Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / EOS Cameras Reviews / Lenses Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop Lenses or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for EF-S 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS

EF-S 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS

Optical Image Stabilization equivalent to 4-stops of correction Compact, lightweight, and wide magnification range Equivalent to 29-320mm lens in the 35mm format Excellent image performance at an affordable price
Average Customer Rating:
4.125 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (48 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
20
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
0
38 out of 48(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for EF-S 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS
Review 1 for EF-S 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS
Nickname: ecar
Location: Portland Oregon
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

superb value , maximum coverage

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 29, 2014
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
My first DSLR was the Canon kit which included the 60D w/ the 18-200 Lens. I still own the lens, but not the camera.
I've read all of the reviews, and would like to say that the cons on this lens are not a big deal, and easy to live with, considering what this lens does, especially for the money!!
And YES, if you take care of your things, it makes all the difference in the world. This lens may not take the abuse that other more expensive lenses do.
I don't consider this lens a poor build at all, it's just not an "L" lens, which causes some to rate it down. I now use it on my 7d and love it.
I also own a 5d mrk III.
The lenses I own are: (all Canon)
EF-S 15-85 / 18-135 / 18-200
EF "L" 16-35 @ F-2.8
"L" 24-70 @ F-2.8
"L" 24-105 @ F-4
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EF-S 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS
Nickname: Doug A
Location: Nashville TN
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great general purpose lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 16, 2014
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Super-sharp images
I bought this lens in Oct, 2008 to replace the Canon 28-135. I like the longer focal length so I do not have to change lenses. Less chance of getting dust on the sensor. After 5 1/2 yrs of using it, I have had no problems to speak of. Barrel is still very tight, very very few specks of dust in the lens. I and my wife travel extensively and the lens is always used. Auto focus is as fast as with the lens with the USM. Some people complain about chromatic abberation, however I have not had any problems with that even with enlargements. Yes, there is lens creep but then if you know that up front, which a person should from looking at the lens prior to buying it, then it is not a problem. Quality wise it is not an L lens but then neither is the price. If people take care of their equipment and don't abuse it, then the lens should last a long long time or until Canon comes out with an upgrade you would want. I have used this lens with the T1i, T2i, 60D, and now the 70D.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EF-S 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS
Nickname: M.J.
Location: Tampa, FL
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Great Perchase

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 7, 2014
Pros: great quality, fast auto focus, sharp images
Cons: heavy, lens creep
This lens has become my favorite to use. I use it for a bit of everything from landscape to weddings and everything in between. though I dislike the fact that the lens will not stay at the zoom I am at if I tip the camera forward even slightly.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EF-S 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS
Nickname: Shutterbug
Location: Arkansas
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great Zoom Lens

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 11, 2013
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Cons: heavy
Bought this lens with a 60D camera 18 months ago. Wanted something that would work for most shooting situations. Do not like switching lenses. This is a great lens for anyone that wants to use just one lens to shoot in almost every situation they encounter. Has worked out great. Have taken over 2000 pictures so far. Could not be more satisfied. Yes the lens does creep. Yes it is a little heavy. So far these have not been major problems. Would recommend this for anyone who wants to take great photos.
16 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EF-S 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS
Nickname: Architect
Location: Ottestad, Norway
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Professional allrounder

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 23, 2013
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Cons: lens creep
This is a good lens for my general use as a professional architect. The weight gives balance to steady freehand shots. Substantial lens creep is the only drawback as there is not allways a time for using the lock.
12 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EF-S 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS
Nickname: cameraman
Location: South Florida
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Casual User
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: Less than 1 year
Product replacement: No

good enough

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2013
Pros: Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Cons: lens creep, lens shadow at 18mm, weight
this lens came with my camera package from Costco. It does take great photos but I dislike the fact that when taking close ups at 18mm there is a shadow at the bottom of the picture. I also extremely dislike the weight and the fact that the lens will not stay at the zoom I am at if I tip the camera forward.
26 of 32 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EF-S 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS
Nickname: Morris mania
Location: London
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Best lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 30, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, super zoom lite, unexpensive
This lens has very good zoom lite and each kind of zoom in it is very good. 18 is very good WIDE and 200 is very good TELLE.
15 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EF-S 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS
Nickname: Kay
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Love the lens, hate the creep

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 11, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, versatility to the max
Cons: Poor build quality, lens creep
This is a great walkaround lens. It takes suitably clear and sharp photos and can go from sem-wide angle to a good zoom quickly with quick focus. So I like the lens. What I don't like is the lens creep. I've put up with it because I don't have the warranty card (don't know if I EVER had one!). Don't know what lens creep is? You know how you walk around taking shots, with the camera over your shoulder, and the lens creeps out to its max zoom if you don't have it on lock? Or, using the Canon 60D with its vari-angle LCD monitor that you can twist around so you can focus on your target while holding your camera up over the target - but you can't do that because the lens creeps down to full zoom when you want it to stay at 50mm? I've read this on other reviews so have sort of let it go. I have an EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM that I've never had this problem with. Trouble is, Canon doesn't have any other lenses with this versatility other than the 18-200 that I'm complaining about now. So wake up, Canon! If you can do a superb EF 70-300mm, why not do a superb EF 18-100mm?
61 of 61 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EF-S 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS
Nickname: D314
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Very convenient lens

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 13, 2012
Pros: convenient, takes good pictures
I bought this lens after having been to Mt. Rainier and been frustrated by having to switch back and forth constantly between the two kit lenses (18-55 and 55-250). It might be a little less sharp than those two lenses, but it's good and convenient. The 18-200 lens is the one that will be on my camera 90 percent of the time.
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EF-S 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS
Nickname: CA Retired
Location: So California
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: more than 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Chrome ring is falling off.

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 3, 2012
Cons: low quality material
The Chrome ring around the lens is a cheap tape and peeling off. Low quality material used to make it look sturdy.
11 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EF-S 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS
Nickname: Bri
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

great lens

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 6, 2012
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Cons: i can not think of any
Bought this lens because I got sick of kit lenses. Images are sharp and clear throught the range. Took pics of fireworks from a half mile away and they were outstanding in clarity and quality. I really like the lens lock feature as it does not allow the lense to move when not in use and it takes only a second to unlock it and focus. I put a UV filter on it and I'm stunned by the images I get now.
16 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EF-S 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS
Nickname: Iron
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

All rounder

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2012
Pros: wide angle is good, good quality image, acceptable zoom level, great for beginners
Cons: lens needs to be locked when not in use, focus can be tricky at times
An amazing choice for an all purpose lens. This was my first lens along with the 60D model, and I found it to be very versatile and took all kinds of photos. Being a nature lover, I also enjoyed taking wide angle sharp images, without having to spend that much for an L series. Overall, its a good lens for general use, and it has a good zoom @ 200mm. The images are of good quality, I would recommend it for beginners till advanced amateurs level.
34 of 34 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EF-S 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS
Nickname: Shayne
Location: Salt Lake City
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Sports
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

My 18-200 Review

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 1, 2011
Pros: Fast auto-focus, super versital
Cons: Poor build quality, zoom lock is poor design
Many great things about this lens, zoom, speed of focus, compact size verses zoom. Once in a while the auto focus get's confused on trickier shots, but the manual override can fix that when necessary. It's a heavy lens and the zoom slides out when pointed down if you don't have it locked, which wouldn't be terrible but the zoom lock is very poorly designed and cumbersome to use. Apparently a screw came out inside my lens, which I learned is a known issue. Canon will be repairing it at no cost to me. If all is well following the repair, I would rate this lens as a must have for the casual to semi serious photographer. It's a "one-lens" solution for me.
19 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for EF-S 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS
Nickname: rudeboy
Location: cleveland
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Portraits
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

beginner lens

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:August 24, 2011
Pros: Superior build quality
Cons: Slow auto-focus, Semi-sharp images, Poor build quality
The lens is big and heavy but feels good and balanced on my 60D.......but my tripod wasn't strong enough to hold it up while i was shooting video of a model. The thing attracts dust like crazy and the 200 side isn't long enough. Autofocus is not bad and images are sharp but not great.
18 of 40 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for EF-S 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS
Nickname: Larry
Location: Melbourne, Florida
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

Lens lock

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 22, 2011
Pros: Super-sharp images
Cons: Poor build quality
This is a nice lens but the locking mechanism for zoom is fragile. Mechanism will soon wear out and this will make it impossible to keep the lens in the retracted position while carrying the camera from place to place.
9 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for EF-S 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS
Nickname: bouldy
Location: Boulder, CO
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Good all-around lens

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 17, 2011
Pros: Fast auto-focus, Super-sharp images, sturdy
Cons: heavy, bulky
I've taken many amazing pics with this lens and others not so much. The auto focus is spot on about 95% of the time, but at other times I switch to manual just to make sure. Auto focus is very quick and works well with rapid fire shots. I have no complaints about the image quality.
The lens is pretty heavy and large, but if I'm only taking one lens with me it has to be this one. It is very shock resistant. I'm a mountaineer and have taken this up many peaks while banging it against rocks (on accident of course). The picture quality has not suffered in the least. Excellent lens for anyone who wants to own just one.
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for EF-S 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS
Nickname: mousepotato
Location: Bay Area, CA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

most fun lens you can leave on your camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 2, 2011
Pros: Fast auto-focus, fun fun fun, complete photo coverage, nice semi out of focus blur, nice contrast for non l, color great for non l
Cons: not an artsy lens, not super wide aperature, medium build quality
Sure, the fisheye is probably more fun, but you can't leave it on the camera all the time. This lens can be put on the camera at least 90% of the time unless you need super big aperature. I am not a pro, but do print about 10 photos a year at 30x40 inches. I have shot weddings, vacations, street art and landscapes with it. And I used to have a 5D+24-105 combo. That being said, looking back at thousands of shots, the 24-105 has more eyepopping shots due to it's slightly better contrast, but overall, the T2i+18-200 can get more acceptable shots total with less dust, better color balance, more effective stabilization, and the ability to snag the long shot is like having an ace in your pocket. Both lenses have terrible widest angle distortion, so no good for pure architecture. How useful is it? Well, everytime I slap on the 50 or 28 prime, I end up taking it off within the day for lack actual usefulness. The primes may be technically better, but we arent shooting for magazines here. Except for the absolute wide app blur, this is a great wedding lens. Great indoors, great outdoors. On a side note, I just went to Disneyland and got the dreaded loose screw problem. Good thing the Canon service center was within a 20 minute drive. I can't wait to get that lens back!
27 of 28 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for EF-S 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS
Nickname: scotth
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Customer: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: No

not to bad

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 19, 2011
Pros: Fast auto-focus
Cons: Semi-sharp images
So I'm not quite sure how to rate this. I bought it solely so I didn't have to take my professional quality L lenses on vacation to the mountains camping, or just out when we go see family and that. I feel more comfortable leaving the big $$ lenses at home.
So I knew when i ordered it I wasn't going to have the same quality. I knew that going in. So here are my thoughts. I found the auto focus to be quick and quiet. It focused where I wanted it to. Now, I manual focus probably 95% of the time, but when I got it, i played around with the auto focus just to see how it reacted, and I was rather pleased.
As far as the quality of image, I have found that when i am shooting distance the images turn out sharp. The closer I get, the softer the images become. Again, I knew I wouldn't be shooting with an L quality lens, but I was a little disappointed with the softness that it is providing. But, it's not so bad that it is going to ruin a family picture. You aren't going to be entering a major competition with the results.
You can get some pretty good "macro" style shots. Always remember you can crop as close as you want, and depending on what camera you are using, you can probably crop even closer than others.
So, for the money, i would like it to be a little sharper on the closer shots, but like i say, it isn't a deal breaker. Over all it's a fun lens. I don't have a need for any other lens when i take it out to use it for my purposes.
For a professional lens, i would say save your money and get an L series. Always get the best lens as you'll be getting one eventually. I have a 28-135 that provides a much sharper image, but this is still a very nice entry level lens.
89 of 93 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for EF-S 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS
Nickname: RXTravel
Location: Boston, MA
Used this product for: 1 to 3 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

good for vacations

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 29, 2011
Pros: Superior build quality
Cons: Slow auto-focus, Semi-sharp images
This is a good lense to have while on a vacation when you do not want to mess around with changing lenses. The images can be a little soft but you get what you paid for and for the price you really cannot complain. The major issue would be the slow auto-focus on this model. I would like to see this lense with USM, current auto focus is very slow and inaccurate.
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for EF-S 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS
Nickname: Bebba
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Customer: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: No

Really

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 17, 2011
Pros: Superior build quality, Super-sharp images, perfect zoom, is
Cons: needs usm, heavy
I recently purchased this lens and I absolutely love it! I am an advanced amateur photographer and I really love travel and I travel alot. This lens fulfilled all my needs for everyday use and for all purposes (mostly street photography & portraits). Honestly, it performs much better than I expected and I would definitely recommend it for anyone who wants an all-purposes lens and who loves travel. This lens also features an awesome focal length range. I only wish it had USM and was lighter (it's kinda heavy).
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site