Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / PowerShot A Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PowerShot A Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot A1000 IS Gray

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot A1000 IS Gray

Average Customer Rating:
4.632 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(95 Reviews) 93
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (95 reviews)
5 stars
73
4 stars
14
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
0
85 out of 95(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot A1000 IS Gray
Review 1 for PowerShot A1000 IS Gray
Nickname: Mimiofseven
Location: Pensacola, Florida
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 8, 2011
I love my PowerShot! I keep it in my purse. Being a grandmother, you never know when it may be needed to take that special picture. The photos and videos are great quality. Perfect for sharing with family and friends. I have recently purchased a PowerShot SX30IS (super zoom) but will continue to carry my smaller PowerShot with me at all times.
8 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot A1000 IS Gray
Nickname: bhmommy
Location: Lafayette, LA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Always changing batteries

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 12, 2010
Cons: no battery life
I have the continuting problem of low batteries with this camera. I have heard many times that Canon is a good camera, but I am very disappointed. It seemed to work fine in the beginning, but just kept getting worse. As soon as I put in new batteries and take one picture, the camera shuts off and says "change batteries". Sadly, I could not take a picture of my son's first day of school because of this problem. :(
24 of 26 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot A1000 IS Gray
Nickname: blinftoe
Location: Los Angles
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Semi Pro tried this, got at a great price

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 2, 2010
Used it twice and like it.
Easy to use. I tried it 2 times, so far so good.
Review 4 for PowerShot A1000 IS Gray
Nickname: nufsober
Location: Arkansas
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

GREATEST CAMERA FOR ME!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 3, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, large viewing screen
I started out using a Canon product that had all of 3 mega pixels. I sell items on ebay, I'm NOT a professional photographer. This 10.0 mega pixel camera is LIGHT YEARS ahead of what I thought I could use. Easy, fast, reliable, has a power cord so that I can conserve battery life and plug into any outlet! Self contained, lens retracts to keep from getting scratched! TRY IT, YOU'LL LIKE IT!!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot A1000 IS Gray
Nickname: mmjse
Location: Missouri
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Appreicated the Optical Image Stabilizer

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 18, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: Complicated controls/menu
Bought the camera for a trip to the southwest. We traveled by car. I was delighted to be able to take pictures (while car in motion) and have them turn out perfectly. I'm still learning features but that is part of the fun. Great camera. I'd recommend it to anyone.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot A1000 IS Gray
Nickname: Paschal
Location: Southeast
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Great little camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 3, 2010
Bought this camera as the a1100is was being phased in as its replacement, which, also is now starting to disappear from retailers. It appears as though Canon is phasing out point and shoots that use AA type batteries, and to me this is sad. There is no doubt that the Lithium Ion battery packs will far outlast a pair of AA rechargeables by a factor of a bit more than twice as many shots, but I can buy two dozen NIMH baterries for the price of one LI-ION pack, and charge 12 at a time. In a worst case situation can always use alkalines.
The other objection many people have is that the AA batteries add a bit of bulk to the camera over the LI-ION type.....To me, worth the bulk....
Aside from the battery soapbox, this is good camera, works well, not bad on recovery for next shot, and easy to tote around...the 4x optical is 1x above most point and shoots, and color reality is good. I also have a Dimage A-2, while getting long in the tooth on the more pro side, does not get used as much anymore...due to the ease and quality from this unit.
Hope it will continue to perform as it has for nearly a year....have been very happy with it.
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot A1000 IS Gray
Nickname: 4-Hphotographer
Location: Chewelah WA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur

Good point and shoot.

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 5, 2010
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
This is a really nice point-and-shoot camera for anyone, be you expert of novice. this is an idiot-proof camera, but it has enough features that one can use it for most anything. The strong point for this camera is really the macro. it captures flowers, bees, etc. beautifully.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot A1000 IS Gray
Nickname: Vanessa
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Fantastic!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 20, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
This is my 3rd Cannon digital camera, I doubt I'll ever buy another brand. The image quality is outstanding. The special features are great and easy to use. I always get compliments on my photo's.
-
The only possible issue would be battery life. This camera uses 2 AA batteries. I must say that my previous Cannon's had a rechargeable battery that needed to be charged & depending on your outing or event would be stuck without a camera. With that said, regular AA batteries get blown through quickly. I've read reviews that said they had to purchase batteries a few times in one day-that seems highly excessive & makes me wonder if the camera was left on while not being used.
-
The ONLY way to go battery wise is to by the more expensive Ultimate Lithium batteries. They last at least 5 to 10 times longer than regular AA batteries. I bought the Lithium batteries when I bought this camera and with very frequent use those first 2 batteries lasted approximately 5 months with very frequent use. Then I used regular AA batteries and they only lasted for a couple of outings. In the long run it is much more inexpensive and dependable. I just bought a 4 pack and the cost was $10.50 @ Target.
-
Also-be sure to set your camera to automatically power itself off when not in use & to shut off the LED (while still powered on) but not taking a picture. This will help preserve the life of your batteries.
19 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot A1000 IS Gray
Nickname: big mack
Location: Hummelstown PA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 6, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I still own an AE1 film camera but this A1000IS Power shot is much easier to use and takes outstanding photos. The ease of use is the absolute best.
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot A1000 IS Gray
Nickname: CFM-R
Location: NJ and WI
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

3rd camera purchased

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 5, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Best bought camera, price, size and quality of pictures are sharp. Have had family members and relatives purchase one and no complaints.. I will have 2 upgrade due to being ready for a professional camera.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot A1000 IS Gray
Nickname: JAYMAN
Location: Denver Colorado
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Fun to use and also creative

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 4, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
This is a great camera.
Have used it for the past year and have had zero problems, it takes great pictures no matter what the setting or conditions. I use the best quality rechargeable batteries I can find, and I have had no problems whatsoever. I took a picture on the micro setting in the detail was astonishing, it picked up every detail of the flower and the small beetle that was walking across it.
I highly recommend buying and using this camera.
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot A1000 IS Gray
Nickname: trip
Location: Texas
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

For P&S, doesn't get much better

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 2, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, out-performs all in its price range
I'm a photography and videography enthusiast. Sometimes a small portable camera is needed when traveling, hiking, going out with friends, etc. This one is great. I couldn't be happier with the quality of the pictures and the functionality. This camera is small, light and has great battery life. The only beef I have with the camera is taking pictures at night, in a club or at a concert. You have to set it to night shot and you have to be still and the object you are shooting has to be still or it will blur. However, that is the case with every P&S camera I have ever used and therefore is expected. I will check the box below for "Good Low-Light Performance" because if you take the shot correctly, it does turn out great.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot A1000 IS Gray
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Ohio
Used this product for: more than 1 year

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 4, 2010
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life, use a neck strapnot a hand strap
I had this camera and took it on vacation and it was just terrific. It was easy to use and the pictures were beautiful.. The macro shots I took were equally magnificent. I recommend this camera to anyone who doesn't have a lot of experience with cameras. It's great for a 1'st camera to learn on, and I just love it. I actually dropped the camera and ruined it,and I had to buy a new one. I do recommend to buy a neck strap, and not a hand strap and please everyone,use it. It is very easy to drop your camera and if the lens is out, it is ruined.Don't take a chance. Take care of your camera. This is a terrific camera.It is little and very easy to drop. I just bought my new one and brought a neck strap for it this time.
18 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot A1000 IS Gray
Nickname: spinshooter
Location: Ohio
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

So Surprised

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 18, 2009
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
My husband bought this camera for my birthday, I'm so surprised at how nice it is, and how easy it is to use. We have a bigger DSL that is bulky to take some places, so we had been looking for a small more compact camera to take when we are out hiking or when we need something light weight.
This camera is perfect for taking to friends homes for special occasions and for getting those pics of the grand kids when you need them the most.
16 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerShot A1000 IS Gray
Nickname: unclebob
Location: Okla
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Very handy

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 6, 2009
Pros: good battery life, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: delay for second shot
Nice smaller camera with a viewfinder at a good price.
Use it as a secondary unit to a SLRD to avoid changing lens. Only disappointment is the delay for second shot.
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PowerShot A1000 IS Gray
Nickname: JDL33
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Best camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 25, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
Cons: Complicated controls/menu, Poor Low-Light Performance
I purchased the camera Dec 2007 for a trip to Europe. The camera would fit in my pants or shirt pocket with no discomfort and was very easy to use. I took over 1300 pictures without charging the battery. Excellent camera. My main reason for choosing the camera was because my son had a similar Canon and I was ver impressed with the ease of use and the features.
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PowerShot A1000 IS Gray
Nickname: Chuck
Location: Colorado Rockies
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent and well worth the price

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 14, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, durable, good value for the money
Cons: Short battery life
This is my second digital camera and I've been very pleased with it's design,ruggedness and performance.
It's pictures compare favorably with my wife's Canon EOS.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PowerShot A1000 IS Gray
Nickname: Reet
Location: Oakwood, IL
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Great Little Camera!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 11, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable, great price!
Cons: battery door difficult to open/close, slow response to snapshots
Only my second digital camera. Two of my friends owned this camera & loved it. Great photo quality, easy to use & very reasonably priced. Only negatives was the delay of the snapshot after pushing the button and the battery door is difficult to open & close.
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PowerShot A1000 IS Gray
Nickname: Tee
Location: Texas
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Poor Image Sharpness

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 10, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Nice features/settings
Cons: Poor image quality
My A1000 IS does not take sharp pictures. Images seem to be out of focus, especially on the left side of images. Now I must incur time and expense to send in the camera for repair.
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PowerShot A1000 IS Gray
Nickname: bwild
Location: Ephrata,Wa.
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 10, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, durable
Cons: Short battery life
I purchased this camera 1 year ago.I found it very flexible and easy to use.I tried all CAMERA functions/settings in various weather and light conditions and am pleased at the results for the price.This is an excellent,easy to use camera for any person to use and it's size will allow you to take it anywhere in your pants pocket,even in a "soft" camera case with 2 sets of batteries which you "should never leave home with out". The only problem I found with this camera is it's insatiable appetite to devour batteries and I have tried ALL brands of rechargeable batteries and several brands of non-rechargeable batteries with the best luck from a good generic brand.
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site