
Location: grand prairie,texas
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

awesome lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 12, 2010
i wanted a lens to zoom in to take some pics of my kids at the park and also get a cool blurred background and this lens does that perfectly i didn't have a big budget so i didn't go with the IS (image stabilizer) but i got a tripod and a RC-6 remote so the 75-300 mm III USM is amazing for family use and for a price under $200 its the best
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 III USM
Nickname: Simple Guy
Location: Western Nebraska
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

It will get the job done

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 10, 2010
Pros: crip clean shots at 300mm, focus seems a bit slow but managable
Cons: is not equiped with image stabilization
After I bought this lens I was impressed with the clarity and clarity, but I wish I would have held out for the IS USM version. I tried to take a few shots of my little girls playing at the park and as long as I used a high shutter speed, I was ok. I am use to running at 1/80th, yet this lens seems to need at least 1/200 to help with any blurred images while on the go. I love the DOF this lens provides. I was able to really bring some new life to some of my landscape shots. Right now I have this mounted on my T1i body and for a begininger I'm pretty happy in exchange for the money I've spent. I think if your looking for a solid lens without hurting the pocket, you'll be satisfied.
24 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 III USM
Nickname: plasticmartini
Location: Houston
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Not the Quality picture i was looking for.

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:August 10, 2010
After using this lense for a week i returned it to my local camera store. The price was great the quality of the lense was good but i wasn't blown away with the image quality. I realize this is not a professional series lense but i expected a little bit better. When i opened the pictures up on my 27 inch computer screen they were grainy and a little fuzzy. I tried numerours scenarios, outdoor, indoor low light daylight high and low iso and none of them were superb. I have decided to start saving for the professioanl series telephoto because none of the lenses in this class met my needs.
9 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 III USM
Nickname: Sync
Location: Norfolk, Va
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Love this Lense

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 11, 2010
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality
Cons: Semi-sharp images
I like taking pictures of insects. I once used a point a shoot camera which was ok, but didn't allow me to get close up shots without scaring them away. I just got my first DSLR camera last month and had the same problem with the stock lens. This product was within my budget and the optical zoom was perfect for me to use. Only downfall I had was that the image quality declined once I pass the 250mm-275mm mark, but its better than no picture at all and the clarity problem can easily be fixed or corrected on my computer. I have no problem keeping stability on my shots, the weight of the lens helps. Currently saving for a macro lens.
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 III USM
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Fairfax, VA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2010
Pros: Superior build quality
Cons: Slow auto-focus, Semi-sharp images
This lens is fairly durable. It has been used in Borneo rainforest, US deserts and winter snow in the midwest. I have not had any problems w/ moisture in the rainforest and blowing dust in the desert. This lens was on my camera when I slipped on ice and took the brunt of the fall from about 6 feet. Afterwards the only problem I had was a loose screw that had to be tightened. However the picture quality provided through this lens is only average. Recommend for family outings, and nature hikes if you may run into in-climate weather. Not for high-quality wildlife shooting.
23 of 25 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 III USM
Nickname: Tootall
Location: Wisconsin
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 3, 2010
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Super-sharp images
This lens came with the camera,I know it is not the best one out there but you work with what you have. Great starter lens or for the casual user. I have been shooting indoor wrestling all in the manual mode so I can't say what it is like on auto. In gyms 1/125 at F4.5 works great then fix it up on you computer if you have to.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 III USM
Nickname: photok
Location: North Carolina
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

It Has It's Pros and Cons

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:September 30, 2009
Pros: Super-sharp images, Superior build quality
I got this lens with my camera when I first bought the camera. I wanted a lens that I could take more zoomed, detailed photos with, and I knew the standard lens on the camera wouldn't allow me to do all this.
The lens resulted in some amazing photographs: great clarity, amazing detail, everything I wanted in my photos, but then the trouble with this lens came.
About a year after I got it and started using it, I noticed that EVERYTHING I focused on showed up dark in my camera. I had it looked at by a camera repair man/ professional photographer, and he discovered that the problem was in the lens. When you put this lens on the camera, everything shows up extremely dark, losing detail and quality of the image, as well. What you saw through the lens is what came out in the pictures, and at the time, it was extremely dark.
I loved this lens while it lasted. It made wonderful photos.
19 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 III USM
Nickname: Ed
Location: Cleveland OH
Expertise Level: Casual User

Great value & sharp images!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 5, 2009
Pros: Super-sharp images, Superior build quality
Cons: a bit heavy
Tooke this lens with my new Rebel XSI for it's first use, Great shots at the air show-I'm a beginner ad in terms of ease of use, and excellent image quality this lens is a great value, a bit heavy but optical qaulity was rifle-scope high, I am very happy with this lens. This is after I alomst cancelled the order after reading the poor reviews. No regrets whatsover!
22 of 22 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 III USM
Nickname: Nitro3a
Location: Plymouth, MA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Need range not quality!

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 12, 2009
Pros: reletively inexpensive, usm
Cons: Semi-sharp images, Poor build quality, Slow auto-focus
I got this lens as a package w/ the XSi. the zoom ring is sticky/jerky which makes it hard to zoom in in small increments. The barrel is loose so when zoomed in it amplifies camera shake. I get sharper crisper pictures from the 18-55mm IS lens that came with the XSi. I would recommend saving and getting a better lens it will be worth it in the end.
39 of 44 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 III USM
Nickname: GlobalNewsSource
Location: Washington State
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Not for any professional USE!!!!!!!!!!!

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 1, 2009
Cons: Semi-sharp images, Poor build quality, Slow auto-focus
I bought this for my company which uses high quality images and to us this was actually the worst lenses from canon. I know this was not meant to be a pro lenses but we needed a light weight zoom lenses and not costy for extreme conditions like a riot or in a protective glass at a shooting range etc. I am not a beginner so I might have different thoughts but I am just letting the pros know that it is not the lenses to use when you are at a state that needs high quality images.
25 of 46 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 III USM
Nickname: Mark
Location: New Jersey
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Great Lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 16, 2009
Pros: Super-sharp images, Superior build quality, Fast auto-focus, great for sporting events
Cons: additional weight causes camera shake.
I bought this lens the day after my wife got me the Rebel XSi for Christmas. Although I am still learning how to take the best photos with this lens it is the best way to capture my kids sporting events and school plays. I would highly recommend this lens to potential buyers.
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 III USM
Nickname: Chris
Location: Washington DC
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

I love this lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 17, 2009
Pros: Super-sharp images, Superior build quality, Fast auto-focus, awesome!
I am very happy I bought this lens. It is such a great upgrade from the 18-55mm kit lens I got with my Rebel XSi.
53 of 58 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site