Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / PowerShot SD/ELPH Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PowerShot SD/ELPH Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot SD890 IS

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot SD890 IS

Average Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
19 out of 21(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot SD890 IS
Review 1 for PowerShot SD890 IS
Nickname: Volcanobud
Location: Grand Junction, CO
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Good disposable camera?

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:August 18, 2010
Have taken a number of photos and they have turned out good. Still have difficulty remembering all the settings and how to view the pictures on the back viewer. Lots of options. Soon after the warranty ran out noted a dark blurry spot appearing in the photos. Cleaned lens and best as I can tell the spot is on the inside of the camera. Time to buy another camera. So am thinking this camera falls in the disposable category.
1 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot SD890 IS
Nickname: Caryn
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 4, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Amazing features! Vivid color and Macro depth manual features make for richly intense photos that resemble images from an SLR!
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot SD890 IS
Nickname: Harry
Location: WV
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Awesome Camera and Photos!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 2, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable, attarctive
Cons: none
This camera took me a bit to learn to hold, but once that was mastered it was GREAT! The quality of the photos are incredible! I have yet to use it on a tripod and I get super clear, sharp, crisp photos every time.. not once in a while.. EVERY TIME! I love it and I hope it last a long long long time!
The battery last forever and I get tons of shots at large fine setting. The zoom is awesome and very quick! Good job Canon you never let me down!
16 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot SD890 IS
Nickname: Dr. Jekyll
Location: Northville,NY
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Canon 890 IS

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 7, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Dim LCD, Flimsy Construction
I would have given 5 stars in every category, except for the camera body. Being made mostly of painted plastic, it scratches extremely easily. If laid with viewer down, even tiny grains of dirt,as found on most any outdoor surface, scratches the area around the viewer instantly, as well ws the viewer screen. You must be extremely careful of this.I owned 3 earlier models of digital ELFs, the latest being SD 700 IS, and they were mostly made of metal, and the viewer screen was recessed enough to prevent scratching on flat surfaces. This "cheap", delicate plastic body is deffinitely a step backwards, and had I realized the above, I would have made another choice with a less fragile body. Also, Canon has done something to the viewer that makes it impossible to see at all if you wear polaroid sunglasses. This was not the case with the previous models I have owned.
12 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot SD890 IS
Nickname: OS
Location: Mankato, MN
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Watch the birdie

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 21, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
I own and Have owned Canon for years. The brand in always right on, so there is little to decied but features.
The one shortcoming, is the flash. I have had the same complaint with all the compact cameras I've had, but it is not the reason I purchased it.
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot SD890 IS
Nickname: Katerzena
Location: Orlando, FL
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Katerzena

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 13, 2009
Pros: easy to use, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life
Cons: Complicated controls/menu
You have to take every review with a grain of salt. The whole "flimsy power button" thing everyone complains about is no big deal. Yea, it's slightly flimsy, but who cares? It's NBD, trust me.
IMO there are 3 most important things in a camera:
1. Quality of pictures in all settings (excellent)
2. Time it takes between pictures (good)
3. Easy to use basic features. (Yep, easy for basic use, though i don't know the advanced features on this camera....)
What really counts (other than image quality) is the time it takes for the camera to reset between pictures taken (in this camera about 3.5 seconds with flash and about 2.5 seconds without), and this camera has a moderately good down time between pictures.
I do not regret this purchase. The image qualities are remarkable. In fact, we joke the pictures are a little too good (no face close-ups please!)...
22 of 22 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot SD890 IS
Nickname: Abkal
Location: Annandale, VA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 27, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
This particular canon camera has a better performance than my previous SD 870 in terms of the features and settings with excellent image quality and controls.
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot SD890 IS
Nickname: franpe
Location: RALEIGH,NC
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

My 5th Cannon

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:June 3, 2009
Pros: Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: power botton difficult to press
This is my 5th Powershot camera, my last one was a SD700, you can appreciate a much better image quality immediately from the SD890, the Zoom is great, a little heavy that the SD700, but I guess is probably because of a bigger lenses.
My only complain is the power bottom, is very difficult to reach, not sure why Canon change this from the previous models.
26 of 28 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot SD890 IS
Nickname: mph43
Location: Florida
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 20, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
I've been taking pictures for over 55 years. This camera for its price and size is the best I have ever used. I'm NOT one for reading instructions, however, with this camera it's almost a must. Once you have that down, you can not go wrong with this camera. The movie feature is great. I just shot the latest shuttle launch with this camera. The picture and sound when played on the computer was phenomenal.
34 of 36 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot SD890 IS
Nickname: wasabi
Location: NYC
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Not as expected

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 14, 2009
Pros: Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, Good Low-Light Performance, good battery life
Cons: Difficult to use, Complicated controls/menu, Poor image quality, Heavy/Bulky
Unfortunately the SD890 didn't meet our expectation. Pics quality was very poor to say the least. we played with different setting, but didn't solve it. Also the design of the body was so curvy, it's hard to hold it. Looks really nice, but I use camera to record things for my work and fam. We had good experience with canon before, but this model was total disaster in our opinion. I'd try different model. I still love canon, great feature and great support, but this model was just bad bad news.
11 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot SD890 IS
Nickname: Anonymous
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

About the best you can get

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 10, 2009
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life
Cons: cheap battery door
My favorite feature of this camera is the allegedly 135mm equiv. lens which is hard to beat in this class of camera. Focus controls are what you expect with a point and shoot but with some practice you can get it to do what you want. Smooth exterior with nothing to catch in a pocket. 1 second start-up time and very good battery life.
A hint for those trying to take rapid pictures. Leave the thing in continuous mode, and use the optical viewfinder to track your subject. Hold the button down and trust the camera--don't worry about the LCD. I've done this at races and air shows with great results.
As others have found the battery/SD door is pretty flimsy and for no good reason. I have had no problems with the power button however. The selector ring around the func/set button seems a little unresponsive and slippy but fortunately you don't need it much.
I originally got this as my "good" small camera but now I take it everywhere with me. It's now cheap enough I don't mind taking it in hazardous places. Even take it to concerts where it can outshoot anything around me and still looks like a kid's camera so no one notices. The picture quality and versatility are well worth it! Don't bother with the higher models, they just add features you won't use and have less of a lens.
34 of 34 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot SD890 IS
Nickname: Sujit
Location: San Francisco
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Fantastic Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 5, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
This is an awesome camera. I'm pleased with all the facilities it has.
It has got only one serious problem. The power button is difficult to operate. I think they should work on it. It is difficult to switch on and off with that kind of control. Using your nails to do that leaves scratches.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot SD890 IS
Nickname: MeMe
Location: Arkansas Mountains
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Wise Choice for the Price

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 30, 2009
Pros: Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life
I bought this camera in April for my birthday. I have 2 other digital cameras of which one is Canon. I wanted one to fit easily in my purse and that was convienant to just grab and shoot. You can surely do that with this camera. I have had alot of fun with it at baseball games and shooting wildlife. Alot of fun features that are easy to figure out.
I would recommend this camera to anyone.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot SD890 IS
Nickname: Sapphireyes
Location: Silicon Valley, California
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Handy sidekick camera - but for how long?

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 3, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, upgradeable sd card for extra photo capacity
Cons: Missing features/settings, Flimsy Construction
Pros: Feature-packed, stylish, easy to hold, small and easy to take along, good quality daylight photos, good value
Cons: Flimsy doors for computer interface and battery/SD card; power button hard to use and flimsy; spots in nighttime photos; delay between button press and shutter release.
I have been using my camera for four months now and love it. This little camera is handy to take along because of its small size, light weight and sleek styling. It has so many features, I haven't found uses for them all yet.
I do wish the delay between pressing the shutter button and the actual shutter release was much shorter. I have tried every mode (portrait, kids&pets, etc) and haven't found a mode which will allow me to take photos in rapid succession, like a true sports mode would. I'll see a great shot, press the button, and by the time the shutter releases, the subject has moved, turned or vanished. Still, this camera is MUCH faster in taking successive photos than my previous digital camera.
Another reviewer mentioned the power button. It's a tiny little wedge which you must press with your fingernail to turn the camera on or off. I got used to it, but lately it's feeling like it might break off at any moment. After only four months, that strikes me as flimsy. The doors for the battery/SD card and for the interface cable were clearly flimsy so I have always opened and closed them as if they were eggshells. However the power button requires some pressure to respond, and now it seems as if it won't last through the useful life of the camera.
When I take daytime photos, or indoor photos with some ambient light, the photos come out fabulous, regardless of my limited camera-operating skills. When I take nighttime photos, or in darkened rooms like concert settings, the results aren't as great. Sometimes (not always) I get white spots in all the dark areas, as if there were various-sized white bubbles floating about in the subject area. My old digital camera did this worse, and in more different light settings, so maybe there's a digital photography trick I need to learn to avoid this unwanted effect.
All the above weaknesses are included herein not to trash this camera, which I love, but in the spirit of full disclosure. I don't regret having chosen this camera; I'd choose it again today, even knowing what I know about its weaknesses. I take this little gem with me every day, everywhere, and use it liberally. If I had it to do over though, I'd buy an extended warranty in case the power button breaks.
46 of 46 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerShot SD890 IS
Nickname: Sewnice2
Location: Clinton, MD
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Very Good Value!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 17, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable, small size and lightweight
Cons: power button is hard to press!, control dial is awkward!
I last purchased a camera in 03 and digital cameras have come a long way since then. This camera has many more features, takes quality pix, is easier to use, and lighter in weight. I can actually slip this camera into my pocket. I like that so many settings are available on the back of the camera without going into the menu settings. The power button is hard to use (ditto the control dial) and even feels flimsy at times. I like the manual because it has so many pictures.illustrations and is easy to understand. Given the quality of the pictures and the many features, I feel this camera is a very good value!
18 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PowerShot SD890 IS
Nickname: BEAR
Location: VERMONT
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

BEST PURCHASE EVER

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 3, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
This Camera is the best digital one that i have ever used. It is so light weight. The zoom is more than i had expected, and the pictures are quite beautiful. This camera is well worth what the purchase price was. Great job Cannon.
24 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PowerShot SD890 IS
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: West Chester, PA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Two minor problems

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 25, 2009
Pros: Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Complicated controls/menu, poor manual
First, the on button is too small and hard to press unless you have long fingernails.
Second, the instruction booklet shares the problem of other Canon books I have used, namely, the explaination of the functions is way to complicated and unclear. Someone should volunteer to rewrite the booklet.
The camera is great, Canon should do as well with the instructions.
26 of 27 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PowerShot SD890 IS
Nickname: Pro Shooter
Location: Cleveland, OH
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
I'm a professional photographer of 22 years. I own all Canon pro SLR EOS gear (5D & 40D) lenses etc. I bought this camera for my wife to replace her four year old Finepix camera. I was so impressed on the quality of image, ease of use and performance of this camera. The images are excellent in bright light and low light. Shooting in Automatic is very easy and produces clean images. It color balances very nice too. I like to shoot without flash, and this is where this cameara shines. Ambient exposures are great and with very little noise in the shadows.
Navigating the settings is real easy and the large LCD is nice and bright.
I can't find anything to complain about. My only wish is that it came in red, because she wanted a red camera. But after researching what was out there in red, I couldn't waste money just for a color.
This is one excellent camera. I love my Canons, and she loves hers. Oh, the red...not an issue anymore!! :)
100 of 101 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PowerShot SD890 IS
Nickname: Injuneer
Location: Connecticut
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Great Upgrade

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 19, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance
Been with Digital Elphs from the S200, S400 and S500, and now the SD890. Used as a "notebook", these cameras are constantly with me, usually in my pocket. The only problem I've had is my fault, being in my pocket literally all the time, I've broken the LCD on three cameras! I now carry my current SD890 in a special built aluminum lined case. This camera is used also when I don't have a "real" camera (5D or 40D) with me, and with outstanding results.
41 of 43 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PowerShot SD890 IS
Nickname: DTS
Location: NY
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Awesome Purchase

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 7, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
I currently study photography in college, so I have this camera as well as a $3000 camera. I seem to carry this camera with me EVERYWHERE I go. It has come in very handy. Its small enough that I can take it into concerts with me, and the zoom and quality of the images is incredible. It can also take really good macro images. It is great for taking images of small children as well as animals. It is very easy to use and I have never had a problem with it.
50 of 51 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site