Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Scanners Reviews / CanoScan Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop CanoScan Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for CanoScan LiDE200

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

CanoScan LiDE200

Average Customer Rating:
4.463 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(54 Reviews) 54
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (54 reviews)
5 stars
42
4 stars
3
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
3
46 out of 54(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for CanoScan LiDE200
Review 1 for CanoScan LiDE200
Nickname: Teletran
Location: Canada
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Poor Construction, Low Durability

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 21, 2012
I previously owned a Canon LIDE 80 Scanner. When I upgraded to Windows 7 64bit, the scanner was not compatible with the Operating System. As a result, I had to replace the scanner.
I purchased the LIDE 200 scanner and right away noticed the flimsy construction of the scanner. After a short while, the scanner started squeaking at the joints when the lid was opened and closed.
I rarely used the scanner (perhaps I scanned 200 images?) and it stopped functioning after a year and 8 months.
I am really disappointed with the quality of Canon products.
Do not buy this scanner.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for CanoScan LiDE200
Nickname: Mike
Location: Rochester, NY
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Will not scan to PDF - No support

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 21, 2012
This scanner apparently does not scan to PDF. At least, there isn't any information on how to make it work. I can see others have had this problem as well. No support at all for this product. Go to the Cannon website and they really don't offer any assistance. So, this scanner is a piece of junk and a total waste of money. I'll have to go out any buy another scanner that works. The scan file type does not list PDF as an option at all. Anybody know why>
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for CanoScan LiDE200
Nickname: NotHappyCustomer
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Does not work out of the box

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 24, 2011
Cons: lack of support
Installed on a Widows 7 machine following the instructions exactly. Continued to get an error message. Since I do not have time to during the business day to play with hardware and software, the problem occurred after business hours when cannons help was not available. Automated help did not respond in a timely manner.
6 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for CanoScan LiDE200
Nickname: Stosh
Location: Indianapolis IN
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Mac OS X Multipage Scan Problem

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:July 23, 2011
Pros: easy to use
Cons: no multi-page scanning
I have worked on this problem for weeks now. If you only want to scan one page, one picture, one pdf it is great. But, as soon as you attempt a multi-page scan, it halts with a "Searching for Scanner" error. There is a problem between the drivers and OS X upgrades that has broken this. The only thing you can use on a Mac is the Image Capture app, which is clunky, at best. Canon needs to step up and get this fixed.
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for CanoScan LiDE200
Nickname: Dave B.
Location: Rochester, NY
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 14, 2011
Pros: Compact Design, external power supply not required
Cons: non-removable cover, awkward software
LiDE200 Scanner worked well for about ten months, then jammed, and would not restart. I liked the fact that it used USB for power, and did not require a power supply; and I liked its small size and light weight. It scanned well, but I found its software somewhat awkward; the cover is non-removable, so scanning books, etc. was difficult.
The online FAQs did not address the particular non-starting problem, so I was at a loss to try to resolve the problem.
After the product failed, I was able to return for store credit since, fortunately, I had purchased the Product Replacement Plan.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for CanoScan LiDE200
Nickname: itonix
Location: Michigan
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good scanner bad software

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:June 27, 2011
Pros: Compact Design, easy to use
Cons: poor software
Scanner works great but bundled software is stuck in 1999. Does not remember last saved location and does not allow for long file names. I scan all my bills and it gets painfull to every time navigate back to desired location. Not a single software update as far as I have owned it.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for CanoScan LiDE200
Nickname: Mac Head
Location: Saginaw, Michigan
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Very Happy With The LIDE 200

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 20, 2011
Pros: Compact Design, durable, Fast Connectivity, High resolution, High-speed scanning, easy to use, not too expensive
I took the scanner out of the box, hooked it up to my iMac, installed the drivers and made some EXCELLENT quality scans of magazine pictures in full brilliant color. Then I decided to read the instructions.
This scanner is very easy to set up and use and loves to talk to my computer. I made 8x10 prints from the scans with super results. The provided software is very user friendly. I heartily recommend this unit.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for CanoScan LiDE200
Nickname: Al

First Scanner

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 16, 2010
Pros: Fast Connectivity, High resolution, easy to use, scan multiple pages
My first scanner - great choice for me. I used to scan my deceased wife's private collection of over 400 recipes.
Each recipe page has a picture of the finished product which was in a plastic sleeve. I was able to scan and get incredible pictures even through the plastic sleeve. These will be produced as a DVD.
Thanks Canon - great job and what a price!!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for CanoScan LiDE200
Nickname: allfiredup
Location: Canton, GA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Best scanner I've ever used!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 30, 2010
Pros: thin and light but well made, easy to use, only needs one usb port for power and data
I had been wanting a portable scanner for several years to use with my laptop. I was amazed how light this CanoScan is and that it fits into a laptop bag with my 14" laptop!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for CanoScan LiDE200
Nickname: Anonymous

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 24, 2010
got this to scan pictures for photo frames for parants in another state so needed something light to transport and easy to use. this worked great. Quality of the scans is great
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for CanoScan LiDE200
Nickname: Mike169
Location: New York, NY
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur

Great scanner

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 23, 2010
This scanner is probably the most easily installed and used scanner I've ever had. My only problem has been with the colors on drawings that I have done and had to adjust in my pictures software.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for CanoScan LiDE200
Nickname: DENNY A
Location: Medina, Ohio
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Just what I needed

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 10, 2010
Pros: light weight, ttruly portable, small footprint in storage
I purchased my first notebok computer, and wanted a simple scanning device. I shopped around on the internet to get reviews on these products. Low and behold, the CanoScan LiDE 200, filled the bill.
I love the simple installation, and the fact that it is powered by the USB port. The quality of the scanned images is great. And the stand that comes with it makes it easy to store.
Great product!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for CanoScan LiDE200
Nickname: Santajay
Location: San Jose, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Maybe OK

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 7, 2010
Pros: light weight, you can lock scan head when transporting, fits in laptop bag, reasonably priced
Cons: Low resolution, slow scanning, inconsistent interface, to many desktop icons
Was very disappointed that the scanner would not scan the resolution shown on the outside of the BOX. I was looking for a high Resolution Flatbed scanner for scanning old Photographs that could be carried in my Laptop Briefcase. This scanner was about the right physical dimensions and light enough to make a good portable scanner IF YOU can live with low resolution and slow scanning. It was very interesting that the Maximum resolution attainable varied depending on whether you used the older Twain style interface (1200 dpi) or the newer WIA style interface (600 dpi). The box the scanner came in said 4800x4800 dpi which is the minimum acceptable for my needs and there was no way to get that high of a quality from this scanner. It just wasn't a good fit for me. To give you an Idea of what I mean by slow, it took a full three minutes and thirty five seconds (3:35 min) to do a single scan of an 8x10 photograph.
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for CanoScan LiDE200
Nickname: Old Dude

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 16, 2010
Cons: add a con
This is a replacement for an earlier model Canon which just got too old. this Lide 200 is soooooooooo slooooow.
It takes a minute to two minutes per sheet being copied. It's slower than cold tar flowing uphill in January. The only redeeming value is the quality of the prints that it makes.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for CanoScan LiDE200
Nickname: Truckin' Man
Location: Windsor Locks, CT
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Very Good Scanner

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 23, 2010
Pros: Compact Design, Fast Connectivity, High resolution, easy to use
I am a long haul truck driver and use this scanner on a daily basis for sending in trip paperwork to my company. It is an excellent scanner, image quality is great and the driver is full featured, allowing you to tweak the image before the final scan. The feature I like most is the single cable for USB and power, as it would be very difficult to plug into AC power in a vehicle. This is my 3rd CanoScan model and when a new one comes out I will probably buy it.
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for CanoScan LiDE200
Nickname: mrgramps
Location: Colorado
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Just what I was looking for

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 31, 2010
Pros: Compact Design, durable, Fast Connectivity, High resolution, High-speed scanning, easy to use, quiet operation
I needed to replace my older scanner that expired with a newer unit that would give me the image quality which I was looking for when I start to scan our family photos for archiveing.I compared other units but decided on takeing a chance with this unit for which I'm glad I did.
It produced excllent quality images which were much better then my past scanner. I was very impressed on the quietness of the scanner.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for CanoScan LiDE200
Nickname: jaywhiz21
Location: Huntington, NY
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Fabulous, A+ scanner

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 25, 2010
Pros: Compact Design, durable, Fast Connectivity, High resolution, High-speed scanning, easy to use
I had the scanner out of the box for 5 minutes and starting producing fabulous scans immediately. Love everything about it. Highly recommended.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for CanoScan LiDE200
Nickname: Smoky
Location: Ridgefield Park, NJ
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Cool Scanner

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 10, 2010
Pros: Compact Design, Fast Connectivity, High-speed scanning, easy to use
So easy to set up - very user- friendly. The slim design is perfect for my work space.
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for CanoScan LiDE200
Nickname: kik
Location: Orlando, Fl.
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Best

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 4, 2010
Pros: Compact Design, High resolution, High-speed scanning, easy to use
this was an excellent choice for me, because it is very compact and I can use it both at home and office
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for CanoScan LiDE200
Nickname: Ringo
Location: New York, NY
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Easy installation - high performance

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 2, 2010
Pros: Compact Design, Fast Connectivity, High-speed scanning, easy to use, easy installation
Cons: help screens lacking detailations
I had been having difficulty getting my All-in-One scanner to work with OSX 10.5 and finally purchased the LiDE 200. The installation was quick and the unit performed immediately upon plugging in the USB cord. In addition the unit is light and has a small footprint leaving me plenty of counter space I didn't have with my old unit. First results were quite good-- the unit could scan and was able to recognize multiple images, saving much time. The only Con was the online manual which, in my opinion, was lacking in detail. However the program functions are clear enough for straightforward scanning.
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site