Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / PowerShot SD/ELPH Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PowerShot SD/ELPH Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot SD790 IS

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot SD790 IS

Average Customer Rating:
4.514 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(109 Reviews) 109
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (109 reviews)
5 stars
78
4 stars
20
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
4
95 out of 109(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot SD790 IS
Review 1 for PowerShot SD790 IS
Nickname: Cindy
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Fell apart

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 4, 2011
Cons: fell apart
I had the same problem with the camera that many others did. The screws fell out, so the wrist strap detached and the camera just stopped working. I was disappointed in the construction of this camera. It should have lasted longer than 2 years.
12 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot SD790 IS
Nickname: Halogengirlie
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Loved it - Bought another!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 1, 2010
Pros: iso 400 - good for evening pics, good macro photos for small camera, sports setting with continuous shoot
I've had this camera for 2 years now, and I think it's the perfect "toss in your purse" camera. Compared to other small cameras, this little camera takes a great picture! I read other reviews where people complained about the camera's durability, but thankfully I haven't had any problems with mine... and I treat it fairly roughly (it lives in my purse and works at a construction site with me). When I went to purchase a camera for my mother... I was so satisfied with my camera, I purchased her an identical one! : )
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot SD790 IS
Nickname: sd790_user
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Side panel falls off

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 23, 2010
Cons: side panel falls off
Overall, very good camera. However, side panel, between the A/V OUT port and Card/Battery slide cover, fell off, along with screws. This is where the wrist strap attaches. So, be careful--you may lose your camera if you hold it by the wrist strap.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot SD790 IS
Nickname: Jmholt75
Location: Jackson, mi
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Hoped for better quality

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 12, 2010
Ive had this camera almost 2 yrs now. I had a canon sd600 before this which I loved but my 1 yr old got it wet. This time I (thankfully) purchased the 2 yr warranty. Ive had it back to BB 3 times alreay & I going again for another issue. I had the screen go blank & only show black fuzz in the LCD screen. I had to take it in & they mail it out & was w/o my camera for 2+ weeks. This time Im taking it in because the power button in loose & afriad it will fall off!! Im SO happy I purchased the warranty. Otherwise it takes great pics & It easy to use. I love all the diff settings for different atmospheres. But I had really hoped for better construction for what you paid for. Whats going to happen when my warrenty is up in a few months? Should last longer than 2 years.
Review 5 for PowerShot SD790 IS
Nickname: aft
Location: Wisconsin
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Awesome purchase!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 30, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: screws fall out
I've used many small hand held cameras and so far, this is the best one that I have ever used! I take so many pictures with it and the pictures turn out beautiful! I LOVE IT! I recommend this to anyone who wants a good camera. The only problem that I have with it is that the screws on the side fall out and the little piece on the side has fallen off while I have my wrist on the wrist cord and it has fallen to the ground a couple of times and I have not been happy about that but other than that, amazing camera!
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot SD790 IS
Nickname: Cardinal Fang
Location: Folsom, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 19, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I have used the SD790 now for about 2 years. It is the best camera I have ever owned! I have taken thousands of pics with it in very harsh areas. I do a lot of back packing in the the high Sierras. The SD790 performed flawlessly. It is light compact and takes beatuful shots.
I don't understand how several people complain about the screws falling out? My SD790 has not lost any screws or malfunctioned in anyway. If I decide to upgrade to higher pixel size, I will definitly bluy another canon camera!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot SD790 IS
Nickname: jcdomaoan
Location: Pittsburg, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Fabulous

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 2, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
wheel is a bit funky! after a year of casual usage, screws on the right side went became loose and they are now missing! other than those 2 concerns, i love my camera!
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot SD790 IS
Nickname: Anonymous
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

sad and dissapointing

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 26, 2010
Pros: good battery life, excellent image quality, Bright LCD
Cons: Missing features/settings, Flimsy Construction
I had recently owned the SD750 and had absolutely loved it. It took amazing quality pictures and I used it for around 3 years till I spilt water on it (sad day). I figured since I had such good luck with Canon I would purchase another Canon. The SD790 was a complete disaster. While yes, it took great pictures, it completely fell apart. First the side fell off that holds the wrist guard, leaving a gaping hole on the side of my camera. Next the front cover came off and we nicknamed it gadget because the entire camera was exposed. It quit working after about a week, which would be expected from a camera that has lost TWO of its entire coverings. Since I love the Canon quality I will purchase another one in the future. But beware of the actual construction of the SD790 camera so you don't end up with a "gadget" like I did.
PS. It does not have the feature where you can look at the pictures while the camera is turned off by pressing the play button.
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot SD790 IS
Nickname: SmallBizOwner&Mom
Location: NYC
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Camera Fell Apart

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 2, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Flimsy Construction
Wonderful pictures & videos. Sharp, bright. Gorgeous! Unfortunately, about 6 mo. after purchase, screws came out on side & then side plate & strap became useless. Still worked, so didn't bother w/ looking at warranty. Then a screw on the bottom, then round front that says "Canon Zoom Lens" came off, then 2 pieces that cover lense & teeny springs that kept them on, then a piece around the lense about a week ago. Still worked, but had to keep everything in little ziploc baggie.
Sad part - since met others that have same camera & EXACT same sequence of deterioration is happening/happened to them.
Camera should come w/ tiny screwdriver, would not have had to finally go buy different brand today.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot SD790 IS
Nickname: frustrated
Location: NY, NY
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

frustrating to use

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 28, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Bright LCD
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Difficult to use, Complicated controls/menu
My first digital camera was a hand-me-down, an older camera that was so easy to use and took great pictures. It's only drawback was that the screen was small. As I wanted a larger screen, I bought the Power Shot. It has been confusing to use from the very beginning. The wheel is one of the most difficult-to-use features I have ever had on a camera.
.
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot SD790 IS
Nickname: Tula
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Missing Screws

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 27, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Complicated controls/menu, Flimsy Construction
The camera has a lot of options to it and if you are no extremely familiar with photography is can be a little overwhelming, plus I also have had almost all of my screws fall out and am unable to purchase more.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot SD790 IS
Nickname: BDNADLER
Location: Tamarac, Florida
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Exceeds Expectations

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 12, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: none worth mentioning
This is not my only camera. I do have several Canon EOS 35mm and digital slr cameras. There are occasions when taking one SD790's larger siblings is just not an option. When this occours the 790 is an option I can count on. Furthermore, this Powershot camera can do one thing none of my EOS cameras can do. It will fit into the inside pocket of my sport coat. I recommend it for anyone whether as an only camera or as a light weight alternative when the heavy gear cannot be used.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot SD790 IS
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Chicago, IL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 25, 2010
Cons: Flimsy Construction
I loved this camera when I first purchased it, however it has deteriorated relatively quickly. My main issue is that several key screws have fallen out of the camera causing pieces to fall off. I can no longer use the wrist strap as it connected to a section that is no longer screwed in.
14 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot SD790 IS
Nickname: kalli
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Still a great camera after dropping!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 18, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
This has been a wonderful camera even after I have dropped it many a time. The metal plate where the string is attached actually came off, but I was able to snap it back in and it still holds strong. I love this camera. The screen is huge so it's easy to share/show pictures with. The startup time is super fast. One problem I have had is that the wheel gets stuck (but that's probably my fault with how tough I treat it). I think if I haven't dropped it so many times it would be in better condition. I've played with other cameras where you touch the screen to navigate but I found it less intuitive and it dirties the screen. The picture quality is so amazing that when I show others on Facebook, they ask what brand/model of camera I have because the pictures are that good.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerShot SD790 IS
Nickname: Waqqas
Location: Madison, AL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Best Camera Ever Owned

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 25, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I bought the Powershot SD790 IS for my wife but I loved it so much that I use it more than her. I own a high-end Canon Rebel Xti but prefer to use my wife's camera more. The picture quality is incredible for a point-and-shoot. The colors are vibrant and the focus is life-like. The camera is light and small. I carry it around in my jeans pocket and it feels like a cell phone in the pocket. The construction of this camera is very sturdy. After very heavy use (on 3 continents and dozens of countries) in all weather (snow, rain, mud, heat) the camera has scratches on it but at first glance it looks new. Battery life is very very good (we've taken 1000s of pics, and we've only had to charge the battery maybe a dozen times). The only thing is the battery indicator isn't very truthful - it shows full for a long time.
I just checked and we've taken over 4000 photos with it over a period of 1 year.
Thanks to this camera, I'm a Canon customer for life!
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PowerShot SD790 IS
Nickname: Anonymous

LOVE THE CAMERA!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 20, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: falls apart
I really love this camera, I have had it for over 2 years now and it is still working well. Good picture quality, large screen size, and battery life however the screws have just started to fall out. Fortunately they can be replaced easily by calling Technical Support.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PowerShot SD790 IS
Nickname: Furious Styles
Location: Detroit, MI
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

PowerShot SD790 IS

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 11, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Bottom line, this is the best camera I have ever owned. The SD790IS takes great pictures in the auto modes, and allows lots of flexibility in the manual mode to dial it in if you desire. The big screen and great controls enhance the experience, and I love the small size.
The only two complaints I have are: 1) image blurring at the corners due to the lens (not a big deal), 2) the screws fall out that hold the body together. The second was a let down because the construction is otherwise really robust. My sister has the same camera and experienced the same problem. Unfortunately, the first screws to go were the ones holding the wrist strap plate, and the camera fell on a hiking trail, slightly damaging the camera (could have been catastrophic).
Review 18 for PowerShot SD790 IS
Nickname: Landon
Location: Rutland, VT
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Amazing

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 1, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I love this camera. Mine recently broke because a friend of mine dropped it off of a cliff. I have been trying to find a camera that is better than this one, but it is impossible. The features are easily accessible, and it has many great features. I've been looking to replace it for about a month and I have not been able to find anything better to my liking. I'm going to buy this camera again.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PowerShot SD790 IS
Nickname: Tupelo Honey
Location: Gloucester, Va
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

LOVE THIS CAMERA

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 9, 2009
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I had a Kodak easy share, which I thought was a good camera. -Until this one. I love this camera. It's small & fits in my purse. It's easy to use. It has a huge display so I can actually see what they heck I am looking at. And the pictures are GREAT. -But what has really won me over, is CANON CUSTOMER SERVICE. I will only buy a Canon the future. 11 months after I purchased it, the lense jammed. It wouldn't retract or extend and the camera wouldn't stay on because of it. I used the online customer service site. -Because it was within a year of purchase, it was covered under warranty. And because I did it online. They found a service center within 20 minutes of me, instead of the Default location attached to the 800 number. I am not lying to you when I tell you that they returned it to me within ONE WEEK, repaired. They sent me email notifications when it was received, when it was opened, when it was fixed, when it was shipped. I mean really.... You just don't get service like that these days anywhere. And it's two weeks to Christmas. I was really sweating not having a camera for Christmas since I have small kids. BUY THIS CAMERA. Save your receipt. Enjoy. Did I say that this was a great product!!! Love it.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PowerShot SD790 IS
Nickname: HCJeeps
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Combat Proven

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 12, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
My first Power Shot was a 4.0mp and accompanied my for a tour in Kosovo. My second, the Power Shot SD790 IS, accompanied me to Iraq for a tour there. I am a helicopter pilot for the Army and always kept the cameras in my lower leg pocket just in case I saw something interesting. The camera was not in a case, just in my pocket. Not once did I have an issue with the performance or clarity of the pictures. When I returned from Kosovo my wife took the Power Shot and used it in the diaper bag for those "wish I had a camera moments," and it continued to perform with out any problems. I would buy another Power Shot the next time I am deployed, but only because I want a newer one not because the one I have is dysfunctional. Awesome camera all around and man is it tough.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site