Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / Other PowerShot Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Other PowerShot or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot SX110 IS Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot SX110 IS Black

Average Customer Rating:
4.52 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(202 Reviews) 201
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (202 reviews)
5 stars
143
4 stars
40
3 stars
7
2 stars
5
1 star
7
178 out of 202(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot SX110 IS Black
Review 1 for PowerShot SX110 IS Black
Nickname: Crynwolf
Location: Denver, Colorado
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

High Battery Use

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 12, 2012
Pros: easy to use
Cons: high use of batteries
The pictures are good for a simple point and shoot camera. I would give this camera a higher ratting but the amount of batteries it uses is tremendous. On an average day I go through two sets of batteries. This is really frustrating! Even more so when I travel in countries where it can be hard to find batteries.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot SX110 IS Black
Nickname: smurf
Location: ohio
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 2, 2011
Pros: good zoom and focus
Cons: erases my pics
I love this camera but it erases pictures that I've taken without me manually deleting them and this can be devastating when you've taken pictures of important events.
1 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot SX110 IS Black
Nickname: bummed
Location: ct
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User

really disappointed

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 16, 2010
Pros: good pics
Cons: no battery life
i got this camera b/c my husband looked it over and said it'd be a great purchase, a decent camera for casual pic-taking with friends. ive had this camera maybe one and a half years and never use it! it seems that my camera cant handle using the flash at all. ex:i take a pic at a wedding of the bride just starting to come down the aisle... if the flash is needed and goes off, by the time my cameras ready to take another pic they've already said "i do". no joke. its so frustrating and i miss fun moments ALWAYS! and forget battery life. its non existent!! i'll put re charged batteries in and not even 10 pics later my cameras dead. "her cheap batteries?" you may ask. no. i get great batteries, same ones my very pro photographer friend uses and loves! my husband didnt believe me one day and assumed i was the one with the problem, so he handed me brand new out of the pack batteries. 1 pic and my low batt lights flashing. ive never had this prob with another camera and wouldnt rec this one.
12 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot SX110 IS Black
Nickname: rivergirl
Location: Florida
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Good Product

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 6, 2010
Great camera. Easy to use, clear pictures and I like this point and shoot camera.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot SX110 IS Black
Nickname: fan2010

very pleased

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 30, 2010
I bought this camera a little over a yr ago. I am very pleased with the quality of pictures it takes... Especially outdoors. I have three very active daughters and I hardly ever get a blurry picture.... The only times the pictures were blurry is when I had the camera on the wrong setting... I love this camera and will more than likely stick with canon products from here on out :)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot SX110 IS Black
Nickname: Redleg
Location: Springfield VA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Wouldn't Buy Again

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 8, 2010
I have been a Canon fan since my first 35mm A1. I have owned this camera for about a year now. Was excited at first based on features, especially the extended zoom. However this camera has been a disappointment. Very difficult to focus, all pictures seem to be fuzzy. Finally gave up on the camera and bought a SX200IS-great camera. Have gone back to the SX110IS once or twice during the year - same results- bad pics, hard to focus, always losing my shots.
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot SX110 IS Black
Nickname: mrfox
Location: San Francisco CA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

huge disappointment

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 12, 2010
Cons: very noisy images, slow and unreliable autofocus, battery life
I bought this as a small, light, cheap addition to my Canon digital SLRs. unfortunately, I have nothing good to say about my purchase.
Image quality is lousy. At ISOs as low as 200 and above, the sensor produces much too much noise. take a picture of a white surface, and you will notice yellow "sprinkles" all over it. I don't know if this is normal or if I got a faulty unit, but image quality at ISO 80 or 100 is barely acceptable, and at higher ISOs it's horrible.
Battery life is another issue. I regard it as a big plus if I can feed my camera AA batteries - they're cheaper than proprietary battery packs, and replacements always readily available. however, the SX110 is very picky about batteries, and sometimes refuses to run with fully recharged batteries that work flawlessly for weeks in other cameras.
The auto focus is another weak part of the camera. it is slow, and focusing on close objects (less than 50 cm), even in macro mode, usually takes 3 or 4 tries at least until it is able to focus.
other complaints: no viewfinder; on the LCD, bright areas bleed out into white vertical stripes; no RAW support; very pronounced chromatic aberrations; build quality is rather mediocre as well, does not cope with dirt (such as sand on a beach) well.
I will throw mine away and am now deciding between a G11, S90, or something non-Canon.
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot SX110 IS Black
Nickname: cjoy
Location: El Paso, TX
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

I love CANON

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 7, 2010
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I have entered contests with the photos from this camera. I've also recommended it to others and 3 that i know of have bought this same camera!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot SX110 IS Black
Nickname: Marz
Location: Maple Heights. OH
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Broken after 16 months

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 23, 2010
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Flimsy Construction, slow between shots, limited apeture
This camera was very good to use for the past 16 months or so. The memory card will no longer lock into place, so I am taking it to a local professional camera repair shop to see if it is worth fixing. I am VERY disappointed that it has broken after only 16 months. I have owned a number of Canon SLRs and lenses over the past 20+ years and I never had any problems with them. This is the first one that has needed service. I hope it does not cost too much to get repaired.
The camera itself was a lot of fun and allowed me to take some good shots. It is not an SLR. But, the image quality was very good. The controls/operation were easy to learn. The large viewscreen was nice. The zoom was adequate for its size. I liked the macro capabilities. And, the image stabilization worked very well. I also liked the limited video abilities of the camera. I have never taken movies before.
The only issues I had with this camera were that it took a few seconds to reset after each shot and I could not get a very deep depth of field. But, that is because it is a point and shoot camera. And, of course, the fact that the memory card lock broke after only 16 months has really made me angry. I have owned SLRs before and I take care of my cameras. I protect them when I am carrying them and I keep them clean and away from moisture. This breakage is very disappointing.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot SX110 IS Black
Nickname: kuphotographer
Location: York, PA
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Basic Photographer's Dream

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 17, 2010
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Missing features/settings, Short battery life, Heavy/Bulky
This camera takes phenomenal pictures. I have had people tell me that my photos look better than professionals and ask me what kind of camera I use. They are always very shocked when I tell them thats it is not an SLR. The zoom is amazing and the image stabilizer makes it easy to take sharp pictures both close up and from far away. The colors are bright and vivid. Cons are that it does eat up batteries very quickly and the manual setting are a bit difficult to use. I would have liked to have the option to take B/W and/or Sepia toned pics in a basic mode but those are only offered in manual settings. Overall, a fantastic purchase. Great for capturing just about any picture!! (Family friendly and easy to use too!)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot SX110 IS Black
Nickname: MissC
Location: Naselle, WA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Amazing pics from leisure to professional

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 15, 2010
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I have had this camera for over 2 years. I have used it for leisure and as a professional. It takes amazing pictures. Recommended Canon brand to others, they have not been disappointed.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot SX110 IS Black
Nickname: Boiseski
Location: Maine
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Love this camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 25, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I purchased this camera for a trip to CA, it was well worth the money for travel. You do need to read the directions and info on how to use the camera properly, the auto mode works well for typical use, the zoom is great and works very well...was extremely impressed when taking first photos. I would highly recommend this to some one that does not want to spend a lot of money but wants a great camera...I read reviews on a lot of cameras and decided on this one for the price range and have been very satisfied. As for other reviews concerning batteries I have rechargeables and take videos and photos and do not go through batteries any more than other cameras I have owned.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot SX110 IS Black
Nickname: rachelala

not the best.

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 10, 2010
Pros: Nice features/settings, durable, Bright LCD, nice zoom
Cons: Poor image quality, Poor Low-Light Performance, Difficult to use, Short battery life, Heavy/Bulky, Complicated controls/menu
I have had this camera for a year, I take it everywhere and the battery life is very low. I had to change the batteries once a day until I got expensive rechargeable ones. The pictures are washed out and the pictures come out very dark inside and in low light areas. I have to change the setting all the time because pictures come out grainy. Auto is not easy and never works, very dark.
The zoom is very nice! And it is very compact and light weight. The camera works very well it sunny places and outside. The macro works well too.
6 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot SX110 IS Black
Nickname: dixiechick
Location: Nashville, TN
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Best Auto-Digital Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2010
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
This is the best camera that I've owned as far as a digital camera goes. On automatic it takes great pictures yet you still have options if you want to set it yourself.
I've had my camera almost a year. Never had any trouble with it and I've even convinced a few of my friends to buy one.
If you want great photos without a lot of fuss this would be the camera for you.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerShot SX110 IS Black
Nickname: anand

friendly user camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 7, 2010
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, light weight/ not compact
Hi, This camara is excellent, friendly user with high quality pitcure. best for out door shooting in day light.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PowerShot SX110 IS Black
Nickname: KY Woman
Location: Lexington, KY
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Fantastic Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 7, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use, can adjust flash settings, manual controls
Owned this camera for a little over 2 yrs and have taken over 12,000 pictures.It is a fantastic camera. A little confusing to learn all it can do at first, but well worth your time to learn. Takes wonderful pictures in all lighting conditions. It is small enough to put in a purse or jacket pocket. If you want good battery life buy rechargeable batteries and let them run down completely before recharging them. I can get 400 pictures or better on one set of batteries. Must admit I use the faster speed cards. Love the flash adjustment. Really like the fact that it has manual controls also. The 1st yr. used mostly auto mode but switched to manual for a lot of my pictures. Took the camera on a trip to the mountains. Set the camera on manual setting, fastest speed and snapped away out the car window all the way down the mountain while my son was driving. To my amazement they all turned out beautiful. I was impressed. Will buy another one to have when this one wears out. I have told everyone about this camera. My brother bought one after telling him about how much I love mine. He loves it. Haven't found any point and shoot with the optical zoom or price that can compare. Would definitely recommend.
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PowerShot SX110 IS Black
Nickname: Kitty

Amazing colors & clarity!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 1, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, easy to use
It is the best camra I have ever had!!
Everything is so wonderful expecially the 10 optical zoom feature. I LOVE THE COLOR QUALITY and CLARITY!!
The only con is that there is alot of settings...bit it just takes time to figure out them all...but thats nopt so bad either!! Everything on this Camra is outstanding and amazing! I would recommend this to anybody and everybody!!
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PowerShot SX110 IS Black
Nickname: stena
Location: New York, NY
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Love it!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 20, 2010
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life
I bought this camera in April 2009, and have taken more than 6,000 photos with it already! It is VERY easy to use, and takes wonderful photos. Many people have complimented the photos I've taken, and believe me, I'm not that talented!
The one down side is the batteries. This camera eats them quickly. I was using rechargeable ones, but they seemed to be dead so quickly, so now I'm buying lithium AA batteries for it, and these last so much longer.
It isn't bulky per se, but it isn't one that could easily be hidden. It's a bit bulkier compared to other cameras, but the quality of the photos is worth it! And of course, it's still a small enough size so it's easy to take with you on the go.
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PowerShot SX110 IS Black
Nickname: sheilaars
Location: Merced, Califrornia
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

amazing features

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 6, 2010
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life
I have now used this camera for about a year, and I have taken about four thousand pics in this year. It went with me to Mayan ruins, whale shark dives, and most importantly, all of my daughter's wedding festivities. It's got a great telefoto lens, wonderful clarity, quick response., and many other features. In fact, our wedding photographer attended the rehearsal (without his super equipment as he was a guest) but he borrowed my camera and took shots that rival a professional's. It takes a bit to get used to putting up the face thing to shoot w/ flash, so strangers grabbing the camera have problems. Honestly, the pricey Canon SLR (a fam member has one) can compete with this one. Only one down side...it eats batteries since the screen resolution is so deep and large. Love, love, love it!
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PowerShot SX110 IS Black
Nickname: mrsrad
Location: Novato, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

It has been a workhorse for me

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 27, 2009
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life, doesn't do well when dropped
I have used this camera over the past year while doing the Project 365 (a picture a day). It has taken over 13,000 images in that time and traveled from coast to coast with me. It has done a great job. The things I love, a manual flash that operates independently of the settings (I personally do not like using flash unless absolutely necessary), the brightness of the LCD (but it can fool you into thinking the shot is better than it is), the macro setting has been grand because I like to take close-up details of things. The battery life was really short, but then I purchased rechargeable batteries and it has done much better (up to 400 shots). I loved the 10x optical zoom, but after dropping the camera, the ability to focus with the zoom lost, so for the majority of the year I've been working around it. It is a bit bulky, but then, it also has enough meat to be able to easily hold it. I am going to replace it now, it has more than given me my money's worth. But I think I'll go for a more durable point and shoot--but a Canon of course.
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site