Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / Printers & Multifunction Reviews / SELPHY Compact Photo Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop SELPHY Compact Photo Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for SELPHY ES3

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

SELPHY ES3

Average Customer Rating:
4.125 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
6 out of 8(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for SELPHY ES3
Review 1 for SELPHY ES3
Nickname: Ron
Location: Granby, MA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Crafts/Scrapbooking
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 1, 2011
Pros: reliable, Compact Design, durable, Lightweight/Portable, Sharp Tones & Colors, fast print speed, easy to use
We used it for our wedding as a photo-booth prop. The pictures printed great and fast. The printer was plug and play for other non-canon cameras as well provided the cable was available. Memory cards slots were also available
Review 2 for SELPHY ES3
Nickname: gale
Location: Tulsa, OK
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best printer ever, easy and compact

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 15, 2011
Pros: portable
Cons: canan is ceasing production
The best printer ever made my canon, I have two others and they are complicated and hard to manage and not to mention non-portable. This printer also makes clear and concice printes and love the way you can make several diffferent titles and borders all at the same time and the paper and ink that are made together takes out the guess work when it's time to purchase that, I was told that Canon was going to quit making them, well what a sad day that will be!!!! Might have to move over to different brand....
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for SELPHY ES3
Nickname: Photo Lover
Location: Reading, PA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

I Love This Little Printer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 23, 2010
Pros: small, fast, reliable, fun
Cons: only prints 4x6, have to order cartridge refills online, prints dark so you have to lighten
I got this printer mostly for event printing and for give-aways at portraits sessions. Clients LOVE it - it makes the sale, and I just love this little printer. I have my camera tethered to my laptop and can either use Lightroom or Picasa to quickly make a dry print. For events I can let the person choose a photo and in less than a minute I have a photo that I can charge $5 for. I love the no fuss cartridges when outdoors printing. This whole thing fits into the small suitcase I use for carrying around my equipment. It's definitely a special use printer but really worth it for what I wanted to use it for. It does tend to print darker than what's on the screen so I sharpen and lighten about 25% before printing.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for SELPHY ES3
Nickname: Robin
Location: Northwest
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Poor quality prints

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 19, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Dull Tones & Colors
The ES3 produces very poor quality prints. No matter how much I increase brightness, contrast or saturation settings on the printer itself, the prints are dark and lifeless. Other dye sublimation printers usually produce deep well saturated colours - the reason you go for a dye sub printer. This device doesn't even approach the quality of a mediocre inkjet. On the bright side the unit is small and compact but that doesn't count for much when the output is so poor.
13 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for SELPHY ES3
Nickname: 2tacodogsmom
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast

Gorgeous pictures

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 9, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, Lightweight/Portable, durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed, Low Ink Consumption, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors
The quality of the pictures is exceptional. They look like high quality postcards. I like the convenience of the ink cartridge and paper in the same packaging. Everyone thinks the pictures were done by a professional, which I am not!
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for SELPHY ES3
Nickname: JME
Location: New York, NY
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Best Photo Printer Ever

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 16, 2009
Pros: Compact Design, Lightweight/Portable, durable, Easy Setup, easy to use, fast print speed, Low Ink Consumption, reliable, Sharp Tones & Colors
Cons: could print a tad faster
I'm so happy with my Selphy ES3, not only are the pics vibrant and detailed, but better than printing a 4x6 at my local photo shops. The convenience of this printer is extraordinary. I know how excactly how many prints I am going to get, no guesses on the amount of toner or ink consumed. Just insert the cartridge and print. I wish Canon made a 8x10 printout version of this printer.
20 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for SELPHY ES3
Nickname: tm
Location: charleston sc
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 12, 2008
Pros: Compact Design, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Slow Print Speed, High Ink Consumption, no regular photo paper only post card paper
can not find the paper to print regular photos. The only photo paper is for postcards.
Not happy with this product for this main reason. Went back to using my other printer
33 of 46 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for SELPHY ES3
Nickname: RJT
Location: Seattle
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Excellent Little Printer, But Not Perfect

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 4, 2008
Pros: cheap prints from home, excellent print quality, very user friendly, build in handle is excellent, very good build quality
Cons: takes longer than 55 seconds to print, prints are slightly crooked, low resolution screen, no touch screen (unlike the competition), white balance is not adjustable, paper has tear-off edges
This is truly a photo printer where a computer is optional. The user interface is very user friendly and easy to navigate. Scrolling through large batches of photos is quick and painless. Printing a photo literally takes the push of one button. The "Creative" options are fun, albeit limited in their use.
-
That said, here's a couple of things to note:
-
It takes way longer than 55 seconds to print a picture. If you look at the fine print of that statement, Canon measures the time from the start of the first ribbon (yellow). The fact that it takes 30 seconds to extract the paper, rotate it, and align it evidently doesn't count.
-
Because it rotates each print 90 degrees prior to printing, the resulting image prints slightly crooked. It's not noticeable on most snapshots, but if you're printing a photo with any straight lines near the edge of the print (like one of the calendar templates), it will be obvious that it's crooked.
-
Once a photo is being printed, the screen is locked and unusable until the print is complete. Forget multi-tasking.
-
The editing functions are very limited. For example, if you blew the white balance, the printer can't change it. You'll have to do that via a computer then print it. Considering white balance has a huge impact on the photo, is very disappointing that this is not adjustable with the printer.
-
-
Despite the negatives, I'm very impressed with this little printer. It's perfect for printing snapshots of the family and the print quality is top notch.
106 of 107 people found this review helpful.
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site