Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Camcorders Reviews / Flash Memory Camcorders Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Flash Memory Camcorders or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products
5 out of 5
4.727 out of 5
4.625 out of 5
4.25 out of 5

Customer Reviews for VIXIA HF11

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

VIXIA HF11

Average Customer Rating:
4.727 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 11(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for VIXIA HF11
Review 1 for VIXIA HF11
Nickname: MikeM
Location: Western Colorado
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Great camera, using the video is a pain

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 1, 2010
Pros: excellent image quality, easy to use, good memory capacity
Cons: Difficult Computer Connectivity, Limited Software Compatibility
I love pretty much everything about the CAMERA, but the software/computer connectivity is terrible. When using the Pixela software to download the video, you can view the video. But you can't do much else! The video is encoded in MTS format, which makes no sense from a consumer's perspective. What, as the average person, can you do with MTS? I'll tell you - you have to convert it into something useful. There are a few utilities out there to do this, most of them costing from $59 up. I use PCs and Macs both, but I edit with Final Cut (on a Mac of course). The only way to import the video is to use Final Cut's "log and transfer" utility. You can't import the files directly from the memory, which shows up as an external hard drive on the Mac's desktop. Thank goodness Apple at least planned for allowing editors to get at MTS formatted video. This is a great camera, but if you buy it, plan on spending a lot of energy getting at the video files.
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for VIXIA HF11
Nickname: oakley2414
Location: Point Pleasant, NJ
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Can't find anything negative

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 17, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy Computer Connectivity, Great sound/audio, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use, Good Software Compatibility, Good Low-Light Performance
I bought this camcorder for use with my MacBook Pro. The connection with IMovie 09' is great. So far I have found no problems. Knowing the battery life when I bought the camera I simply purchased a few extra. I was unsure about buying this camcorder when I read a few of the other reviews. Glad they were wrong.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for VIXIA HF11
Nickname: Jeff
Location: Austin, TX
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great camera but...

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 8, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Great sound/audio, easy to use, Good Software Compatibility, Good Low-Light Performance
Cons: Uncomfortable to hold, no eyepiece, design doesn't aid accurate shoting, doesn't fit tight into tripod shoe
I like this camera and use it often but there are a couple problems with it that drive me crazy.
There is no eyepiece making it very difficult when shoting sports and tracking the action. Instead you end up having to watch the action on the LCD you're trying to shot.
Next the shape of the camera doesn't lend itself to maintaining a horizontal picture. It always seems to be leaning to oneside or the other.
It doesn't attach to tripods well and spins in the shoe.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for VIXIA HF11
Nickname: Method
Location: Atlanta, GA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Very Good but not Perfect

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 25, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, durable, easy to use
Cons: Difficult Computer Connectivity, Short battery life, Limited Software Compatibility, slow transfer speeds from internal storage
This is a very good camera that takes very good video quality. I wanted a storage solution with no moving parts, so I looked at the AVCHD solution vs Tape. You need a pretty hefty computer to edit AVCHD but my computer is pretty beefy so I can edit without any stutter / slowdowns. Another thing is that it takes forever (upwards of 10 minutes) to transfer a video off of the camera's internal 32GB memory. I dual boot Vista and XP and in both cases it took forever to transfer a 5 minute sample video from the camera to the computer. With flash memory prices dropping I highly recommend you getting 16GB SDHC cards with a memory card reader, the video files transfer much faster this way. I'll only use the 32GB internal memory as a last resort.
The video quality is great, I usually record at the MXP 24mbps setting at either 30p or 24p (for cinema effect). If you don't know much about these settings there's an "easy button" like you see in those commercials and the camera does all the work for you. It also does a pretty darn good job might I add. Audio is decent, nothing home to write about, it gets the job done. When watching video from this camera on my DLP or LCD, I'm amazed that this little thing can capture such great video. My friends and family are also amazed at the picture quality and they all want one now as well. I highly recommend this camera, oh yeah, I would get an extra extended battery... The bundled battery lasts a little bit over an hour. The extended battery for me lasts almost 3 times longer.
34 of 36 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for VIXIA HF11
Nickname: Van425
Location: Philadelphia
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Crystal Clear except on the computer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 29, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity
Cons: Short battery life, Limited Software Compatibility
When connected directly to a hi-def TV the video is better than expected and pausing the playback provides stills that are motionless and amazingly sharp.
When using the included software to playback downloaded files via a computer, the video is softer and pausing results in stills that are blurry double images.
Record time using the included battery is a bit short, but the optional higher capacity batteries solve the problem.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for VIXIA HF11
Nickname: Scoot'r
Location: Chicago, IL
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Awesome camera/so so battery

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 23, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, Great sound/audio, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use, Good Software Compatibility, Good Low-Light Performance
Cons: Short battery life, audio lacks a little bottom end
I bought this camera as an upgrade for my personal use and for my amateur video production facility. The images are fantastic. Works great in low light clubs (I shoot bands mostly). The stills are a little grainy, but not too bad. My only issue is the battery it comes with doesn't last as long as there is memory to record.
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for VIXIA HF11
Nickname: RM
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Painfully slow transfers

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 27, 2008
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use
Cons: Difficult Computer Connectivity
Just got this camera for Christmas. Very easy to use and the videos are beautiful, but the data transfer off of the camera is painfully slow. Transfers take 5x as long as the playback time, even when you do it directly through Windows. I never had this problem with my old hard drive based camera.
24 of 29 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for VIXIA HF11
Nickname: Bob
Location: New York City,NY
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

One of the BEST camcorders right now.

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 1, 2008
Pros: excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity, Easy Computer Connectivity, Accurate, Vivid Colors, good battery life, Great sound/audio, durable, easy to use, Good Low-Light Performance
Cons: Uncomfortable to hold, Flimsy Construction, Limited Software Compatibility
Great Small Camcorder with Great Picture Quality. I took a look at this Camcorder from a Friend and i was amazed by the Image. Its small and little hard to get used too but its a great camorder for anyone looking for one now. i was deciding between this or a sony and i choose the canon for its specs and performence.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for VIXIA HF11
Nickname: dbkguy

Great HD Camcorder Except

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 30, 2008
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Ergonomic/comfortable to hold, easy to use
Cons: Limited Software Compatibility, can't use as a web cam, have to have power pack connected to import videos
I really like this camcorder. I have one problem with it and it's more of a software problem. I use a MacBook Pro and the software only partly works. The camera window software does not work. If it asks for camera or memory go with memory at least you can can your videos off it then. Also even if you use the SDHC card to use it with iMovie you need to import it from the camera. I bought it so I could copy it from the card, so this is a big disappointment. I have no complaints about the camera except you can not used it as a web cam.
45 of 53 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for VIXIA HF11
Nickname: ZDrake
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Great, but less then a Canon

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 26, 2008
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Accurate, Vivid Colors, easy to use, lots of great accesories
Cons: low still resolution
This camera is very good! I love the look and feel, as well as the usuall outstanding Canon image quality. The only thing I would change is the still image resolution. I went shopping for camcorders and I noticed all these brands had camcorders that recodred huge megapixel stills, but not Canon. Photoshop can easily upscale any image of course, but I would like to see Canon live up to thier name and have the best camera on the market.
28 of 31 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for VIXIA HF11
Nickname: Flash Gordon
Location: NY, NY
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Best Dual Flash Memory Camcorder

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 21, 2008
Pros: Compact Design, excellent image quality, Easy TV Connectivity
Very compact camcorder. The quality is amazing. Full HD recording to view on your HDTV.
31 of 51 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site