Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / PIXMA MP Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PIXMA MP Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PIXMA MP980

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PIXMA MP980

Average Customer Rating:
3.267 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(75 Reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (75 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
18
3 stars
4
2 stars
8
1 star
20
39 out of 75(52%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PIXMA MP980
Review 1 for PIXMA MP980
Nickname: Mr Grumpy
Location: Whidbey Island, WA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent...except

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2014
Pros: reliable, High Quality Output
Cons: Difficult Setup
I am used to macs "just working" without much setup effort. The software associated with this printer is not very intuitive and not very user friendly once you do figure it out. I have spent quite a bit of time trying to get the wireless feature of this printer to work and have made it connect to scan but not to print so it has been very frustrating and of no real use.
That being said, the print quality of this printer is fantastic. I do wish the actual print was more water resistant.
Review 2 for PIXMA MP980
Nickname: rottmc
Location: California
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Worst ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 23, 2011
Cons: configuration issues, freezes randomly, consumes more ink that any printer very expensive
I have a lot of problems on windows 7, every time that I fix something another part need to be reconfigurated, hard to setup. expensive cardriges consumes more ink that any printer
11 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PIXMA MP980
Nickname: Vickster
Location: USA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Worst printer ever

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 5, 2010
Pros: has a high quality appearnce
Cons: consumes more ink that any printer i have ever see
I have had this printer for awhile rarely do I print so when I had read the reviews of how much ink this machine uses I didn't feel concerned. The first ink tanks emptied out rather quickly with very little use....maybe 10 pgs over a period of a couple months. When I replaced the ink at rather a high expense and once again only have printed out maybe 10 pages (all text...no photos) well now the ink is out again in 3 of the tanks...this printer is horrible I will never again buy Canon This machine should never have been released to consumers.
12 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PIXMA MP980
Nickname: ugh
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

stay away

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 4, 2010
Pros: good image quality, easy to set up, wireless is nice
Cons: uses way too much ink
This uses so much ink its rediculous. most of it is used in the pre-prep for turning it on. maybe if you never turn it off, the ink will last longer. I've never had a printer use so much ink without printing.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PIXMA MP980
Nickname: joetommy
Location: Plainsboro, NJ
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Terribly Disappointed

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 24, 2010
Pros: makes lot of money for canon in ink sales, wireless
Cons: too slow for first page out, wastes ink, hard to setup
In the last one year I had this printer with me I have only used it a couple of times. To print a sheet it takes about 2-3 minutes of preparation. It makes this rickety racket making you think there is actually a printing press going on inside. And once it starts printing, its fairly fast. Fast in drinking up the ink. A full cartridge has lasted me for a unbelievable14 sheets of web content, mostly text
Scanner is so slow it pains me even to think about it. I bought hoping I'll be able to scan all my old photographs and negatives. It will have to wait until I sell this off to some poor soul and buy some thing that I can actually use.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PIXMA MP980
Nickname: bann
Location: New York, NY
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

worst purchase ever!

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 12, 2010
Aside from using way more ink (with minimal printing)--this machine breaks down far more than any other printer we have ever owned. DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PIXMA MP980
Nickname: Jose
Location: Fresno, CA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

The worst printer I ever bought

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 29, 2010
I bought this printer for scanning and some color work. I do most of my printing on a laser printer.
This printer is always running out of ink. I replaced the ink cartrudges severak times and do a minimal amount of printing. Not a single photo or anything that uses lots of ink, nevertheless the printer runs out of ink.
I will get a hammer to this printer, make a video of it and post it on the internet.
I have purchased the last Canon product of my life.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PIXMA MP980
Nickname: Boardwalk
Location: Northern VA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Not Economical

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 25, 2010
Pros: picture quality, ease of use after setup, scan/pdf conversion
Cons: ink consumption, installation, not intuitive, huge footprint
I saw the product pictures and decided to give the printer a try. I should have seen the message on the wall about ink usage. This printer by far uses more ink than ANY other printer I have owned. Photo quality is great, but not worth the amount of ink used.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PIXMA MP980
Nickname: DAS_TN

It really doesn't matter

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 11, 2010
Pros: wireless
Cons: ink consumption
It really doesn't matter how good this printer is - it uses an insane amount of ink. I really use the printer infrequently - however it seems that it is constantly out of ink. The ink warning messages begin within a few sheets after loading all new cartridges. Has anyone mentioned the price of ink??
For the next printer (and I'm about done feeding ink to this one) I will certainly be on the lookout for stats on ink consumption.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PIXMA MP980
Nickname: Rich
Location: Jersey City, NJ
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

DO NOT BUY IT

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 19, 2010
Pros: Easy Setup
Cons: High Ink Consumption
I don't think I've ever really spent the time to review a product but I have to for this one.
I have had this for almost a year and the amount of ink this thing goes through is ridiculous. I don't even print in color and I am already on my second set of color inks. Everything that people right about the ink issue is true. Do not buy this unless you want to spend a lot of money on inks. If you do want to buy one then please let me know since I am going to get something else.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PIXMA MP980
Nickname: Imacer
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 12, 2010
Pros: Easy Setup
Cons: use to much ink.
Printer sucks up to much ink. Would recommend to buy. Bottom line sucks up to much ink.
Review 12 for PIXMA MP980
Nickname: DMV
Location: HI
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

INK WASTER

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 13, 2010
Cons: High Ink Consumption
Worst product purchased. Waste of ink. Ink guzzler.
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PIXMA MP980
Nickname: tsumm2NY
Location: NY
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

HORRIBLE

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 12, 2010
Cons: Heavy/Bulky, High Ink Consumption
Overall this is a good product, color is amazing, wireless printing is a plus, but the ink consumption ruins what could have been a great product. because of that I would not recommend at all- to anyone.
Canon usually makes a great product - but this one is a zero.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PIXMA MP980
Nickname: Maverick
Location: NSW Australia
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great MFP let down by excessive ink usage

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 6, 2010
Pros: Easy Setup, Sharp Tones & Colors, easy to use
Cons: Large Footprint, Heavy/Bulky, High Ink Consumption
The scanner and printer work very well and the unit does more than I will ever want however it is let down by the excessive ink consumption. I have done very little printing and already have had to purchase ink costing half the units purchase price. Also not having the choice to print with only the black ink is a major drawback.
Very poor effort Canon
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PIXMA MP980
Nickname: resyst
Location: Lompoc CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

dissatisfied

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 1, 2010
Pros: reliable, Easy Setup, Sharp Tones & Colors, easy to use
Cons: Slow Print Speed, Large Footprint, Heavy/Bulky, High Ink Consumption, Flimsy Construction, no way to select black printing
I was looking for a replacement home printer for my Canon S750 and I seen this MP980 and it looked like it might be a good unit with all of the features that it had and the good luck I had with previous canon printers. Although it had a larger foot print and was bigger it was going to replace a printer and a scanner. When I got it home un packed it and found the setup to be very easy and I set it up to print in gray tones, it seemed to be working great until 2 weeks later a warning appeared on the screen that 3 of the ink pots needed replacing and one of those was a gray color. Much to my dismay when I went looking for those ink cartridges I found all of the colors except the gray and they were at a very high price. I had to go online and found all of the colors I needed and the price was a little better, it took 10 days to get them. They didnt last any longer. It seems to cycle or clean the heads too often which my other printers did not do so often. When I print photos with this unit the ink goes very fast, it does have good quality. Scanner produces fairly good images. I should have read more reviews on this before purchasing this hog. After this I experience i do not want to mess with it any longer. Out looking!
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PIXMA MP980
Nickname: Paul
Location: Wisconsin
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Stay Away

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 10, 2010
Pros: reliable, easy to use
Cons: Slow Print Speed, High Ink Consumption
Ridiculously high ink consumption and slow warming up due to several head cleanings.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PIXMA MP980
Nickname: NolongerloveCanon
Location: Dallas, TX
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast

Big League Ink Drinker

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 25, 2010
Pros: Easy Setup, Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: Slow Print Speed, High Ink Consumption
We have been absolutely shocked at the ink usage of this printer. It prints MAYBE 100 pages at the lowest quality in BandW, and empties the black well and 2 or 3 colors. The biggest problem seems to be that it "cleans" itself or something like that before and after every "series" of pages printed. This means that if you print one page and stop, it will automatically go through this elongated process of drinking a ton of ink, and then it will do it again before you print the next page. It also does the same dance when you power it on.
Also, if it sits idle for any period of time, it takes about a minute and a half to start up and print the first page. Basically, any print speed or ink usage specs have to be based on printing many, many pages continuously. If you do that, you might be happy with this printer. Otherwise, run away from this thing as fast as you can.
My wife and I have both been loyal Canon customers literally all our lives, many cameras and printers. After this experience, all that loyalty is GONE. We don't see how we can ever trust Canon again.
16 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PIXMA MP980
Nickname: jojesa
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Tons of features ink waster

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 4, 2009
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, Easy Setup, Sharp Tones & Colors, easy to use
Cons: Slow Print Speed, High Ink Consumption
Excellent image quality, copies photos very well, great scanning capabilities including negative film and slides. Easy to set up and built-in wireless networking.
This machine would have been the perfect multifunction if it wasn’t wasting so much ink.
After the black ink ran out, according to the unit, I was able to continue printing for more than a month.
The last time the black ink ran out, again according to the unit, I continue printing and obtained 123 printed pages with text and graphics. The color doesn’t fair better.
This machine is a gold mine for Canon if you throw out the ink cartridge when the machine suggests. Just click OK on the machine and continue printing until it actually runs out of ink.
Another annoying issue is the delay to start printing the first page; that counteracts the speed of the machine.
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PIXMA MP980
Nickname: Dave
Location: Lafayette, LA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Quality/features ruined by high ink consumption

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 16, 2009
Pros: Easy Setup, fast print speed, Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: High Ink Consumption
I should have known better. I wanted to believe the ink issues I'd read here and at the site where I bought the printer, were just spurious incidents. I really wanted this to be the ultimate printer for me. Instead, it will likely only be the ultimate scanner, and the ink consumption is so absurdly ridiculous that my impression of the brand as a whole is dropping precipitously.
Setup and installation were a breeze. We have both a Mac and PC at home. The packaging ensure a safe arrival, and the instructions for setup of the printer were clear. I loaded the ink cartridges with no problem. We set up my macbook first, in a wired configuration, and got it connected quickly. Then I followed the instructions and easily set up my wife's WinXP PC using the wireless connectivity, that was easy as well. Once she was set up with that, I went back in to my MacBook and setup wireless with it. All worked well and connectivity was absolutely simple.
Scanning quality is excellent. The on printer menus are easy to follow. I have had some problems when scanning from my MacBook with the printer indicating it is not available. Scanning multi-page pdf's from the printer to a USB is simple, with good results.
Print quality is very good, and the printer is fast, once it has completed its all-too-often nozzle cleaning.
THat leads me back to the overwhelming impression one draws from this otherwise fine machine -- where does all the ink go? I haven't printed more than 20 or 30 document pages (not photos) over the two months I've had this device, yet my color cartridges show about 1/3 remaining. The black ink (there are two of those) by contrast, still show full.
Unfortunately, the feature set and quality of output can't justify the high ink consumption. Don't follow my footsteps and not pay heed to the reviewers.
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PIXMA MP980
Nickname: Tamark
Location: Wausau, WI
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Bought to convert negatives and documents

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 8, 2009
Pros: easy to use, fast print speed, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors, preview screen
Cons: long "warm-up", set up is not "plug and play" on a network
We needed to convert, print and save old 35MM negatives and documents. The retailer came up with a deal that was too good to pass up. We are very pleased with the purchase and consider it a good fit to use with our other Canon purchases, (35MM AE1, PowerShot A630 and Rebel T1i). I would have given it 5 Stars in all categories except I do not like what seems to be a long warm-up prior to starting a print job. That is the only down side of the printer to me. Once it starts printing it does produce the work in an acceptable amount of time. I would highly recommend it.
3 of 7 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site