Canon Ratings and Reviews
Reviews Home / Consumer & Home Office Reviews / PowerShot Cameras Reviews / PowerShot G Series Reviews
Shop Now At Canon
Shop PowerShot G Series or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for PowerShot G10

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Canon.

PowerShot G10

Average Customer Rating:
4.732 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(190 Reviews) 188
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (190 reviews)
5 stars
151
4 stars
32
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
2
184 out of 190(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PowerShot G10
Review 1 for PowerShot G10
Nickname: JP
Location: Burbankj
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Travel
Canon Enthusiast: 11 to 20 years
Product replacement: Yes

Great for 4 years but....

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:June 16, 2014
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, good ergonomics
Cons: don't have long term durability
My G10 was the best digital camera I ever owned. No issues nor complain until after 3 years of heavy use. The retractable lens cover started rubbing against the lens and left a scratch visible in the pictures. Got that fixed by the factory for a reasonable cost. A year later, the upper left corner of the pics show dark clouds that are bad enough that it shows on all the pics, unless it is a dark background.
i have used the camera heavily @ 3000 pics a month. Not sure if the camera was built to withstand such usage. For the cost of getting repaired and the price of a new one, I chose to buy a new camera with the latest technology, warranty and possibly more durable.
Review 2 for PowerShot G10
Nickname: wafflesnfalafel
Location: Seattle, WA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Mostly used for: Landscape/Nature
Canon Enthusiast: 1 to 5 years
Product replacement: Yes

Happier with this camera than any I have ever had

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 1, 2013
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, durable, easy to use
This is the camera I always take with me. Small enough so it doesn't stay at home but still takes high enough quality images and offers enough features to handle 95% of what I want to do. I fell off a mountain, landed on this camera and it still works fine. I love it.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PowerShot G10
Nickname: Big daddy
Location: Tacoma,Washington
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Mostly used for: Family & Friends
Canon Enthusiast: 6 to 10 years
Product replacement: No

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 12, 2012
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, durable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Great camera lots of features. The manual side of the camera is great. The pictures are fantastic .
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PowerShot G10
Nickname: Bin
Location: california
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Canon Enthusiast: more than 20 years
Product replacement: No

Time/date stamp

Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 24, 2011
This camera is lack of the basic but very important of the digital cameras. It does not have time/date stamp. How can you tell when the pictures were taken after couple months. The much cheaper ones even have this feature. Very ridiculous.
2 of 29 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PowerShot G10
Nickname: cybercord
Location: Georgia, USA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Great Product

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 21, 2010
Pros: many featatures and flexabilty., great pictures, good software for general use, good battery life
Cons: no hd video for any mode
This is a great camera for anyone that wants a DSLR but does not want to pay for one. It does draw short of a true DSLR, but has almost the same capabilties. You can't change the lens, manual focus is in a rough form and does not have HD video mode like the G9. I use it for racing, diving and even special shots like a DSLR. Once you learn all the different modes this will surely meet your expectations, unless you really need a DSLR. I previously had a G9 which had the 720p video that is now gone on the G10. This I miss the most. Don't understand why they did this. Also the Dive case does not allow for the rotary dial on the select nobe to be used. Overall this a great camera.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PowerShot G10
Nickname: Jeff
Location: Houston TX
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: No

Missing the action!!!

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 7, 2010
I read several reviews about cameras and even asked questions about what I was looking for. I chose the G10 based on what I heard. This is a Good quality camera. I love the quality and functions but the performance as far as indoor sport shots(volleyball) and the continuous shooting feature are in need of improvement.
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PowerShot G10
Nickname: Brentj38
Location: St George Utah
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Happy Man

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 24, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I Bought this camera in feb this year i have been very happy with the camera has far exceeded my expectations i have added lens filters and help add to my pictures that point and shoot camers cant add. i was a novis photo taker but i have friend asking me to take family pictures for the now because of the quaility and the things i can do with this camera you can use it just like a regular point and shoot or get very creative with your images and make the pictures more meaningfull and come to life for you im very happy with the camera ty
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PowerShot G10
Nickname: quarterboundpress
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Used this product for: Less than 1 month
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Red Eye REALLY works!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 6, 2010
Pros: Nice features/settings, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
O.K. I've had several CANON cameras including several AE-Programs and the SD1000. This is the ONLY camera that I've ever had where the RED EYE actually works. Just took a photo of four sleeping barnswallows. It turned out that two of them opened their eyes because the flash went off (I'm learning the camera features). The second time I tried to take the photo, one opened his eyes and looked at me directly like, "What are you doing?" No red eye. I've been waiting to get a "G" for three years. Finally, thank you, Canon.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PowerShot G10
Nickname: jerrdogg77
Location: New York, NY
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Casual User
Product replacement: Yes

Great buy!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 4, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
This camera makes me feel like a pro! The manual that comes with it is pretty weaksauce, but if you play around with it, you learn it quickly.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PowerShot G10
Nickname: Anonymous
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Good overall camera

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 6, 2010
Pros: excellent image quality, Lightweight/Portable
Cons: Missing features/settings, Poor Low-Light Performance, Short battery life
This camera will be better if Canon make the image sensor having a higher number of DPI. Recommend this from Amateur to Semi-Professional.
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PowerShot G10
Nickname: Canon Man
Location: South Texas
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: No

All I Needed

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 24, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Recently spent 26 days on a Western Med and transAtlantic cruise. I have D5 MkII SLR and several lenses but this is the only camera I took with me. It performed perfectly in all conditions from dim light inside churches to bright sunlight. I don't regret leaving the SLR home at all.
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PowerShot G10
Nickname: HEROJIG
Location: nepal
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Great Camera!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 20, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: wish i had waited for the g11 resolution
Another fine Canon product. Even dropped it on a rock while hiking and it's still firing away, no problems.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PowerShot G10
Nickname: Anonymous
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: Yes

Pretty good, awkward controls

Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 8, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, excellent size
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Complicated controls/menu, Flimsy Construction, awkward controls
I recently upgraded from the G9 to the G10. I was a huge fan of the G9 and like the G10 pretty well, but it has a serious drawback in terms of user experience. When I'm shooting in manual mode (the vast majority of the time) the metering option gets in the way. I do need to change my shutter speed and aperture for every image, but I do not need to change the metering. It is VERY cumbersome to have to pass through the metering every single time I want to switch from adjusting the aperture to adjusting the shutter speed. Because fine-tuning the exposure can often involve a fair bit of back and forth between the aperture and shutter speed in even the most basic shots, this issue is in your face all the time. I recently used a G11 and encountered the same problem.
14 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PowerShot G10
Nickname: Tomphoto59
Location: Colonial Heights Va.
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Great camera but...watch the screws

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 30, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: Flimsy Construction
I've owned my G10 for two years and pretty much put my 30D in the closet. I do a lot of local traveling on a motorcycle and take photos when I can. This images have been great. Put a Canon speed light on indoors and get great bounce flash images. All was great until today when the strap came off. I thought the strap itself came undone. Further inspection revealed not 1 the the screws that held the strap loop to the camera had come out but 3 of the 6 screws that hold the body together have worked themselves out.
7 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PowerShot G10
Nickname: lLee
Location: los angeles
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

Best Canon I've owned!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 28, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use, meegapixels are awesome
The G10 takes the best macro pictures on the appropriate setting, without a separate macro lens. I love the weight; a little heavier than a point and shoot, but so much easier for me to handle than a big SLR. I frequently use a tripod with it also. Battery life is great! I find excellent low-light performance. All settings are true to their name, especially RAW setting that produces fantastic colors and wonderful capture of light and shading. Tough construction (I am disabled and have dropped it more than once).. All the control buttons are easy to manipulate.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PowerShot G10
Nickname: AZ Dave
Location: Phoenix
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert

G10 + 24mm Lens = Great Camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 14, 2010
Pros: Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
Cons: needs wider angle lens
Nice Camera! Prefer the G10 body over that of the G11 body. Don't really care for the swing out display. Also, I shoot outdoor photos and architecture. It would be nice to have a wider angle. A G10 body style, the current features, and a 24mm wide angle lens would make the deal!. I know there is a screw on wide angle adapter, but really. Build-in the 24mm wide angle, get rid of the swing out display, and keep all the other features. I'd say NICE!!
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PowerShot G10
Nickname: Tina
Location: Volo, IL
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Awesome camera

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 9, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use
I've used this camera for five months now. I love it. It's easy to use. The screen is big and bright. You can see the picture on the screen, where with my last camera, the screen was so tiny that I had to wait until I put the pictures on the computer to be able to see them. I can take pictures in a dark room and they turn out light enough. The battery lasts long. I bought an extra one so that I can replace it immediately when it dies. It has almost 15 mega pixels. My last camera had three. These pictures are so sharp and clear. I recommend setting the camera to reduce red eye. I finally did that and now there's no red eye in the pictures. I also bought a memory card and a case. I'm very happy with the Canon G10.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PowerShot G10
Nickname: Tim
Location: RI
Used this product for: 3 to 6 months
Expertise Level: Advanced Amateur
Product replacement: Yes

Nice piece of equipment

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 7, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, easy to use
Cons: shutter lag not up to dslr
Great camera, all the bells and whistles... A lot to learn but the basics have suited me just fine, I use a DSLR as my primary camera, still this is a great camera. I have utilized my 550 flash with this camera with fabulous results...a little awkward with that big flash, onboard flash works exceptionally well when bounce is not required.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PowerShot G10
Nickname: Mike
Location: NC, USA
Used this product for: more than 1 year
Expertise Level: Professional or Expert
Product replacement: No

Great camera if you don't push it to hard.

Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price/Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 5, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD
Cons: Poor Low-Light Performance, Complicated controls/menu
Positive: Compact range finder, rugged metal body, usable features, feels comfortable in the hand, equivalent picture quality to cheap DSLR if taken in well lit circumstance, big bright LCD, viewfinder for bright outdoor shooting.
*
Negative: So-so lens w/ barrel distortion at wide angle, Images show significant digital noise in low light, slow shooting in low lighty, important shooting adjustments require accessing menu.
*
I'm waiting for Canon to release a nice compact rangefinder w/ interchangeable lenses and a better image sensor.
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PowerShot G10
Nickname: Uncle Willie K
Location: Maui Hawaii
Used this product for: 6 to 12 months
Expertise Level: Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Product replacement: Yes

best investment ever!!!

Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price/Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 25, 2010
Pros: good battery life, Good Low-Light Performance, Nice features/settings, excellent image quality, durable, Bright LCD, Lightweight/Portable, Simple controls/menu, easy to use, a great investment
Aloha
as an amature photographer, I have to say this camera by far exceeds every other digi. cam i have ever bought. both video and stills are the best. I have archived everything in my life with it last year since i bought this camera in Germany, I was on tour with Simply Red and the memories that this camera has given me is absolutely incredible!!! the very best than all others, none will replace it until i become a full fledged photographer. I'm even thinking about doing a video shoot with this camera and making a DVD for sale and see if anyone could tell the difference between some High Def video camera and the G10!!! wish me luck!!!
mahalo nui
(thank you very much)
Uncle Willie K
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>
©2014 Canon U.S.A., Inc. All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. View mobile site