Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / EOS Cameras Reviews / EOS Digital Cameras Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop EOS Digital Cameras or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
4.57 out of 5
4.66 out of 5
4.602 out of 5
4.358 out of 5

Customer Reviews for EOS Rebel XS 18-55IS Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

EOS Rebel XS 18-55IS Kit

Average Customer Rating:
4.701 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(241 Reviews) 240
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (241 reviews)
5 stars
188
4 stars
43
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
4
227 out of 241(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EOS Rebel XS 18-55IS Kit
Review 1 for EOS Rebel XS 18-55IS Kit
Nickname: tdog
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Very happy

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 5, 2013
Have had this camera for five years and have had zero problems with it and still taking very good pictures.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EOS Rebel XS 18-55IS Kit
Nickname: mantracker
Location: AZ
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 20, 2012
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Heavy/Bulky
Used this camera while out in the snow and wilderness and works great.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EOS Rebel XS 18-55IS Kit
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Baton Rouge
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Not bad!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 26, 2012
Pros: light, easy to use, great in full auto, great in full manual, cost
Cons: low mega pixels
For the price the Rebel XS is a very good camera. I really don't have any complaints even though I use a 60D and a 20D. After I purchased the 60D I thought I would only use the XS for dangerous situations like the beach or parties but I find it hard to put down. For the dollars you spend I'm very pleased with this little DSLR!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EOS Rebel XS 18-55IS Kit
Nickname: shooter
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Love the Canon techology

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 30, 2012
Pros: great lenses, quick response, easy to get use to, great focus
Cons: maybe be "bulky" for instant users
Use to have a A1 film camera worked great for years then upgraded to this digital and I love the quality of the pictures and the family loves to borrow it for great photos. it has great response to quick situations and has great attachments as needed.
Review 5 for EOS Rebel XS 18-55IS Kit
Nickname: Scott G
Location: Indianola, IA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Great for beginner

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 3, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I have been using this camera to take pictures of my baby girl since the beginning of Nov 2010 and I have to say, this is a fine camera! I have only ever used point and shoot cameras before this one and that was the reason I went with such a simple DSLR. This camera has everything a beginner needs and if you are just taking pictures of your children, this one (or the T3) will be great! Just remember, the quality of picture has more to do with composition and the person pushing the button than it does with the camera. Once you learn how to "frame" your shot, this camera can produce amazing images. I would definitely recommend this camera (or the T3) to anyone getting started in photography.
17 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EOS Rebel XS 18-55IS Kit
Nickname: blandone
Location: Denver
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

good beginner cameras

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:September 29, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Poor build quality
great camera for three and half years, took beautiful pictures and never had a problem till the mother board went out than I had a paper weight
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EOS Rebel XS 18-55IS Kit
Nickname: Ciana
Location: Wrentham, MA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Malfunctioned

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:September 20, 2011
Pros: good battery life, excellent image quality, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: card reader malfunctioned
I bought this camera after having a canon powershot that went through the ringer. I had the camera for years and I bought the rebelxs with the expectation that it would be built with the same standards. I originally loved this camera. I got some great shots. However after I had the camera for about 2 years, the camera stopped reading memory cards. I tried several different cards, formatting them etc and losing all the pictures I had on them. For the price I paid for it, I am ticked that it only lasted a little while. Fortunately I had bought the camera with an extended warranty from another company. When the camera could not be fixed they gave me an upgrade to the T3. Hopefully I won't have any problems with this camera.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EOS Rebel XS 18-55IS Kit
Nickname: JudyKay
Location: Missouri
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Having fun with my first digital camera!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 15, 2011
Pros: quiet, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Have been taking photos of the new grandbaby! I'm able to see right away if it's good or not. Have a nice 35 mm film camera but trying to come up to speed in the digital world. I like the features of the camera. I expect to take even better photos as I experiment and practice with my Canon.
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EOS Rebel XS 18-55IS Kit
Nickname: Nick
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

The Best Gift I've Ever Received!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 9, 2011
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
This was a Father's Day gift from my wife. She really surprised me because I had no idea she was looking for a camera for me. I've never owned a SLR camera because I always used the point and shoot type of cameras.
This camera is awesome! All the different features, the ease of use, the picture quality, etc.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EOS Rebel XS 18-55IS Kit
Nickname: Clay
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Awsome Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 3, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Solid Operation
This is an exxelent camera! I love it It has great photo quality along with fast shutter preformance. I've had this camera since last summer ans so far i've been wowed with its amazing features and overall preformance. I accidentaly left it on for two weeks and it still had full battery. I definatley recommend this product to a friend this camera is the best I have ever used. I simply love it.
It's the best
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EOS Rebel XS 18-55IS Kit
Nickname: rocha
Location: Brazil
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Great image quality

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 29, 2011
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Solid Operation
Far from the oversaturated, oversharpened, soft and wrong color rendition of any compact camera. Not suitable for "point and shot" compact camera users, as happens with any other dSLR, because it DOES require knowing exposure, depth of field, white balance, focusing and lighting techniques. Advice: If you don't want to care about these things, forget about any dSLR and get a compact camera. Perfect for people with a low budget wanting to know real photography techiniques. Great image quality, just perfect natural color rendering at Neutral picture style (I do not use any other picture style anymore - violets and oranges not converted into reds anymore), can deliver perfect results with a good knowledge of image post-processing. Neutral / Contrast+1 / Saturation+2 renders great results out of the camera. Due to weaker antialiasing filter, it is the most sharp 10Mp ever made, delivering sharper results than any 12MP or 14Mp dSLR, all this on smaller RAW files (but loses on demosaicing and noise reduction to large resolution sensors). An bounceable external flash with AF-assist turns it on a completely different camera in terms of flexibility and performance. Also a 50mm f/1.8 and 55-250mm are great adds.
8 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EOS Rebel XS 18-55IS Kit
Nickname: JB
Location: Hoosick Falls, NY
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Fantastic results

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 28, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Really good, detailed photos. As a test, we do our cats and look for fur, whiskers, sharpness. Most work is done for calendars or picture puzzles and anti-shake feature is a plus. The colors are spot-on.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EOS Rebel XS 18-55IS Kit
Nickname: Anonymous
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 20, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Dim LCD
I have been using this camera for about 2 years. This is my first DSLR and I have learned a ton. This camera is great for BEGINNERS. I take a lot of pictures of birds in flight to sports, so I am going to upgrade to a newer Canon because I need faster FPS and a bigger buffer. The 10 mp is great, and have not had any IQ problems. One thing that has really annoyed me is the buffer and the RAW shooting. Unfortunatly, you cannot shoot at 3 fps with RAW. Which is dissapointing, because sometimes, you do have to edit highlights, and brightness, cropping etc. because of your shooting conditions. The LCD isn't the best, but it is still very usable. Sometimes the AF doesn't focus fast enough for me, and what I do, but for stills, and beginners, it is excellent. The XSi is also great, but to save money, and get a DSLR thats just as good, go for the XS. Very pleased with the XS.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for EOS Rebel XS 18-55IS Kit
Nickname: mia
Location: Saratoga Spring, NY
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Great camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 15, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Solid Operation, easy to use
Takes amazing pictures, even when using the automated functions. I have no photography experience and people keep commenting on how fantastic my pictures are. This camera is well worth the money. I am very happy with this purchase.
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for EOS Rebel XS 18-55IS Kit
Nickname: Onigiri
Location: Wallace, ID
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Great Camera for the Price

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 6, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Solid Operation
Cons: Dim LCD
I bought it nearly a year ago and I'm impressed with it. I thought that having a DSLR camera was difficult to use and have to learn a lot. But with the Rebel XS it helped me achieve a lot of great quality pictures.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for EOS Rebel XS 18-55IS Kit
Nickname: Kori24601
Location: Detriot, MI
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

Awesome Camera!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 25, 2011
Pros: quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I have had my Rebel xs for almost six months now, and I LOVE it! I have seen a lot of reviews from other people complaining that the XS is small and feels too lightweight, but as an average sized woman (5'6") with average size woman hands this camera fits me. It feels natural and comfortable, but still solid and not at all cheap. My husband, who is 6'5" is also comfortable shooting with my camera, though I don't let him very often because I have it with me all of the time. I would highly recomend this camera to anyone. I have been taking photography classes and reading my manuel and have learned things I didn't realize were possible with such an inexpensive Canon DSLR. Buy it!
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for EOS Rebel XS 18-55IS Kit
Nickname: Kitty
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Pretty Satisfied

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 25, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Quick Start-up time, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Missing features/settings
This camera is perfect for any beginner photographer or a person who takes pictures as a hobby. Right now for just taking pictures with my friends it's perfect! But, if you want it for a more professional job, this is not the right camera. In the near future, I am going to purchase the T3i for more advanced uses. Overall, though, I am very happy with my purchase.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for EOS Rebel XS 18-55IS Kit
Nickname: Charlotte
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Good for when I was 11

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 19, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, great to start out with
Cons: noisy, low megapixels, no background blur
Got this camera as my first SLR when I was 11, it is a fantastic camera if you are just starting out and if you are on a budget. The general features(aperture, ISO, shutter speed) are good when there is enough light because using the high ISO results in a very noisy picture. The shutter speed is good but I was never able to use the 1/4000 because it would always end up being too dark. I also found myself wishing it had more mega-pixels. But, I was at the time very very happy with this camera but I am very serious about photography now and planning on upgrading(I'm 15 now) and the camera has lasted that long. :) So great buy if you are a beginner, I highly recommend it to anyone who wishes to make the move from point-and-shoots to SLRs :)
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for EOS Rebel XS 18-55IS Kit
Nickname: troutwaters3
Location: pa
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

nice starting camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 15, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, easy to use
This camera is a lot of fun to use. It's easy for beginners like myself. Has enough Auto settings that I can take great pics right out of the box. I am learning how to use the other features (which there are many) and I am having fun learning how to use them.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for EOS Rebel XS 18-55IS Kit
Nickname: Donny
Location: Port Saint Lucie Fl
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years

Canon is still the leader

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 4, 2011
Pros: Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, Solid Operation
Cons: rubber cable door
I have been with Canon since 1984. I still have my Canon T50 35mm and I worry about 35 mm film going away. That camera was the best, and I will never part with it.
I now have a Canon Rebel XS and I have nothing but good to say about it over all. It is not noisy, in fact I like a camera that lets you know it is working. The only thing I really do not like is the rubber door for the computer cable hookup.
I would have liked it to be like the battery door , a good solid part of the camera with a positive open and close latch.
You have to pry the rubber cable door open and it's a distraction to me. Other than that, you can't go worng for what this camera offers in this price range.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site