Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / PowerShot A Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PowerShot A Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot A2000 IS

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot A2000 IS

Average Customer Rating:
4.405 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
1
37 out of 42(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot A2000 IS
Review 1 for PowerShot A2000 IS
Nickname: Alex
Location: Alaska Anchorage
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Product replacement: No

amazing little camera :)

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 8, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance
i love the this camera, it take 2 AA battery which is better to take it too trip.
my favorite is the picture quailty but it seem it doesnt have a good low light performance though but still better for picture not movies!
but overall i reccomend this camera :)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PowerShot A2000 IS
Nickname: tenielsen
Location: West Bend,Wi
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

my sister did say the canon powershot BEST

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 14, 2011
Pros: i got one thats very easy, i'm glad i bough it
Cons: so far none
I HAVE BOUGH THREE CANON POWERSHOT ALREADY.My sister told me about canon's,and bough the canon sd 1000,and did think that was the best untill i got this canon powershot a 2200 is,and got it this month Aug12/2011. now i think the canon poweshot are the best.
tenielsen
Review 3 for PowerShot A2000 IS
Nickname: Jim
Location: Pennsylvania
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

My opinion

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 14, 2011
Pros: wonderful snap shots, easy to use, lightweight, aa batteries, reasonably priced
Cons: buttons a tad small
This is a great little camera, despite not having the manual functions. The bottom line here is great snap shots. This is a wonderful snap shot camera. The pictures are clear, sharp and have the right amount of color and contrast. It's simple to use. Battery life is fine with the right high capacity nickel metal hydride battery. I feel that those who spoke badly about the lack of manul controls miss the point about point and shoot cameras. That is, simplicity. If you demand manual controls, then spend more money on a camera with those features.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot A2000 IS
Nickname: MisterB

Best Camera I have purchsed!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 10, 2010
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
This is one of the best cameras I have purchased. It very easy to use and gives great pictures.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot A2000 IS
Nickname: supraoptic
Location: Baltimore, MD
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Fantastic

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 20, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Why do I love this camera? Because it is super easy to use and takes amazing pictures. I'm no expert - but at the end of the day, I have high quality photos of my kids and family. Also, the more I mess with the features, the more cool things I find. For example, I discovered the foliage setting which really makes the colors pop in all my photos. With lithium batteries and a 4 gb card, you can shoot hundreds and hundreds of pictures. I actually dropped and killed my first one (not the camera's fault!), and after researching, I'm buying this camera again.
13 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot A2000 IS
Nickname: tua
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Watered down

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price/Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 10, 2010
Pros: excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu
Cons: Missing features/settings, Short battery life
The A-Series used to have my favorite shooting modes and for some reason someone decided to remove them. I used to be able to find Av, Tv, M right on the dial on many of the A-Series, but the last time I remember seeing those functions were on the A650IS.
I don't know know who is running the show now, but it's a big let down to not have those functions in a compact camera.
Some of the A series ran on four AA batteries and I found they shoot more photos and have shorter flash recycle times than the newer breed of party toys.
29 of 33 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot A2000 IS
Nickname: ptosis
Location: Honolulu, Hawai'i
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

I miss my A610 over the A2000

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 23, 2009
Pros: Good Low-Light Performance, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Missing features/settings, no m button for manual on mode dial, no flippable lcd like the a610
"The one thing lacking in the new Canon PowerShot A20000 IS is there is no in-camera video editing as in the older A610 was capable of. It is disappointing that the A20000 has no in-camera movie editing capability."
from the "Canon PowerShot A20000 IS Camera Review"
7 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot A2000 IS
Nickname: Dust
Location: East Tennessee
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Best Yet

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 7, 2009
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I haven't had this camera long but I can already say I LOVE IT! It will do everything I want to do at this time and more...will take me a while to learn how to use all features as I am very amateur. I love the results I am getting so far, very pleased with my purchase, takes great pictures, love the playback screen. Haven't advanced from beginner's mode yet but it takes great pictures just with that mode! Love it, love it, love it! And very nice price for what I got.
13 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot A2000 IS
Nickname: Dee
Location: albany, new york
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Great camera for smaller hands

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 19, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, durable
Cons: Short battery life
I can no longer hold the large pro cameras, plus I shake a little now. This camera gives me great shots and has all the adjustments to take pro quality pictures. Have had it for 3 years now and I know I made the right choice for me. I even joined a photography club to allow me to use it more. This camera also has a seperate macro lens you can buy as an accessory, however I have been able to take great flower shots with it as is! I love this little beauty.
20 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot A2000 IS
Nickname: Flathead Girl
Location: Rollins, Montana
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Handy Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 15, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
Cons: could use a viewfinder, needs a printed instruction booklet
My old Powershot died so I needed a new one. I purchased the A2100 IS which has 12.0 megapixel. I like the pictures it takes and the Zoom power. The LCD is awesome. I would like a viewfinder but can live without it. I REALLY would like a
printed instruction booklet like my old camera had so I could take it with me. Printing the one from the computer is a bit cumbersome.
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot A2000 IS
Nickname: david lj
Location: milford mi
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

takes amazing picks

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 14, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
love it i have a d30 SLR and this and this is buyfar the same or better.easy to use. i love them bouth canon did it agan.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot A2000 IS
Nickname: sasebo
Location: Maine
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Almost perfect

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 9, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life
Cons: Dim LCD, be careful with the battery door
I'm pretty impressed with the quality of the photos and the battery life on this camera. The only fault it has is no viewfinder. There are times when you can not see a thing in the LCD screen so you really have no idea what you are taking a picture of. You have to wait and review and by then the opportunity may have passed for that great photo. Other than that I'm impressed with this point and shoot. It's a great- grab quick -camera when you can't or don't take the SLR. So light and easy to carry around.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot A2000 IS
Nickname: Grand Rafter
Location: Everett, Wa
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Survived White Water and Sand

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 17, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable, uses standard aa batteries
I specifically purchased this camera for a 7 day whitewater rafting trip through the Grand Canyon in September; my SLRs had to stay at home. After searching on line I found that not only did this camera have excellent reviews within it's class, but that it also met all my personnel requirements. Namely size, weight, price (as may not survive all the rapids, and river silt/sand) and most importantly the use of standard AA batteries as would be no opportunity to recharge the batteries in the wilderness. During the trip, I took over 700 pictures on an 8GB card and only had to change the batteries once! I captured many really great quality pictures. I did learn that in order to keep the buttes from 'washing out' when taking shots during sunsets/sunrises (or sun beams catching them through the clouds) to; a) hold the shutter half down and to focus on the sky first, b) frame the shot I wanted and take the shot, and then the color of the buttes and the water reflections were great!. It was also sometimes difficult to see the LCD screen during bright light situations (just took the shots anyway). Since this camers is so small (and inexpensive) I kept it with me the whole time in a small daypack dry bag where I could quickly pull it out between rapids. As such was able to get great shots thoughout the 187 miles of our trip. I as so impressed with the Canon quality, I came home and ordered a Canon Rebel T1i, 17-85 and 20-200 lenses to replace my Chinon and Olympus SLR film cameras. BUT I have made space in my new camera case to also carry along my A2000IS.
40 of 40 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot A2000 IS
Nickname: zachsusan
Location: Hayward, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Good camera

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 11, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: delay in sucsessive pics.
Forced to buy another Canon when my A570 went for a swim. Picture quality is very good, though red eye is very common. The one thing that annoys me the most is the lag time between taking pictures especially when there's a flash involved. I've tried rechargeable and disposable batteries and even specific "camera" batteries with no change. I expected either the same or better 'speed' in taking pictures with less to no delay when compared to the A570, but this is not so and it just makes me miss my old camera even more as well as half heartedly looking at the newer models as they come out.
49 of 52 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerShot A2000 IS
Nickname: drjelleyroll
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

I'm now a Canon fan

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 30, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
After reading reviews and comparisons for 6 weeks, I finally settled on this model. We were looking for a new camera for a once in a lifetime cruise. In addition, our requirements were the highest optical zoom, megapixel count, and size - and the winner is still this model! We used rechargeable AA's and went the entire cruise, 1 week, without changing them. For the money, I don't think you can go wrong!!
24 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PowerShot A2000 IS
Nickname: NV Ranch Chick
Location: Nevada Outback
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: No

Great Little Camera!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 18, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, durable
Cons: Dim LCD
I received this camera as a Christmas present & fell in love w/ it. It is easy to use & has a bunch of neat features. The biggest drawback is the dim LCD. I have found ways around it that work in most instances, but sometimes it's a hassle. As for the "no rechargeable battery problem, I found a charger w/ 2 AA batts @ the 'W store' for $8.00 that plugs into my car cell phone charger(w/ USB port), plus I pack 4 AA batts as spares. I've never run out of battery power. As for all the comments about features; (read the manual) I've found settings for night; fireworks; sunsets; foliage; snow; beach (bright sun); high ISO speed; infinity; continuous shooting; changing recording pixels & image qualit;, adjusting white balance, brightness & tone; along w/ custom colors. There is also a focus lock & face detect. The ONLY drawback to this sharp little camera is the dim LCD! It also has AF, AE & FE lock, plus you can slow down the shutter speed. It takes beautiful photos on AUTO setting, if you don't want to spend time messing w/ the dial. All in all, it is a great camera for anyone who is not a professional photographer but wants to take pictures like one. As for the comments about it being too heavy, I like it for the fact that you can feel it in your pocket so you know it's there, but it's not so heavy it wears you out to pack it all day. A GREAT LITTLE CAMERA!!
42 of 42 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PowerShot A2000 IS
Nickname: Anonymous

Great Little Camera!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 4, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
Bought this camera for my wife to compiment our Canon S 5 IS so she would have a small easy to use camera to carry in her purse. The functionality and ease of use of the user interface is very straight forward. The camera takes great photos and the 6x optical zoom is great for getting up close to a subject from a distance. The 10 mega pixels are great for clarity anytime or when zooming and cropping your favorite shots. Having the larger LCD screen is very nice for viewing photos.All in all we are very happy with this camera as it does everything that we need for it to do!
22 of 22 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PowerShot A2000 IS
Nickname: MikCanon
Location: Preparing for Gypsy Road Trip, so, all over
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Product replacement: Yes

I was always Old School

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 10, 2009
Pros: easy to use, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable
I have always been an Old School Photographer! The CanonS2000 IS is my first digital camera. I was a "Still Photographic Specialist" (84 Bravo) in the U.S. Army from 1978-1982 and freelanced for years after that. While in the Army, the camera I used the majority of the time was the Canon F1 - It was a workhorse, sturdy and totally reliable during the 3 and a half years of my tour - And so now, I am creeping into the digital waters. I transferred my first set of images today after I downloaded the S2000 software. I am set free!!!! This camera and software are SO EASY to use, and I've hardly begun to use the features. I have given such excellent ratings because at this moment I don't know any better. I am just so happy with the ease of use, I would give six stars if they were available. Perhaps I would in the future need to come back and adjust my review...but for now, I am so very satisfied!
18 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PowerShot A2000 IS
Nickname: Loves Canon
Location: Pacific Northwest U.S.
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

A great upgrade

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 29, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, excellent image quality, Good Low-Light Performance, Lightweight/Portable, good battery life, durable
Cons: Missing features/settings, outdoor pics come out too bright
I upgraded to this from a Canon powershot SD400.
Its nice to be familiar with the settings, such as Macro, Kids/Pets, and where to find the "delete all" selection.
I'm in no way a professional photographer, but I love what I can do with this camera.
Image quality is excellent, I love the quick speed in which I can capture moving objects.
But in broad daylight, some images come out completely whitewashed. I cannot figure out a way to get rid of the intense light this camera captures.
Another thing I don't like is that after I take a picture, the camera pauses for a good 3 or 4 seconds before I can take the another picture.
I love the AA batteries. Its a step up from what I was using. My old battery lasted about 15 mins!
I have no problems with the LCD. It doesnt come with a LCD clear sticker to protect the screen so I'm glad I bought spare LCD stickers. No dust problems or anything. The LCD is clear, vivid and just fine.
I love the zoom, and the detail I can capture from far away. I LOVE the added Fireworks, Snow, Sunset, etc features. That was a pleasant surprise. I love the ISO settings.. probably my favorite out of them all.
I love the three programs it comes with. Just like my old camera, images and videos are easy to upload to my PC.
Videos came out really good. Vivid colors, nice sharp quality. Nothing bad about the video capturing.
One thing I was having a hard time with, was trying to focus on something in the background. Too many times the camera would focus only on the foreground, like grass, and not focus on my real subject, a tiger at the zoo, which was far away. The tiger comes out blurry and the blades of grass in front of me come out sharp.
24 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PowerShot A2000 IS
Nickname: Anonymous
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Outdoor shots impossible with out viewfinder

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 17, 2009
Pros: easy to use, Simple controls/menu, excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, durable
Cons: Missing features/settings, Dim LCD, no viewfinder
I have owned this camera for 5 months. The camera is nearly ideal, but sadly the lack of a viewfinder makes it almost impossible to take shots outdoors in sunlight. Often I find there is no way to frame an outdoor picture because reflections on the LCD make it impossible to see the image at all. I have found no way around this problem (shading my face, holding camera close or far, etc.) I'm now shopping for another camera because this problem is so severe. I like this camera because few cameras still use AA batteries - a feature I regard as essential because they prevent being stuck with a dead proprietary rechargeable. I like the Canons for this reason, but a viewfinder is essential!
28 of 29 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site