Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Refurbished Products Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Refurbished Products or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for EOS 50D

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

EOS 50D

15.1 Megapixel CMOS with improved noise reduction; wide range ISO 100-3200 (H1: 6400, H2: 12800), 14-bit conversion DIGIC 4, 6.3 fps up to 90 JPEGS using UDMA CF cards 3.0-inch Clear View LCD Live View shooting includes Face Detection Live mode
Average Customer Rating:
4.633 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(302 Reviews) 298
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (302 reviews)
5 stars
248
4 stars
27
3 stars
7
2 stars
10
1 star
10
269 out of 302(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EOS 50D
Review 1 for EOS 50D
Nickname: ksmoguy
Location: Kansas
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Happy novice photographer

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 22, 2012
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life
Nice camera. A bit expensive compared to competitor products. Upgraded to a good telephoto lens. only ok in low light.
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EOS 50D
Nickname: Mofingus
Location: Portland, OR
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great camera for general use

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 5, 2012
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Solid Operation, Simple controls/menu
Cons: too slow for action sports (multi-frame shooting)
I like the 50D for most of my photography. It's light, easy to use, and takes excellent photographs. For the setting I primarily use they are clear and concise, easy to set, and quick to find. This is a fairly inexpensive way to get a solid camera. Where I find this camera falls down is in the speed with which it an take multiple (burst rate) photos. I found it too slow for fast action captures (many sports with fast moving people, birds, etc.) For this would recommend a higher end camera like the 5D Mark III.
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EOS 50D
Nickname: HiH
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Almost magical....

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 28, 2011
Pros: beautiful color reproduction, image quality, overall camera handling (body design), professional grade features at excellent price pt, bright & sharp lcd screen, intuitive controls
Cons: no video capture (from canon anyway), battery life when lcd actively used, cannot set max iso to be used in auto mode
I bought my 50D about a month after its first release in Nov 2008. I have been in love with this camera ever since. I have taken it on many trips with me as well as done specific photo shoots using studio flash units. All have yielded stunning results. Many are publication worthy and wow people regularly. I never use any of the full auto zones, always in at least P mode, if not using Manual to get the shot right. This camera does, at times, tend to meter to the brighter exposure especially at dusk or dimming light. Sometimes its welcome, sometimes not. It requires you to become familiar with it, and then spectacular results follow. Also, always shoot in RAW to get the full benefit from DPP included from Canon. Disappointed greatly that this camera did not get video at release as the 5D Mk II did just a month after this camera was released and was followed by the lower end T1i a couple months later which did get video using the same 15 MP sensor! However, my 50D now does 1080 30fps video thanks to the Magic Lantern project I discovered recently. Amazing what these cameras are capable of!
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EOS 50D
Nickname: yota43
Location: Cape Cod, MA.
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Camera!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 26, 2011
Pros: excellent image quality and features., quality rugged build., excellent battery life., large bright sharp lcd., it is simple to use and very quiet.
Cons: the on camera flash is a waste of resources.
I've owned my 50D since Feb. 2010. It's my first digital SLR. I upgraded from a Canon 7e. I can't think of one con with this camera. It has consistently given me the best images that I've ever shot. I can't evaluate the fully automatic exposure modes on this camera because I don't use them. I've only used the AV, and Manual exposure modes. All of my exposures are made in RAW, and processed in Adobe Photoshop LR2. As long as I do my part this camera has exceeded my every expectation. This is a solidly built camera, and exudes a sense of quality. I also fitted this camera with the Canon BG-E2N battery grip. Since it holds two batteries battery life has never been a problem for me. I can shoot hundreds of images on one charge. I've never used the on camera flash. Instead I've pressed the Canon Speedlite 420EX that I purchased with my Canon EOS 7e into service with excellent results. I couldn't be more satisfied. Good job Canon!
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EOS 50D
Nickname: lucky

verry easy to use

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 17, 2011
Pros: quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life, Heavy/Bulky
I have used this camera more than 18 months for wedding event,I'm telling you that this cam is very easy to use,very easy control,and very good result. the only problem for me is the image shown on LCD is different as shown on PC or Laptop monitor
13 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EOS 50D
Nickname: Jalexa
Location: Michigan
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Excellent Mid-Range dSLR

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 17, 2011
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: noisy, Slow Start-up time
This camera has given me some of the best quality images I've ever taken. A big thing to remember is that the quality of the lens will affect your images. The potential is limitless if you have the right lens...and you don't have to buy "L" to get good IQ. The 50mm 1.8 will give you some beautiful shots with this camera. The build quality if solid. The camera is a bit heavy, but that gives me a sense of security knowing it's built rock solid. The features and manus are well laid out and easy to use and the important buttons are at your fingertips, making it easy to adjust your settings on the fly.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EOS 50D
Nickname: pslake
Location: North Carolibna
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Enthusiast: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: Yes

Unbeliiveably great camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 15, 2011
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation
Cons: Heavy/Bulky
This camera is awesome, I take sport and dance pictures and have always had problems with digital cameras, due to the delay inherent in most. With the 6 frames/second I now do not miss any of the shots I really want and need.
Make sure if you are using a lot of continous shooting to get a 60 or at least 30 mb transfer rated CF card. Never thought sport photography could be this much fun and be this good. I use the 28-135 and 70-300mm lens and just love the AF and lens and camera stabilization. The shots are clear and color balance is also very good.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EOS 50D
Nickname: kyler
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years

Excellent Piece of Machinery

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 24, 2011
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Simple controls/menu
This camera is amazing, even though I bought mine used. It has yet to fail me. Any problems with image quality are my fault with not being able to hold my hands still (not due to the weight of the camera). So if anyone has a complaint think about getting a tripod, or that if you have had this camera for a long time remember that cameras have shutter life, if you go over the set amount of shutter actuations your images will get blurry. Its like, miles on a car. I do rock climbing photography and I have to travel on long arduous mountain trails and its weight has yet to be a problem. Its built like a tank. PERIOD. I love this camera so much. If anything lacks color or sharpness then fix it in the custom picture styles. I couldn't have asked for better when I bought this camera, it was more than I expected. Overall epic piece Canon technology, performs amazingly and will get the job done.
13 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EOS 50D
Nickname: Photo Girl
Location: Minnesota
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Unsatified...

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:April 29, 2011
Pros: Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Poor image quality, noisy, Heavy/Bulky
I have owned this camera for approximently 3 years. For personal use this camera suited my needs, but when I try to take it to the next level the picture quality isn't there. Time and time again I struggle with taking sharp, crisp photo's which had eliminated them from many competitions.
8 of 25 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EOS 50D
Nickname: Caveman
Location: Monroe, LA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great DSLR for anybody

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 16, 2011
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, fast burst rate
So the 50D is a great camera PERIOD! It dosent matter if you are a pro or an amatuer. I bought this camera for a few reasons. 1) 15mp. great for high quality prints, and can crop a picture and still have great results. 2) high burst reate. the 6.5 fps is great for sports, and anything else such as children playing or pets, you'll always capture that moment. 3) good build quality. This is a SOLID camera. It dosnt feel cheap or plasticy like the rebel series. The 50D can take some abuse and keep on keepin. 4) the low light performance is great. I can use up to 1600 ISO sometimes 3200 and still get great results.
I would definanly recommend this to anybody. I will say this though to get the most out of this camera, or any dslr you need to invest in good quality lenses. So take that into consideration when buying. This camera dosen't do video wich isnt a big deal for me, but if thats a deal breaker look at the t3i, 60D, or the 7D.
One final note. This is a great camera, but my friend has a 40D, and it isnt really that much of a differince. everything is basically the same except the 50D has 5 more megapixels, and a better screen. so if you want agood camera like this but want to save a little money look at the 40D.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EOS 50D
Nickname: Jimbo
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Business
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Disappointing Performance...

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 15, 2011
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Poor image quality
I like all of the features of my Canon 50D - except images are fuzzy and blurred with poor depth of field. If the images were sharp, I'd give this camera a good rating. But, images are poor - washed out, fuzzy, poor focus. Nice features - but terrible images. My D60 delivers better performance.
5 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EOS 50D
Nickname: blueskyoveraqua
Location: Fountain Valley, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

My first dSLR

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 4, 2011
Pros: Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Short battery life
This is my first dSLR, and it is my upgrade from Canon PowerShot G10. I have used this camera for about one and a half year, and I have had a good user experiences with this machine.
Here are the list of features that I love:
1) Magnesium alloy body - better for a hash environment
2) High frame rate (6.9 fps)
3) Micro-adjustment - No need to send in your 3rd lenses for calibration
4) Main control dial
5) Quick Access dial
6) Joy stick
7) Software that allows user to switch functionality between buttons
8) CF card interface
Thing that I wish it has:
1) Built-in wireless flash control
2) Swiveling LCD
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EOS 50D
Nickname: Sivispace
Location: Portland Oregon Metropolitan
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Could not ask for more

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 10, 2011
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, heavy duty chasis, great ergonomics
Cons: the standard batter is a bit short, the 60d may eclipse the 50d
I purchased a 50D on the reccomendation of a close friend and I am enthusiastically satsfied. For starters, the body is built like a tank. This is a camera that will withstand harsh shooting environments. The 15.5 megapixel processor is fine for any normal-sized print up to and including poster size. The display on the back is fast and stays incredibly clean. Smudges just wipe off with a soft cloth. Don't use paper though, it will scratch the screen. The 50D also shoots fast enough for fast-moving events. The body is wrapped in a rubber compound that makes dropping the camera all but inpossible. The 60D has come out recently and I could have waited. But I don't care for the tilt-out screen on the D60 and the D50 actually has a higher burst rate. Lastly this is a professional's SLR. Regardless of your shooting style, the features and build of this SLR are more than any professional photographer could expect. It's just a great camera.
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for EOS 50D
Nickname: Snookie
Location: Louisville, Ky.
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Disney prep

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 10, 2011
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I've had my camera since Nov. 2010 and I can't say enough good things about it. My Christmas pictures were outstanding and the many pictures that I've taken of the 10 + feet of snow this winter are fabulous. I'm planning a trip to Disney World in June 2011, and can hardly wait to take tons of pictures in the four parks and Typhoon Lagoon. I'm now saving for the newst Canon camcorder!
I have always had Canon cameras, super 8 movie cameras and even a little printer that I purchased after Christmas. I LOVE this camera!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for EOS 50D
Nickname: Joko
Location: Ironwood, MI
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Fail

Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 30, 2011
Pros: excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu
Cons: Poor build quality
Well, I was forced to pick up this camera after the shutter on my 40D broke after not even a full year of use. I had a week before I was heading out into the mountains for an assignment so I quickly picked up the 50D. Never felt like an upgrade from the 40D, and two months later the pop-up flash broke. Although it takes great shots in well lit situations, it shoots poorly in darker ones. I shoot a lot of action sports during the night and even with a 1.8 lens this thing still shoots terrible. The AF in darker settings isn't that great. This camera convinced me to switch brands... goodbye Canon.
7 of 27 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for EOS 50D
Nickname: C5
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Better than advertised

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 15, 2011
I purchsed this camera to go to NASCAR races and needed a DSLR that could handle the race speeds. It did extremely well in everything I needed it to do. Races were afternoon and evening and I found that the photos at night were extremely good even with high ISOs. I believe a key feature not discussed much by reviewers is the cameras microadjustment feature for each lens used. The adjustments made a world of difference compared with the default settings.
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for EOS 50D
Nickname: sy
Location: colorado
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Canon EOS 50D

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 1, 2011
Pros: quiet, Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, fast focus, image quality
Cons: Heavy/Bulky, highlight clipping in a normal setting
I got this camera basically to replace my 20D. Sensor megapixel is doubled and now I don't have much problem cropping the photo. It still have enough pixels so that image doesn't get pixelated. Of course LCD screen is much bigger. ISO performance is also much improved. Higher ISOs are still noisy but they are usable. I've read that some people mentioned about getting the magenta cast on the photo, and colors are flat. I've noticed those things on some of my photos, too. But those can be corrected at the post production. One thing that bothered me, though, was when I shot outdoor in a sunny day, highlights got blown out pretty badly, especially in light color objects. Even though Highlight Tone Priority function comes handy in those situations, they were pretty ugly noticeable. I've never noticed it with 20D. Also the body is bigger and bulkier. Almost (not quite but) as big as 5D Mark II. That spoils advantage of having an 1.6x crop sensor. I bought 50D over new 60D because its magnesium alloy body and use a CF card, and over 7D because the price is almost a half. Continuous shooting buffer is awesome. 6.3fps. That's 1fps more than 60D and 1.7fps less than 7D. 15 megapixel is plenty enough for most of works. It also has a micro adjustment for lenses and all the other functions which 20D didn't have. So far I like this camera. I think it's got great value for what it is.
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for EOS 50D
Nickname: d'legend
Location: maui, hawaii
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

very satisfied

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 27, 2010
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
i have been using my 50d for 6 months now and I am still falling in love with this camera. I take this baby all over especially outdoors, took lots of events, porttraits etc.and this camera never did fail me yet. It is so easy to use it is a step up from my xti , 30d and 40d ,I have been using canon cameras since 1981, and I love them and will be a forever user and fan of canon. God bless
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for EOS 50D
Nickname: Thunder
Location: North East Ohio
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Learn the cameras settings

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 24, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, very good image quality, it's a canon
I will have had this camera a year in January. I have been shooting for over forty years. I use mostly a 150mm macro in one to one and a MP-E65 in the five to one range. I have read with fascination the reviews that say the IQ of this camera is poor. Learn the settings! If you were not shooting 100 shots a day the first week learning how to set it up you have no one to blame but yourself, this is not an entry level camera. The images in the extreme macro shots that I take are constantly sharp, and I hand hold at 5 to 1. Work on your form, set the camera up properly and do the basic PP work, and you will find that your IQ troubles will vanish.
Oh, and shoot in RAW if you are serious about your shots.
And stop trying to compare the 50D to the 5DMKII. These are completely different levels of cameras. Semi pro vs pro, of course the 5DMKII gives a better picture, at a thousand green backs higher in price.
The 50D is a good solid semi pro that has served me well for a year, and has produced pictures that have been published, and with the release of the 7D the price has dropped a bunch.
16 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for EOS 50D
Nickname: US Patriot
Location: Kansas CIty, MO
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

Astounding!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 15, 2010
Pros: good battery life, quiet, Nice features/settings, Quick Start-up time, excellent image quality, Superior build quality, Bright LCD, Solid Operation, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
After using friends' Canon DSLRs, I decided to FINALLY break down and purchase one. Having never used a 50D before, I was a little hesitant (used plenty of Rebels, couple late model Marks). Man am I glad I decided to grab it.
Menu of course is intuitive, easy to use, and easy to navigate- of course it's basically the same as any other canon menu :)
I generally shoot either in AV or TV (or manual when shooting macro) and the quality that I get is PHENOMENAL! Most of my "serious" shooting is either macro or landscape. The b/w shooting mode is superb as well and the photos need very little adjustment in post processing (I generally shoot in RAW).
I really could go on and on, but you'd get tired of reading... I have nothing negative to say.
To those who use cost as a con- price vs quality on this model is incredibly good. You get what you pay for, and in my opinion, the quality is more like what you would get if you spent double, if that makes sense.
THANK YOU, CANON!!
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site