Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA iP Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA iP Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA iP4600

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PIXMA iP4600

Average Customer Rating:
3.927 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
8
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
4
30 out of 41(73%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA iP4600
Review 1 for PIXMA iP4600
Nickname: Anonymous

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 19, 2011
Canon printers (S600 and now ip4600) don't seem to last more than 18 months and then are non-finctional AND UN-REPAIRABLE!!
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PIXMA iP4600
Nickname: Print Master
Location: Los Angeles
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Great deal

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 13, 2010
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, durable, Low Ink Consumption, fast print speed, easy to use, duplex printing, quiet mode, looks great
I really love this printer.
The quiet mode works well and the duplex printing is flawless.
This printer is great for casual work along with professional printing on glossy paper.
I've used the printer to create poster drafts, tradeshow material and casual fast draft printing for literature I rather read on paper than on the monitor.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA iP4600
Nickname: dusty
Location: United States
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

good print results

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 9, 2009
Pros: Easy Setup, durable, easy to use
Cons: High Ink Consumption
I have had this printer about 9 months. I have always used Canon printers. I have excellent results with text. The photos are very crisp and clear.I did have trouble when it decided to use a paper feed that was not selected. My only major fault is the ink consumption. It uses up colors when only text is being done and in draft.. Replacement ink cost more than a new printer.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA iP4600
Nickname: JT
Location: Knoxville, TN
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

I have had nothing but great results.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 6, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Setup, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use, closes up keeping dust out
Cons: haven't had one yet.
Fast, quiet and photo-lab quality prints. Everyone I know has started coming to me to "borrow" my printer. Someone stated a feed problem. They must have had a defective unit. Mine works like a dream. I really like the multi-color ink tanks system. You only have to replace the color you are out of. Plus they are very easy to change.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA iP4600
Nickname: no stars

the worst I have ever encountered for paper feed!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 29, 2009
Cons: unreliable, paper feed is useless!, never buy again
Every time I use the printer there is a problem with paper feed and getting a print takes forever with much manipulation and frustration. The manual is next to useless!
8 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA iP4600
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Tucson AZ
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Replace other Canon Printer

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 9, 2009
Pros: Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed
Prints text very good, haven't tried to do a photo yet. Have problems with cassett feed, if it gets to low of paper it doesn't feed. This is my 5th canon pinter, replacing older i550 (great printer) hope this is as good.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA iP4600
Nickname: John
Location: Denver
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent photo printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 16, 2009
Pros: Easy Setup, easy to use, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: Slow Print Speed, High Ink Consumption
I'm amazed at the photo quality. I'm an avid amateur photographer, and I put away my wet darkroom a year ago. I bought this for the simple snapshots and occasional color documents I want to print (I have a high-speed laser printer for non-photo documents).
I've spent big bucks at Kinkos with their high-end printers trying to print my photos, but this printer is better than anything I can do there.
Like any ink-jet, it spends a lot of time burping and stuttering before it prints anything, and ink is not cheap, but for my limited purposes, it's great.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA iP4600
Nickname: Duke
Location: Philadelphia
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Average

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 14, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, fast print speed, Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: Difficult Setup, High Ink Consumption
I give it an average review only because while setting up the printer the ink cartridges were old and partially dried out. This made it very hard to set up becuse at first I did not know why the printer would not print and took a time before I realized it was the ink cartridges. I tried the head cleaning mode and the deep cleaning mode but these did not work. I removed a cartridge and tapped it on my finger, no ink, I then lightly blew some air into the cartridge and got ink, put it back into the printer and voila it printed.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA iP4600
Nickname: Alan T
Location: Tampa, FL
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Thrilled and Amazed!!!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 26, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, Lightweight/Portable, durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors
I am a Professional Photographer. I purchased this particular Printer to use for "On-Location Shoots" to provide prints from my Canon 40D digital camera "On-The-Spot" at events and Fund Raisers.
It is extremely easy to setup the printer. I have plugged to an A/C power source, then attached the same mini-USB cable that came with the camera to download my pictures to my computer into the printer.
I menu appears on the camera immediately, that is clear and easy to use and the quality of the prints it produces is diificult to distinguish from an actual PHOTO LAB PRINT.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA iP4600
Nickname: Fran T.
Location: Grants Pass, Oregon
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Not too adaptable

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:September 21, 2009
Pros: Easy Setup
Cons: Difficult Setup, Difficult to use, High Ink Consumption, Dull Tones & Colors, not adaptable to custom paper sizes
The Canon Pixma iP4600 prints standard page sizes well. However, it is very poor at adapting to custom page sizes set up through a word processor. Whenever I try to print to business card sizes, or personal stationery sizes, or other non-standard sizes, I have a lot of trouble. I have reviewed the product manual and followed the steps outlined there, but the printer does not cooperate. I usually give up in frustration and abandon the project. This is not good.
It does seem to use a lot of ink, too, and I have been disappointed with the color values when printing photos.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA iP4600
Nickname: Mike
Location: San Diego, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent Printer, Trivial Problem

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 18, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, easy to use, Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: Difficult Setup, small ink tanks
FIRST, the important part: This is an excellent photo printer based on my limited test usage so far. (Canon Photo Paper Plus Glossy II, and plain paper text tryout.) The colors and tone are splendid with "out of the box" settings. I've also run a few photo prints on 3rd party art paper and I'm equally pleased with them.
SECOND, the trivial but vexing setup problem. I was mildly irritated when I had to drive to the store to get a USB cable. I was more than mildly irritated when I got home and found that the deep well in the back of the printer wouldn't accept the plastic "plug end" of the USB connector. The connector was proper, but the deep well didn't allow the cable connector to reach the computer's receptacle. I had to make a second trip to the store to find a USB cable that had a slimmer design to the plastic housing on its plug.
GENERAL COMMENT: As with most printers nowdays, the ink tanks are incredibly small. I thought the Canon S520 tanks were small; these are smaller.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PIXMA iP4600
Nickname: Mohammadreza
Location: Tehran, IRAN
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

A "MUST" for professional - amateur photographers.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 14, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed, Sharp Tones & Colors, protect paper and part from dust
in addition with my EOS 50D, its a wonderful printer help me print and preview my photos in few minutes. very easy to work. beautiful shape, small size in standby mode, (all doors close mode). protects parts from dust.
a little bit slow with pictbridge. very hi print quality.
Review 13 for PIXMA iP4600
Nickname: Big Al
Location: Philadelphia
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Met our requirements

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 29, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, Lightweight/Portable, fast print speed
Cons: Difficult to use, only works with a computer
Our organization needed a printer that met two basic requirements, ultra speed while maintaining acceptable quality. We shoot about 200 head shots at a party for special needs people and hand them a print before they leave. The Pixma iP4600 meets those needs, and at a reasonable price..
My only disappointment is the fact that it is not a stand-alone and needs a computer with it. Nothing in life is perfect however.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA iP4600
Nickname: CTMcC
Location: Fairfax, VA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

a GREAT printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 16, 2009
Pros: fast print speed, Sharp Tones & Colors
This printer is a real Gem. I am very very happy. I have several thousand dollars in Canon Digital EOS cameras and now I can print out the results on a Canon Printer.
This camera needs a built in network connector to allow it to serve on home networks.
I liked it so much that I have bought 4 of these Canon PIXMA iP4600 printers.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA iP4600
Nickname: Glorym
Location: New York City
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Another Great Canon Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 8, 2009
Pros: durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors
Have been using Canon Printers since 1997. This is the third one and is replacing the i860. I tested it by printing up a photo with matte photo paper and using regular ink. The pictures were beautiful. It is another winner.
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA iP4600
Nickname: piglet
Location: Risingsun, OH
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Great Purchase

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 7, 2009
Pros: durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed, Low Ink Consumption, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors
I purchased this printer to print pictures of my grandchildren for their scrapbooks. (I have 4.) It is so easy to use and I love the results! Beautiful color. I like the fact that you can have photo paper in the top and regular paper in the tray and the printer knows which tray to use. Great! I have used it to print greeting cards also and it prints quickly.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA iP4600
Nickname: bernie
Location: ludlow, ma.
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 7, 2009
i had a cannon3ip6000 had bad luck with it, so i bought a ip 4600 i like but it will not change over the paper feed from lower paper to upperpaper
2 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA iP4600
Nickname: Raffler
Location: Pittsburgh, Pa.
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Fantastic pictures and great paper print

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 7, 2009
Pros: durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: High Ink Consumption
This is a fantastic printer that prints photos that look like they just came from a processor! Great easy setup and is very quality built! Love the paper tray over the old back slot style!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA iP4600
Nickname: digitaldooer
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

One of the best ever

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 26, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, Lightweight/Portable, Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed, Sharp Tones & Colors
As a digital photographer I am very picky about quality and clarity, output ease and general no hassle operation.
The Canon iP4600 has it all; have tested it at setup and find it way above par in those areas. I would recommend this good looking little printer to pros as well as to family and friends for
small format printing of any kind.
Will wait to rate the ink consumption and durability as time goes on. Back in a month or so.
Thanks Canon!
23 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA iP4600
Nickname: jodi
Location: Hermosa Beach, California
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

great printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 16, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, Easy Setup, easy to use, Sharp Tones & Colors
I just received this printer - if you take the time to read the instructions first, it will be very easy to set up - I'm 67 and did it in no time using a mac. photo printing quality is beautiful - love it.
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site