Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / PowerShot SD/ELPH Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PowerShot SD/ELPH Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot SD770 IS Silver

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot SD770 IS Silver

Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
17 out of 20(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot SD770 IS Silver
Review 1 for PowerShot SD770 IS Silver
Nickname: agf
Location: Arizona
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

best small digital camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, metal body
Love this camera! This is my second Canon and third digital camera. I'm not a pro with a camera, but this is a very forgiving camera to use. It can be used to take the most spectactular pictures. I took it to Hawaii, and lets just say that I have never taken better pictures with a digital than I have with this one. The video feature works excellent as well. Having 10megapixels helps a lot too. Very affordable and the software is very easy to use. The overall best feature is that you can slip this camera in your pocket and forget that it's even there. Battery life is excellent! Looking at getting the waterproof case to take is scuba diving.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot SD770 IS Silver
Nickname: greg
Location: Los Altos, CA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Images out of focus

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 25, 2009
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Poor image quality, Poor Low-Light Performance
The auto function does not work well. Most photos are out of focus. Not a very robust camera for point and shoot users. Canon has really gone backward on this this camera. My previous 4Mp Canon was far superior in simple, auto point and shoot use.
2 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot SD770 IS Silver
Nickname: uic
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Product replacement: Yes

the red-eye lamp is irritating

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:April 5, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
Cons: Missing features/settings
the Red-Eye lamp is very annoying, my baby son would close his eyes when the lamp is on, and then you get a high quality picture with eyes closed.
the good news is, you have the option to turn the lamp off; the bad news is, the lamp would still flash after you turn it off.
23 of 32 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot SD770 IS Silver
Nickname: PADS
Location: New Jersey
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Love this camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2009
Pros: easy to use, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life
Cons: flimsy battery door
You can carry it with you everywhere. Great pictures, easy to use.
Takes great video as well.
Very satisfied.
My son also bought one after seeing ours.
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot SD770 IS Silver
Nickname: Rose
Location: RI
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Nice and Easy

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
This is a great point and shoot camera. I am not a photographer so needed something very easy. Takes wonderful pictures with the automatic first shot. I tried other brands and always come back to Canon.
13 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot SD770 IS Silver
Nickname: editor
Location: Central Valley California
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Great little camera to love

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
Cons: Complicated controls/menu
For years I lugged around the rugged Canon A1 35mm film camera with lenses, etc. and shot many terrific pictures. But I needed a point and shoot and tried several brands before I settled on a Canon again - I loved it too and used it for several years. However, it died just a few days before a long planned trip; in a rush to get something new I bought the SD770 on sale.
I could not have made a better choice! I love this camera. The battery life is terrific; the photos are amazing; it fits in a pocket; it is rugged and sturdy and it is a great value for the money. My only con is that the menu system is not as intuitive as earlier Canons - the learning curve is a little steeper. I know what I want I just can't find it when I need it to get the shot.
In my book you cannot beat Canon at any price point and here's the clincher: Canon repaired the older camera while I was away at no cost to me! Now that is good service!
35 of 35 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot SD770 IS Silver
Nickname: sofie
Location: Illinois
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Good Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance
Easy to use and excellent pictures. Compact and easy to take along.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot SD770 IS Silver
Nickname: Oobatz17
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Bright LCD, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life
I am very happy with this camera. My wife and I take a lot of pictures of our kids and this camera is perfect for the job. It is easy to use and it is small enough that you can easily slip it in your pocket and take it anywhere you go. The image quality is good and I've never had an issue with a low battery.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot SD770 IS Silver
Nickname: Jose
Location: Puerto Rico
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Perfect for Travelling

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life
Perfect size for frequent travellers. Night shots are outstanding, even in low,low light. Super clear pictures, and easy to use. Overall a great little camera.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot SD770 IS Silver
Nickname: Barry
Location: Chicago, IL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Beautiful!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 30, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
birds birds birds ..
have never seemed so beautiful
since i've started using this camera .
2 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot SD770 IS Silver
Nickname: Anonymous

Love this camera!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 20, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life
This is an awesome little camera! It is simple to use, takes great pictures & the battery life is excellent.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot SD770 IS Silver
Nickname: Jima H
Location: BOSTON, MA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

a steal!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 15, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
I used to have a HP digital camera. it was pretty decent. took some great pics.
then it broke.
and i got this cannon powershot digital elph sd770
i could not be any happier.
i dont care about sleek or compactness. all i care about it the pictures.
the features are really cool too. i like the color accent.
i would recommend this camera to anyone on the market looking for the best bang for their buck. the price is a little steep if you are a 22 year old struggling student. but its well worth it.
i love this camera.
and the resolution of the pics are amazing.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot SD770 IS Silver
Nickname: RH
Location: NorCal
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Good for the price

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Lightweight/Portable, cheap
Cons: Poor image quality, Poor Low-Light Performance, lack of raw capture, optical view finder too small
Not a bad compact point-and-shoot. I wish it would capture RAW like another one of my old Canon point-and-shoot. I can keep this in my pocket when I go on my regular morning hike, may be I can catch the mountain lion that I waited for hours with my 50D and never showed up.
6 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot SD770 IS Silver
Nickname: Bran
Location: Auburn, WA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Best-value ELPH out there

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 3, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life
Cons: few tolerance options for color accent/swap, no macro with accent/swap for color accent/swap
The SD770 IS is one of the highest-quality ultracompacts on the market. Fitting a DIGIC III, 3x zoom lens and a battery back that good is a marvel. The only problems I've experienced thus far are:
1. Being able to choose from only eleven tolerance settings on the color accent and color swap modes, and
2. Not being able to use color accents and color swaps in digital macro mode.
15 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerShot SD770 IS Silver
Nickname: b
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

best

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 15, 2008
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
Perfect size, perfect quality, there is little reason to spend anymore on a supposed higher end camera
16 of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PowerShot SD770 IS Silver
Nickname: Cmetronome
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Awesome camera for the money

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 12, 2008
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable, cool video settings
Cons: wish there were more settings for video
As my first point and shoot "digital" camera I can honestly say this camera rocks! The only major con in my book is that there is no zoom while actively recording. Also, the red eye features don't work at all while taking the shots. This seems to be a big con that I have read on other reviews. However, you can manually fix this with the camera in menu settings before downloading to your computer. Or just use photoshop, but the menu setting canon has set up works great.
I took this camera and my DSLR to New York for a recent trip and ended up using the point and shoot a lot more. I had a photo competition I needed to submit some shots for and a lot of the photos I submitted ended up being from what I shot with the Canon. The night shots are great, but read the manual! There are a lot of things this camera will happily do for you if you take the time to read the manual. Otherwise, just set it to auto mode and click away.
The color accent feature still blows everyone away when I show them my shots. For the price of the camera you literally get a mini photoshop/ corelphotopaint built into the camera.
I'm still on the original battery which doesn't run out of juice too early like other manufacturers.
I now have a second camera to add to my arsenal when going out.
24 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PowerShot SD770 IS Silver
Nickname: eagle1
Location: Canon City, Colorado
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

My second elf

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 10, 2008
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
3 years ago I purchased the SD 450 and it has been the most usable, best picture and durable camera I have ever seen. Of course the small size and ease of use make it stand out...so when I saw the sd 770 IS with 10 megapixels at about half what I paid for the sd450, I had to have it. WOW !! What a camera.
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PowerShot SD770 IS Silver
Nickname: Ike
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 8, 2008
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
Cons: Missing features/settings, Dim LCD, Poor Low-Light Performance, the trigger is a little lightweight
I bought this camera in the beginning og august, it is now December. I find the pictures to be of very good quality, and the features pretty straightforward and simple to figure out (with the manual).
Just in the last month or so, several problems have surfaced. There is little spots that have been appearing on the LCD display, the trigger is getting rather sticky, and just today, a line appeared across the lens. It is inside the lens itself, and it dissapears when I get into the digital zoom. I am going to claim my warranty on this camera. . .
15 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PowerShot SD770 IS Silver
Nickname: Big B
Location: Quincy, MA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

LCD Panel display picture with lot of noise

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 7, 2008
Pros: easy to use, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, lot of lcd noise-image different from that in lcd
Model was sleek and seemingly superior,but....
the LCD display for the photo mode has a lot of noise.
Lot of contrast in the finalpicture to the once being shown on the LCD. Looks like the electonics is below par
I am dissapointed. I really thought of going for an SLR but looks like I should not go by the brand name blindly.
4 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PowerShot SD770 IS Silver
Nickname: 1&0nly!
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Buy it, Love it!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 26, 2008
Cons: has 3x zoom while the a470 has 3.4x zoom
I just purchased the SD770 IS not even 24 hrs. ago and so far, so Excellent! I love the fact that when reviewing photo's, if you turn the camera at a different angle, the picture will rotate to be viewed at that angle. The pictures come out excellent with the 10 megapixels and the video is crisp and clean. My previous camera was a Canon PowerShot A470 w/7.1 megapixals and I still love it, but wanted a Digital Elph being the tech junkie that I am. Once you experience Canon, there is no other camera. I gave the overall rating a 4 only because I am still learning and getting used to it. I love the sleek and stylish design. It's very easy to use, and the settings and menu's are easy to navigate through. I believe even someone not so tech savvy will be able to quickly grasp how to effectively use it. The 3x zoom is wonderful.
Overall, this is a great camera. So go ahead and get yourself one. You can't go wrong with the outstanding craftsmanship and quality of Canon. Trust me, you won't be sorry!
240 of 254 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site